Walt Disney Studios Motion Pictures | Release Date: March 5, 2010
5.8
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 702 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
311
Mixed:
239
Negative:
152
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
7
EvanL.Mar 6, 2010
Although this movie comes across in the end as commercial and highly predictable, there is a consistent intrigue about the development of the neo-Wonderland that is more then refreshing. Those who find its characters forward and lacking zest Although this movie comes across in the end as commercial and highly predictable, there is a consistent intrigue about the development of the neo-Wonderland that is more then refreshing. Those who find its characters forward and lacking zest to a new audience are forgetting that the last handful of generations grew up knowing every aspect of the main performers. Essentially Wonderland has become antiquated, and the fact that Burton and company could make them jovial and truly real in a way previous movies could not; resolves as a testament to their workmanship and vision. However, less make up Johnny. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
7
JamesHJun 1, 2010
I submit reviews and ratings on 12 different sites, and for some reason this site is always way low on it's ratings. I don't get it! Another site that has an average of critic ratings quite similar to Metacritic must have happier I submit reviews and ratings on 12 different sites, and for some reason this site is always way low on it's ratings. I don't get it! Another site that has an average of critic ratings quite similar to Metacritic must have happier critics in their database. Alice in Wonderland has never been one of my favorite stories, and although Tim Burton doesn Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
gm101Sep 15, 2010
This review contains spoilers. I really thought I was going to dislike this movie. However, I was surprised by how much I liked it. Johnny Depp was excellent as the Mad Hatter. Although, my only complaint was that Christopher Lee was really underused. I wish I could hear him speak more lines as the Jabberwocky. Collapse
5 of 6 users found this helpful51
All this user's reviews
9
smijatovAug 13, 2010
Going into the film with very little expectations, I was very pleasantly surprised! The acting was really good, especially by the lead actress and Helena Bonham Carter... Anne Hathaway was somewhat annoying, but that's just because of theGoing into the film with very little expectations, I was very pleasantly surprised! The acting was really good, especially by the lead actress and Helena Bonham Carter... Anne Hathaway was somewhat annoying, but that's just because of the nature of her character - all bubbly and ... annoying. Ha.

Anyway, visually, though, the film is just breath-taking and it definitely projects the magic that should be present in an adaptation of "Alice in Wonderland." It definitely feels like a magical world and it is a very entertaining film!
One of Burton's better efforts, for sure!
Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
8
YellowKirbySep 9, 2015
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is a brilliant take on the classic "Alice" story, with good acting, good characters, and the only real flaw being the over-the-top "Lord of the Rings" style climax. Well done, Tim Burton, and can't wait for the sequel! Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
7
HarbingerAug 14, 2010
While it was light on plot and character development, Alice in Wonderland was a visual delight-perhaps the best ever created by Tim Burton. It's not amazing. But for those who haven't seen it, I recommend you give it a chance, and tumbleWhile it was light on plot and character development, Alice in Wonderland was a visual delight-perhaps the best ever created by Tim Burton. It's not amazing. But for those who haven't seen it, I recommend you give it a chance, and tumble down the rabbit hole with Alice. A 7.5/10. Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
9
heyitsmegrif4Feb 4, 2012
Tim Burton directs a ton of heart and adventure into this adaptation which makes it great, but he also skillfully directs one of the most important details of the story into the movie the wackiness. He also has impressive performancesTim Burton directs a ton of heart and adventure into this adaptation which makes it great, but he also skillfully directs one of the most important details of the story into the movie the wackiness. He also has impressive performances especially Johnny Depp and newcomer Mia Wasikowska. Some cool action and just amazing visual effects. I give this film 92%. Expand
5 of 10 users found this helpful55
All this user's reviews
9
iamkhenzpolenioAug 22, 2010
A fantastic movie for all ages. Full of funs, fantasies, mysteries and all. It has the element to attract people. I'm very proud to Mia Wasikowska, she does a great act for this. The Red Queen is very funny. I don't get the character of theA fantastic movie for all ages. Full of funs, fantasies, mysteries and all. It has the element to attract people. I'm very proud to Mia Wasikowska, she does a great act for this. The Red Queen is very funny. I don't get the character of the Mad Hatter who is played by Johnny Depp so i will minus the perfect points for this movie. Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
10
GVirus16Oct 30, 2010
The point of an adaptation is to create your OWN vision, while sticking true to the important elements, of the original story. Tim Burton has done just that, and beautifully. Not my FAVORITE adaptation of "Alice's Adventures in Wonderland",The point of an adaptation is to create your OWN vision, while sticking true to the important elements, of the original story. Tim Burton has done just that, and beautifully. Not my FAVORITE adaptation of "Alice's Adventures in Wonderland", but it's up there, and is certainly a memorable experience. In IMAX 3-D, it truly blows you away (especially the rabbit hole scene; GENIUS!) Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
10
MovieLonely94Oct 27, 2010
the way Avril Lavigne did the song Alice was the only reason why this movie was such a big hit from Tim Burton. take my advice: go and see it.
2 of 7 users found this helpful25
All this user's reviews
8
GusMar 5, 2010
Visually stunning and an epic story. Maybe a little too epic as the film seems to spend to little time on too many characters. But Burton and company bring them to life and make every bit of Wonderland as real as can be. Must see in IMAX 3D.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
SamanthaSMay 18, 2010
This movie was amazing. Everything about it draws you in and keeps you there. You dont want it to end.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
CallumJ.Mar 5, 2010
A brilliant masterpiece, what you have to realise is that this was nit meant as a follow up, but a re-envisioning of wonderland.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
TonyMar 20, 2010
The current version of Alice in Wonderland exhibited a notable effort however the film fell short of in comparison an anticipation of the original psychological version that engaged the abstract of society.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RickW.Mar 6, 2010
A wonderful film. The humor was excellent and was was a visual delight. Johnny Depp as the Mad Hatter was perfect and the crazy hare was intensley insaaaaaaaaane! Whatever the name of the dance the Mad Hatter did was fantastical.....our A wonderful film. The humor was excellent and was was a visual delight. Johnny Depp as the Mad Hatter was perfect and the crazy hare was intensley insaaaaaaaaane! Whatever the name of the dance the Mad Hatter did was fantastical.....our recommendation is "Don't be late!". Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
LindaC.Mar 7, 2010
It is a fun, exciting, visually spectacular film!! I will see it at least once more while in theaters, as well as buy the DVD when released. One small curiosity, is it me or is the sound quality poor?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DonnieBApr 3, 2010
I really enjoyed this movie, and I'm born a crtic so I don't say that often. It was the exciting action/adventure that I had been waiting for. It was fun to watch and, excluding Ann Hathaway, the actors did an amazing job conveying I really enjoyed this movie, and I'm born a crtic so I don't say that often. It was the exciting action/adventure that I had been waiting for. It was fun to watch and, excluding Ann Hathaway, the actors did an amazing job conveying the history behind the characters without the use of cheesy flashbacks. Ann Hathaway's performance was terrible and she was one of the few setbacks to this movie. My only other complaint is that the ending was a little rushed and underexplained. However, this was an awesome movie and I recommend everyone to see it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EmP.Apr 4, 2010
When Burton misses - he misses, but when he hits... he hits it out of the park! I watched this film (non-3D version) with my jaw dropped open... I knew I was watching a true work of art. The more it unfolded, the more it became obvious it is When Burton misses - he misses, but when he hits... he hits it out of the park! I watched this film (non-3D version) with my jaw dropped open... I knew I was watching a true work of art. The more it unfolded, the more it became obvious it is a masterpiece. Fantasy fiction at its ABSOLUTE best! I was so lost in the land he created - the story was icing on this visual dessert - it didn't matter. And as for Johnny Depp - Has won me back..! He is a true master of the art of acting. Now I can't imagine the Mad Hatter any other way. Johnny & Tim forever. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JacksonCJun 13, 2010
Was it better than I expected? No. However, it was pretty good, and it had great 3D effects.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
jamesmMar 16, 2010
I thought this was a really entertaining, quirky and colourful movie. Don't understand the low scores here.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SydneyJ.Mar 5, 2010
Brilliant, lush, gorgeous masterpiece. Burton's greatest film since Edward Scissorhands. I don't know how anyone could watch this film and not be entertained.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ShaneM.Mar 6, 2010
I don't know what the critics who gave this movie a 25 are thinking, but this movie was truly excellent. While the plot was absolutely nothing like the books, it was also much more than a simple remake of the 1950s cartoon version of I don't know what the critics who gave this movie a 25 are thinking, but this movie was truly excellent. While the plot was absolutely nothing like the books, it was also much more than a simple remake of the 1950s cartoon version of the movie, and Burton's constant nods to the books more than made up for the plot deviation. Time and again I found myself delighted with the small details taken straight from Carroll's novels that were barely even addressed, but included just for those who'd read the books. The actors were all superb, and the new twist on the Mad Hatter (sort of a split-personality schizophrenia thing in addition to his outright wackiness) was very well done. In short, this is a must-see movie, in 3D if possible. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
GrahamS.Mar 6, 2010
A good movie especially in 3D but whoever acted as Alice had no clue what they were doing. Johnny Depp really saves this movie in my opinion.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DanL.Mar 6, 2010
Very entertaining and a visual feast for the eyes. The 3-D was not as good as Avatar, nevertheless it added to the spectacle.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KenS.Mar 6, 2010
Expected to see a movie version of the book but was pleasantly surprised that that wasn't the case. Takes familiar characters from the Alice books and the Jabberwocky poem by Caroll, and returns Alice to Wonderland 12 years later. Expected to see a movie version of the book but was pleasantly surprised that that wasn't the case. Takes familiar characters from the Alice books and the Jabberwocky poem by Caroll, and returns Alice to Wonderland 12 years later. Wasn't expecting much after reading a few reviews but it seems the reviewers just wanted to be disappointed. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
G.D.Mar 6, 2010
I'm a Tim Burton fan. This movie takes the works of Lewis Carroll and has liberally applied Burton's dark creative powers. For me it works. Johnny Depps Mad Hatter is appropriately insane. Helena Bonham Carter was perfectly I'm a Tim Burton fan. This movie takes the works of Lewis Carroll and has liberally applied Burton's dark creative powers. For me it works. Johnny Depps Mad Hatter is appropriately insane. Helena Bonham Carter was perfectly grotesque. Crispin Glover as the El Grecoish villain exuded plenty of evil depravity.The art work and costumes pure Burtonian. The pace was a little slow at times. Although it could have been a little less predictable plotwise, that was not the intent of this darkly whimsical movie. Overall it was a lot of fun. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
WillC.Mar 7, 2010
Alice in Wonderland is a film that works in bits and pieces. The cast is pretty much perfect, the visuals are downright great and most of the dialogue works. But it makes too much sense, the beginning and the end completely failed and its Alice in Wonderland is a film that works in bits and pieces. The cast is pretty much perfect, the visuals are downright great and most of the dialogue works. But it makes too much sense, the beginning and the end completely failed and its obvious that Tim Burton is to action what Michael Bay is to writing. They're not very good at it. But its great fun and truly imaginative, but too bad this film ISN'T as mad as a hatter. It's worth seeing and the 3D worked well. Thumbs marginally up. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
LynAJun 2, 2010
Good movie, but a bit unfinished, not so mad as a hatter as I would like it to be.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AlexC.Mar 14, 2010
Thought this movie was great fun.....the charcters in Underland are very amusing. Johnny Depp gives another enjoyable Burton performance.....If you didn't enjoy this, you were probably too much of an Alice purist......or you are just Thought this movie was great fun.....the charcters in Underland are very amusing. Johnny Depp gives another enjoyable Burton performance.....If you didn't enjoy this, you were probably too much of an Alice purist......or you are just already spoiled by Avatar overload. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DanB.Mar 14, 2010
To all the critics that gave this movie a negative review: LIGHTEN UP! This movie isn't meant to be taken as Academy Award material. I viewed this movie in IMAX 3D and in my opinion thats the only way to see it. The effects were To all the critics that gave this movie a negative review: LIGHTEN UP! This movie isn't meant to be taken as Academy Award material. I viewed this movie in IMAX 3D and in my opinion thats the only way to see it. The effects were amazing, the characters touching and close to the source material. Yes, the story is a little far fetched but WHO CARES! It was just a great time watching this, if you dont think to much into it. No, this will not win the Oscar for film of the year, but in my eyes it was worth every penny and every second I used to see this. Taken for what it is, it was simply amazing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
LukeS.Mar 15, 2010
Typical girl power / coming of age story that is more inspired by Alice in Wonderland / Through the Looking Glass then based on the books that share its title. Visually stunning, the movie is worth at least a rental at some point. 3/5
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KyleAMar 17, 2010
I thought it was good ,but the story seemed a little rushed if that makes sense to anybody.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
KennyFMay 30, 2010
Entertaining and spectacular 3-d!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
lisacMar 17, 2010
I saw this movie with an open mind, despite the reviews. Felt the acting and filming were excellent. I was spellbound, and brought into Alice's world.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
Lopez17Aug 16, 2010
Tim Burton's update of the classic Lewis Carroll tale "Alice in Wonderland" is an inspired work it embodies everything that makes Burton a master and what makes him a genius at the art of dark fantasy. While this sequel ,or re Imagining,Tim Burton's update of the classic Lewis Carroll tale "Alice in Wonderland" is an inspired work it embodies everything that makes Burton a master and what makes him a genius at the art of dark fantasy. While this sequel ,or re Imagining, if you would like to call it, is a dark morbid fantasy film that while may lack the wide eyed child enthusiasm of the 1951 Walt Disney animated production it still keeps the adventure, the fun and the charm of the original production and book. What I liked most about it was the dry sense of humor infused into this classic story, but also I like the fact that it does not try to be more than what it is; it does not try to be some audacious fantasy film. Instead, it settles for an above average Burton film with a lighthearted side, while retaining the amazing visuals and stylish pace that is expected of Tim Burton. "Alice in Wonderland" may not impress everyone but for those who like some visually appealing dark fantasy films with a good-hearted story to them. "Alice in Wonderlandâ Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
ERG1008Oct 4, 2010
Tim Burton's re-imagining of Lewis Carroll's classic fairytale using his inevitable dark ,Gothic style. Really enjoyed this and it's a mixture of the original book & Through the Looking Glass. As expected, the visuals are brilliantly surreal,Tim Burton's re-imagining of Lewis Carroll's classic fairytale using his inevitable dark ,Gothic style. Really enjoyed this and it's a mixture of the original book & Through the Looking Glass. As expected, the visuals are brilliantly surreal, voice acting great & with Johnny Depp & Helena Bonham-Carter hamming it up as the Mad Hatter & Red Queen respectively. Danny Elfman's score plays a big part too in keeping the tone as he's done with most of Burton's work. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
JoaxAug 23, 2010
A Terrible deception...Tim Burton...what happened in this movie?
The music is fantastic (Danny Elfman is brilliant) and the vissual effects are amazing but...what happened with the history? there's no emotion and sorry but it's a little
A Terrible deception...Tim Burton...what happened in this movie?
The music is fantastic (Danny Elfman is brilliant) and the vissual effects are amazing but...what happened with the history? there's no emotion and sorry but it's a little boring...a terrible deception.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
txrangersfan72Dec 30, 2010
While I saw the original 1951 animated film when I was a child, and had the LP that told the story in an abridged form during my younger years, I've never read the Lewis Carroll novels, nor do I really remember much from Walt Disney'sWhile I saw the original 1951 animated film when I was a child, and had the LP that told the story in an abridged form during my younger years, I've never read the Lewis Carroll novels, nor do I really remember much from Walt Disney's original masterpiece. What I can attest to is how beautiful and entertaining Tim Burton's version was. I've read several reviews from those who did not care much about this film. Those who hated the deviation from the original story. Those who hated the deviation from the animated film. Those who thought it was another fantastical, yet watered down, version of Tim Burton's imagination.

I suppose all of those opinions could be true. However, while I can understand how tired it is to continue seeing Depp in a lot of makeup and playing what appears to be the same character with a different voice in yet another Tim Burton movie, the fact is, this was a Disney feature film. It wasn't budgeted for Tim to go all "Tim Burton" on it. It needed to appeal to kids and adults alike, and this film greatly achieved that. Disney is using the most colorful and imaginative director to bring to life another Disney classic in order to achieve the same success as Pirates of the Caribbean. Adults and children alike are very familiar with Tim Burton and Johnny Depp, so to have expected anything more than what was delivered was unrealistic. To go farther Tim Burtonesque would have resulted in a movie Disney would not have been able to market. To move further away from Tim Burton would have watered down what Tim is good at. The visuals, action and theatrics of Alice in Wonderland were the perfect mix of original story, contemporary taste and modern talents. No one else could have pulled this film off better.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
TubieNov 2, 2010
I loved this movie and I don't care what people think! This was a great movie, the style, and atmosphere created was dark and at the same time pretty. I specially loved the queen. This movie is simple fun with a very pretty art style.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
JudddyOct 4, 2010
It is not quite as brilliant as I expected. Johnny Depp's creation of the Mad Hatter is wonderful, but it seems to dominate the film, where as Mia Wasikowska's 'Alice' was just as great a character to watch. It is unfortunate too that theIt is not quite as brilliant as I expected. Johnny Depp's creation of the Mad Hatter is wonderful, but it seems to dominate the film, where as Mia Wasikowska's 'Alice' was just as great a character to watch. It is unfortunate too that the film ends with a large action sequence that seems to downgrade the film overall, however the quirkiness and amazing visuals of the film, and the charm that is nevertheless existent despite its flaws, overcomes these. The stand out performance comes from Helena Bonham Carter, whose wonderful interpretation of the Red Queen is hilarious rather than villainous. It is, so far, one of the best films of the year so far and definitely worth watching. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Ruler101Dec 2, 2010
In the creative mind of director Tim Burton I say bravo. These graphics show that is mind thinks in very strange ways. The acting and the screenplay were rough in areas and great in others. Some of the time you just sit there and wonder "IsIn the creative mind of director Tim Burton I say bravo. These graphics show that is mind thinks in very strange ways. The acting and the screenplay were rough in areas and great in others. Some of the time you just sit there and wonder "Is this ever going to move on??" and other parts you think "Holy crap this is great!!" It really depends how you look at this movie to know if you love it, hate it, or thought it was good. for me i thought it was good but certain parts of me wished they made the first part and then this part next. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
JonnyFendiJan 10, 2011
Finally, I saw ALICE IN WONDERLAND the movie that I have been waiting for such a long time. The tale about nineteen years old Alice following the white rabbit, to find her destiny back in Wonderland that now ruled by Red Queen. The movieFinally, I saw ALICE IN WONDERLAND the movie that I have been waiting for such a long time. The tale about nineteen years old Alice following the white rabbit, to find her destiny back in Wonderland that now ruled by Red Queen. The movie directed by Tim Burton, the man specialty in eye candy and delight visualization. Thiz movie is the seventh collaboration with Johnny Depp as his main Cast, after EDWARD SCISSORHANDS (1990), ED WOOD (1994), SLEEPY HOLLOW (1999), CHARLIE AND THE CHOCOLATE FACTORY (2005), CORPSE BRIDE (2005), and SWEENEY TODD: THE DEMON BARBER OF FLEET STREET (2007). His other masterpiece features are: BEETLE JUICE (1988), BATMAN (1989) and BIG FISH (2003). Thiz movie supported by various Casts like: Anne Hathaway, Crispin Glover, Michael Sheen, Alan Rickman, and Mia Wasikowska as Alice. The most powerful performance in thiz movie is Big Head Red Queen character, which played amazingly wicked and funny at the same time by Helena Bonham Carter (is about the same character on Lord Farquaad in first SHREK (2001)). Bonham Carter performance exceeds Depp appearance. Her existence saves the movie for overall. Beside that I did not feel any emotions on thiz film, everything was flat. Actually, thiz movie did not supported by good script. It might, the worse script that came to Tim Burton desk in these past twenty years of his career, despite the visualization is A-class. The story is an alternate version of Alice originally written by Lewis Caroll. thiz version did not carry such a thrill and interesting plots. In the final scene (Spoiler Alert!), give Alice a sword and knight armor to slay a dragon? It is definitely not a good option. The change is too radical, soft and tender Alice that builds from the beginning, suddenly take an incisive turn over. The flip over so hard that possibly had become its own boomerang itself.

Visit My Blog on JONNY'S MOVEE : http://jonnyfendi.blogspot.com
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
christinaFeb 3, 2011
this movie wasn't horrible and it wasn't great but it did show the scenes as a magical area and i loved how Johnny Depp played the mad hater but over all it was interesting.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
guardboy21Apr 11, 2011
This movie totally rocked. Johnny Depp, Mia however you spell her last name, Helena Bonham Carter and Anne Hathaway i think did a fantastic job. This was one of my favorites of 2010.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
LeewayJul 3, 2011
All the beauty and the hard work in creating Wonderland really pays off especially if seen in 3D.
Tim Burton's dark direction of Alice In Wonderland is somewhat interesting, the finishing look looks well made but sometimes its a bit too
All the beauty and the hard work in creating Wonderland really pays off especially if seen in 3D.
Tim Burton's dark direction of Alice In Wonderland is somewhat interesting, the finishing look looks well made but sometimes its a bit too gloomy and added with the dullness of a story that is all too mature for anybody 10 and under (Go figure: Alice is like in her late teens, more problems). The characters all have their own unique touch; Alice is the low key but she's not a chore to look at, Johnny Depp is as charming as ever (a more crazier take then Jack Sparrow), The Red Queen's big heart shaped head is BIG and Anne Hathaway's White Queen never stops putting her hands in the air. Each character has charm in them but when added with Tim Burton's touch, each of them have their own "dark side." Alice seems to be the normal one but the rest like Mad Hatter (his creepy red eyes) and White Queen (when she's not looking at her orchids she's in the kitchen making up a hot potion of fingers and saliva) are all mad but in a good-funny way. Let us not forget about Alan Rickman who plays an ugly-wrinkled caterpillar that only puffs on a cigarette or in a kid's interpretation 'sucking on a perfume looking bottle and blowing out circle clouds.'
The whole entire film...lets just say, "Tim Burton, WHAT on Earth have you've been smoking?" The whole entire film is like on the high ride with Tim Burton which makes the film Mad! I guess its a good thing, whatever he's smoking seems to be working for him and while I was watching this film, I couldn't help but hallucinate as well. The Storyline of the Film: It gets a 60%.
It was very simply done and told. It seems like every Disney movie has a theme which this one has. Theme: being brave and mad at the same time which is what I got out of it. I know other people think it's about governing yourself and taking the lead. The C.G.I usage of the Film: It gets an 80%
Visually Striking! A movie that gets credits for the visuals.
Overall: 70%
It's an interesting film made only to catch the audience's eyes but it does little effect to move the heart.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Yu38111Aug 15, 2011
Alice in wonderland is good movie. But, action is so-so. It is gorgeous 3D movie!!!
Tim Burton is nice character. I think that I want to watch again. Anne Jacqueline Hathaway is very cute!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
saori21Aug 12, 2011
This movie is very interesting movie. Alice's story is very famouse. so, I was execiting movie. And costume is very great and cute!! Gohnny depp is very cool !! I want to into the world. I try see movie again.
I like fiction movie. Beatiful
This movie is very interesting movie. Alice's story is very famouse. so, I was execiting movie. And costume is very great and cute!! Gohnny depp is very cool !! I want to into the world. I try see movie again.
I like fiction movie. Beatiful world i went to go!!!
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
jos95Jul 17, 2012
This version actually makes sense unlike the original version, because there's an actual story rather than a sequence of random events like the original. Mia Wasikowska has a fine mainstream debut as Alice and the rest of the cast have funThis version actually makes sense unlike the original version, because there's an actual story rather than a sequence of random events like the original. Mia Wasikowska has a fine mainstream debut as Alice and the rest of the cast have fun performances including Johnny Depp and Helena Bonham Carter. Despite Tim Burton's signature touch, it becomes quite ordinary towards the end. For what this movie was trying to do, I think it did a good job at it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
SpunkyMonkeyAug 15, 2012
For me the 1st 2/3rds of the film are a bit scatty and a mish-mash of ideas and plots - there's nothing quite holding the film together other than it's whacky visuals and the odd bit of magic. The last 3rd of the film really saves it though,For me the 1st 2/3rds of the film are a bit scatty and a mish-mash of ideas and plots - there's nothing quite holding the film together other than it's whacky visuals and the odd bit of magic. The last 3rd of the film really saves it though, and adds a lot of substance to earlier proceedings. It could have done with a lot more magic throughout, and also a bit more direction - but at no time is it unbearable and often it is fun, with that last 3rd being very good indeed. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ZilcellMay 26, 2012
This film tends to be underrated by the other critics. It passionately tells Alice's story with wit and a lot of decent story ideas. Visuals and action are good as well.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
AquophisFeb 6, 2012
I'm guessing this is one of those "loved by the public, hated by the critics"-type films. I, for one, found it delightful. What else would you expect when you have a wonderfully quirky author adapted by a wonderfully quirky director?
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
oxanaAug 24, 2014
I saw Disney's version years ago when I was a kid (in Finnish), and don't recall all that much from it... other than that it was a weird, psychedelic movie. I think this matches the themes of the original quite well.

They should've handed
I saw Disney's version years ago when I was a kid (in Finnish), and don't recall all that much from it... other than that it was a weird, psychedelic movie. I think this matches the themes of the original quite well.

They should've handed out glossaries before the movie started because I certainly felt like I needed one. All the made-up words seemed like utter gibberish for most of the time, which probably was the idea, but they ruined some of the momentum of the film since your brain stops to wonder about all those strange words and their meaning and oh, hey, the scene has already moved on!

Since what was being said made very little sense, it was hard to follow what was going on at times - not to mention annoying. Repeated watches might alleviate this problem but is that really the point?

Even without the odd words, the movie's plot seemed to be... lacking something. Coherency, maybe?

Sure, events take place in a world that doesn't need to make any sense. The characters were very eccentric, especially Johnny Depp's Mad Hatter who made very little sense at best. (And if they tried to sell the movie with his performance, I'll have to say that his character wasn't nearly as powerful as I could have hoped.)

The plot itself was good - when it made sense - but there was still something missing. It was amusing, but not outrageously so, and while Alice had to struggle to choose whether or not she would take a path appointed to her, that particular fight seemed to go over rather smoothly in the end.

The movie looked beautiful and magical, and very unreal. Bright colors and deep darkness. There were some parts that were surprisingly gruesome, so this is most definitely not a movie for small kids.

A decent movie, but with a lot of cracks and holes in the story, not to mention missing something that would have stabilized the whole experience.

I have to say that the most enjoyable thing of all was the Cheshire Cat and the Hatter's hat.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
EdorkMay 30, 2014
A pseudo sequel to the 1951 animated film, Tim Burton's Alice does a really good job of showing the titular character struggle with her inner demons and fight for the right to be her own person. It's mostly based on the book's sequel, ThroughA pseudo sequel to the 1951 animated film, Tim Burton's Alice does a really good job of showing the titular character struggle with her inner demons and fight for the right to be her own person. It's mostly based on the book's sequel, Through the Looking Glass, but it gives special call outs to most of Lewis Carrol's short stories and poems, particularly The Jabberwocky. The cast is great, and the visuals and music are Oscar worthy!
Very underrated film imo.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
wieltsjNov 26, 2012
Having a 4 year old child, we've been watching a lot of versions of Alice in Wonderland. I was nervous about seeing the Burton version for two reasons: (1) the really negative critic reviews; and (2) it seemed a bit scary for my son. InHaving a 4 year old child, we've been watching a lot of versions of Alice in Wonderland. I was nervous about seeing the Burton version for two reasons: (1) the really negative critic reviews; and (2) it seemed a bit scary for my son. In fact, I felt that this was, by far, the best version of Alice in Wonderland I have ever seen. Unlike the others, the characters had tremendous depth, not just random strange entities with no overall connection. And that lead me to the other wonderful thing about the film: IT HAS A PLOT. It's not just a surreal drama, but there is a plot that keeps the viewer engaged throughout, and gives a purpose for each character's actions. I did NOT expect this from Burton. Is it true to the original? Not really, but it's so much better. Much like the play Wicked had certain aspects that were much better than the book. I honestly think that this is one of the best movies I have seen in a long time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
RedShadowHatDec 30, 2012
Great movie for the entire family, primarily the kids. Funny with family friendly action. Any parent should get this movie for their kid. But I dont recommend watching it more then once or twice, the most is just a bit too predictable.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
MDG397Mar 8, 2013
It's pretty much just a film adaptation of the poem "Jabberwocky" by Lewis Carroll than the actual book that he wrote, that's not necessarily a bad thing but I just don't think that's what it should be about. Most other things are goodIt's pretty much just a film adaptation of the poem "Jabberwocky" by Lewis Carroll than the actual book that he wrote, that's not necessarily a bad thing but I just don't think that's what it should be about. Most other things are good though, acting, CGI, and I was entertained while I was watching it. It's a good movie, but definitely not a must-see. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
FreedomFightersNov 23, 2016
I still remember when this film first came out, it was all the buzz. The trailers got people excited, Disney laid out an aggressive marketing effort for the film and raised awareness for it, creating genuine interest in the film. Then it cameI still remember when this film first came out, it was all the buzz. The trailers got people excited, Disney laid out an aggressive marketing effort for the film and raised awareness for it, creating genuine interest in the film. Then it came out...and no one really knew what to think of it. Hell, I was in 6th grade at the time and even us 6th graders, a group that doesn't have the highest standards in the world to begin with, didn't even know what to make of the movie. Was it a great, fun, exciting adventure? Or was it too much style over substance? Well, I waited until the Blu-ray release to get my word on it and, well...I enjoyed it. It's gorgeously designed, it's exciting, fast-paced, reasonably fun, and pretty solidly acted. Sure, it does seem to be battle a gigantic identity crisis overall (is it supposed to be dark and serious, or light-hearted and goofy?) and the story isn't stellar, but "Alice in Wonderland" is a pretty entertaining film overall. Some people may have been so burned by the hype that anything less than excellent will be bad, but overall, even if it isn't "excellent," it's still a pretty good film overall that's worth watching at least once. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
lukechristianscNov 15, 2014
Well lets face it this film is a creative masterpeice from Walt Disney's original Alice in Wonderland which i got to say that it was a fun movie when growing up , Now it's Tim Burton's version of " Alice in wonderland"
with a new story ,
Well lets face it this film is a creative masterpeice from Walt Disney's original Alice in Wonderland which i got to say that it was a fun movie when growing up , Now it's Tim Burton's version of " Alice in wonderland"
with a new story , new cast also new characters. in 2010 watching this movie i was amazed by the effects the journey and Helen Bonham Carter's performance as the red queen also of course Anne Hathaway , Mia Wasikowska , and of course as always Johnny Depp when you watch A Tim Burton film you always see Depp ( Charlie in the chocolate factory , Ed Wood , Corpe's Bride , Sleepy Hollow , Todd Sweeney), Also he's the reason why this movie is brilliant his character is insane as the original Mad Hatter Burton's class style is weird and freaky which ends up brilliant and it's something that critics enjoy also fans enjoy. Burton and producer Richard Zanuck vision's of Wonderland and the movie have become epic. Grade A
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
geo333Feb 17, 2016
Tim Burton Alice in Wonderland it's a good attempt to bring the live adaptation to the bring screens. Part of that is because of strong supporting cast, however the story leaves more to be desired and more development is needed. In the end.Tim Burton Alice in Wonderland it's a good attempt to bring the live adaptation to the bring screens. Part of that is because of strong supporting cast, however the story leaves more to be desired and more development is needed. In the end. Alice In Wonderland is solid. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
DanBurritoSep 15, 2015
What were you expecting? It's not like the trailer didn't say it was a follow-up to the original story. There was even one bit (not in the final film) where the Hatter loudly says "Alice, you're back!" . This was actually a rather good film.What were you expecting? It's not like the trailer didn't say it was a follow-up to the original story. There was even one bit (not in the final film) where the Hatter loudly says "Alice, you're back!" . This was actually a rather good film. It had that distinct Tim Burton style to it and Johnny Depp does a very good job as The Mad Hatter. But I will agree with those who say the climax is over-the-top and out of place in an Alice in Wonderland movie, cool as it was. Nevertheless, Tim Burton's vision of Wonderland is a very interesting one. I've heard that the sequel uses the character of Time to show a much more detailed version of Alice's first trip to Wonderland. That's something to look forward to! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
diegonelliSep 13, 2015
Wow there are too many negative reviews O.o . In my opinion it was a fantastic movie and I love all the characters, I love the red Queen and the Mad Hatter! . I can't wait to through the looking glass.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Berry-TanFeb 28, 2016
The movie is seeped in distinctive visuals, is a journey worth taking mainly to see Tim Burton's imagination at play. I liked the plot, This movie puts it's 3D to good use.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
FuturedirectorMay 22, 2016
Alice in Wonderland is a kind of miracle, with a great direction, full of magic, color, suspense and interesting story-telling, including its amazing interpretations, despite the easy plot.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
GyrushoMay 31, 2016
Wow. I should have seen this movie way sooner than this. The Story was incredible dense with such great, diverse characters. The adventure is really thrilling with such great background music to take you "down the rabbit hole" I ReallyWow. I should have seen this movie way sooner than this. The Story was incredible dense with such great, diverse characters. The adventure is really thrilling with such great background music to take you "down the rabbit hole" I Really enjoyed this one as a fantasy movie where everything is rather vague and everything comes at you with at a certain point you feel you are part of the story. Great one and i should have seen it in theater instead of DVD! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews