Walt Disney Studios Motion Pictures | Release Date: March 5, 2010
5.8
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 695 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
308
Mixed:
235
Negative:
152
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
CallumJ.Mar 5, 2010
A brilliant masterpiece, what you have to realise is that this was nit meant as a follow up, but a re-envisioning of wonderland.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
TonyMar 20, 2010
The current version of Alice in Wonderland exhibited a notable effort however the film fell short of in comparison an anticipation of the original psychological version that engaged the abstract of society.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
VinceM.Mar 5, 2010
Wow...extremely disappointed...and the 3D seemed a little off but i dont consider that part of the movie....watch it anyway though. worth watching i guess.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
1
JustinR.Mar 5, 2010
Wow, getting really creative now aren't we Mr. Burton? Every movie you make is 90% finished before you even start, because you basically use the same people, same music, same sets, same everything, then pour 10% of the actual story in. Wow, getting really creative now aren't we Mr. Burton? Every movie you make is 90% finished before you even start, because you basically use the same people, same music, same sets, same everything, then pour 10% of the actual story in. Everything he touches turns to shit. Poor Alice, poor Mr. Carroll, and poor anyone who sees this steaming pile. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
2
PaulMar 5, 2010
Few moments and nice visuals, but slow and not all the great for me. The movie lost the charm of the non-sensical nature of the book.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
EvanL.Mar 6, 2010
Although this movie comes across in the end as commercial and highly predictable, there is a consistent intrigue about the development of the neo-Wonderland that is more then refreshing. Those who find its characters forward and lacking zest Although this movie comes across in the end as commercial and highly predictable, there is a consistent intrigue about the development of the neo-Wonderland that is more then refreshing. Those who find its characters forward and lacking zest to a new audience are forgetting that the last handful of generations grew up knowing every aspect of the main performers. Essentially Wonderland has become antiquated, and the fact that Burton and company could make them jovial and truly real in a way previous movies could not; resolves as a testament to their workmanship and vision. However, less make up Johnny. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
RickW.Mar 6, 2010
A wonderful film. The humor was excellent and was was a visual delight. Johnny Depp as the Mad Hatter was perfect and the crazy hare was intensley insaaaaaaaaane! Whatever the name of the dance the Mad Hatter did was fantastical.....our A wonderful film. The humor was excellent and was was a visual delight. Johnny Depp as the Mad Hatter was perfect and the crazy hare was intensley insaaaaaaaaane! Whatever the name of the dance the Mad Hatter did was fantastical.....our recommendation is "Don't be late!". Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
[Anonymous]Mar 7, 2010
I was generally fascinated by the animation, but the movie seemed to be incredibly predictable which led me to lose interest.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
LindaC.Mar 7, 2010
It is a fun, exciting, visually spectacular film!! I will see it at least once more while in theaters, as well as buy the DVD when released. One small curiosity, is it me or is the sound quality poor?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DonnieBApr 3, 2010
I really enjoyed this movie, and I'm born a crtic so I don't say that often. It was the exciting action/adventure that I had been waiting for. It was fun to watch and, excluding Ann Hathaway, the actors did an amazing job conveying I really enjoyed this movie, and I'm born a crtic so I don't say that often. It was the exciting action/adventure that I had been waiting for. It was fun to watch and, excluding Ann Hathaway, the actors did an amazing job conveying the history behind the characters without the use of cheesy flashbacks. Ann Hathaway's performance was terrible and she was one of the few setbacks to this movie. My only other complaint is that the ending was a little rushed and underexplained. However, this was an awesome movie and I recommend everyone to see it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EmP.Apr 4, 2010
When Burton misses - he misses, but when he hits... he hits it out of the park! I watched this film (non-3D version) with my jaw dropped open... I knew I was watching a true work of art. The more it unfolded, the more it became obvious it is When Burton misses - he misses, but when he hits... he hits it out of the park! I watched this film (non-3D version) with my jaw dropped open... I knew I was watching a true work of art. The more it unfolded, the more it became obvious it is a masterpiece. Fantasy fiction at its ABSOLUTE best! I was so lost in the land he created - the story was icing on this visual dessert - it didn't matter. And as for Johnny Depp - Has won me back..! He is a true master of the art of acting. Now I can't imagine the Mad Hatter any other way. Johnny & Tim forever. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
ScottMApr 4, 2010
Visually inventive, but emotionally uninvolving. Ends up a kind of "Alice of Arc". Bleah.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
JohnnyBApr 5, 2010
No disrespect to Tim Burton or Johnny Depp coz I love them but honestly... if you watch the movie up to the part where they first show you that scroll/calendar thing (in the first 20 minutes of the movie) then you will now know the rest of No disrespect to Tim Burton or Johnny Depp coz I love them but honestly... if you watch the movie up to the part where they first show you that scroll/calendar thing (in the first 20 minutes of the movie) then you will now know the rest of the movie. The ending was dissapointing. As one of the critics said and he was completely correct, "The biggest suprise about Alice in Wonderland was the lack of suprise". Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
LouisRMay 15, 2010
If it hadn't been an adaptation I might have enjoyed it but instead we have Lewis Carrol's brilliant nonsense literature turned into just another Narnia rip off. It does have some good Burton moments and Johnny Depp is amazing in it.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
7
JacksonCJun 13, 2010
Was it better than I expected? No. However, it was pretty good, and it had great 3D effects.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
TimothyV.Jun 2, 2010
Ugh. I ended up taking a phone call halfway through and used the film as a visual backdrop for my phone conversation with the volume down because I could not care less what the end result ended up being. What a snooze fest. Don't Tim, Ugh. I ended up taking a phone call halfway through and used the film as a visual backdrop for my phone conversation with the volume down because I could not care less what the end result ended up being. What a snooze fest. Don't Tim, Helena and Johnny ever get sick of one another because I'm sick of watching them play out the same characters over and over in film after film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
DavidP.Mar 14, 2010
A wonderful start...but just a ridiculous ending. From the time Alice puts on her armor till the credits roll there's not a minute's worth of the madness and charm that made the rest of the film work. In Burton's filmography A wonderful start...but just a ridiculous ending. From the time Alice puts on her armor till the credits roll there's not a minute's worth of the madness and charm that made the rest of the film work. In Burton's filmography this picture falls somewhere between Mars Attacks and Sleepy Hollow. Still waiting for another Ed Wood. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
jamesmMar 16, 2010
I thought this was a really entertaining, quirky and colourful movie. Don't understand the low scores here.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
RayRMar 17, 2010
This film held my interest while watching it, but was forgettable afterwards. The special effects were good but I expected Wonderland to be more colorful and amazing than what was in this film. The characters were well imagined even though I This film held my interest while watching it, but was forgettable afterwards. The special effects were good but I expected Wonderland to be more colorful and amazing than what was in this film. The characters were well imagined even though I had a difficult time understanding what they were saying. I'm a fan of many of the Burton/Depp movies but this film was somewhat of a disappointment for me. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JaperHMar 18, 2010
Terrible just ruined a classic. Hollywood need to learn to leave good movies alone.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
YasminBMar 19, 2010
Awful. Just awful. I sincerely wish Tim Burton and Johnny Depp would stop sacking and burning so many of my childhood memories.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
SimonDMar 19, 2010
Looking forward to this a lot but turned out to be a massive dissapointment. Not so much unpredictable as much as tells you the ending early on. The caterpillar was extremely dull and the ending was cheesy as hell - unexpected from a Burton Looking forward to this a lot but turned out to be a massive dissapointment. Not so much unpredictable as much as tells you the ending early on. The caterpillar was extremely dull and the ending was cheesy as hell - unexpected from a Burton film. Great performances from Depp and Bonham Carter but still a massive disappointment. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
BrettMar 5, 2010
Its like a bad acid trip. 3D is just another gimmick to increase ticket prices. I simply cannot recommend this to anybody. Mad Hatter is like Carrot Top from hell. Looks like a clown, and the whole world feels animated and fake to an extent Its like a bad acid trip. 3D is just another gimmick to increase ticket prices. I simply cannot recommend this to anybody. Mad Hatter is like Carrot Top from hell. Looks like a clown, and the whole world feels animated and fake to an extent thats unbearable. I like Deep, but I think its time he starts to turn down Burtons films... its getting old. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
ConnorC.Mar 5, 2010
This movie had great potential and I am saddened that it turned out to be a disappointment. From the first 20-30 minutes, you start to get the feeling that the movie is almost over.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
TomJ.Mar 5, 2010
Just came out of the theater. It was not good. It was cheap looking and the acting was so below average. Johnny Depp is a joke now. This movie was just a marketing/advertising frenzy. Blaaaaah.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SydneyJ.Mar 5, 2010
Brilliant, lush, gorgeous masterpiece. Burton's greatest film since Edward Scissorhands. I don't know how anyone could watch this film and not be entertained.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
GusMar 5, 2010
Visually stunning and an epic story. Maybe a little too epic as the film seems to spend to little time on too many characters. But Burton and company bring them to life and make every bit of Wonderland as real as can be. Must see in IMAX 3D.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ShaneM.Mar 6, 2010
I don't know what the critics who gave this movie a 25 are thinking, but this movie was truly excellent. While the plot was absolutely nothing like the books, it was also much more than a simple remake of the 1950s cartoon version of I don't know what the critics who gave this movie a 25 are thinking, but this movie was truly excellent. While the plot was absolutely nothing like the books, it was also much more than a simple remake of the 1950s cartoon version of the movie, and Burton's constant nods to the books more than made up for the plot deviation. Time and again I found myself delighted with the small details taken straight from Carroll's novels that were barely even addressed, but included just for those who'd read the books. The actors were all superb, and the new twist on the Mad Hatter (sort of a split-personality schizophrenia thing in addition to his outright wackiness) was very well done. In short, this is a must-see movie, in 3D if possible. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
GrahamS.Mar 6, 2010
A good movie especially in 3D but whoever acted as Alice had no clue what they were doing. Johnny Depp really saves this movie in my opinion.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DanL.Mar 6, 2010
Very entertaining and a visual feast for the eyes. The 3-D was not as good as Avatar, nevertheless it added to the spectacle.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KenS.Mar 6, 2010
Expected to see a movie version of the book but was pleasantly surprised that that wasn't the case. Takes familiar characters from the Alice books and the Jabberwocky poem by Caroll, and returns Alice to Wonderland 12 years later. Expected to see a movie version of the book but was pleasantly surprised that that wasn't the case. Takes familiar characters from the Alice books and the Jabberwocky poem by Caroll, and returns Alice to Wonderland 12 years later. Wasn't expecting much after reading a few reviews but it seems the reviewers just wanted to be disappointed. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
ChadS.Mar 6, 2010
It's anarchy on Victorian literature; anarchy in the 19th century U.K. This latest version of "Alice in Wonderland" wants to make a feminist hero out of the Lewis Carroll heroine. According to the oraculum, she's Alice the It's anarchy on Victorian literature; anarchy in the 19th century U.K. This latest version of "Alice in Wonderland" wants to make a feminist hero out of the Lewis Carroll heroine. According to the oraculum, she's Alice the Jabberwocky Slayer. This time around, Prophecy Girl is not here just to have tea. This special effects-driven film shares with Steven Spielberg's "Hook" the not altogether unappealing gimmick of an adult who returns to the fantastical realm that he/she haunted as a child. Alice was at the scene of the crime; the day that the Red Queen(Helena Bonham Carter) bombed the White Queen's court, in which the Hatter(Johnny Depp) went mad as he walked among the burning ruins. (The PG rating precludes the presence of royal court casualties.) As a young child, Alice suffered from nightmares and would ask her father about the state of her mental health. Too bad the calibration is all off on Alice's character; too bad she wasn't truly mad, somebody who would wake up screaming all throughout her life. This childhood trauma(that the film never addresses) has no effect on her as an adult. She seems fine in the carriage with her mother, en route to a garden party. It's him, not her, when Alice runs away from a formal marriage proposal at the gazebo, conducted in front of their friends and family. It should be the other way around. For commercial purposes, Alice is given no character arc. She enters, then emerges from Wonderland without any discernible changes. Her "Lord of the Rings" adventure could have been more rousing if she arrived in the shire, I mean Wonderland, as the Mad Debutante who ditched an Edward Ferrars-like bridegroom, and not the prig that Alice detests. Even Jane Austen's women got married. Set in the Victorian period, "Alice in Wonderland" should end with a wedding, not with the actions of a suffragette. This film has no sense and sensibility for its time and place. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
5
ChrisVMar 6, 2010
The special efects are cool, and the 3D even more, but the story, i thought it was going to be more interesting, but, i just got lost in the weird/ackward movie the whole time, this alice is not eligible to play as the real alice. Sucks period.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
G.D.Mar 6, 2010
I'm a Tim Burton fan. This movie takes the works of Lewis Carroll and has liberally applied Burton's dark creative powers. For me it works. Johnny Depps Mad Hatter is appropriately insane. Helena Bonham Carter was perfectly I'm a Tim Burton fan. This movie takes the works of Lewis Carroll and has liberally applied Burton's dark creative powers. For me it works. Johnny Depps Mad Hatter is appropriately insane. Helena Bonham Carter was perfectly grotesque. Crispin Glover as the El Grecoish villain exuded plenty of evil depravity.The art work and costumes pure Burtonian. The pace was a little slow at times. Although it could have been a little less predictable plotwise, that was not the intent of this darkly whimsical movie. Overall it was a lot of fun. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JonR.Mar 6, 2010
What was this movie? It is a mess. The 3D was terrible. The story was incomprehensible.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
WillC.Mar 7, 2010
Alice in Wonderland is a film that works in bits and pieces. The cast is pretty much perfect, the visuals are downright great and most of the dialogue works. But it makes too much sense, the beginning and the end completely failed and its Alice in Wonderland is a film that works in bits and pieces. The cast is pretty much perfect, the visuals are downright great and most of the dialogue works. But it makes too much sense, the beginning and the end completely failed and its obvious that Tim Burton is to action what Michael Bay is to writing. They're not very good at it. But its great fun and truly imaginative, but too bad this film ISN'T as mad as a hatter. It's worth seeing and the 3D worked well. Thumbs marginally up. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
SamY.Apr 5, 2010
A soulless version of the novel itself. Problem is Burton tries too hard to make it dark and effectively drains out the wit and emotion that made readers fall in love with the novel.The only thing that will impress you is its CGI.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
JustinApr 5, 2010
The 3D really sucked, I was expecting Avatar quality and wish I had watched the 2D version instead. Aside from the god awful 3D quality the Red Queen, Mad Hatter and Crispin Glover (I can't even remember his character) made the film bearable.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
DanielleB.Apr 5, 2010
this movie was just so boring!!! the story, the characters , a total waste of my money!!! the "3D" is just added there to make more money because people expect it to be amazing but it was not!!!! i really regret seeing this!!
2 of 5 users found this helpful
10
SamanthaSMay 18, 2010
This movie was amazing. Everything about it draws you in and keeps you there. You dont want it to end.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
7
JamesHJun 1, 2010
I submit reviews and ratings on 12 different sites, and for some reason this site is always way low on it's ratings. I don't get it! Another site that has an average of critic ratings quite similar to Metacritic must have happier I submit reviews and ratings on 12 different sites, and for some reason this site is always way low on it's ratings. I don't get it! Another site that has an average of critic ratings quite similar to Metacritic must have happier critics in their database. Alice in Wonderland has never been one of my favorite stories, and although Tim Burton doesn Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
7
LynAJun 2, 2010
Good movie, but a bit unfinished, not so mad as a hatter as I would like it to be.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
JoseRJun 3, 2010
This really doesn't deserve to be called Alice in Wonderland.
2 of 6 users found this helpful
8
AlexC.Mar 14, 2010
Thought this movie was great fun.....the charcters in Underland are very amusing. Johnny Depp gives another enjoyable Burton performance.....If you didn't enjoy this, you were probably too much of an Alice purist......or you are just Thought this movie was great fun.....the charcters in Underland are very amusing. Johnny Depp gives another enjoyable Burton performance.....If you didn't enjoy this, you were probably too much of an Alice purist......or you are just already spoiled by Avatar overload. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DanB.Mar 14, 2010
To all the critics that gave this movie a negative review: LIGHTEN UP! This movie isn't meant to be taken as Academy Award material. I viewed this movie in IMAX 3D and in my opinion thats the only way to see it. The effects were To all the critics that gave this movie a negative review: LIGHTEN UP! This movie isn't meant to be taken as Academy Award material. I viewed this movie in IMAX 3D and in my opinion thats the only way to see it. The effects were amazing, the characters touching and close to the source material. Yes, the story is a little far fetched but WHO CARES! It was just a great time watching this, if you dont think to much into it. No, this will not win the Oscar for film of the year, but in my eyes it was worth every penny and every second I used to see this. Taken for what it is, it was simply amazing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
LukeS.Mar 15, 2010
Typical girl power / coming of age story that is more inspired by Alice in Wonderland / Through the Looking Glass then based on the books that share its title. Visually stunning, the movie is worth at least a rental at some point. 3/5
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KyleAMar 17, 2010
I thought it was good ,but the story seemed a little rushed if that makes sense to anybody.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
KenBMar 21, 2010
Perhaps one of THE worst movies of all time, inasmuch a is based on an extremely important and unique story. A new, predictable plot was invented; characters created alliances, behaviors, and characteristics that had nothing to do with the Perhaps one of THE worst movies of all time, inasmuch a is based on an extremely important and unique story. A new, predictable plot was invented; characters created alliances, behaviors, and characteristics that had nothing to do with the story. What was the point of the modern dance thing randomly inserted? Why make Alice a young woman? Tim Burton's movies are becoming slickish satires of his own style. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
ThomasLMar 22, 2010
I have to admit that after looking forward to this, I fell asleep before it was over. Despite lots of great visuals, it doesn't really work. I agree with the reviewer who says its worst problem is that it "makes sense." I'm also I have to admit that after looking forward to this, I fell asleep before it was over. Despite lots of great visuals, it doesn't really work. I agree with the reviewer who says its worst problem is that it "makes sense." I'm also afraid that 3D is still pretty gimmicky. Maybe when we can lose the glasses, it will be a lot better. Anyway ... meh. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
FredMar 5, 2010
Would someone tell Tim Burton this story is based on a book! I do not expect a movie to be 100% loyal to the book, but he just threw it out the window! What a waste of a great actor.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
3
AmyMar 5, 2010
Very very bad casting of Alice, I was disappointed with this film. The 3D was ok and the other characters held up but I didn't believe this Alice at all which screwed the whole thing for me....
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
MichaelD.Mar 5, 2010
Yet another steaming dump Burton drops on Hollywood. This movie was so unsatisfying, cheesy, and predictable...don't see this movie. Unless you aren't paying for it. None the less you will still regret seeing this movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
DevonC.Mar 6, 2010
The worst movie ever made. The special effects were terrible. And the presentation of it's style is horribly corny. This has to be Depp's most embarrassing role, as well as Tim Burton's most underachieving film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
DaveH.May 22, 2010
This movie had very impressive visuals, i watched it in 2D but visuals were really good, however, the movie lacks something called life, this movie didn't focus on anything and movies like that usually suck (such as the Dark Knight), This movie had very impressive visuals, i watched it in 2D but visuals were really good, however, the movie lacks something called life, this movie didn't focus on anything and movies like that usually suck (such as the Dark Knight), and like the Dark Knight, it lacks an emotional feeling or purpose, barely worth watching in DVD or TV. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
PeterBMay 28, 2010
I can see how this movie may have charmed 7-year-old children across the world. The rest of us ought to be ashamed of such a foolish adaptation of Carroll's work of art. For those of you doting on Depp's performance, I suggest you I can see how this movie may have charmed 7-year-old children across the world. The rest of us ought to be ashamed of such a foolish adaptation of Carroll's work of art. For those of you doting on Depp's performance, I suggest you see Blow, Finding Neverland, or even Edward Scissorhands as you will be in for a treat. Let's just hope that the novelty of 3D movies fades quickly so that Hollywood has to return to writing, directing, and acting out quality screenplays. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
KennyFMay 30, 2010
Entertaining and spectacular 3-d!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
JoeBlowJun 3, 2010
5 out of 10. Just average. Actually average movies suck because they are not worth my time. Avoid this one.
2 of 7 users found this helpful
2
StevenLJun 7, 2010
What makes this movie so miserably awful, in addition to its incoherent narrative,l is its contrast with our high expectations for each new Tim Burton film . Yet, this time the commercial demands of keeping up with the Jones', or What makes this movie so miserably awful, in addition to its incoherent narrative,l is its contrast with our high expectations for each new Tim Burton film . Yet, this time the commercial demands of keeping up with the Jones', or Cameron's, commercially and technologically, snuffed any chance this chaotic fantasy might have had. One can only hope that Mr. Burton rediscovers his innovative voice and rejoins his deserved place in the pantheon of post modern cinema. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
XavierO.Mar 14, 2010
I was very very disappointed. The humor was bland, the whole story seemed rushed, i just did not find the movie to be anything near good. The only plus was the beautiful atmospheres and art, but other than that, i was hoping and waiting the I was very very disappointed. The humor was bland, the whole story seemed rushed, i just did not find the movie to be anything near good. The only plus was the beautiful atmospheres and art, but other than that, i was hoping and waiting the movie would end sooner. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
lisacMar 17, 2010
I saw this movie with an open mind, despite the reviews. Felt the acting and filming were excellent. I was spellbound, and brought into Alice's world.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
GlennSMar 21, 2010
Visually Alice in Wonderland a treat but, the story was disappointingly pedestrian, boring, predictable, a story by numbers. Couldn't wait for it to be over. The 3-D added very little to the experience. Johnny Depp's weakest movie Visually Alice in Wonderland a treat but, the story was disappointingly pedestrian, boring, predictable, a story by numbers. Couldn't wait for it to be over. The 3-D added very little to the experience. Johnny Depp's weakest movie in a while. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
AndrewWMay 29, 2010
Absolutely disappointing. I realize that the original maker of Alice in Wonderland was tripping on LSD and raping a girl named alice, but that doesn't give tim burton the right to ruin a classic movie. There wasn't even a Absolutely disappointing. I realize that the original maker of Alice in Wonderland was tripping on LSD and raping a girl named alice, but that doesn't give tim burton the right to ruin a classic movie. There wasn't even a Wonderland. Hello the name of the movie is alice IN WONDERLAND. Instead the movie was like a long acid trip that in the end was just upseting. I wouldn't recommend this movie to anyone. If you want to see Alice in Wonderland watch the original. if you are going to remake a movie at least keep the main point of the movie in the new one. for this movie it is Wonderland and Wonderland isn't in the new movie. EPIC F*CKING FAIL TIM BURTON. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
RafaelBMay 31, 2010
This movie is completely devoid of soul and purpose. When the movie ends you realize just how uninspiring it is, leaving little to no mark on you. It's so standard and expected. You can tell how the story ends from shot 1. I'm This movie is completely devoid of soul and purpose. When the movie ends you realize just how uninspiring it is, leaving little to no mark on you. It's so standard and expected. You can tell how the story ends from shot 1. I'm afraid this is 100% forgettable movie and you should definitely check out something more worthy of your time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
aabender002Aug 11, 2010
It is a perfectly acceptable film, but I couldn't escape the feeling that so much more could have been done with such potent material. This is, after all, Tim Burton doing Alice in Wonderland! Why wasn't I blown away?
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Lopez17Aug 16, 2010
Tim Burton's update of the classic Lewis Carroll tale "Alice in Wonderland" is an inspired work it embodies everything that makes Burton a master and what makes him a genius at the art of dark fantasy. While this sequel ,or re Imagining,Tim Burton's update of the classic Lewis Carroll tale "Alice in Wonderland" is an inspired work it embodies everything that makes Burton a master and what makes him a genius at the art of dark fantasy. While this sequel ,or re Imagining, if you would like to call it, is a dark morbid fantasy film that while may lack the wide eyed child enthusiasm of the 1951 Walt Disney animated production it still keeps the adventure, the fun and the charm of the original production and book. What I liked most about it was the dry sense of humor infused into this classic story, but also I like the fact that it does not try to be more than what it is; it does not try to be some audacious fantasy film. Instead, it settles for an above average Burton film with a lighthearted side, while retaining the amazing visuals and stylish pace that is expected of Tim Burton. "Alice in Wonderland" may not impress everyone but for those who like some visually appealing dark fantasy films with a good-hearted story to them. "Alice in Wonderlandâ Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
smijatovAug 13, 2010
Going into the film with very little expectations, I was very pleasantly surprised! The acting was really good, especially by the lead actress and Helena Bonham Carter... Anne Hathaway was somewhat annoying, but that's just because of theGoing into the film with very little expectations, I was very pleasantly surprised! The acting was really good, especially by the lead actress and Helena Bonham Carter... Anne Hathaway was somewhat annoying, but that's just because of the nature of her character - all bubbly and ... annoying. Ha.

Anyway, visually, though, the film is just breath-taking and it definitely projects the magic that should be present in an adaptation of "Alice in Wonderland." It definitely feels like a magical world and it is a very entertaining film!
One of Burton's better efforts, for sure!
Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
7
HarbingerAug 14, 2010
While it was light on plot and character development, Alice in Wonderland was a visual delight-perhaps the best ever created by Tim Burton. It's not amazing. But for those who haven't seen it, I recommend you give it a chance, and tumbleWhile it was light on plot and character development, Alice in Wonderland was a visual delight-perhaps the best ever created by Tim Burton. It's not amazing. But for those who haven't seen it, I recommend you give it a chance, and tumble down the rabbit hole with Alice. A 7.5/10. Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
8
ERG1008Oct 4, 2010
Tim Burton's re-imagining of Lewis Carroll's classic fairytale using his inevitable dark ,Gothic style. Really enjoyed this and it's a mixture of the original book & Through the Looking Glass. As expected, the visuals are brilliantly surreal,Tim Burton's re-imagining of Lewis Carroll's classic fairytale using his inevitable dark ,Gothic style. Really enjoyed this and it's a mixture of the original book & Through the Looking Glass. As expected, the visuals are brilliantly surreal, voice acting great & with Johnny Depp & Helena Bonham-Carter hamming it up as the Mad Hatter & Red Queen respectively. Danny Elfman's score plays a big part too in keeping the tone as he's done with most of Burton's work. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
JadenAug 19, 2010
You know why I don't like this movie at all? Just because of those stupid ads they have on the internet! They're annoying(just because I saw them a billion times on the internet)! I'd never watch this at all! EVER!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
iamkhenzpolenioAug 22, 2010
A fantastic movie for all ages. Full of funs, fantasies, mysteries and all. It has the element to attract people. I'm very proud to Mia Wasikowska, she does a great act for this. The Red Queen is very funny. I don't get the character of theA fantastic movie for all ages. Full of funs, fantasies, mysteries and all. It has the element to attract people. I'm very proud to Mia Wasikowska, she does a great act for this. The Red Queen is very funny. I don't get the character of the Mad Hatter who is played by Johnny Depp so i will minus the perfect points for this movie. Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
7
JoaxAug 23, 2010
A Terrible deception...Tim Burton...what happened in this movie?
The music is fantastic (Danny Elfman is brilliant) and the vissual effects are amazing but...what happened with the history? there's no emotion and sorry but it's a little
A Terrible deception...Tim Burton...what happened in this movie?
The music is fantastic (Danny Elfman is brilliant) and the vissual effects are amazing but...what happened with the history? there's no emotion and sorry but it's a little boring...a terrible deception.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
JammerjointAug 28, 2010
Horrifying. It's as if the movie's entire purpose was to reinforce the dominant paradigm rather than deny it, and all the while take deliberate measure to mock the unfortunate. The Red Queen character was the only one that felt remotelyHorrifying. It's as if the movie's entire purpose was to reinforce the dominant paradigm rather than deny it, and all the while take deliberate measure to mock the unfortunate. The Red Queen character was the only one that felt remotely human, and she was swiftly disposed of with sadist cruelty. The White Queen, for someone who supposedly was the image of purity, was of a condescending, arrogant, and spiteful brand. Alice herself just falls back into others' expectations by slaying the Jabberwocky, which is itself a hardly thoughtful and tedious motion to forge some sort of third act; needless to say, the bit at the end is an offense to the Chinese deserving of harsh reprimand. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
MetalMan95Oct 31, 2010
The WORST movie of 2010. Its a horrible sequel to a so-so movie. CGI is bad, 3D was atrocious, i was bored and I was just sitting there waiting for it to end.
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
6
peoplewhomatterNov 3, 2010
I have to say Johnny Depp did a great job in the movie, but thats about it. what really ruined the story was the actress who played Alice. she was boring and did not make you want to keep watching the movie. the graphics and animation wereI have to say Johnny Depp did a great job in the movie, but thats about it. what really ruined the story was the actress who played Alice. she was boring and did not make you want to keep watching the movie. the graphics and animation were excellent though. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
JacobMar 7, 2013
I'm really mixed on this movie. On one end the art style looks cool capturing the strangeness of Wonderland quite nicely. Plus, it's nice that the film was not a rehash of the previous Disney version of the film. On the other hand though II'm really mixed on this movie. On one end the art style looks cool capturing the strangeness of Wonderland quite nicely. Plus, it's nice that the film was not a rehash of the previous Disney version of the film. On the other hand though I did not care too much about the characters and the story. Plus, the story telling felt a little cliche for me. Overall, decent flick not going to recommend it and I'm not going to say do not see it because I do not feel strongly towards one side or the other. I'm going to say is see it in 3D if you can because there are a lot of 3Dish shots in the film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
gm101Sep 15, 2010
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I really thought I was going to dislike this movie. However, I was surprised by how much I liked it. Johnny Depp was excellent as the Mad Hatter. Although, my only complaint was that Christopher Lee was really underused. I wish I could hear him speak more lines as the Jabberwocky. Expand
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
7
txrangersfan72Dec 30, 2010
While I saw the original 1951 animated film when I was a child, and had the LP that told the story in an abridged form during my younger years, I've never read the Lewis Carroll novels, nor do I really remember much from Walt Disney'sWhile I saw the original 1951 animated film when I was a child, and had the LP that told the story in an abridged form during my younger years, I've never read the Lewis Carroll novels, nor do I really remember much from Walt Disney's original masterpiece. What I can attest to is how beautiful and entertaining Tim Burton's version was. I've read several reviews from those who did not care much about this film. Those who hated the deviation from the original story. Those who hated the deviation from the animated film. Those who thought it was another fantastical, yet watered down, version of Tim Burton's imagination.

I suppose all of those opinions could be true. However, while I can understand how tired it is to continue seeing Depp in a lot of makeup and playing what appears to be the same character with a different voice in yet another Tim Burton movie, the fact is, this was a Disney feature film. It wasn't budgeted for Tim to go all "Tim Burton" on it. It needed to appeal to kids and adults alike, and this film greatly achieved that. Disney is using the most colorful and imaginative director to bring to life another Disney classic in order to achieve the same success as Pirates of the Caribbean. Adults and children alike are very familiar with Tim Burton and Johnny Depp, so to have expected anything more than what was delivered was unrealistic. To go farther Tim Burtonesque would have resulted in a movie Disney would not have been able to market. To move further away from Tim Burton would have watered down what Tim is good at. The visuals, action and theatrics of Alice in Wonderland were the perfect mix of original story, contemporary taste and modern talents. No one else could have pulled this film off better.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
not_goodNov 2, 2010
I remember one year, Target had copies of Santa Clause Conquers The Martians. I bought this, and then proceeded to watch it at my home. I got a few minutes into it before I realized I had seen this movie before. It seems Mystery ScienceI remember one year, Target had copies of Santa Clause Conquers The Martians. I bought this, and then proceeded to watch it at my home. I got a few minutes into it before I realized I had seen this movie before. It seems Mystery Science Theater 3 Thousand had already covered this movie. This movie was so bad, it had already gone down in legend. There is not 1 redeeming feature in that movie. I enjoyed Manos: Hand of Fate more than Santa Clause Conquers The Martians.


Alice in Wonderland is the worst movie I have ever seen in my life.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
RyanGeeSep 28, 2010
Mainstream Hollywood is entering an era of ridiculous amounts of CGI effects and unfathomable budgets. After watching an outlandishly gaudy Avatar and Tim Burton's atrocious animation film 9, Alice In Wonderland wasn't so promising. But toMainstream Hollywood is entering an era of ridiculous amounts of CGI effects and unfathomable budgets. After watching an outlandishly gaudy Avatar and Tim Burton's atrocious animation film 9, Alice In Wonderland wasn't so promising. But to my surprise, Alice shows that there is modest hope, not a lot, in this ill-fated generation of movies.

After an average attempt in recreating a classic with Charlie And The Chocolate Factory, Tim Burton tries to use his whimsical touch with a beloved Disney classic. But instead of simply remaking it, Tim Burton tells a story of his own, an addition to Lewis Carroll's 19th century novels. In Alice In Wonderland, Alice returns to the magical world with minimal memory of actually ever visiting this place. In this second venture, Alice reunites with the Mad Hatter and friends to end the tyrannical reign of The Red Queen. On the way, Alice learns the meaning of her mysterious memories and finds out who she really is (cliche, I know).

Alice In Wonderland has some positive attributes that redeems the subject matter. Its greatest aspect is its star-studded cast, which is probably the main attraction of the film. The Mad Hatter, portrayed by Johnny Depp, is a mishmash of characters Captain Jack Sparrow and Willy Wonka. As ridiculous as that sounds, he pulls it off as he does in almost every Depp-Burton collaboration. Helena Carter (The Red Queen), puts so much personality into the character, that her continuous exclamations of "Off With The Head" were not bothersome, but entertaining every time. Finally, Mia Wasikowska shows Vanity Fair correct in that she's an Actress To Watch. Although having annoying dialogue at several parts of the film, she shows that she can act and bring life to a beloved Disney character with her realness and believability. Another great quality of the film is its soundtrack. Just as it did in films such as Batman Returns, Danny Elfman's composition makes the audience really like they're in an alternate world with its lovely orchestral sound. Also, the dialogue really complements the original characters as well.

Although Alice In Wonderland possesses many great qualities, there are several noticeable flaws. There are some minor blemishes in the plot that are questionable. Why is Alice without knowledge of her previous venture to Wonderland? Even in a flashback, she thinks that they are just nightmares. How does Alice keep on thinking that the whole adventure is a dream? The movie shows a lapse of about a week, is it not obvious that a dream is not this extensive? Lastly, the main flaw is the first half's lack of magic. The first act of the movie is not colorful at all and is ultimately dull. Yes, The Red Queen's corrupt rule has affected this world, but can it not be slightly more appealing. The visuals of this portion of the movie cannot match the vibrant world of Pandora in Avatar, leading the audience to question, where is the wonder? Not until the protagonists reach the castle of The Red Queen is it as rich as its animated original. When it reaches this point, the CGI really complements the world. Keep in mind that I did not watch the movie in 3D, so I might be incorrect. But the dullness is so apparent, I do not think a multidimensional view would make much of a difference. These are flaws that can possibly be overlooked, but the main problem is Tim Burton. Burton makes a film pleasing to the eye and senses, but it definitely doesn't attach itself to the audience like Burton's past films. Why can't we connect with any of the character as we did with Edward Scissorhands? Why can't we sympathize with The Red Queen as we did with DeVito's Penguin? This cannot be simply shrugged off because the director every moviegoer knows as a visionary is simply conforming into Hollywood.

Overall, Alice In Wonderland is a film with more quality than other films with similar ridiculous budgets, which in all actuality is not saying too much. It definitely isn't on par with Burton's true great films in the way it tugs at the viewer's emotions, but even though it has its flaws, its great cast makes it worthy of 2 hours of your weekend.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
TubieNov 2, 2010
I loved this movie and I don't care what people think! This was a great movie, the style, and atmosphere created was dark and at the same time pretty. I specially loved the queen. This movie is simple fun with a very pretty art style.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
JudddyOct 4, 2010
It is not quite as brilliant as I expected. Johnny Depp's creation of the Mad Hatter is wonderful, but it seems to dominate the film, where as Mia Wasikowska's 'Alice' was just as great a character to watch. It is unfortunate too that theIt is not quite as brilliant as I expected. Johnny Depp's creation of the Mad Hatter is wonderful, but it seems to dominate the film, where as Mia Wasikowska's 'Alice' was just as great a character to watch. It is unfortunate too that the film ends with a large action sequence that seems to downgrade the film overall, however the quirkiness and amazing visuals of the film, and the charm that is nevertheless existent despite its flaws, overcomes these. The stand out performance comes from Helena Bonham Carter, whose wonderful interpretation of the Red Queen is hilarious rather than villainous. It is, so far, one of the best films of the year so far and definitely worth watching. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MovieLonely94Oct 27, 2010
the way Avril Lavigne did the song Alice was the only reason why this movie was such a big hit from Tim Burton. take my advice: go and see it.
2 of 7 users found this helpful25
All this user's reviews
10
GVirus16Oct 30, 2010
The point of an adaptation is to create your OWN vision, while sticking true to the important elements, of the original story. Tim Burton has done just that, and beautifully. Not my FAVORITE adaptation of "Alice's Adventures in Wonderland",The point of an adaptation is to create your OWN vision, while sticking true to the important elements, of the original story. Tim Burton has done just that, and beautifully. Not my FAVORITE adaptation of "Alice's Adventures in Wonderland", but it's up there, and is certainly a memorable experience. In IMAX 3-D, it truly blows you away (especially the rabbit hole scene; GENIUS!) Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
2
MiraLomaNov 23, 2010
Movie is just an attractive and appealing picture, unfortunately it contains nothing valuable. One time see movie, will not watch it again. '3D' added just to be. Average
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
arthurcloudNov 24, 2010
C'est une mauvaise adaptation. Un point c'est tout. Les premiers films de Tim Burton restent des chefs-d'oeuvre comparés à cette chose sans forme. Si vous avez adoré Charlie Et La Chocolaterie vousC'est une mauvaise adaptation. Un point c'est tout. Les premiers films de Tim Burton restent des chefs-d'oeuvre comparés à cette chose sans forme. Si vous avez adoré Charlie Et La Chocolaterie vous aimerez surement cette version d'Alice. Ce n'est évidemment pas mon cas. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
unclemarselluswNov 24, 2010
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Half Of this point goes to johnny depp and the other half point goes to helena bonham carter, no problems with them at all. However having never even read the book, I will say that other than the two aforementioned actors this film was garbage. It had no direction, the main character was left completely undeveloped, the actress playing the main character had no screen presence let alone confidence in her role, there was no sense of tension, I'm pretty sure something called a bandersnatch (which my mother informs me was not ever seen in the book) is not supposed to be and endeared loveable dog thing, it turned into another uneededly epic underdog story at the end, with unspoken potential for romance between the pimary female and male lead (oh disney you never fail to do this), there were a ton of unecessary characters who DID not pull their weight (spastic rabbit thing, mouse, other rabbit thing, the goddamn dog {aww he has a family, how lovingly manipulative} and the fat boys) Ughh and she does one of those disney things where she goes and tells everyone whats what at the end of the film all things which could have been concluded at the beginning of the film and i would have forgiven it ALL IF THE GODDAMN JABBERWOCK WASNT A GODDAMN DRAGON!! AGHH EVERYTHING IS A DRAGON MY DAMN COFFEE TABLE IS A DRAGON! MY EBONY COA COA BUTTER CO*CHIE IS A DRAGON MY IMAGINARY NEPHEW IS A DAMN DRAGON! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Ruler101Dec 2, 2010
In the creative mind of director Tim Burton I say bravo. These graphics show that is mind thinks in very strange ways. The acting and the screenplay were rough in areas and great in others. Some of the time you just sit there and wonder "IsIn the creative mind of director Tim Burton I say bravo. These graphics show that is mind thinks in very strange ways. The acting and the screenplay were rough in areas and great in others. Some of the time you just sit there and wonder "Is this ever going to move on??" and other parts you think "Holy crap this is great!!" It really depends how you look at this movie to know if you love it, hate it, or thought it was good. for me i thought it was good but certain parts of me wished they made the first part and then this part next. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
arziankorpenDec 19, 2010
Just one word: Boring. It is just so boring and it isn't good in any sense, not the characters not the story, nothing. Apparently Burton was just given a bunch of money and decided not to focus on the story or the characters or giving anJust one word: Boring. It is just so boring and it isn't good in any sense, not the characters not the story, nothing. Apparently Burton was just given a bunch of money and decided not to focus on the story or the characters or giving an inventive view on the wonderful book this movie is based on, and just spent it on the special effects which are just ok. Terrible movie can't believe it's nominated for a golden globe. Expand
3 of 9 users found this helpful36
All this user's reviews
3
TheQuietGamerMar 26, 2011
Another classic story that Tim Burton messes up by making it dark, don't get me wrong I've always wanted to see the story of Alice in Wonderland in a more mature setting about her sanity slipping, but it doesn't do that it just tries to makeAnother classic story that Tim Burton messes up by making it dark, don't get me wrong I've always wanted to see the story of Alice in Wonderland in a more mature setting about her sanity slipping, but it doesn't do that it just tries to make it an action movie with a darker tone, but fails because it doesn't make any sense, the reason I didn't enjoy it is because they have the setting, but they don't have the all characters as they should, I only like one character and that was not enough to save the movie from failure. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
7
JonnyFendiJan 10, 2011
Finally, I saw ALICE IN WONDERLAND the movie that I have been waiting for such a long time. The tale about nineteen years old Alice following the white rabbit, to find her destiny back in Wonderland that now ruled by Red Queen. The movieFinally, I saw ALICE IN WONDERLAND the movie that I have been waiting for such a long time. The tale about nineteen years old Alice following the white rabbit, to find her destiny back in Wonderland that now ruled by Red Queen. The movie directed by Tim Burton, the man specialty in eye candy and delight visualization. Thiz movie is the seventh collaboration with Johnny Depp as his main Cast, after EDWARD SCISSORHANDS (1990), ED WOOD (1994), SLEEPY HOLLOW (1999), CHARLIE AND THE CHOCOLATE FACTORY (2005), CORPSE BRIDE (2005), and SWEENEY TODD: THE DEMON BARBER OF FLEET STREET (2007). His other masterpiece features are: BEETLE JUICE (1988), BATMAN (1989) and BIG FISH (2003). Thiz movie supported by various Casts like: Anne Hathaway, Crispin Glover, Michael Sheen, Alan Rickman, and Mia Wasikowska as Alice. The most powerful performance in thiz movie is Big Head Red Queen character, which played amazingly wicked and funny at the same time by Helena Bonham Carter (is about the same character on Lord Farquaad in first SHREK (2001)). Bonham Carter performance exceeds Depp appearance. Her existence saves the movie for overall. Beside that I did not feel any emotions on thiz film, everything was flat. Actually, thiz movie did not supported by good script. It might, the worse script that came to Tim Burton desk in these past twenty years of his career, despite the visualization is A-class. The story is an alternate version of Alice originally written by Lewis Caroll. thiz version did not carry such a thrill and interesting plots. In the final scene (Spoiler Alert!), give Alice a sword and knight armor to slay a dragon? It is definitely not a good option. The change is too radical, soft and tender Alice that builds from the beginning, suddenly take an incisive turn over. The flip over so hard that possibly had become its own boomerang itself.

Visit My Blog on JONNY'S MOVEE : http://jonnyfendi.blogspot.com
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
christinaFeb 3, 2011
this movie wasn't horrible and it wasn't great but it did show the scenes as a magical area and i loved how Johnny Depp played the mad hater but over all it was interesting.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
jimmytancrediMay 29, 2011
Alice in Wonderland is a very pleasant movie. The movie passed without me blinking, there was no dull moment what so ever. By the time it reached signs of the "end" I asked myself, has it been 5 minutes yet? The movie puts you in a veryAlice in Wonderland is a very pleasant movie. The movie passed without me blinking, there was no dull moment what so ever. By the time it reached signs of the "end" I asked myself, has it been 5 minutes yet? The movie puts you in a very interesting world with strange places and characters. The music in this film was the best music I've heard in a movie in a long time. The acting was amusing and little details about the characters' personalities was made in a very smart fashion that will keep you entertained through out the movie. I give Alice in Wonderland a 6 or 7 for all the fun that I had watching it, I wished it was 1 hour longer. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
Efreet69Mar 7, 2011
I'd break this movie down into the following components: 1. Story: Three and a Half Stars; >>>> 2. Acting: Three Stars; Competent but not groundbreaking; >>>> 3. Sound and Visuals: Four Stars; Gorgeous but sometimes "too unreal." YesI'd break this movie down into the following components: 1. Story: Three and a Half Stars; >>>> 2. Acting: Three Stars; Competent but not groundbreaking; >>>> 3. Sound and Visuals: Four Stars; Gorgeous but sometimes "too unreal." Yes that's an odd statement for a fantasy film. What I mean by this is that some times you are too aware that it is not real, in that it seems artificial. Well done effects can mute the aspect of artificiality, as I feel was done better in the second and third "Lord of the Rings films."; >>>> 4. Gestalt: The movie does not excel the sum of its components, as few films do. An example of one that does is "The King's Speech." >>>> My full cinema profile here: http://bit.ly/MyMovies Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
guardboy21Apr 11, 2011
This movie totally rocked. Johnny Depp, Mia however you spell her last name, Helena Bonham Carter and Anne Hathaway i think did a fantastic job. This was one of my favorites of 2010.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
Rick_RogersMay 1, 2011
Well thankyou Tim Buton, thankyou for at least making me want to deliberately avoid thinking about how much I hate this film. I summarise reasons below why I endeavour to avoid even remembering what it is I despised so much about this film,Well thankyou Tim Buton, thankyou for at least making me want to deliberately avoid thinking about how much I hate this film. I summarise reasons below why I endeavour to avoid even remembering what it is I despised so much about this film, and why it actually makes me depressed just to write this review. In no particular order of awfulness:

1. The plot; it may as well not be there, it is just an excuse to go through hyper weird set pieces that end up looking like art student vomit. In fact there is no plot, I was wrong to even mention the word and I am sorry for that

2. Visual Direction; should have been made as another stop motion film a lá Nightmare or Corpse Bride, because the visual style they were going for was clearly done by someone who saw those films and thought long and hard about how to regurgitate them onto a green screen. 3. The voice acting; t his film is basically comprised of non-real characters who are cgi'd next to real ones, and they were mostly good (enough) but these 3 wanted to make me cry: The: Red Queen, awfully shrill (Queeny anyone?) and devoid of any real charm or humor. Dormouse, Barbara Windsor playing a ridiculously re-purposed character in a ridiculous over acted voice and Johnny Depp, a real actor performance you say? No, if you look closely you can see someone drew him in with Crayolas. 4. Johnny Depp: Please stop, oh God why won't you stop? What...are you, are you Scottish now? Why? Oh no....I'll pay you, whatever Burton offered I'll double. Just please...wait, what are you doing now? No please stop dancing...oh Christ no.No.No.No.

5. The Sacrilege: Hello source material! Goodbye source material!!!!! I recall fondly my childhood memories of bedtime stories when I was very young at around 5 to reading the books myself when 7 and feeling to this day the influence they have on my creativity and the very landscape of my mind, if you will. Only two years ago I finally found 'my copy' of the book at a book fair, a beautiful hardback 1970s ed with all the original J. Tenniel illustrations and including some letters by L. Carol and I was so excited to have it in my hand after years of borrowing the family copy. I read the book once every two years or so to refresh it in my mind without it becoming boring, and I was so excited to hear of the new film. I won't bother to go into detail, but everything about this hash of a cash cow got under my skin. When looking back on the original story, I loved most its purity and and it's otherworldly, edge-of-dreaming surrealism and of course Alice, because I found it so easy to take her place; and when I look at what they warped these inherent properties into I feel angry and almost physically sick.


There you go, I am done. This film is probably worth some mark other than zero, hell it's probably even worth a couple of good comments, but I am even too biased to care at this point abut being too biased. I am like a grieving parent who has had a child brutally murdered by a callous and dangerous killer, with no comprehension of the damage he has caused through his actions, my only hope is that this film will slowly rot away in a cell until everyone forgets about it and then maybe I can move on.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
LeewayJul 3, 2011
All the beauty and the hard work in creating Wonderland really pays off especially if seen in 3D.
Tim Burton's dark direction of Alice In Wonderland is somewhat interesting, the finishing look looks well made but sometimes its a bit too
All the beauty and the hard work in creating Wonderland really pays off especially if seen in 3D.
Tim Burton's dark direction of Alice In Wonderland is somewhat interesting, the finishing look looks well made but sometimes its a bit too gloomy and added with the dullness of a story that is all too mature for anybody 10 and under (Go figure: Alice is like in her late teens, more problems). The characters all have their own unique touch; Alice is the low key but she's not a chore to look at, Johnny Depp is as charming as ever (a more crazier take then Jack Sparrow), The Red Queen's big heart shaped head is BIG and Anne Hathaway's White Queen never stops putting her hands in the air. Each character has charm in them but when added with Tim Burton's touch, each of them have their own "dark side." Alice seems to be the normal one but the rest like Mad Hatter (his creepy red eyes) and White Queen (when she's not looking at her orchids she's in the kitchen making up a hot potion of fingers and saliva) are all mad but in a good-funny way. Let us not forget about Alan Rickman who plays an ugly-wrinkled caterpillar that only puffs on a cigarette or in a kid's interpretation 'sucking on a perfume looking bottle and blowing out circle clouds.'
The whole entire film...lets just say, "Tim Burton, WHAT on Earth have you've been smoking?" The whole entire film is like on the high ride with Tim Burton which makes the film Mad! I guess its a good thing, whatever he's smoking seems to be working for him and while I was watching this film, I couldn't help but hallucinate as well. The Storyline of the Film: It gets a 60%.
It was very simply done and told. It seems like every Disney movie has a theme which this one has. Theme: being brave and mad at the same time which is what I got out of it. I know other people think it's about governing yourself and taking the lead. The C.G.I usage of the Film: It gets an 80%
Visually Striking! A movie that gets credits for the visuals.
Overall: 70%
It's an interesting film made only to catch the audience's eyes but it does little effect to move the heart.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
HellionMay 19, 2016
Stop ruining Disney classics already and stop using Depp in everything. What is the obsession with the guy? Sure he was great in Pirates of the Caribbean but Mad Hatter? Give us a break. Should never have been made into a live action movie.Stop ruining Disney classics already and stop using Depp in everything. What is the obsession with the guy? Sure he was great in Pirates of the Caribbean but Mad Hatter? Give us a break. Should never have been made into a live action movie. Actually, Terry Gilliam should have been the one to have done it. Tim Burton just doesn't have it anymore in my opinion. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
5
CRLAug 27, 2011
The acting is superbly wacky; Mia Wasikowska is excellent and Johnny Depp is perfectly cast. However this movie, which should more correctly be titled 'Through the Looking Glass,' features a plot and script so confusing and convoluted thatThe acting is superbly wacky; Mia Wasikowska is excellent and Johnny Depp is perfectly cast. However this movie, which should more correctly be titled 'Through the Looking Glass,' features a plot and script so confusing and convoluted that the acting is lost in the muddle. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
heybuddymoviesAug 1, 2011
One summerâ
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Yu38111Aug 15, 2011
Alice in wonderland is good movie. But, action is so-so. It is gorgeous 3D movie!!!
Tim Burton is nice character. I think that I want to watch again. Anne Jacqueline Hathaway is very cute!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews