Walt Disney Studios Motion Pictures | Release Date: March 5, 2010
5.8
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 705 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
314
Mixed:
239
Negative:
152
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
7
EvanL.Mar 6, 2010
Although this movie comes across in the end as commercial and highly predictable, there is a consistent intrigue about the development of the neo-Wonderland that is more then refreshing. Those who find its characters forward and lacking zest Although this movie comes across in the end as commercial and highly predictable, there is a consistent intrigue about the development of the neo-Wonderland that is more then refreshing. Those who find its characters forward and lacking zest to a new audience are forgetting that the last handful of generations grew up knowing every aspect of the main performers. Essentially Wonderland has become antiquated, and the fact that Burton and company could make them jovial and truly real in a way previous movies could not; resolves as a testament to their workmanship and vision. However, less make up Johnny. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
7
JamesHJun 1, 2010
I submit reviews and ratings on 12 different sites, and for some reason this site is always way low on it's ratings. I don't get it! Another site that has an average of critic ratings quite similar to Metacritic must have happier I submit reviews and ratings on 12 different sites, and for some reason this site is always way low on it's ratings. I don't get it! Another site that has an average of critic ratings quite similar to Metacritic must have happier critics in their database. Alice in Wonderland has never been one of my favorite stories, and although Tim Burton doesn Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
gm101Sep 15, 2010
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I really thought I was going to dislike this movie. However, I was surprised by how much I liked it. Johnny Depp was excellent as the Mad Hatter. Although, my only complaint was that Christopher Lee was really underused. I wish I could hear him speak more lines as the Jabberwocky. Expand
5 of 6 users found this helpful51
All this user's reviews
9
smijatovAug 13, 2010
Going into the film with very little expectations, I was very pleasantly surprised! The acting was really good, especially by the lead actress and Helena Bonham Carter... Anne Hathaway was somewhat annoying, but that's just because of theGoing into the film with very little expectations, I was very pleasantly surprised! The acting was really good, especially by the lead actress and Helena Bonham Carter... Anne Hathaway was somewhat annoying, but that's just because of the nature of her character - all bubbly and ... annoying. Ha.

Anyway, visually, though, the film is just breath-taking and it definitely projects the magic that should be present in an adaptation of "Alice in Wonderland." It definitely feels like a magical world and it is a very entertaining film!
One of Burton's better efforts, for sure!
Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
8
YellowKirbySep 9, 2015
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is a brilliant take on the classic "Alice" story, with good acting, good characters, and the only real flaw being the over-the-top "Lord of the Rings" style climax. Well done, Tim Burton, and can't wait for the sequel! Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
7
HarbingerAug 14, 2010
While it was light on plot and character development, Alice in Wonderland was a visual delight-perhaps the best ever created by Tim Burton. It's not amazing. But for those who haven't seen it, I recommend you give it a chance, and tumbleWhile it was light on plot and character development, Alice in Wonderland was a visual delight-perhaps the best ever created by Tim Burton. It's not amazing. But for those who haven't seen it, I recommend you give it a chance, and tumble down the rabbit hole with Alice. A 7.5/10. Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
9
heyitsmegrif4Feb 4, 2012
Tim Burton directs a ton of heart and adventure into this adaptation which makes it great, but he also skillfully directs one of the most important details of the story into the movie the wackiness. He also has impressive performancesTim Burton directs a ton of heart and adventure into this adaptation which makes it great, but he also skillfully directs one of the most important details of the story into the movie the wackiness. He also has impressive performances especially Johnny Depp and newcomer Mia Wasikowska. Some cool action and just amazing visual effects. I give this film 92%. Expand
5 of 10 users found this helpful55
All this user's reviews
9
iamkhenzpolenioAug 22, 2010
A fantastic movie for all ages. Full of funs, fantasies, mysteries and all. It has the element to attract people. I'm very proud to Mia Wasikowska, she does a great act for this. The Red Queen is very funny. I don't get the character of theA fantastic movie for all ages. Full of funs, fantasies, mysteries and all. It has the element to attract people. I'm very proud to Mia Wasikowska, she does a great act for this. The Red Queen is very funny. I don't get the character of the Mad Hatter who is played by Johnny Depp so i will minus the perfect points for this movie. Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
10
GVirus16Oct 30, 2010
The point of an adaptation is to create your OWN vision, while sticking true to the important elements, of the original story. Tim Burton has done just that, and beautifully. Not my FAVORITE adaptation of "Alice's Adventures in Wonderland",The point of an adaptation is to create your OWN vision, while sticking true to the important elements, of the original story. Tim Burton has done just that, and beautifully. Not my FAVORITE adaptation of "Alice's Adventures in Wonderland", but it's up there, and is certainly a memorable experience. In IMAX 3-D, it truly blows you away (especially the rabbit hole scene; GENIUS!) Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
10
MovieLonely94Oct 27, 2010
the way Avril Lavigne did the song Alice was the only reason why this movie was such a big hit from Tim Burton. take my advice: go and see it.
2 of 7 users found this helpful25
All this user's reviews
8
GusMar 5, 2010
Visually stunning and an epic story. Maybe a little too epic as the film seems to spend to little time on too many characters. But Burton and company bring them to life and make every bit of Wonderland as real as can be. Must see in IMAX 3D.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
SamanthaSMay 18, 2010
This movie was amazing. Everything about it draws you in and keeps you there. You dont want it to end.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
CallumJ.Mar 5, 2010
A brilliant masterpiece, what you have to realise is that this was nit meant as a follow up, but a re-envisioning of wonderland.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
TonyMar 20, 2010
The current version of Alice in Wonderland exhibited a notable effort however the film fell short of in comparison an anticipation of the original psychological version that engaged the abstract of society.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RickW.Mar 6, 2010
A wonderful film. The humor was excellent and was was a visual delight. Johnny Depp as the Mad Hatter was perfect and the crazy hare was intensley insaaaaaaaaane! Whatever the name of the dance the Mad Hatter did was fantastical.....our A wonderful film. The humor was excellent and was was a visual delight. Johnny Depp as the Mad Hatter was perfect and the crazy hare was intensley insaaaaaaaaane! Whatever the name of the dance the Mad Hatter did was fantastical.....our recommendation is "Don't be late!". Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
LindaC.Mar 7, 2010
It is a fun, exciting, visually spectacular film!! I will see it at least once more while in theaters, as well as buy the DVD when released. One small curiosity, is it me or is the sound quality poor?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DonnieBApr 3, 2010
I really enjoyed this movie, and I'm born a crtic so I don't say that often. It was the exciting action/adventure that I had been waiting for. It was fun to watch and, excluding Ann Hathaway, the actors did an amazing job conveying I really enjoyed this movie, and I'm born a crtic so I don't say that often. It was the exciting action/adventure that I had been waiting for. It was fun to watch and, excluding Ann Hathaway, the actors did an amazing job conveying the history behind the characters without the use of cheesy flashbacks. Ann Hathaway's performance was terrible and she was one of the few setbacks to this movie. My only other complaint is that the ending was a little rushed and underexplained. However, this was an awesome movie and I recommend everyone to see it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EmP.Apr 4, 2010
When Burton misses - he misses, but when he hits... he hits it out of the park! I watched this film (non-3D version) with my jaw dropped open... I knew I was watching a true work of art. The more it unfolded, the more it became obvious it is When Burton misses - he misses, but when he hits... he hits it out of the park! I watched this film (non-3D version) with my jaw dropped open... I knew I was watching a true work of art. The more it unfolded, the more it became obvious it is a masterpiece. Fantasy fiction at its ABSOLUTE best! I was so lost in the land he created - the story was icing on this visual dessert - it didn't matter. And as for Johnny Depp - Has won me back..! He is a true master of the art of acting. Now I can't imagine the Mad Hatter any other way. Johnny & Tim forever. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JacksonCJun 13, 2010
Was it better than I expected? No. However, it was pretty good, and it had great 3D effects.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
jamesmMar 16, 2010
I thought this was a really entertaining, quirky and colourful movie. Don't understand the low scores here.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SydneyJ.Mar 5, 2010
Brilliant, lush, gorgeous masterpiece. Burton's greatest film since Edward Scissorhands. I don't know how anyone could watch this film and not be entertained.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ShaneM.Mar 6, 2010
I don't know what the critics who gave this movie a 25 are thinking, but this movie was truly excellent. While the plot was absolutely nothing like the books, it was also much more than a simple remake of the 1950s cartoon version of I don't know what the critics who gave this movie a 25 are thinking, but this movie was truly excellent. While the plot was absolutely nothing like the books, it was also much more than a simple remake of the 1950s cartoon version of the movie, and Burton's constant nods to the books more than made up for the plot deviation. Time and again I found myself delighted with the small details taken straight from Carroll's novels that were barely even addressed, but included just for those who'd read the books. The actors were all superb, and the new twist on the Mad Hatter (sort of a split-personality schizophrenia thing in addition to his outright wackiness) was very well done. In short, this is a must-see movie, in 3D if possible. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
GrahamS.Mar 6, 2010
A good movie especially in 3D but whoever acted as Alice had no clue what they were doing. Johnny Depp really saves this movie in my opinion.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DanL.Mar 6, 2010
Very entertaining and a visual feast for the eyes. The 3-D was not as good as Avatar, nevertheless it added to the spectacle.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KenS.Mar 6, 2010
Expected to see a movie version of the book but was pleasantly surprised that that wasn't the case. Takes familiar characters from the Alice books and the Jabberwocky poem by Caroll, and returns Alice to Wonderland 12 years later. Expected to see a movie version of the book but was pleasantly surprised that that wasn't the case. Takes familiar characters from the Alice books and the Jabberwocky poem by Caroll, and returns Alice to Wonderland 12 years later. Wasn't expecting much after reading a few reviews but it seems the reviewers just wanted to be disappointed. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
G.D.Mar 6, 2010
I'm a Tim Burton fan. This movie takes the works of Lewis Carroll and has liberally applied Burton's dark creative powers. For me it works. Johnny Depps Mad Hatter is appropriately insane. Helena Bonham Carter was perfectly I'm a Tim Burton fan. This movie takes the works of Lewis Carroll and has liberally applied Burton's dark creative powers. For me it works. Johnny Depps Mad Hatter is appropriately insane. Helena Bonham Carter was perfectly grotesque. Crispin Glover as the El Grecoish villain exuded plenty of evil depravity.The art work and costumes pure Burtonian. The pace was a little slow at times. Although it could have been a little less predictable plotwise, that was not the intent of this darkly whimsical movie. Overall it was a lot of fun. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
WillC.Mar 7, 2010
Alice in Wonderland is a film that works in bits and pieces. The cast is pretty much perfect, the visuals are downright great and most of the dialogue works. But it makes too much sense, the beginning and the end completely failed and its Alice in Wonderland is a film that works in bits and pieces. The cast is pretty much perfect, the visuals are downright great and most of the dialogue works. But it makes too much sense, the beginning and the end completely failed and its obvious that Tim Burton is to action what Michael Bay is to writing. They're not very good at it. But its great fun and truly imaginative, but too bad this film ISN'T as mad as a hatter. It's worth seeing and the 3D worked well. Thumbs marginally up. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
LynAJun 2, 2010
Good movie, but a bit unfinished, not so mad as a hatter as I would like it to be.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AlexC.Mar 14, 2010
Thought this movie was great fun.....the charcters in Underland are very amusing. Johnny Depp gives another enjoyable Burton performance.....If you didn't enjoy this, you were probably too much of an Alice purist......or you are just Thought this movie was great fun.....the charcters in Underland are very amusing. Johnny Depp gives another enjoyable Burton performance.....If you didn't enjoy this, you were probably too much of an Alice purist......or you are just already spoiled by Avatar overload. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DanB.Mar 14, 2010
To all the critics that gave this movie a negative review: LIGHTEN UP! This movie isn't meant to be taken as Academy Award material. I viewed this movie in IMAX 3D and in my opinion thats the only way to see it. The effects were To all the critics that gave this movie a negative review: LIGHTEN UP! This movie isn't meant to be taken as Academy Award material. I viewed this movie in IMAX 3D and in my opinion thats the only way to see it. The effects were amazing, the characters touching and close to the source material. Yes, the story is a little far fetched but WHO CARES! It was just a great time watching this, if you dont think to much into it. No, this will not win the Oscar for film of the year, but in my eyes it was worth every penny and every second I used to see this. Taken for what it is, it was simply amazing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful