Walt Disney Studios Motion Pictures | Release Date: March 5, 2010
5.8
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 705 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
314
Mixed:
239
Negative:
152
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
CallumJ.Mar 5, 2010
A brilliant masterpiece, what you have to realise is that this was nit meant as a follow up, but a re-envisioning of wonderland.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RickW.Mar 6, 2010
A wonderful film. The humor was excellent and was was a visual delight. Johnny Depp as the Mad Hatter was perfect and the crazy hare was intensley insaaaaaaaaane! Whatever the name of the dance the Mad Hatter did was fantastical.....our A wonderful film. The humor was excellent and was was a visual delight. Johnny Depp as the Mad Hatter was perfect and the crazy hare was intensley insaaaaaaaaane! Whatever the name of the dance the Mad Hatter did was fantastical.....our recommendation is "Don't be late!". Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EmP.Apr 4, 2010
When Burton misses - he misses, but when he hits... he hits it out of the park! I watched this film (non-3D version) with my jaw dropped open... I knew I was watching a true work of art. The more it unfolded, the more it became obvious it is When Burton misses - he misses, but when he hits... he hits it out of the park! I watched this film (non-3D version) with my jaw dropped open... I knew I was watching a true work of art. The more it unfolded, the more it became obvious it is a masterpiece. Fantasy fiction at its ABSOLUTE best! I was so lost in the land he created - the story was icing on this visual dessert - it didn't matter. And as for Johnny Depp - Has won me back..! He is a true master of the art of acting. Now I can't imagine the Mad Hatter any other way. Johnny & Tim forever. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SydneyJ.Mar 5, 2010
Brilliant, lush, gorgeous masterpiece. Burton's greatest film since Edward Scissorhands. I don't know how anyone could watch this film and not be entertained.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ShaneM.Mar 6, 2010
I don't know what the critics who gave this movie a 25 are thinking, but this movie was truly excellent. While the plot was absolutely nothing like the books, it was also much more than a simple remake of the 1950s cartoon version of I don't know what the critics who gave this movie a 25 are thinking, but this movie was truly excellent. While the plot was absolutely nothing like the books, it was also much more than a simple remake of the 1950s cartoon version of the movie, and Burton's constant nods to the books more than made up for the plot deviation. Time and again I found myself delighted with the small details taken straight from Carroll's novels that were barely even addressed, but included just for those who'd read the books. The actors were all superb, and the new twist on the Mad Hatter (sort of a split-personality schizophrenia thing in addition to his outright wackiness) was very well done. In short, this is a must-see movie, in 3D if possible. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SamanthaSMay 18, 2010
This movie was amazing. Everything about it draws you in and keeps you there. You dont want it to end.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MovieLonely94Oct 27, 2010
the way Avril Lavigne did the song Alice was the only reason why this movie was such a big hit from Tim Burton. take my advice: go and see it.
2 of 7 users found this helpful25
All this user's reviews
10
GVirus16Oct 30, 2010
The point of an adaptation is to create your OWN vision, while sticking true to the important elements, of the original story. Tim Burton has done just that, and beautifully. Not my FAVORITE adaptation of "Alice's Adventures in Wonderland",The point of an adaptation is to create your OWN vision, while sticking true to the important elements, of the original story. Tim Burton has done just that, and beautifully. Not my FAVORITE adaptation of "Alice's Adventures in Wonderland", but it's up there, and is certainly a memorable experience. In IMAX 3-D, it truly blows you away (especially the rabbit hole scene; GENIUS!) Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
10
guardboy21Apr 11, 2011
This movie totally rocked. Johnny Depp, Mia however you spell her last name, Helena Bonham Carter and Anne Hathaway i think did a fantastic job. This was one of my favorites of 2010.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Yu38111Aug 15, 2011
Alice in wonderland is good movie. But, action is so-so. It is gorgeous 3D movie!!!
Tim Burton is nice character. I think that I want to watch again. Anne Jacqueline Hathaway is very cute!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ZilcellMay 26, 2012
This film tends to be underrated by the other critics. It passionately tells Alice's story with wit and a lot of decent story ideas. Visuals and action are good as well.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
AquophisFeb 6, 2012
I'm guessing this is one of those "loved by the public, hated by the critics"-type films. I, for one, found it delightful. What else would you expect when you have a wonderfully quirky author adapted by a wonderfully quirky director?
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
wieltsjNov 26, 2012
Having a 4 year old child, we've been watching a lot of versions of Alice in Wonderland. I was nervous about seeing the Burton version for two reasons: (1) the really negative critic reviews; and (2) it seemed a bit scary for my son. InHaving a 4 year old child, we've been watching a lot of versions of Alice in Wonderland. I was nervous about seeing the Burton version for two reasons: (1) the really negative critic reviews; and (2) it seemed a bit scary for my son. In fact, I felt that this was, by far, the best version of Alice in Wonderland I have ever seen. Unlike the others, the characters had tremendous depth, not just random strange entities with no overall connection. And that lead me to the other wonderful thing about the film: IT HAS A PLOT. It's not just a surreal drama, but there is a plot that keeps the viewer engaged throughout, and gives a purpose for each character's actions. I did NOT expect this from Burton. Is it true to the original? Not really, but it's so much better. Much like the play Wicked had certain aspects that were much better than the book. I honestly think that this is one of the best movies I have seen in a long time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
lukechristianscNov 15, 2014
Well lets face it this film is a creative masterpeice from Walt Disney's original Alice in Wonderland which i got to say that it was a fun movie when growing up , Now it's Tim Burton's version of " Alice in wonderland"
with a new story ,
Well lets face it this film is a creative masterpeice from Walt Disney's original Alice in Wonderland which i got to say that it was a fun movie when growing up , Now it's Tim Burton's version of " Alice in wonderland"
with a new story , new cast also new characters. in 2010 watching this movie i was amazed by the effects the journey and Helen Bonham Carter's performance as the red queen also of course Anne Hathaway , Mia Wasikowska , and of course as always Johnny Depp when you watch A Tim Burton film you always see Depp ( Charlie in the chocolate factory , Ed Wood , Corpe's Bride , Sleepy Hollow , Todd Sweeney), Also he's the reason why this movie is brilliant his character is insane as the original Mad Hatter Burton's class style is weird and freaky which ends up brilliant and it's something that critics enjoy also fans enjoy. Burton and producer Richard Zanuck vision's of Wonderland and the movie have become epic. Grade A
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
LindaC.Mar 7, 2010
It is a fun, exciting, visually spectacular film!! I will see it at least once more while in theaters, as well as buy the DVD when released. One small curiosity, is it me or is the sound quality poor?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DonnieBApr 3, 2010
I really enjoyed this movie, and I'm born a crtic so I don't say that often. It was the exciting action/adventure that I had been waiting for. It was fun to watch and, excluding Ann Hathaway, the actors did an amazing job conveying I really enjoyed this movie, and I'm born a crtic so I don't say that often. It was the exciting action/adventure that I had been waiting for. It was fun to watch and, excluding Ann Hathaway, the actors did an amazing job conveying the history behind the characters without the use of cheesy flashbacks. Ann Hathaway's performance was terrible and she was one of the few setbacks to this movie. My only other complaint is that the ending was a little rushed and underexplained. However, this was an awesome movie and I recommend everyone to see it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KenS.Mar 6, 2010
Expected to see a movie version of the book but was pleasantly surprised that that wasn't the case. Takes familiar characters from the Alice books and the Jabberwocky poem by Caroll, and returns Alice to Wonderland 12 years later. Expected to see a movie version of the book but was pleasantly surprised that that wasn't the case. Takes familiar characters from the Alice books and the Jabberwocky poem by Caroll, and returns Alice to Wonderland 12 years later. Wasn't expecting much after reading a few reviews but it seems the reviewers just wanted to be disappointed. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
G.D.Mar 6, 2010
I'm a Tim Burton fan. This movie takes the works of Lewis Carroll and has liberally applied Burton's dark creative powers. For me it works. Johnny Depps Mad Hatter is appropriately insane. Helena Bonham Carter was perfectly I'm a Tim Burton fan. This movie takes the works of Lewis Carroll and has liberally applied Burton's dark creative powers. For me it works. Johnny Depps Mad Hatter is appropriately insane. Helena Bonham Carter was perfectly grotesque. Crispin Glover as the El Grecoish villain exuded plenty of evil depravity.The art work and costumes pure Burtonian. The pace was a little slow at times. Although it could have been a little less predictable plotwise, that was not the intent of this darkly whimsical movie. Overall it was a lot of fun. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DanB.Mar 14, 2010
To all the critics that gave this movie a negative review: LIGHTEN UP! This movie isn't meant to be taken as Academy Award material. I viewed this movie in IMAX 3D and in my opinion thats the only way to see it. The effects were To all the critics that gave this movie a negative review: LIGHTEN UP! This movie isn't meant to be taken as Academy Award material. I viewed this movie in IMAX 3D and in my opinion thats the only way to see it. The effects were amazing, the characters touching and close to the source material. Yes, the story is a little far fetched but WHO CARES! It was just a great time watching this, if you dont think to much into it. No, this will not win the Oscar for film of the year, but in my eyes it was worth every penny and every second I used to see this. Taken for what it is, it was simply amazing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KyleAMar 17, 2010
I thought it was good ,but the story seemed a little rushed if that makes sense to anybody.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
smijatovAug 13, 2010
Going into the film with very little expectations, I was very pleasantly surprised! The acting was really good, especially by the lead actress and Helena Bonham Carter... Anne Hathaway was somewhat annoying, but that's just because of theGoing into the film with very little expectations, I was very pleasantly surprised! The acting was really good, especially by the lead actress and Helena Bonham Carter... Anne Hathaway was somewhat annoying, but that's just because of the nature of her character - all bubbly and ... annoying. Ha.

Anyway, visually, though, the film is just breath-taking and it definitely projects the magic that should be present in an adaptation of "Alice in Wonderland." It definitely feels like a magical world and it is a very entertaining film!
One of Burton's better efforts, for sure!
Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
9
iamkhenzpolenioAug 22, 2010
A fantastic movie for all ages. Full of funs, fantasies, mysteries and all. It has the element to attract people. I'm very proud to Mia Wasikowska, she does a great act for this. The Red Queen is very funny. I don't get the character of theA fantastic movie for all ages. Full of funs, fantasies, mysteries and all. It has the element to attract people. I'm very proud to Mia Wasikowska, she does a great act for this. The Red Queen is very funny. I don't get the character of the Mad Hatter who is played by Johnny Depp so i will minus the perfect points for this movie. Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
9
gm101Sep 15, 2010
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I really thought I was going to dislike this movie. However, I was surprised by how much I liked it. Johnny Depp was excellent as the Mad Hatter. Although, my only complaint was that Christopher Lee was really underused. I wish I could hear him speak more lines as the Jabberwocky. Expand
5 of 6 users found this helpful51
All this user's reviews
9
heyitsmegrif4Feb 4, 2012
Tim Burton directs a ton of heart and adventure into this adaptation which makes it great, but he also skillfully directs one of the most important details of the story into the movie the wackiness. He also has impressive performancesTim Burton directs a ton of heart and adventure into this adaptation which makes it great, but he also skillfully directs one of the most important details of the story into the movie the wackiness. He also has impressive performances especially Johnny Depp and newcomer Mia Wasikowska. Some cool action and just amazing visual effects. I give this film 92%. Expand
5 of 10 users found this helpful55
All this user's reviews
8
jamesmMar 16, 2010
I thought this was a really entertaining, quirky and colourful movie. Don't understand the low scores here.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
GusMar 5, 2010
Visually stunning and an epic story. Maybe a little too epic as the film seems to spend to little time on too many characters. But Burton and company bring them to life and make every bit of Wonderland as real as can be. Must see in IMAX 3D.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
DanL.Mar 6, 2010
Very entertaining and a visual feast for the eyes. The 3-D was not as good as Avatar, nevertheless it added to the spectacle.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AlexC.Mar 14, 2010
Thought this movie was great fun.....the charcters in Underland are very amusing. Johnny Depp gives another enjoyable Burton performance.....If you didn't enjoy this, you were probably too much of an Alice purist......or you are just Thought this movie was great fun.....the charcters in Underland are very amusing. Johnny Depp gives another enjoyable Burton performance.....If you didn't enjoy this, you were probably too much of an Alice purist......or you are just already spoiled by Avatar overload. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
KennyFMay 30, 2010
Entertaining and spectacular 3-d!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
Lopez17Aug 16, 2010
Tim Burton's update of the classic Lewis Carroll tale "Alice in Wonderland" is an inspired work it embodies everything that makes Burton a master and what makes him a genius at the art of dark fantasy. While this sequel ,or re Imagining,Tim Burton's update of the classic Lewis Carroll tale "Alice in Wonderland" is an inspired work it embodies everything that makes Burton a master and what makes him a genius at the art of dark fantasy. While this sequel ,or re Imagining, if you would like to call it, is a dark morbid fantasy film that while may lack the wide eyed child enthusiasm of the 1951 Walt Disney animated production it still keeps the adventure, the fun and the charm of the original production and book. What I liked most about it was the dry sense of humor infused into this classic story, but also I like the fact that it does not try to be more than what it is; it does not try to be some audacious fantasy film. Instead, it settles for an above average Burton film with a lighthearted side, while retaining the amazing visuals and stylish pace that is expected of Tim Burton. "Alice in Wonderland" may not impress everyone but for those who like some visually appealing dark fantasy films with a good-hearted story to them. "Alice in Wonderlandâ Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
ERG1008Oct 4, 2010
Tim Burton's re-imagining of Lewis Carroll's classic fairytale using his inevitable dark ,Gothic style. Really enjoyed this and it's a mixture of the original book & Through the Looking Glass. As expected, the visuals are brilliantly surreal,Tim Burton's re-imagining of Lewis Carroll's classic fairytale using his inevitable dark ,Gothic style. Really enjoyed this and it's a mixture of the original book & Through the Looking Glass. As expected, the visuals are brilliantly surreal, voice acting great & with Johnny Depp & Helena Bonham-Carter hamming it up as the Mad Hatter & Red Queen respectively. Danny Elfman's score plays a big part too in keeping the tone as he's done with most of Burton's work. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
JudddyOct 4, 2010
It is not quite as brilliant as I expected. Johnny Depp's creation of the Mad Hatter is wonderful, but it seems to dominate the film, where as Mia Wasikowska's 'Alice' was just as great a character to watch. It is unfortunate too that theIt is not quite as brilliant as I expected. Johnny Depp's creation of the Mad Hatter is wonderful, but it seems to dominate the film, where as Mia Wasikowska's 'Alice' was just as great a character to watch. It is unfortunate too that the film ends with a large action sequence that seems to downgrade the film overall, however the quirkiness and amazing visuals of the film, and the charm that is nevertheless existent despite its flaws, overcomes these. The stand out performance comes from Helena Bonham Carter, whose wonderful interpretation of the Red Queen is hilarious rather than villainous. It is, so far, one of the best films of the year so far and definitely worth watching. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
saori21Aug 12, 2011
This movie is very interesting movie. Alice's story is very famouse. so, I was execiting movie. And costume is very great and cute!! Gohnny depp is very cool !! I want to into the world. I try see movie again.
I like fiction movie. Beatiful
This movie is very interesting movie. Alice's story is very famouse. so, I was execiting movie. And costume is very great and cute!! Gohnny depp is very cool !! I want to into the world. I try see movie again.
I like fiction movie. Beatiful world i went to go!!!
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
jos95Jul 17, 2012
This version actually makes sense unlike the original version, because there's an actual story rather than a sequence of random events like the original. Mia Wasikowska has a fine mainstream debut as Alice and the rest of the cast have funThis version actually makes sense unlike the original version, because there's an actual story rather than a sequence of random events like the original. Mia Wasikowska has a fine mainstream debut as Alice and the rest of the cast have fun performances including Johnny Depp and Helena Bonham Carter. Despite Tim Burton's signature touch, it becomes quite ordinary towards the end. For what this movie was trying to do, I think it did a good job at it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
EdorkMay 30, 2014
A pseudo sequel to the 1951 animated film, Tim Burton's Alice does a really good job of showing the titular character struggle with her inner demons and fight for the right to be her own person. It's mostly based on the book's sequel, ThroughA pseudo sequel to the 1951 animated film, Tim Burton's Alice does a really good job of showing the titular character struggle with her inner demons and fight for the right to be her own person. It's mostly based on the book's sequel, Through the Looking Glass, but it gives special call outs to most of Lewis Carrol's short stories and poems, particularly The Jabberwocky. The cast is great, and the visuals and music are Oscar worthy!
Very underrated film imo.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
YellowKirbySep 9, 2015
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is a brilliant take on the classic "Alice" story, with good acting, good characters, and the only real flaw being the over-the-top "Lord of the Rings" style climax. Well done, Tim Burton, and can't wait for the sequel! Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
8
DanBurritoSep 15, 2015
What were you expecting? It's not like the trailer didn't say it was a follow-up to the original story. There was even one bit (not in the final film) where the Hatter loudly says "Alice, you're back!" . This was actually a rather good film.What were you expecting? It's not like the trailer didn't say it was a follow-up to the original story. There was even one bit (not in the final film) where the Hatter loudly says "Alice, you're back!" . This was actually a rather good film. It had that distinct Tim Burton style to it and Johnny Depp does a very good job as The Mad Hatter. But I will agree with those who say the climax is over-the-top and out of place in an Alice in Wonderland movie, cool as it was. Nevertheless, Tim Burton's vision of Wonderland is a very interesting one. I've heard that the sequel uses the character of Time to show a much more detailed version of Alice's first trip to Wonderland. That's something to look forward to! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
diegonelliSep 13, 2015
Wow there are too many negative reviews O.o . In my opinion it was a fantastic movie and I love all the characters, I love the red Queen and the Mad Hatter! . I can't wait to through the looking glass.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
FuturedirectorMay 22, 2016
Alice in Wonderland is a kind of miracle, with a great direction, full of magic, color, suspense and interesting story-telling, including its amazing interpretations, despite the easy plot.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
GyrushoMay 31, 2016
Wow. I should have seen this movie way sooner than this. The Story was incredible dense with such great, diverse characters. The adventure is really thrilling with such great background music to take you "down the rabbit hole" I ReallyWow. I should have seen this movie way sooner than this. The Story was incredible dense with such great, diverse characters. The adventure is really thrilling with such great background music to take you "down the rabbit hole" I Really enjoyed this one as a fantasy movie where everything is rather vague and everything comes at you with at a certain point you feel you are part of the story. Great one and i should have seen it in theater instead of DVD! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
TonyMar 20, 2010
The current version of Alice in Wonderland exhibited a notable effort however the film fell short of in comparison an anticipation of the original psychological version that engaged the abstract of society.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
EvanL.Mar 6, 2010
Although this movie comes across in the end as commercial and highly predictable, there is a consistent intrigue about the development of the neo-Wonderland that is more then refreshing. Those who find its characters forward and lacking zest Although this movie comes across in the end as commercial and highly predictable, there is a consistent intrigue about the development of the neo-Wonderland that is more then refreshing. Those who find its characters forward and lacking zest to a new audience are forgetting that the last handful of generations grew up knowing every aspect of the main performers. Essentially Wonderland has become antiquated, and the fact that Burton and company could make them jovial and truly real in a way previous movies could not; resolves as a testament to their workmanship and vision. However, less make up Johnny. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
7
JacksonCJun 13, 2010
Was it better than I expected? No. However, it was pretty good, and it had great 3D effects.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
GrahamS.Mar 6, 2010
A good movie especially in 3D but whoever acted as Alice had no clue what they were doing. Johnny Depp really saves this movie in my opinion.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
WillC.Mar 7, 2010
Alice in Wonderland is a film that works in bits and pieces. The cast is pretty much perfect, the visuals are downright great and most of the dialogue works. But it makes too much sense, the beginning and the end completely failed and its Alice in Wonderland is a film that works in bits and pieces. The cast is pretty much perfect, the visuals are downright great and most of the dialogue works. But it makes too much sense, the beginning and the end completely failed and its obvious that Tim Burton is to action what Michael Bay is to writing. They're not very good at it. But its great fun and truly imaginative, but too bad this film ISN'T as mad as a hatter. It's worth seeing and the 3D worked well. Thumbs marginally up. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JamesHJun 1, 2010
I submit reviews and ratings on 12 different sites, and for some reason this site is always way low on it's ratings. I don't get it! Another site that has an average of critic ratings quite similar to Metacritic must have happier I submit reviews and ratings on 12 different sites, and for some reason this site is always way low on it's ratings. I don't get it! Another site that has an average of critic ratings quite similar to Metacritic must have happier critics in their database. Alice in Wonderland has never been one of my favorite stories, and although Tim Burton doesn Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
7
LynAJun 2, 2010
Good movie, but a bit unfinished, not so mad as a hatter as I would like it to be.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
LukeS.Mar 15, 2010
Typical girl power / coming of age story that is more inspired by Alice in Wonderland / Through the Looking Glass then based on the books that share its title. Visually stunning, the movie is worth at least a rental at some point. 3/5
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
lisacMar 17, 2010
I saw this movie with an open mind, despite the reviews. Felt the acting and filming were excellent. I was spellbound, and brought into Alice's world.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
HarbingerAug 14, 2010
While it was light on plot and character development, Alice in Wonderland was a visual delight-perhaps the best ever created by Tim Burton. It's not amazing. But for those who haven't seen it, I recommend you give it a chance, and tumbleWhile it was light on plot and character development, Alice in Wonderland was a visual delight-perhaps the best ever created by Tim Burton. It's not amazing. But for those who haven't seen it, I recommend you give it a chance, and tumble down the rabbit hole with Alice. A 7.5/10. Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
7
JoaxAug 23, 2010
A Terrible deception...Tim Burton...what happened in this movie?
The music is fantastic (Danny Elfman is brilliant) and the vissual effects are amazing but...what happened with the history? there's no emotion and sorry but it's a little
A Terrible deception...Tim Burton...what happened in this movie?
The music is fantastic (Danny Elfman is brilliant) and the vissual effects are amazing but...what happened with the history? there's no emotion and sorry but it's a little boring...a terrible deception.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
txrangersfan72Dec 30, 2010
While I saw the original 1951 animated film when I was a child, and had the LP that told the story in an abridged form during my younger years, I've never read the Lewis Carroll novels, nor do I really remember much from Walt Disney'sWhile I saw the original 1951 animated film when I was a child, and had the LP that told the story in an abridged form during my younger years, I've never read the Lewis Carroll novels, nor do I really remember much from Walt Disney's original masterpiece. What I can attest to is how beautiful and entertaining Tim Burton's version was. I've read several reviews from those who did not care much about this film. Those who hated the deviation from the original story. Those who hated the deviation from the animated film. Those who thought it was another fantastical, yet watered down, version of Tim Burton's imagination.

I suppose all of those opinions could be true. However, while I can understand how tired it is to continue seeing Depp in a lot of makeup and playing what appears to be the same character with a different voice in yet another Tim Burton movie, the fact is, this was a Disney feature film. It wasn't budgeted for Tim to go all "Tim Burton" on it. It needed to appeal to kids and adults alike, and this film greatly achieved that. Disney is using the most colorful and imaginative director to bring to life another Disney classic in order to achieve the same success as Pirates of the Caribbean. Adults and children alike are very familiar with Tim Burton and Johnny Depp, so to have expected anything more than what was delivered was unrealistic. To go farther Tim Burtonesque would have resulted in a movie Disney would not have been able to market. To move further away from Tim Burton would have watered down what Tim is good at. The visuals, action and theatrics of Alice in Wonderland were the perfect mix of original story, contemporary taste and modern talents. No one else could have pulled this film off better.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
TubieNov 2, 2010
I loved this movie and I don't care what people think! This was a great movie, the style, and atmosphere created was dark and at the same time pretty. I specially loved the queen. This movie is simple fun with a very pretty art style.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Ruler101Dec 2, 2010
In the creative mind of director Tim Burton I say bravo. These graphics show that is mind thinks in very strange ways. The acting and the screenplay were rough in areas and great in others. Some of the time you just sit there and wonder "IsIn the creative mind of director Tim Burton I say bravo. These graphics show that is mind thinks in very strange ways. The acting and the screenplay were rough in areas and great in others. Some of the time you just sit there and wonder "Is this ever going to move on??" and other parts you think "Holy crap this is great!!" It really depends how you look at this movie to know if you love it, hate it, or thought it was good. for me i thought it was good but certain parts of me wished they made the first part and then this part next. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
JonnyFendiJan 10, 2011
Finally, I saw ALICE IN WONDERLAND the movie that I have been waiting for such a long time. The tale about nineteen years old Alice following the white rabbit, to find her destiny back in Wonderland that now ruled by Red Queen. The movieFinally, I saw ALICE IN WONDERLAND the movie that I have been waiting for such a long time. The tale about nineteen years old Alice following the white rabbit, to find her destiny back in Wonderland that now ruled by Red Queen. The movie directed by Tim Burton, the man specialty in eye candy and delight visualization. Thiz movie is the seventh collaboration with Johnny Depp as his main Cast, after EDWARD SCISSORHANDS (1990), ED WOOD (1994), SLEEPY HOLLOW (1999), CHARLIE AND THE CHOCOLATE FACTORY (2005), CORPSE BRIDE (2005), and SWEENEY TODD: THE DEMON BARBER OF FLEET STREET (2007). His other masterpiece features are: BEETLE JUICE (1988), BATMAN (1989) and BIG FISH (2003). Thiz movie supported by various Casts like: Anne Hathaway, Crispin Glover, Michael Sheen, Alan Rickman, and Mia Wasikowska as Alice. The most powerful performance in thiz movie is Big Head Red Queen character, which played amazingly wicked and funny at the same time by Helena Bonham Carter (is about the same character on Lord Farquaad in first SHREK (2001)). Bonham Carter performance exceeds Depp appearance. Her existence saves the movie for overall. Beside that I did not feel any emotions on thiz film, everything was flat. Actually, thiz movie did not supported by good script. It might, the worse script that came to Tim Burton desk in these past twenty years of his career, despite the visualization is A-class. The story is an alternate version of Alice originally written by Lewis Caroll. thiz version did not carry such a thrill and interesting plots. In the final scene (Spoiler Alert!), give Alice a sword and knight armor to slay a dragon? It is definitely not a good option. The change is too radical, soft and tender Alice that builds from the beginning, suddenly take an incisive turn over. The flip over so hard that possibly had become its own boomerang itself.

Visit My Blog on JONNY'S MOVEE : http://jonnyfendi.blogspot.com
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
christinaFeb 3, 2011
this movie wasn't horrible and it wasn't great but it did show the scenes as a magical area and i loved how Johnny Depp played the mad hater but over all it was interesting.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
LeewayJul 3, 2011
All the beauty and the hard work in creating Wonderland really pays off especially if seen in 3D.
Tim Burton's dark direction of Alice In Wonderland is somewhat interesting, the finishing look looks well made but sometimes its a bit too
All the beauty and the hard work in creating Wonderland really pays off especially if seen in 3D.
Tim Burton's dark direction of Alice In Wonderland is somewhat interesting, the finishing look looks well made but sometimes its a bit too gloomy and added with the dullness of a story that is all too mature for anybody 10 and under (Go figure: Alice is like in her late teens, more problems). The characters all have their own unique touch; Alice is the low key but she's not a chore to look at, Johnny Depp is as charming as ever (a more crazier take then Jack Sparrow), The Red Queen's big heart shaped head is BIG and Anne Hathaway's White Queen never stops putting her hands in the air. Each character has charm in them but when added with Tim Burton's touch, each of them have their own "dark side." Alice seems to be the normal one but the rest like Mad Hatter (his creepy red eyes) and White Queen (when she's not looking at her orchids she's in the kitchen making up a hot potion of fingers and saliva) are all mad but in a good-funny way. Let us not forget about Alan Rickman who plays an ugly-wrinkled caterpillar that only puffs on a cigarette or in a kid's interpretation 'sucking on a perfume looking bottle and blowing out circle clouds.'
The whole entire film...lets just say, "Tim Burton, WHAT on Earth have you've been smoking?" The whole entire film is like on the high ride with Tim Burton which makes the film Mad! I guess its a good thing, whatever he's smoking seems to be working for him and while I was watching this film, I couldn't help but hallucinate as well. The Storyline of the Film: It gets a 60%.
It was very simply done and told. It seems like every Disney movie has a theme which this one has. Theme: being brave and mad at the same time which is what I got out of it. I know other people think it's about governing yourself and taking the lead. The C.G.I usage of the Film: It gets an 80%
Visually Striking! A movie that gets credits for the visuals.
Overall: 70%
It's an interesting film made only to catch the audience's eyes but it does little effect to move the heart.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
SpunkyMonkeyAug 15, 2012
For me the 1st 2/3rds of the film are a bit scatty and a mish-mash of ideas and plots - there's nothing quite holding the film together other than it's whacky visuals and the odd bit of magic. The last 3rd of the film really saves it though,For me the 1st 2/3rds of the film are a bit scatty and a mish-mash of ideas and plots - there's nothing quite holding the film together other than it's whacky visuals and the odd bit of magic. The last 3rd of the film really saves it though, and adds a lot of substance to earlier proceedings. It could have done with a lot more magic throughout, and also a bit more direction - but at no time is it unbearable and often it is fun, with that last 3rd being very good indeed. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
oxanaAug 24, 2014
I saw Disney's version years ago when I was a kid (in Finnish), and don't recall all that much from it... other than that it was a weird, psychedelic movie. I think this matches the themes of the original quite well.

They should've handed
I saw Disney's version years ago when I was a kid (in Finnish), and don't recall all that much from it... other than that it was a weird, psychedelic movie. I think this matches the themes of the original quite well.

They should've handed out glossaries before the movie started because I certainly felt like I needed one. All the made-up words seemed like utter gibberish for most of the time, which probably was the idea, but they ruined some of the momentum of the film since your brain stops to wonder about all those strange words and their meaning and oh, hey, the scene has already moved on!

Since what was being said made very little sense, it was hard to follow what was going on at times - not to mention annoying. Repeated watches might alleviate this problem but is that really the point?

Even without the odd words, the movie's plot seemed to be... lacking something. Coherency, maybe?

Sure, events take place in a world that doesn't need to make any sense. The characters were very eccentric, especially Johnny Depp's Mad Hatter who made very little sense at best. (And if they tried to sell the movie with his performance, I'll have to say that his character wasn't nearly as powerful as I could have hoped.)

The plot itself was good - when it made sense - but there was still something missing. It was amusing, but not outrageously so, and while Alice had to struggle to choose whether or not she would take a path appointed to her, that particular fight seemed to go over rather smoothly in the end.

The movie looked beautiful and magical, and very unreal. Bright colors and deep darkness. There were some parts that were surprisingly gruesome, so this is most definitely not a movie for small kids.

A decent movie, but with a lot of cracks and holes in the story, not to mention missing something that would have stabilized the whole experience.

I have to say that the most enjoyable thing of all was the Cheshire Cat and the Hatter's hat.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
RedShadowHatDec 30, 2012
Great movie for the entire family, primarily the kids. Funny with family friendly action. Any parent should get this movie for their kid. But I dont recommend watching it more then once or twice, the most is just a bit too predictable.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
MDG397Mar 8, 2013
It's pretty much just a film adaptation of the poem "Jabberwocky" by Lewis Carroll than the actual book that he wrote, that's not necessarily a bad thing but I just don't think that's what it should be about. Most other things are goodIt's pretty much just a film adaptation of the poem "Jabberwocky" by Lewis Carroll than the actual book that he wrote, that's not necessarily a bad thing but I just don't think that's what it should be about. Most other things are good though, acting, CGI, and I was entertained while I was watching it. It's a good movie, but definitely not a must-see. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
FreedomFightersNov 23, 2016
I still remember when this film first came out, it was all the buzz. The trailers got people excited, Disney laid out an aggressive marketing effort for the film and raised awareness for it, creating genuine interest in the film. Then it cameI still remember when this film first came out, it was all the buzz. The trailers got people excited, Disney laid out an aggressive marketing effort for the film and raised awareness for it, creating genuine interest in the film. Then it came out...and no one really knew what to think of it. Hell, I was in 6th grade at the time and even us 6th graders, a group that doesn't have the highest standards in the world to begin with, didn't even know what to make of the movie. Was it a great, fun, exciting adventure? Or was it too much style over substance? Well, I waited until the Blu-ray release to get my word on it and, well...I enjoyed it. It's gorgeously designed, it's exciting, fast-paced, reasonably fun, and pretty solidly acted. Sure, it does seem to be battle a gigantic identity crisis overall (is it supposed to be dark and serious, or light-hearted and goofy?) and the story isn't stellar, but "Alice in Wonderland" is a pretty entertaining film overall. Some people may have been so burned by the hype that anything less than excellent will be bad, but overall, even if it isn't "excellent," it's still a pretty good film overall that's worth watching at least once. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
geo333Feb 17, 2016
Tim Burton Alice in Wonderland it's a good attempt to bring the live adaptation to the bring screens. Part of that is because of strong supporting cast, however the story leaves more to be desired and more development is needed. In the end.Tim Burton Alice in Wonderland it's a good attempt to bring the live adaptation to the bring screens. Part of that is because of strong supporting cast, however the story leaves more to be desired and more development is needed. In the end. Alice In Wonderland is solid. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Berry-TanFeb 28, 2016
The movie is seeped in distinctive visuals, is a journey worth taking mainly to see Tim Burton's imagination at play. I liked the plot, This movie puts it's 3D to good use.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
DavidP.Mar 14, 2010
A wonderful start...but just a ridiculous ending. From the time Alice puts on her armor till the credits roll there's not a minute's worth of the madness and charm that made the rest of the film work. In Burton's filmography A wonderful start...but just a ridiculous ending. From the time Alice puts on her armor till the credits roll there's not a minute's worth of the madness and charm that made the rest of the film work. In Burton's filmography this picture falls somewhere between Mars Attacks and Sleepy Hollow. Still waiting for another Ed Wood. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
RayRMar 17, 2010
This film held my interest while watching it, but was forgettable afterwards. The special effects were good but I expected Wonderland to be more colorful and amazing than what was in this film. The characters were well imagined even though I This film held my interest while watching it, but was forgettable afterwards. The special effects were good but I expected Wonderland to be more colorful and amazing than what was in this film. The characters were well imagined even though I had a difficult time understanding what they were saying. I'm a fan of many of the Burton/Depp movies but this film was somewhat of a disappointment for me. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
ChadS.Mar 6, 2010
It's anarchy on Victorian literature; anarchy in the 19th century U.K. This latest version of "Alice in Wonderland" wants to make a feminist hero out of the Lewis Carroll heroine. According to the oraculum, she's Alice the It's anarchy on Victorian literature; anarchy in the 19th century U.K. This latest version of "Alice in Wonderland" wants to make a feminist hero out of the Lewis Carroll heroine. According to the oraculum, she's Alice the Jabberwocky Slayer. This time around, Prophecy Girl is not here just to have tea. This special effects-driven film shares with Steven Spielberg's "Hook" the not altogether unappealing gimmick of an adult who returns to the fantastical realm that he/she haunted as a child. Alice was at the scene of the crime; the day that the Red Queen(Helena Bonham Carter) bombed the White Queen's court, in which the Hatter(Johnny Depp) went mad as he walked among the burning ruins. (The PG rating precludes the presence of royal court casualties.) As a young child, Alice suffered from nightmares and would ask her father about the state of her mental health. Too bad the calibration is all off on Alice's character; too bad she wasn't truly mad, somebody who would wake up screaming all throughout her life. This childhood trauma(that the film never addresses) has no effect on her as an adult. She seems fine in the carriage with her mother, en route to a garden party. It's him, not her, when Alice runs away from a formal marriage proposal at the gazebo, conducted in front of their friends and family. It should be the other way around. For commercial purposes, Alice is given no character arc. She enters, then emerges from Wonderland without any discernible changes. Her "Lord of the Rings" adventure could have been more rousing if she arrived in the shire, I mean Wonderland, as the Mad Debutante who ditched an Edward Ferrars-like bridegroom, and not the prig that Alice detests. Even Jane Austen's women got married. Set in the Victorian period, "Alice in Wonderland" should end with a wedding, not with the actions of a suffragette. This film has no sense and sensibility for its time and place. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
6
ThomasLMar 22, 2010
I have to admit that after looking forward to this, I fell asleep before it was over. Despite lots of great visuals, it doesn't really work. I agree with the reviewer who says its worst problem is that it "makes sense." I'm also I have to admit that after looking forward to this, I fell asleep before it was over. Despite lots of great visuals, it doesn't really work. I agree with the reviewer who says its worst problem is that it "makes sense." I'm also afraid that 3D is still pretty gimmicky. Maybe when we can lose the glasses, it will be a lot better. Anyway ... meh. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
aabender002Aug 11, 2010
It is a perfectly acceptable film, but I couldn't escape the feeling that so much more could have been done with such potent material. This is, after all, Tim Burton doing Alice in Wonderland! Why wasn't I blown away?
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
peoplewhomatterNov 3, 2010
I have to say Johnny Depp did a great job in the movie, but thats about it. what really ruined the story was the actress who played Alice. she was boring and did not make you want to keep watching the movie. the graphics and animation wereI have to say Johnny Depp did a great job in the movie, but thats about it. what really ruined the story was the actress who played Alice. she was boring and did not make you want to keep watching the movie. the graphics and animation were excellent though. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
jimmytancrediMay 29, 2011
Alice in Wonderland is a very pleasant movie. The movie passed without me blinking, there was no dull moment what so ever. By the time it reached signs of the "end" I asked myself, has it been 5 minutes yet? The movie puts you in a veryAlice in Wonderland is a very pleasant movie. The movie passed without me blinking, there was no dull moment what so ever. By the time it reached signs of the "end" I asked myself, has it been 5 minutes yet? The movie puts you in a very interesting world with strange places and characters. The music in this film was the best music I've heard in a movie in a long time. The acting was amusing and little details about the characters' personalities was made in a very smart fashion that will keep you entertained through out the movie. I give Alice in Wonderland a 6 or 7 for all the fun that I had watching it, I wished it was 1 hour longer. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
Efreet69Mar 7, 2011
I'd break this movie down into the following components: 1. Story: Three and a Half Stars; >>>> 2. Acting: Three Stars; Competent but not groundbreaking; >>>> 3. Sound and Visuals: Four Stars; Gorgeous but sometimes "too unreal." YesI'd break this movie down into the following components: 1. Story: Three and a Half Stars; >>>> 2. Acting: Three Stars; Competent but not groundbreaking; >>>> 3. Sound and Visuals: Four Stars; Gorgeous but sometimes "too unreal." Yes that's an odd statement for a fantasy film. What I mean by this is that some times you are too aware that it is not real, in that it seems artificial. Well done effects can mute the aspect of artificiality, as I feel was done better in the second and third "Lord of the Rings films."; >>>> 4. Gestalt: The movie does not excel the sum of its components, as few films do. An example of one that does is "The King's Speech." >>>> My full cinema profile here: http://bit.ly/MyMovies Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
Potter17Dec 10, 2011
It is not what you could call "Burton's best film" and totally lacked the appeal of the original version but decent acting and incredible visual effects kept my attention through the whole movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
grandpajoe6191Sep 24, 2011
If you expected a controversial movie form Burton, "Alice in Wonderland" is not what you expect. However, the eerie creativity and fantastic visuals might delight you for the moment.
9 of 12 users found this helpful93
All this user's reviews
6
LandFJun 5, 2012
Alice In Wonderland really is a mixed bag. I know that's hardly a way to begin a review, but when you've got a bag as mixed as this, it's hard to know quite where to start. I never can tell what Alice In Wonderland is trying to be, whether aAlice In Wonderland really is a mixed bag. I know that's hardly a way to begin a review, but when you've got a bag as mixed as this, it's hard to know quite where to start. I never can tell what Alice In Wonderland is trying to be, whether a drama, an action movie, a comedy, but it appears to be juggling all three at once, which provides mixed results, as I mentioned previously. Instead of being a mere adaption of the Alice In Wonderland book, Tim Burton instead creates a story that occurs 13 years after. Alice is set to marry a lord who she does not want to marry at all. Demands from her mother and parents of Alice's predetermined husband further confuse and frustrate Alice. So to escape it all, she follows a familiar rabbit into a rabbit hole, and we all know what will happen from there. Or do we? Since this is, in fact, 13 years after the original Wonderland incident, things have changed. Wonderland (or Underland, as we learn it is called) has become a much darker, and dangerous place. Alice is destined to slay a beast called the Jabberwocky, but she doubts herself, and the Red Queen wants her killed. It's all a little bit more complicated than it needs to be. But Underland is all about complications. I will start by pointing out Alice In Wonderland's biggest strength: The visuals. Between the magnificent makeup, the ridiculous costumes, the outrageous hair, and stunning special effects (and they are stunning sometimes), Alice In Wonderland is one of the most visually captivating films ever made. But if only everything else was as wonderful and undeniably incredible as the visual effects. The characters, while mostly amusing, feel a little bit...predictable. Tim Burton usually likes to recreate the characters, but instead, we get virtually the same characters from the book (and animated Disney movie), with little exception. True, Burton tries to flesh them out a bit more and add additional back story, but it does little to separate the characters in this adaption from the animated version. The acting, like the film, is a huge mixed bag. That's not to say that there are BAD actors. All the acting is very good, it's just expected. Predictable, like the characters. Most everyone is played by the book, with no special spin on almost any of them. Johnny Depp disappoints in his role as the Mad Hatter. He needs to be over the top and ridiculous. Instead, he's just rather ordinary. What happened to the wacky, bizzareness that be brought us in Charlie In The Chocolate Factory? But this isn't always the case with the acting. Helena Bonham Carter (as the Red Queen) is as outrageous and ridiculous as she needs to be, and more. Her acting is by far the most impressive in the film. Carter ends up doing the performance Depp should've done, but doesn't. One performance I didn't expect to like was Anne Hathaway's as The White Queen. "She's much too recognizable." I thought. And I was right. But she does perfectly. She's extremely dramatic and flowy, and she does a marvelous job. Without doing any research on the score beforehand, I knew that it was composed by Danny Elfman. After looking it up after the film, I was proven correct. Here's how I knew: It sounds like all his other scores. Yes, Elfman's a great composer, but all his scores sound alike, each borrowing elements from his last score. If Elfman can't get his act together, Burton may need to look for a new composer. My last opinion about Alice In Wonderland may be the most important: It makes sense. Well, mostly anyway. It's not nearly as whimsical and bizzare as it should be. It's actually, relatively straight forward. Alice In Wonderland just isn't weird enough. It needs to be more odd. More outrageous. The animated version did a much better job at this. I wanted to like this film. I wanted to love it. But Tim Burton's Alice In Wonderland just isn't the film it should be. But it's not half-bad. If you haven't already seen Alice In Wonderland, it's not a bad diversion; it's just not a very good one. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
lady_ascot21Jun 25, 2012
I loved the movie, especially the sets, clothes, and the provision of the actors (of course), but the story could have been different and the ending could have been another. Loved the provision of Leo Bill, although very small.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
SEROJJun 26, 2016
Superb visuals and great acting make this classic tale a great movie for kids, not so great for adults, but i think that it deserves at least a watch!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
MovieGuysSep 21, 2013
Tim Burton tried to make this movie work, but just couldn't quite pull it off. Depp is fun to watch, dancing around the scenes while making an ass out of himself, while Anne Hathaway plays a roll she can't quite fit into. There is enough eyeTim Burton tried to make this movie work, but just couldn't quite pull it off. Depp is fun to watch, dancing around the scenes while making an ass out of himself, while Anne Hathaway plays a roll she can't quite fit into. There is enough eye candy to keep you awake, but just like movies of kin, eye candy isn't enough. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
CineAutoctonoDec 8, 2015
Alice in Wonderland surprised a lot in the animation of the year 51, in 2010, Tim Burton sack a slightly different story, but this time it's a bit boring , but the special effects are worth highlighting but the version Tim Burton I remain so.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
johnslegersJan 3, 2016
I finally got to see Burton's Alice In Wonderland and I really wonder what all the fuzz is about. The film isn't nearly as good as Burton's best work, but it isn't nearly as bad as some claim it is either. Although he seems to have past theI finally got to see Burton's Alice In Wonderland and I really wonder what all the fuzz is about. The film isn't nearly as good as Burton's best work, but it isn't nearly as bad as some claim it is either. Although he seems to have past the peak of his career, Tim Burton at least managed to turn a horrible script in a mediocre but visually appealing film film and while it's a shame Alice wasn't the masterpiece it could have been (especially if it was based on the American McGee game) I don't think it deserves to get all the hate it gets either.

If you're a fan of the original book, the famous Disney cartoon version or the American McGee computer game you're probably going to be disappointed for the lost opportunities in this film, but if you like Burtons sense of aesthetics it's still a pleasant film to watch on a lazy Sunday afternoon.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
rei07Jul 19, 2016
Alice in Wonderland is basically a difficult film to like/dislike. On one hand, I found the movie to be visually stunning and well-done. In this aspect, the film was entertaining. On the other hand, the plot and characters were so-so evenAlice in Wonderland is basically a difficult film to like/dislike. On one hand, I found the movie to be visually stunning and well-done. In this aspect, the film was entertaining. On the other hand, the plot and characters were so-so even though I kind of enjoyed Depp's Mad Hatter character as well as the title character. One must also take into consideration that the main reason this film was so successful was for the following reason: It came out at the height of the 3D craze. Overall, this movie is fine to watch once in awhile, but not necessarily for repeated viewing. This was an okay film that had so much potential to have been better. It's not entirely bad, but not entirely great either. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
MonkiReviewsJun 22, 2017
I thought it was good, but not great. The acting was good, even if the characters are not great. The special effects were very fake looking. It had a good story though, so it is worth a watch.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
ScottMApr 4, 2010
Visually inventive, but emotionally uninvolving. Ends up a kind of "Alice of Arc". Bleah.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
ConnorC.Mar 5, 2010
This movie had great potential and I am saddened that it turned out to be a disappointment. From the first 20-30 minutes, you start to get the feeling that the movie is almost over.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
ChrisVMar 6, 2010
The special efects are cool, and the 3D even more, but the story, i thought it was going to be more interesting, but, i just got lost in the weird/ackward movie the whole time, this alice is not eligible to play as the real alice. Sucks period.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
JustinApr 5, 2010
The 3D really sucked, I was expecting Avatar quality and wish I had watched the 2D version instead. Aside from the god awful 3D quality the Red Queen, Mad Hatter and Crispin Glover (I can't even remember his character) made the film bearable.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
JoeBlowJun 3, 2010
5 out of 10. Just average. Actually average movies suck because they are not worth my time. Avoid this one.
2 of 7 users found this helpful
5
JacobMar 7, 2013
I'm really mixed on this movie. On one end the art style looks cool capturing the strangeness of Wonderland quite nicely. Plus, it's nice that the film was not a rehash of the previous Disney version of the film. On the other hand though II'm really mixed on this movie. On one end the art style looks cool capturing the strangeness of Wonderland quite nicely. Plus, it's nice that the film was not a rehash of the previous Disney version of the film. On the other hand though I did not care too much about the characters and the story. Plus, the story telling felt a little cliche for me. Overall, decent flick not going to recommend it and I'm not going to say do not see it because I do not feel strongly towards one side or the other. I'm going to say is see it in 3D if you can because there are a lot of 3Dish shots in the film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
RyanGeeSep 28, 2010
Mainstream Hollywood is entering an era of ridiculous amounts of CGI effects and unfathomable budgets. After watching an outlandishly gaudy Avatar and Tim Burton's atrocious animation film 9, Alice In Wonderland wasn't so promising. But toMainstream Hollywood is entering an era of ridiculous amounts of CGI effects and unfathomable budgets. After watching an outlandishly gaudy Avatar and Tim Burton's atrocious animation film 9, Alice In Wonderland wasn't so promising. But to my surprise, Alice shows that there is modest hope, not a lot, in this ill-fated generation of movies.

After an average attempt in recreating a classic with Charlie And The Chocolate Factory, Tim Burton tries to use his whimsical touch with a beloved Disney classic. But instead of simply remaking it, Tim Burton tells a story of his own, an addition to Lewis Carroll's 19th century novels. In Alice In Wonderland, Alice returns to the magical world with minimal memory of actually ever visiting this place. In this second venture, Alice reunites with the Mad Hatter and friends to end the tyrannical reign of The Red Queen. On the way, Alice learns the meaning of her mysterious memories and finds out who she really is (cliche, I know).

Alice In Wonderland has some positive attributes that redeems the subject matter. Its greatest aspect is its star-studded cast, which is probably the main attraction of the film. The Mad Hatter, portrayed by Johnny Depp, is a mishmash of characters Captain Jack Sparrow and Willy Wonka. As ridiculous as that sounds, he pulls it off as he does in almost every Depp-Burton collaboration. Helena Carter (The Red Queen), puts so much personality into the character, that her continuous exclamations of "Off With The Head" were not bothersome, but entertaining every time. Finally, Mia Wasikowska shows Vanity Fair correct in that she's an Actress To Watch. Although having annoying dialogue at several parts of the film, she shows that she can act and bring life to a beloved Disney character with her realness and believability. Another great quality of the film is its soundtrack. Just as it did in films such as Batman Returns, Danny Elfman's composition makes the audience really like they're in an alternate world with its lovely orchestral sound. Also, the dialogue really complements the original characters as well.

Although Alice In Wonderland possesses many great qualities, there are several noticeable flaws. There are some minor blemishes in the plot that are questionable. Why is Alice without knowledge of her previous venture to Wonderland? Even in a flashback, she thinks that they are just nightmares. How does Alice keep on thinking that the whole adventure is a dream? The movie shows a lapse of about a week, is it not obvious that a dream is not this extensive? Lastly, the main flaw is the first half's lack of magic. The first act of the movie is not colorful at all and is ultimately dull. Yes, The Red Queen's corrupt rule has affected this world, but can it not be slightly more appealing. The visuals of this portion of the movie cannot match the vibrant world of Pandora in Avatar, leading the audience to question, where is the wonder? Not until the protagonists reach the castle of The Red Queen is it as rich as its animated original. When it reaches this point, the CGI really complements the world. Keep in mind that I did not watch the movie in 3D, so I might be incorrect. But the dullness is so apparent, I do not think a multidimensional view would make much of a difference. These are flaws that can possibly be overlooked, but the main problem is Tim Burton. Burton makes a film pleasing to the eye and senses, but it definitely doesn't attach itself to the audience like Burton's past films. Why can't we connect with any of the character as we did with Edward Scissorhands? Why can't we sympathize with The Red Queen as we did with DeVito's Penguin? This cannot be simply shrugged off because the director every moviegoer knows as a visionary is simply conforming into Hollywood.

Overall, Alice In Wonderland is a film with more quality than other films with similar ridiculous budgets, which in all actuality is not saying too much. It definitely isn't on par with Burton's true great films in the way it tugs at the viewer's emotions, but even though it has its flaws, its great cast makes it worthy of 2 hours of your weekend.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
CRLAug 27, 2011
The acting is superbly wacky; Mia Wasikowska is excellent and Johnny Depp is perfectly cast. However this movie, which should more correctly be titled 'Through the Looking Glass,' features a plot and script so confusing and convoluted thatThe acting is superbly wacky; Mia Wasikowska is excellent and Johnny Depp is perfectly cast. However this movie, which should more correctly be titled 'Through the Looking Glass,' features a plot and script so confusing and convoluted that the acting is lost in the muddle. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
csw12Apr 3, 2012
Alice in Wonderland is okay. Great visuals but the acting seem corny and the charcters looked stupid. An average film with average acting and average story.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
Trev29Sep 1, 2012
The creativity of Tim Burton is what saves this movie. In all truth, it was very boring at times. It picked up at the end when more interesting characters appeared. It was still full of great wackiness though.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
moonman1994Dec 23, 2013
Although very entertaining and beautiful because of the color saturation that was used this live action adaption of Alice in Wonderland just doesn't seem to capture the "wonder" that is Wonderland. With the cast of the film it could have beenAlthough very entertaining and beautiful because of the color saturation that was used this live action adaption of Alice in Wonderland just doesn't seem to capture the "wonder" that is Wonderland. With the cast of the film it could have been much much more but the color saturation becomes borderline grotesque and it just falls short of being the truly magical Wonderland that we were all expecting. And as much as I like Tim Burton, these flaws are most likely his doing. Sometimes Burton's creepy touch is not what a film needs or should have. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
mapizarroOct 15, 2013
I think Tim Burton should get plenty of rest. He is rusty. "Alice in Wonderland" is a outrage for Lewis Carroll's novels. Film without charm and boring. If Burton wanted to destroy the memory of the 1951 film, he just find it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
Movie1997Mar 24, 2013
I honestly expected this movie to be better than what it turned out to be. More a dissapointment than a disaster. But the main reason for the movies' bust is some of the acting, especially Mia's portrayl of Alice. Out of all the characters,I honestly expected this movie to be better than what it turned out to be. More a dissapointment than a disaster. But the main reason for the movies' bust is some of the acting, especially Mia's portrayl of Alice. Out of all the characters, Alices' was the worst. It made me hate this movie more than try to enjoy it. Aside from it's fairly descent visuals, you've really just entered a boring world that doesn't get better. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
RayzorMooseNov 17, 2013
Wonderland isn't all that wonderful.
An utterly average adaption of a classic book. Alice in Wonderland attempts greatness with its Tim Burton twists when in reality it falls very far off course. The acting is good, but the script needs
Wonderland isn't all that wonderful.
An utterly average adaption of a classic book. Alice in Wonderland attempts greatness with its Tim Burton twists when in reality it falls very far off course. The acting is good, but the script needs work. The movie is long and drawn out with really only one scene of action, the entertainment level just isn't there.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
EpicLadySpongeApr 4, 2016
Another "What was that?" dull adventure that just couldn't work the first time. The second time manages to look even messier than watching it the first time. Watch the adorable animated Alice in Wonderland instead.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
[Anonymous]Mar 7, 2010
I was generally fascinated by the animation, but the movie seemed to be incredibly predictable which led me to lose interest.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
SimonDMar 19, 2010
Looking forward to this a lot but turned out to be a massive dissapointment. Not so much unpredictable as much as tells you the ending early on. The caterpillar was extremely dull and the ending was cheesy as hell - unexpected from a Burton Looking forward to this a lot but turned out to be a massive dissapointment. Not so much unpredictable as much as tells you the ending early on. The caterpillar was extremely dull and the ending was cheesy as hell - unexpected from a Burton film. Great performances from Depp and Bonham Carter but still a massive disappointment. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
SamY.Apr 5, 2010
A soulless version of the novel itself. Problem is Burton tries too hard to make it dark and effectively drains out the wit and emotion that made readers fall in love with the novel.The only thing that will impress you is its CGI.
0 of 0 users found this helpful