Aliens

Aliens Image
Metascore
87

Universal acclaim - based on 9 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 531 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: ,
  • Summary: In this action-packed sequel to Alien, Sigourney Weaver returns as Ripley, the only survivor from mankind's first encounter with the monstrous Alien. Her account of the Alien and the fate of her crew are received with skepticism - until the mysterious disappearance of colonists on LV-426In this action-packed sequel to Alien, Sigourney Weaver returns as Ripley, the only survivor from mankind's first encounter with the monstrous Alien. Her account of the Alien and the fate of her crew are received with skepticism - until the mysterious disappearance of colonists on LV-426 leads her to join a team of high-tech colonial marines sent in to investigate. (20th Century Fox) Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 9
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 9
  3. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Reviewed by: Ian Nathan
    100
    Truly great cinema- manages to dodge that 'dodgy sequel' curse with ease.
  2. 100
    For this movie stands to be something its predecessor was not, a megahit. And it deserves to be, for it is a remarkable accomplishment: a sequel that exceeds its predecessor in the reach of its appeal while giving Weaver new emotional dimensions to explore.
  3. 100
    Tautly paced and expertly directed, this roller coaster ride of a motion picture offers a little bit of everything, all wrapped up in a tidy science fiction/action package.
  4. 88
    I'm giving the movie a high rating for its skill and professionalism and because it does the job it says it will do. I am also advising you not to eat before you go to see it.
  5. Under the direction of James (''The Terminator'') Cameron, [the special effects team has] put together a flaming, flashing, crashing, crackling blow-'em-up show that keeps you popping from your seat despite your better instincts and the basically conventional scare tactics.
  6. 80
    James Cameron's vault into the big time after scoring with the exploitation actioner The Terminator makes up for lack of surprise with sheer volume of thrills and chills - emphasis is decidedly on the plural aspect of the title.
  7. 80
    Director James Cameron dumps the decorative effects of Ridley Scott's 1979 Alien in favor of some daring narrative strategies and a tight thematic focus.

See all 9 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 73 out of 77
  2. Negative: 1 out of 77
  1. Aug 23, 2010
    10
    Ripley wakes up 57 years after the original film, bad nightmares, colonies now on LV-426, lose contact, marines go in, action-a-go-go!!
    Sequel
    Ripley wakes up 57 years after the original film, bad nightmares, colonies now on LV-426, lose contact, marines go in, action-a-go-go!!
    Sequel to Ridley Scott's masterpiece. It's not as creepy & maybe not as dark but the larger than life Marines, number of Aliens & fast dialogue make it big, loud & a lot of fun to watch.
    After watching it again recently it's interesting to see how many video games have used this film as an influence.
    Expand
  2. Feb 28, 2015
    10
    Aliens isnt a "sophomore slump". It isnt better or worse than its sequel because its not trying to mimic its predecessor. Its a classic in itsAliens isnt a "sophomore slump". It isnt better or worse than its sequel because its not trying to mimic its predecessor. Its a classic in its own right in the action/thriller category. My favorite thing about this movie is Ripley. She is, by far, my favorite heroine in cinema. Whats great is that "Aliens" has added multiple dimensions to this character that "Alien" established with this character. "Aliens" is a classic for any sci-fi, action, or suspense lover. Expand
  3. Oct 7, 2011
    10
    Most entertaining movie ever. Simply. And probably the better from James Cameron. Sigourney Weaver is an awesome actress, the action scenesMost entertaining movie ever. Simply. And probably the better from James Cameron. Sigourney Weaver is an awesome actress, the action scenes are amazing, the alien creature is truly horrific. Expand
  4. Aug 22, 2014
    10
    Esta película me ha encantado, ha mezclado muy bien los momentos de terror pero también los de acción. Hay partes en las que piensas que losEsta película me ha encantado, ha mezclado muy bien los momentos de terror pero también los de acción. Hay partes en las que piensas que los protagonistas no van a lograrlo. Hasta cuando crees que todo acabo la cosa sigue y sigue, llega a impactar aparte de tener algunos personajes memorables, en especial Ripley que aquí muestra que solo por ser mujer no quiere decir que no pueda estar a la altura e incluso superar en mi opinión a grandes de la acción como Rambo, Chuck Norris, etc. Esta película en mi opinión es la mejor que he visto hasta el día de hoy. Yo personalmente veo una película y ya me suelo olvidar aunque me guste, pero cuando una película se mete en tu cabeza y te hace pensar aun después de semanas de verla, entonces sabes que es una gran película. Le doy un 10/10 es un clásico, es legendaria y puede que algunas personas piensen que exagero pero me gusto tanto y tanto que tenia que darle una puntuación que iguale a la película. Expand
  5. Oct 19, 2014
    9
    "Get away from her, you **** Aliens is simply a near perfect sequel to the instant classic we have come to love. Although the supporting cast"Get away from her, you **** Aliens is simply a near perfect sequel to the instant classic we have come to love. Although the supporting cast may fall short, Ripley is more bad ass then ever! Bigger, better and more exciting then ever is just an understatement attached to this film. Aliens expands on the Stella series and leaves the audience craving more! One of the best sequels to ever be fulled off! Expand
  6. Jul 5, 2012
    8
    "Choke on it and die already!" Words intended to quiet down a guy that was loudly chomping on pop corn during the early suspense scenes of"Choke on it and die already!" Words intended to quiet down a guy that was loudly chomping on pop corn during the early suspense scenes of this film. I've held on to those words with fondness. They symbolize the undying hunger in audiences for a good ass kicking film. And back in the day, this one kicked ass like no other.
    I had read the script to this film and wondered where those additional atmospheric scenes had gone in that theatrical cut. It was truly satisfying to see that they had been sitting dormant in James Cameron's editing bin, and were now part of this Extended Cut. I won't give away all the goodies to allow you for a better surprise, but let's just say the additions are well placed and definitely help the establishment of plot and character.
    It is fun to look back at Mr. Avatar and see the early makings of a phenomenal action director. The tough guys with damaged egos. Technology turned on its side. And, of course, the curiosity for alien races quickly becoming a predicament larger than expected.
    For those of you who haven't seen this film, it's an action extravaganza centered around the Alien universe created by Ridley Scott in the film of the same title. Only this time the fun is not contained to one ugly guy playing hide and sick in a space ship. James Cameron's outing has a high count on casualties and enough opposition to take over a foreign country, or in this case, a small planet.
    Where this film might benefit from an upgrade is in the special effects department. Which is an interesting comment to make in regards to a Cameron picture, since the guy got his start doing effect shoots. He practically invented the genre. But since my viewing of this film is taking place in 2012 and we have all been bombarded by the likes of Lord of the Rings and the Avengers, the effects clearly show the cracks in the shell.
    Nevertheless, I enjoyed the film thoroughly and I would gladly watch it again. In fact, it makes for a perfect marathon if watched together with the first one.
    This is sadly the last in the Alien series where the production was taking the future of the xenophorms with any seriousness. Yes, David Fincher was a very good call for the third installment, but it was also the moment when the studio decided to put the franchise in the hands of accountants with little regard for filmmaking, and our award winning director never gained the proper production tools to do the franchise any justice... All that being said, I am actually a fan of Fincher's version. It's just hard to follow up a gory gun fest like Aliens with an emotionally driven piece like Alien 3.
    Expand
  7. Aug 3, 2012
    2
    James Cameron wrote a **** script, and it shows as this film gets cheesier and cheesier as the years go by and Alien gets better and better asJames Cameron wrote a **** script, and it shows as this film gets cheesier and cheesier as the years go by and Alien gets better and better as the years go by. Some of the acting was absolutely horrible, and the story was uninteresting, and lacked emotion. I wont deny that this was a fun action ride, but it doesn't even come close to Ridley Scott's film, and is not part of the franchise in my opinion. I own the Quadrilogy, and have watched these films probably like 50 times in my life time, and its funny how my first impressions of them have changed so much, and how the really good stuff just got better, but the hidden crap under James Cameron's film just started leaking out over time. Would have given it a higher score as an entertaining action film, but since its the sequel to a fantastic Art film, and it lacks any art on any level it completely fails. Expand

See all 77 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. All Films Considered: James Cameron

    All Films Considered: James Cameron Image
    Published: December 18, 2009
    Now that the reviews are in for Avatar, we look back at the other James Cameron-directed films in our database, to see how the critics have responded to his work.
  2. Comic Book Movies: Marvel vs. DC vs. Indie Publishers

    Comic Book Movies: Marvel vs. DC vs. Indie Publishers Image
    Published: July 26, 2011
    Whose comics make better movies: those published by Marvel, or ones from DC? Or do the best films come from indie comics, like this week's adaptation of Platinum Studios' "Cowboys & Aliens"? Find out inside as we compare the films of each comic book publisher.
  3. 21 Alien Invasion Movies, Ranked from Worst to Best

    21 Alien Invasion Movies, Ranked from Worst to Best Image
    Published: June 21, 2016
    We rank recent alien invasion movies by Metascore.
  4. This Week: Movie, TV, Music, and Game Picks for February 11-17

    This Week: Movie, TV, Music, and Game Picks for February 11-17 Image
    Published: February 10, 2013
    Among this week's most notable releases and debuts are the fifth "Die Hard" film, the long-delayed FPS "Aliens: Colonial Marines," Anthony Edwards' return to series television, and more.
  5. The Most Anticipated Video Games of 2013

    The Most Anticipated Video Games of 2013 Image
    Published: January 15, 2013
    Take a look at nearly four dozen of the coming year's most-anticipated games, from returning favorites such as BioShock Infinite and Grand Theft Auto V to new titles like The Last of Us and Watch Dogs.