Twentieth Century Fox Film Corporation | Release Date: September 4, 2009
4.1
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 117 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
34
Mixed:
21
Negative:
62
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characteres (5000 max)
0
FredBSep 4, 2009
This movie sucked. Worst movie of '09 and probably the decade.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
7
CathyL.Jan 17, 2010
This is a cute movie...no masterpiece but an enjoyable film. Great cast.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JoseRDec 29, 2009
This movie is absolutely fantastic, it's incredible that people can´t see how incredible is this film. best of the year.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
mau1133Aug 21, 2010
i have to say i liked it and i recomend it, she is crazy and i got it i guss she won the award for the worst actress but i think everyone is crasy to say that, liked it and my girlfirend did to
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
0
buffmysequelJan 5, 2011
I've seen a lot of movies in my time and I guess I tend to favour a good comedy, hey, I love the odd bad comedy, but this is neither, this is the movie equivalent of being bled out, I would rather swim in a pool of razor blades than watchI've seen a lot of movies in my time and I guess I tend to favour a good comedy, hey, I love the odd bad comedy, but this is neither, this is the movie equivalent of being bled out, I would rather swim in a pool of razor blades than watch this poor attempt at comedy again, truly terrible stuff Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
1
DeloresL.Sep 10, 2009
Very disappointing - no plot, Not humorous, skits on tonight show and Saturday night live were better. We walked out half way through.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
2
KPSep 10, 2009
In general, Sandra Bullock and her agent couldn't pick a decent script if their lives depended on it.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
0
JackDFeb 1, 2010
Gigantic piece of donkey shit. If anyone enjoys this movie even remotely they need to see a psychiatrist or commit seppuku for betraying the human race. I'm extremely disgusted that I wasted an hour and a half watching this "movie."
1 of 2 users found this helpful
5
jeffhSep 7, 2009
Yes this movie was badly written but Sandra Bullocka and Thomas Hayden church make it sort of a guilty pleasure.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
JasonD.Jan 12, 2010
Wasn't that great. Laughed @some parts but overall not very great. Hayden was funny but Sandra was a little too annoying.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
TristanB.Jan 23, 2010
I liked the movie first of all because I like the way she stalks the dude or whatever, relatively funny. The SECOND reason is Bullocks is hot.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
JmsbppJul 28, 2013
Totalmente ridicula y quedada es una fusion de buenos actores sin un buen papel falta de humor, de tema y decadencia en l trayectoria tal vez la idea pude haberse ampliado mucho mas pero no dio a lo que buscaba.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
0
MovieMan12Jun 28, 2013
A disgrace to movies everywhere. I thought the Blind Side was bad. Geez, this is pathetic on every level. It is a sad time in the film industry when this gets produced.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
0
AaronA.Sep 20, 2009
I went to the theater and bought tickets to this movie. Watched 5 minutes and it was the most pathetic attempt at humor i have ever seen, along with norbit. I got a refund and ended up seeing jennifers body, which was amazing. go see that I went to the theater and bought tickets to this movie. Watched 5 minutes and it was the most pathetic attempt at humor i have ever seen, along with norbit. I got a refund and ended up seeing jennifers body, which was amazing. go see that movie instead. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JohnstonSep 7, 2009
Why would someone as beloved as Sandra Bullock agree to make such a terrible movie? So sad!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
DoOoodJan 3, 2010
After a brief tour of being mediocre in The Blind Side, Bullock is back to making unfunny cable television friendly crap. Right there with Miss Congeniality 3 (yet to be released).
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
WendelynDSep 5, 2009
It was easily one of the most inane movies I've ever seen. It was one cliche after another. It was painful to watch! ..and I like Sandra Bullock.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
TomMSep 5, 2009
The only reason anyone rated this above a zero is because after they paid 20 bucks they were unwilling to admit they wasted their money
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
RalphieBoySep 6, 2009
Awful is the only word to describe this crap.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
RienyeN.Jan 11, 2010
Just who gives the green light for movies like these to be made? And more importantly, who keeps giving Bullock jobs? I figured The Proposal was bad but this was just sewerific!This movie was unbearable. I fell asleep...twice!! Poor acting, Just who gives the green light for movies like these to be made? And more importantly, who keeps giving Bullock jobs? I figured The Proposal was bad but this was just sewerific!This movie was unbearable. I fell asleep...twice!! Poor acting, nothing worth remebering. If you want to keep your sanity do not watch this..and if you're already insane i think playing with your imaginary friends while tons more fun. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
TylerD.Dec 29, 2009
This movie was, in a word, embarassing. The plot is pathetic - throughout the whole movie I kept thinking "who would make a movie about this?" Sandra Bullock fit the roll very well - that's all I'll say about the movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
LanceESep 22, 2009
Generally awful with an occasional giggle every 15 minutes. The most redeeming factor is that since my wife picked out this crap-fest, I will get at least 6 months of leverage to unilaterally choose the movies we see.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LauraGSep 4, 2009
I thought this movie was hilarious!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SaraBSep 4, 2009
I thought Sandra Bullock pulled this role off well. For what it's worth, its a quirky, goofy movie that offers some laughs and some meaningful moments.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
RichardGSep 4, 2009
It was definitely not the best comedy, but it's a lot of very silly humor. At least Sandra Bullock plays the character well. She's not nearly as annoying as most critics say. The audience I saw it with enjoyed themselves. It's It was definitely not the best comedy, but it's a lot of very silly humor. At least Sandra Bullock plays the character well. She's not nearly as annoying as most critics say. The audience I saw it with enjoyed themselves. It's worth seeing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
Bas1311Sep 5, 2009
I'm a big fan of Sandra Bullock, but this one was just a mess from the start. The main character was annoying and the object of her affection was bland and under-written. Overall, no real redeeming qualities.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
VinceYSep 5, 2009
Sandra Bullock has unbelievable range as an actress! Watch The Proposal first and then watch this movie and you'll see what I mean. The movie is quirky, sad, fun, exciting, and romantic all at once! It's not your ordinary girl gets Sandra Bullock has unbelievable range as an actress! Watch The Proposal first and then watch this movie and you'll see what I mean. The movie is quirky, sad, fun, exciting, and romantic all at once! It's not your ordinary girl gets boy or vice-versa but a complex yet simple statement of the uniqueness of life and that we all must achieve to be who we are. Normalcy isn't for everyone - Thank God! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
DanRJan 19, 2010
This film was showing as the in-flight movie on our way back from Egypt at the weekend. It was so bad that when we hit some turbulence over Venice, almost half the plane were praying for a plane crash, just to end the agony.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
ArtAJan 2, 2010
Terrible!!! You have got to be kidding me. They must have all been high when they signed on to be in this movie. One of the worst of all time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
RafaelS.Jan 3, 2010
This is awful. Sandra plays an annoying stalking idiot savant. We cringe at her every move. The end.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
BrianN.Jan 5, 2010
This movie was a horrendously unfunny piece of crap. Sandra Bullock plays her character perfectly according to script, which unfortunately was a terrible idea. Sad that she can make a wonderful movie like The Blind Side yet turn.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
AlexSJan 6, 2010
This Movie is torturous to watch, i would rather remove eyes then watch this movie again, please for the sake of comedy, DO NOT WATCH THIS FILM!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
DonCOct 21, 2009
To call this unfit-for-daytime-TV abortion a "work of art" is like calling Nickelback's Silver Side Up a culturally important milestone in music history. Honestly. I was drug to this steaming hunk of crap by a lovely young woman (of To call this unfit-for-daytime-TV abortion a "work of art" is like calling Nickelback's Silver Side Up a culturally important milestone in music history. Honestly. I was drug to this steaming hunk of crap by a lovely young woman (of course) who just had to see the latest flavor-of-the-week romcom. I entered with zero expectations and left feeling like my sensibilities were beaten to death by shining porcelain veneers and obvious jokes. Please spare yourself the brutality of enduring this trainwreck and do something more fun, like, oh say pulling out your teeth one by one. Avoid! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
MaxineK.Oct 4, 2009
Yes the movie was as bad as they say, but I did not mind seeing it, nor did I regret it. I went to see the film because I wanted to laugh and laugh I did, even if it was at how bad it was... I've seen worse and at no point did I even Yes the movie was as bad as they say, but I did not mind seeing it, nor did I regret it. I went to see the film because I wanted to laugh and laugh I did, even if it was at how bad it was... I've seen worse and at no point did I even consider leaving the theatre. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
tyroneASep 10, 2009
People actually gave this movie a perfect ten. Then can I give it a negative 100? Hands down it wins the Rasberry as the Worst Movie of The Year. There is no other competition. To enjoy this flick you need to have a lobotomy or check your People actually gave this movie a perfect ten. Then can I give it a negative 100? Hands down it wins the Rasberry as the Worst Movie of The Year. There is no other competition. To enjoy this flick you need to have a lobotomy or check your brains in at the door. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
EmilyC.Sep 11, 2009
I love both Sandra Bullock and Thomas Hayden but the movie was so bad I walked out of the theater. It was a waste of my time!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
TDKinDallasSep 12, 2009
Really bad, but I did laugh a lot. This is one of those movies that you have to wonder how it ever got green-lighted.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
TeaCookiesSep 22, 2009
This movie was fun to watch. Of course like any comedy you can't take it serious so just sit back and enjoy.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
ChadSSep 4, 2009
Happy-go-lucky Mary Horowitz(Sandra Bullock) is a stalker, yet inexplicably, Hartman(Thomas Haden Church), a television reporter, encourages the crossword puzzle specialist to continue chasing Steve(Bradley Cooper), a cameraman, for no other Happy-go-lucky Mary Horowitz(Sandra Bullock) is a stalker, yet inexplicably, Hartman(Thomas Haden Church), a television reporter, encourages the crossword puzzle specialist to continue chasing Steve(Bradley Cooper), a cameraman, for no other reason but to further the plot. As it turns out, not only does Hartman give Mary directions to Silver Plume, he gives her directions to a Billy Wilder film. In the 1951 classic "Ace in the Hole", a former big city reporter(played by Kirk Douglas) augments the life of a story by convoluting the rescue procedure for a silver miner trapped under rubble. Likewise, in "All About Steve", after the "last" child is pulled out of an abandoned mine shaft, Hartman's designs to fabricate news(perhaps he was hoping that the woman would attack Steve) manifests itself in a totally unexpected way. Mary falls down the hole, therefore prolonging the story's newsworthiness, and it's here where the film's narrative about journalism supercedes its narrative about love. Since the cameraman knows Mary, Hartman has himself an exclusive(the same objective as Chuck Tatum, who makes the story his by bribing the sheriff); this ambition is the calliope music that fuels the media circus outside the tragedy in the making. All those hordes of onlookers is the key visual that links this film with "Ace in the Hole". Both men are willing to put their careers ahead of human life. (How the heck did Mary and all those deaf kids escape injury?) The film should really be entitled "All About Hartman", since Mary means nothing to Steve, contrary to the forced happy ending. Steve acts like he's the protagonist in Clint Eastwood's "Play Misty For Me". Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
DaneMSep 6, 2009
Tasteless. I fell asleep.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LindaKSep 7, 2009
The reviewers completely didn't understand this one. I almost didn't go because of the "17" rating. More seventeens, please. I guess the reviewers had a hard time grasping that someone with such good looks can be such a social The reviewers completely didn't understand this one. I almost didn't go because of the "17" rating. More seventeens, please. I guess the reviewers had a hard time grasping that someone with such good looks can be such a social disaster, but the character has several traits of some people with Asperger syndrome, high intelligence, lots of factual information, and not much ability to fit in. I thought it was so, so much better than most movies that are at the movies right now. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
davidt.Nov 21, 2009
Yes, the character was annoying, but there were some laughs and I only spent $2 to watch it...so why not.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
KKOct 17, 2009
Sandra Bullock has destroyed any good will she had developed from decades of light, but still enjoyable comedies with this disturbing, and unenjoyable disaster.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
RickAOct 18, 2009
Not to impressed. Maybe with different casting the movie may have been better but because Sandra Bullock did not fit the part it was not that good. It seemed like she was trying to reach this eccentric person but I think she could not do the Not to impressed. Maybe with different casting the movie may have been better but because Sandra Bullock did not fit the part it was not that good. It seemed like she was trying to reach this eccentric person but I think she could not do the part justice. The rest of the cast seemed pretty good for the story. Oh well sometimes it works and some times it does not. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
MiKEDec 23, 2009
Seems like the people behind the movie had such a good idea, But didnt work to the point where they just stuck a pointless 45 ending with the whole mine incident.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
ManusADec 30, 2009
WOW. This movie got a 17?! I didn't think it was TERRIBLE, but it could have been much, much better. Bullock and Cooper are not given time to develop their relationship, the characterizations were mean-spirited, over-the-top, and WOW. This movie got a 17?! I didn't think it was TERRIBLE, but it could have been much, much better. Bullock and Cooper are not given time to develop their relationship, the characterizations were mean-spirited, over-the-top, and inconsistent with a side of offensive humor. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CarterW.Sep 16, 2009
This movie, despite the obvious pretensions of these critics, is the best movie that I have seen since Georgia Rule. Movies of this caliber rarely make their way into wide distribution, because the movie-watching public generally does not This movie, despite the obvious pretensions of these critics, is the best movie that I have seen since Georgia Rule. Movies of this caliber rarely make their way into wide distribution, because the movie-watching public generally does not care about such crucial elements as plot, depth, and emotional vitality--all they want is ironic banter that tries to be witt, but sounds like a couple of undergraduate improv comedy actors in a survey level Philosophy class, second rate indie pop soundtracks, or glorious T&A. I sincerely thank Kim Barker and Phil Traill for not kowtowing the tends of the vulgar masses, and crafting a work of art worthy of absolute veneration and cultural consecration. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
LaurenSep 18, 2009
I am a movie person, don't get me wrong. I love going to the movies and I enjoy everything from Sweeney Todd to things like 17 again. But this? Just plain dumb! It was stupid. Not much to say about it except I did not LIKE this movie at all!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
APNov 29, 2009
I love Sandra Bullock, but this movie was just awful. Just embarrassingly awful! What was she thinking?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
DillinOct 22, 2011
It really wasn't that bad. I don't quite understand all of the hate. It wasn't all that funny, but it wasn't a "Gigantic piece of donkey **** or "the most pathetic attempt at humor i have ever seen" or even "sewerific". I could sit throughIt really wasn't that bad. I don't quite understand all of the hate. It wasn't all that funny, but it wasn't a "Gigantic piece of donkey **** or "the most pathetic attempt at humor i have ever seen" or even "sewerific". I could sit through it, and it was kind of fun. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
muzzikloverSep 20, 2010
Ouch. This film hurts. Instead of giving the main character appraisals, she is mocked into being insane and moronic. So many plot holes, bad casting and a completely and utterly creepy and disturbing tone. Avoid. Now.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
J-ShapAug 26, 2011
What we end up with here is a perplexing situation: The film makes Bullock's character so out-of-touch and so socially awkward that it goes from charmingly quirky to frightening and pitiful. We can't identify with the character because aWhat we end up with here is a perplexing situation: The film makes Bullock's character so out-of-touch and so socially awkward that it goes from charmingly quirky to frightening and pitiful. We can't identify with the character because a normal person would react in same way Cooper does, and thus we end up pitying her instead. We also can't laugh at her when the movie tells us to because that makes us feel cruel for laughing at someone so pitiful. This is an awful, awful movie. Collapse
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
CrankyFrankyJan 11, 2012
I don't know where to start. I'm not sure what I just watched but I know I don't like the way I feel nor exactly how to describe it. A little disturbed perhaps....... discombobulated even (I've been wanting to use that for ages). Such a weirdI don't know where to start. I'm not sure what I just watched but I know I don't like the way I feel nor exactly how to describe it. A little disturbed perhaps....... discombobulated even (I've been wanting to use that for ages). Such a weird movie, I want to remove the memory of it from my brain and I never want to see red boots again. Although with the sound down she looked amazing in them. It's driven me to write this, my first review ever because of the profoundly diminishing effect it had on what should be my happy times. Thankfully it was on tv so it didn't cost me anything other than 90 minutes of my life damn it.

I don't even really know who to blame, probably the screenwriter. Certainly not Sandra Bullock; unless I read the screenplay (I never will) I couldn't even judge whether her acting was deserving of the razzie as she may have actually performed an Oscar-worthy turn in this movie, more so than the Blind Side. You can't blame the casting agents- they've got some great talent in the film. Sandra Bullock's agent, however, should have talked her out of this one. Anyway Church was good, Cooper was not as good as usual and Jeung's brilliant comedic talent and timing was wasted in a pathetic sidekick role (to a secondary character) without any punchy lines or even sight gags- or maybe his shirt and tie was funny?

The plot could have worked as you don't really need much of a plot for romcoms. For example (and i will sell this to the highest bidder) misfit meets completely unlikely partner, don't see eye to eye at first, become friends and start hanging out, one has a partner and some funny penis-size related gags occur, one falls for the other and declares undying love, uh-oh! non- reciprocated undying love awwwwww, can't be friends anymore because too embarrassed, non-reciprocator suddenly realises through a montage of slow- motion (seemingly innocuous at the time) experiences from throughout the movie (with greenday's time of your life in the background) that what they've been missing all their life was there right in front of them all that time so they should run to the rejected purveyor of undying love but what's this? It's too late, the embarrassed purveyor moved on with someone very lovely blah blah blah they break up and the original two get together in the unlikeliest of circumstances and probably finish the movie on a gag that leaves us laughing and feeling good as we walk out. 

I did not have this feeling as the credits rolled on All About Steve and I think I have figured out the reason for this in the last couple of weeks as I can pick a stinker of a movie or two. Here is my theory- it is very hard to produce a great movie without a likable protagonist. Case in point, Against The Ropes (or something like that) starring Meg Ryan and Omar Epps. Both have had very good careers at certain stages and played some truly memorable roles that I unfortunately can't remember right now. Anyway, the fact that Meg Ryan's character was so imminently unlikeable in any way prevented me from wanting her to succeed or have anything but bad things happen to her. So with a plot that (employing more than a little license) told the real life story of a female boxing promoter, I found myself googling the plot halfway through the movie and hoping some misery would befall her to assuage my desire for her downfall. 

Therein lies the problem with All About Steve. I didn't like any of the characters but most importantly I didn't like Mary **** she was annoying and paradoxically (but admittedly commonplace in the real world) both super-intelligent and a complete moron depending on what the particular scene called for. I wanted her to drown in that well and if I had anything to do with orchestrating the rescue she would still be down there now scratching crossword puzzles into the wall that would one day be unearthed and  revered by future generations as proof of higher intelligence amongst their cave-dwelling primate predecessors. the end.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
diamondsJan 6, 2014
Seriously, I have never understood why this film has received so lousy reviews. I loved the film from the first minute. Sandra Bullock's character is very strange indeed but she has a good heart and the right intentions. For me it's a perfectSeriously, I have never understood why this film has received so lousy reviews. I loved the film from the first minute. Sandra Bullock's character is very strange indeed but she has a good heart and the right intentions. For me it's a perfect film about an underdog an outsider who rises to the occassion. I have seen this film several times by now and still don't get the negative reviews. Trust me, give this film a chance! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
Bartacus1Jan 29, 2016
Getting waterboarded, chewing on aluminum foil, or contracting scabies would all be vastly more appealing than the prospect of watching this movie again. Pure and undistilled cinematic kaka.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
EpicLadySpongeApr 19, 2016
"All About Steve in a hilarious tale of a woman who, after falling hard for a guy, thinks they're an item; unfortunately, he thinks she's stalking him!"

Stop right there. A woman who thinks someone is an item? Clearly the dumbest excuse of
"All About Steve in a hilarious tale of a woman who, after falling hard for a guy, thinks they're an item; unfortunately, he thinks she's stalking him!"

Stop right there. A woman who thinks someone is an item? Clearly the dumbest excuse of a plot I've ever seen in movie career.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews