Metascore
57

Mixed or average reviews - based on 27 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 62 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: ,
  • Summary: All Good Things is a love story and murder mystery set against the backdrop of a New York real estate dynasty in the 1980s. (Groundswell Productions.)
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 27
  2. Negative: 1 out of 27
  1. Reviewed by: Roger Ebert
    Dec 24, 2010
    88
    The key to the film is in the character of David. One can imagine a scenario in which an overbearing father drives the son to rebellion, but what happens here is more complex and sinister.
  2. Reviewed by: Roger Moore
    Dec 6, 2010
    75
    It's not the smoothest thriller. But All Good Things is thoroughly engrossing, a roman a clef that chillingly ponders a puzzle and suggests solutions outlandish enough to be stranger than anything Hollywood, on its own, could make up.
  3. Reviewed by: Steven Rea
    Dec 17, 2010
    75
    All Good Things is a "true crime" drama with speculative scenarios and a kind of deliberately murky aura. It's a strange, thrilling tale begrimed by bad memories, by bad deeds.
  4. Reviewed by: Ann Hornaday
    Dec 9, 2010
    63
    All Good Things is creepy and weird and sad, and little else.
  5. Reviewed by: Scott Tobias
    Dec 6, 2010
    58
    Here's a story about a man who befriended and eventually killed a Texan while going incognito as an exceptionally frumpy woman, then was eventually nabbed shoplifting a chicken-salad sandwich while carrying more than $500 in his pocket. Why underplay that?
  6. Reviewed by: Joe Williams
    Dec 23, 2010
    50
    There's a fascinating story here for a bolder filmmaker, but after so much meandering it's a relief that "All Good Things" must come to an end.
  7. Reviewed by: Joe Morgenstern
    Dec 9, 2010
    30
    The result is a queasy combination of speculation and dramatic invention with the ring of half-truth, though the co-stars, Ryan Gosling and Kirsten Dunst, add as much color as they can - not much - to a monochromatic script.

See all 27 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 16
  2. Negative: 4 out of 16
  1. Oct 31, 2011
    10
    "All good things" is a brilliant absorbing and ultimately provocative drama thriller with a good direction and amazing performances by the"All good things" is a brilliant absorbing and ultimately provocative drama thriller with a good direction and amazing performances by the three leading actors.It reminded in a way "Revolutionary Road" because we have the portrait of the desire of a perfect existence and the subsequent broken dreams of a couple. But in "All good things" not every reasons are explained because the director is telling a real story(the names of the characters in the movie were changed)that is still a mystery and the leading actor of this drama is an enigma. David Marks(Ryan Gosling)son of a powerful real estate man(Frank Langella)tries to establish a perfect and peaceful life with his wife Kathie(Kirsten Dunst)by avoiding his duties in the family business(legal and illegal).But it won't be easy for him to resist at the pressure by his strong father and he will be forced to take part of the ominous projects of his persuasive father.Besides,his increasing psychological problems will destroy his life with his wife.The second part of the movie is a shocking and bizarre look at the last years of the disturbed man and the homicides of his two friends.And the movie becomes a sort of "Psycho". What we see is the results of murder investigations. I liked the mixture of themes such love,corruption,madness,mystery and murder and Andrew Jarecki did very well in showing the growth and reasons of the characters,although David remains an enigma in many of his actions.I really liked the details he offered and I was drawn from the beginning to the end.The movie is predictable in some parts but in the last one is a real unexpected turn.Ryan Gosling was great in playing a troubled man and I was moved by the portrayal of this poor soul that had no chance to live in peace with himself.Also he shows some sinister sign of madness that are really overwhelming. Kirsten Dunst was simply terrific in portraying a victim of the husband and his powerful family but also an ambitious woman who tried to get advantages by the the whole situation in terms of the prospect of a wealthy life.For her amazing acting she should have been nominated for an Oscar.Frank Langella was really good in the role of the cold and manipulative father.The three characters are really complex and not easily categorized."All good things"is probably one of the most appealing and interesting movie of the year.It has real great and original moments and although it doesn't provide an easy solution to the case it is not a distracting thing in my opinion(since it's still an open case). Expand
  2. Dec 28, 2010
    7
    I'll be trite here because the film is well, good. I kept wanting more, and I couldn't help feel like the story, true or not, and itsI'll be trite here because the film is well, good. I kept wanting more, and I couldn't help feel like the story, true or not, and its characters were too heavy for the director's hands. Jarecki did "Capturing the Friedmans," which was more than just good, so I was slightly disappointed in some of his decisions. Luckily, Gosling and Dunst do impressive grunt work for him and land up saving the film from a straight-to-video death. Bottom line is "All Good Things" is one of those films that prove great actors need great directors to make great films (look no further than "Blue Valentine"). One without the other and you just get, well...good. Expand
  3. May 20, 2012
    7
    All Good Things offers a recreation of real-life events in addition to providing a bit of dramatic speculation on how things really went down.All Good Things offers a recreation of real-life events in addition to providing a bit of dramatic speculation on how things really went down. Director Andrew Jarecki brought in 2003 an Oscar-nominated documentary 'Capturing the Friedmans' and now makes the jump from the experience of this documentary to this movie. Expand
  4. Oct 2, 2013
    4
    All Good Things is an interesting movie with some structural and pacing issues. The performances are good and the overall tale would beggarAll Good Things is an interesting movie with some structural and pacing issues. The performances are good and the overall tale would beggar belief if it wasn't a true story. Still... Decent but not great. Collapse
  5. Dec 14, 2010
    4
    One of the strangest movies I've ever seen, and not in a really good way. By the end, it had me wondering how much of the story was actuallyOne of the strangest movies I've ever seen, and not in a really good way. By the end, it had me wondering how much of the story was actually "based on a true story" and what the real sources were. The trailer is deceptive as hell. The Gosling character is a true freak, and I'm not sure that I'd ever recommend the experience to anyone. Expand
  6. Dec 11, 2010
    3
    A giant mess of a film. Ryan Gosling and (a surprisingly tolerable) Kirsten Dunst do the best they can with a story that can't decide whatA giant mess of a film. Ryan Gosling and (a surprisingly tolerable) Kirsten Dunst do the best they can with a story that can't decide what genre it belongs in. This simply just doesn't work. Andrew Jarecki, whose "Capturing the Friedmans" was fascinating, can do better than this. Expand
  7. Dec 24, 2010
    0
    From the opening strains of Steely Dan's "Daddy don't live in that New York City no more," I had a bad feeling about "All Good Things."From the opening strains of Steely Dan's "Daddy don't live in that New York City no more," I had a bad feeling about "All Good Things."

    Released in 1975, the album Katy Lied was Steely Dan's 4th studio album, and it is difficult to understand how it could have been playing on anyone's radio in 1971, when our movie opens...

    A fine cast, and apparently proficient crew managed to create a movie in which no one is like-able, and not one person, let alone the music supervisor, could get it together to have a contemporary song playing in the opening scene.

    Missing wife, hapless "disco people" brother, best friends, U.S. Senators; you name them, there's a pretty good reason no to like any of them. We are encouraged to hate the rich, the poor, the powerful and the powerless equally.

    Okay, I liked the dog.

    As you are probably already aware, the film is a thinly veiled fictionalization of a tabloid story from the 80's, and then 2000's, that follows, through voice-overs, the unfortunate, often tragic (for others) life of a NYC real estate heir.

    There's goofy love story stuff, Oedipus-sy angles, requisite disco-era drug use... all perfectly fine components for a good story except - we don't care about one person we meet in the movie.

    Kirsten Dunst's portrayal of Katie McCarthy brings us as close as we get to someone we like, but for whatever reason, her inability to remove herself from the circumstances that eventually, (obviously), lead to her disappearance makes it tough to care for even her.

    Ryan Gosling is fine as the tortured, hapless son, Frank Langella is as always, a unique presence in a film, and Philip Baker Hall almost wins us over as Malvern - but sadly, we care what happens to absolutely no one in the film-- and face it, if we're not rooting for somebody we're really just rooting that this pondering mess of a film just finally come to a merciful end.
    Expand

See all 16 User Reviews

Trailers