All Is Lost

User Score
6.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 222 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 37 out of 222

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Jan 16, 2014
    9
    In his late seventies Redford reminds us that despite his plethoric and undeniably lustrous acting career he can still shine brighter than ever, in a movie where not only he is the only actor but he has hardly any lines. The director J.C. Chandor on the other hand proves that his noteworthy first feature film ‘Margin Call’ was no fluke and has deservedly gained a place in my list ofIn his late seventies Redford reminds us that despite his plethoric and undeniably lustrous acting career he can still shine brighter than ever, in a movie where not only he is the only actor but he has hardly any lines. The director J.C. Chandor on the other hand proves that his noteworthy first feature film ‘Margin Call’ was no fluke and has deservedly gained a place in my list of directors whose next project I will definitely watch. Expand
  2. Sep 13, 2014
    8
    With no dialogue, Redford still delivers a performance worth of an Oscar nomination. It is a tough film to get into, Really one of those you either love it or hate it films. I enjoyed it though
  3. Feb 26, 2014
    8
    This is a movie i didn't know about until I was on a flight and watched it. Slowly, almost like torture, the situation gets worse and worse for this aging sailor on his own sail boat. The film does not have any dialog and no other characters, which says alot in itself as the film is long but not boring. As an experienced sailor, the character is able ot survive but not without severalThis is a movie i didn't know about until I was on a flight and watched it. Slowly, almost like torture, the situation gets worse and worse for this aging sailor on his own sail boat. The film does not have any dialog and no other characters, which says alot in itself as the film is long but not boring. As an experienced sailor, the character is able ot survive but not without several missteps and know-how to save himself. The tension builds as the situation gets worse and there is no dialog- you can really become just as frustrated and full of tension as you begin to sink with the ship. Expand
  4. Nov 5, 2013
    8
    ALL IS LOST is a survivalist film following one lonely "our man" who remains silent. The film blasts a punch with its combination of terror and beauty. The sea has never seemed more astounding and frightening. Redford is cast so well, it is impossible to imagination another actor in this role. ALL IS LOST, through brilliant camera work and stellar music, reaches biblical proportions inALL IS LOST is a survivalist film following one lonely "our man" who remains silent. The film blasts a punch with its combination of terror and beauty. The sea has never seemed more astounding and frightening. Redford is cast so well, it is impossible to imagination another actor in this role. ALL IS LOST, through brilliant camera work and stellar music, reaches biblical proportions in its view of the frailty and strength of the human spirit, the will to survive, and the desire to end it all. Expand
  5. Oct 18, 2013
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. No, it's not an original concept, but it's very well-done and inspiring. The movie begins with the accident that leads to the initial crisis a stray, floating shipping container strikes the 20 foot Newport, blowing a hole in the side. The rest of the movie is a methodical striving for survival. Redford does a fine job, and the cinematography is phenomenal. The music is also excellent. It's a stripped down movie. I wouldn't recommend seeing this movie the night after 12 Years a Slave (which is what I did...) Tough viewing, but both very solid films. Break them up with a nice comedy in the middle. Expand
  6. Oct 18, 2013
    8
    All is Lost is a predominantly realistic movie about a lone sailor's struggle to stay alive on the Indian Ocean across multiple days, and through very plausible moments of good and bad luck. It is a far more unique foray into what a movie can do than most of us have seen in a long time. It's an antidote to both fluffy sentimentality and heartless, mindless effects movies.
    This is a
    All is Lost is a predominantly realistic movie about a lone sailor's struggle to stay alive on the Indian Ocean across multiple days, and through very plausible moments of good and bad luck. It is a far more unique foray into what a movie can do than most of us have seen in a long time. It's an antidote to both fluffy sentimentality and heartless, mindless effects movies.
    This is a one-character movie where we know very little about that one character's life on land, just enough to capture our imagination and curiosity as to who he is when he's not fighting for his life on a 39' sailboat, alone at sea, in a tempest. The metaphoric nature of those last phrases are brought out in the movie subtly enough for us to carry them with us through the movie, and never in a heavy-handed or sophomoric manner. Furthermore, the man's a good sailor but not a great one, which lends to both the realism and the subtle and assured storytelling virtues of the movie.
    Lastly, it's also one of the few movies where if you like the trailer, you will certainly like the movie.
    Expand
  7. Jan 28, 2014
    10
    This is an extraordinary and riveting film and deserves much more than nominations --and it has had far fewer than it should have --it deserves a win. For the screenplay, for the performance, for the sheer beauty of it. It felt like a book that you cannot put down, that you urgently want to know how it ends, that you don't want to end. I hope this film and Robert Redford's performance inThis is an extraordinary and riveting film and deserves much more than nominations --and it has had far fewer than it should have --it deserves a win. For the screenplay, for the performance, for the sheer beauty of it. It felt like a book that you cannot put down, that you urgently want to know how it ends, that you don't want to end. I hope this film and Robert Redford's performance in it win at the Spirits. It has such spirit. Expand
  8. Oct 28, 2013
    9
    The movie gets no points for originality as we have all seen survival films before, including "Kon-Tiki" from this past year, which was also set on a ship. However, Redford is so good and the filmmaking is superb so I was riveted to the screen the entire time. I think everyone can relate to the snowball effect of one bad thing happening after another and you can't catch a break. TheThe movie gets no points for originality as we have all seen survival films before, including "Kon-Tiki" from this past year, which was also set on a ship. However, Redford is so good and the filmmaking is superb so I was riveted to the screen the entire time. I think everyone can relate to the snowball effect of one bad thing happening after another and you can't catch a break. The Redford character is relentless in his persistence to survive, and you can't help but root for him because he never gives up. He keeps one step ahead of death due to his survivor skills. Kudos to the filmmaking crew with all the close ups, underwater photography, and great ship/ocean noises making you feel like you're on the boat with him. Expand
  9. Nov 24, 2013
    8
    As quest for survival movies go, this one is made exceptionally well due largely to Robert Redford's great acting. Moments in this movie are extremely tense; don't go if you're looking for relaxation. Of the two movies of this type recently, Gravity and All Is Lost, I prefer this one because it goes for realism rather than Hollywood style.
  10. Nov 12, 2013
    9
    I had just listened to the TED Radio Hour and the tale of Roz Savage rowing across the Atlantic before going to see All Is Lost. It was a very interesting juxtaposition of the real and fiction. All is Lost was riveting and Redford's performance, with almost no spoken words, was a triumph of acting with eyes and body. You may quibble with details, but I never let them get in the way ofI had just listened to the TED Radio Hour and the tale of Roz Savage rowing across the Atlantic before going to see All Is Lost. It was a very interesting juxtaposition of the real and fiction. All is Lost was riveting and Redford's performance, with almost no spoken words, was a triumph of acting with eyes and body. You may quibble with details, but I never let them get in the way of my absorption into the movie and Redford's performance. Expand
  11. Dec 28, 2013
    9
    One of the year's most exciting movies barely has a word of dialogue, and is a completely absorbing lost at sea adventure. It's easy to take Redford for granted here, and in hindsight, it's hard to imagine another actor pulling this off quite as well.
  12. Feb 26, 2014
    9
    Redford should have been nominated for an Oscar, and in any other year would have been (2013 was so strong for film and especially male leads!) I found it gripping despite the ambiguity and lack of dialogue because you can't help wondering about the steps he takes for survival and would you have done the same thing, etc. Wished for a clearer ending but I guess they wanted us to discussRedford should have been nominated for an Oscar, and in any other year would have been (2013 was so strong for film and especially male leads!) I found it gripping despite the ambiguity and lack of dialogue because you can't help wondering about the steps he takes for survival and would you have done the same thing, etc. Wished for a clearer ending but I guess they wanted us to discuss it. Beautiful photography and music, great acting, great truth. Expand
  13. Feb 20, 2014
    10
    This is a truly amazing film and I'm shocked it gets such a bad user score. The user scores on Metacritic are usually very reliable. The mood, the acting, the alternating sense you get of hope and hopelessness, just make the film riveting for me. It's a pure action spectacle so I fail to see how anyone could have found it dull. Some of the shots are simply breathtaking too. Robert RedfordThis is a truly amazing film and I'm shocked it gets such a bad user score. The user scores on Metacritic are usually very reliable. The mood, the acting, the alternating sense you get of hope and hopelessness, just make the film riveting for me. It's a pure action spectacle so I fail to see how anyone could have found it dull. Some of the shots are simply breathtaking too. Robert Redford is now a new hero of mine. Expand
  14. Jan 20, 2016
    9
    All is Lost is a tense, isolating and emotional experience, about a man stranded on a boat in the middle of the Indian Ocean. As things go from bad to worse, one cannot help thinking, as when watching a film like Gravity as well, "How would I feel, and react, in such a hopeless situation?" But what all holds this together more than anything is the performance of Robert Redford, who isAll is Lost is a tense, isolating and emotional experience, about a man stranded on a boat in the middle of the Indian Ocean. As things go from bad to worse, one cannot help thinking, as when watching a film like Gravity as well, "How would I feel, and react, in such a hopeless situation?" But what all holds this together more than anything is the performance of Robert Redford, who is completely believable and does a remarkable job at showing his emotions without largely the use of dialog. As one who doesn't sail I didn't always understand what he was doing, but always I understood the purpose of what he was doing it for, so never felt too disengaged. It's a pace film, but patient viewers will find great reward in this harrowing tale. Expand
  15. Oct 28, 2013
    8
    There is only one character is this movie played by Robert Redford. He is all by himself on a boot in the Indian Ocean. The whole movie is about his fight for life.
    Almost no words except a few exclamations but the movie is full with dramatism. Beautiful cinematography and music. In my opinion, the movie is not a piece of entertainment. Is it piece of art? Definitely. One can easily
    There is only one character is this movie played by Robert Redford. He is all by himself on a boot in the Indian Ocean. The whole movie is about his fight for life.
    Almost no words except a few exclamations but the movie is full with dramatism. Beautiful cinematography and music. In my opinion, the movie is not a piece of entertainment. Is it piece of art? Definitely. One can easily predict Redfort will be nominated for the Oscar's best actor for this role, and rightfully so.
    Expand
  16. Sep 2, 2014
    8
    We are right there with him in the wide, overwhelming seascape. Robert Redford gives one of his career's best and J.C. Chandor proves once more his place in quality film today.
  17. Nov 14, 2014
    7
    All around, All Is Lost is pretty good. J.C. Chandor continues to show himself to be a director to watch as both this and "Margin Call" show he has a knack for making great, actor driven, fims. Robert Redford is brilliant here, even if he barely speaks. The lack of dialogue is not even noticeable, as the film barely misses it, if at all. The film has no problems communicating all of theAll around, All Is Lost is pretty good. J.C. Chandor continues to show himself to be a director to watch as both this and "Margin Call" show he has a knack for making great, actor driven, fims. Robert Redford is brilliant here, even if he barely speaks. The lack of dialogue is not even noticeable, as the film barely misses it, if at all. The film has no problems communicating all of the problems facing our protagonist and does so very effectively, as there is a ton of tension in a film that Netflix describes as "harrowing", which is truly a great way to describe it. The cinematography here is gorgeous and, in particular, the shots from underneath the water are breathtakingly beautiful. As a whole, this one is a triumph for cinema and stands as an example that you do not need much to make a good film. Now, this one can be slow at times, so it will not appeal to everyone, but I personally enjoyed it a lot. Expand
  18. Jan 22, 2014
    7
    Director J.C. Chandor follows up 2011's Wall Street drama "Margin Call" with a superbly shot "All Is Lost," a near-silent survival procedural that creates an austere snapshot of human struggle, ingenuity, and perseverance. The film is a testament to the endurance of the human spirit when facing insurmountable odds, while employing only a few lines of dialogue to set the movie's tone.Director J.C. Chandor follows up 2011's Wall Street drama "Margin Call" with a superbly shot "All Is Lost," a near-silent survival procedural that creates an austere snapshot of human struggle, ingenuity, and perseverance. The film is a testament to the endurance of the human spirit when facing insurmountable odds, while employing only a few lines of dialogue to set the movie's tone.

    The film begins with an unnamed yachtsman “Our Man” (Robert Redford), in the middle of the Indian Ocean who wakes up to discover that water is pouring into his boat. He quickly discovers that his yacht has collided with a floating metal container and that the hull is substantially damaged. Seemingly unconcerned, he sets about patching up the hull, bails out the excess water and continues on his way. However, with a fierce storm fast approaching, Our Man's problems are far from over.

    Without language and human interaction, the film relies heavily on its production values. Frank G. DeMarco and Peter Zuccarini's cinematography is fantastic, highlighting the ocean landscape and ominous skies with a limited amount of CG intrusion. Robert Redford is terrific as the lone, experienced sailor battling the elements to survive.

    The camera is consistently up-close-and-personal with its lone subject, but it never provides any kind of back story for "Our Man." Another nagging issue is its lack of inventiveness, and there isn't a moment in the picture or in the story that hasn't been seen or explored before.

    That being said, there is an appealing simplicity to Chandor's script, which is enhanced with thoughtful direction and an intensely physical performance by Robert Redford that makes for one hell of a ride.
    Expand
  19. Feb 7, 2014
    9
    When I saw 'The Company You Keep' I said why would he take risks at this age. He took even riskier job in this movie. I heard that he also lost his hearing during filmmaking for this. Robert Redford, the hardworking man at 77. Don't think he's the only one but Bruce Willis, Stallone and Schwarzenegger doing the same. They are capable but this man put lots of effort to give his best.When I saw 'The Company You Keep' I said why would he take risks at this age. He took even riskier job in this movie. I heard that he also lost his hearing during filmmaking for this. Robert Redford, the hardworking man at 77. Don't think he's the only one but Bruce Willis, Stallone and Schwarzenegger doing the same. They are capable but this man put lots of effort to give his best.

    Just a year ago we saw 'Life of Pi' about a young Indian boy who was lost in the great Pacific. This time an old man who lost in the Indian ocean finds hard to survive during his drift on the current of the ocean. Performance was undoubtedly great along with fine direction and good visuals. The movie had only one character so the talkings were insufficient but in a right and convicing way.

    I am not doubting, it was a great movie but the timing was bad. I just enjoyed 'Life of Pi' and 'Gravity' and I still feel it fresh in my mind. So to see a movie like this in a short span I was not much excited. The end was good and did not appeal strongly, but kept simple as that. Many people had displeasure on that portion, that could be a reason to vastly dislike it.

    In a way the movie had its own strength, especially in the story. When you think the container is what's gonna spoil and damage expedition, actually it won't but storm. Like that there are many others makes you think one and takes you into another. One of the good movie from 2013 according to performance sadly he was not nominated for academy awards. It got only one nomination, in the sound editing category. It is a tough competition in that list so it can be anybody's game.
    Expand
  20. Dec 31, 2013
    8
    These are usually not my type of films a movie with no back story and no dialogue, but Robert Redford makes this film worth watching. Like Gravity this film is really about the performances of its actors and for either in the wrong hands both would fail. Thankfully both succeed. A-
  21. Dec 29, 2013
    7
    Taking some bold notes from Hemmingway’s ‘The Old Man and the Sea’, JC Chandor tells a story of a lone sailor’s strife to survive after being stranded at sea due to a series of worsening events. With little to no dialogue, ‘All is Lost’ is filled with subtext and relies on Robert Redford tremendous talents to hold the screen alone. Redford’s unnamed character (titled ‘Our Man’ in theTaking some bold notes from Hemmingway’s ‘The Old Man and the Sea’, JC Chandor tells a story of a lone sailor’s strife to survive after being stranded at sea due to a series of worsening events. With little to no dialogue, ‘All is Lost’ is filled with subtext and relies on Robert Redford tremendous talents to hold the screen alone. Redford’s unnamed character (titled ‘Our Man’ in the credits), is an ambiguous figure with literally no back-story; but that made him all the more intriguing. There was no scenery chewing in the performance, just plain stoicism as his character steers peril in the eye… all truly felt lost. Chandor is no stranger to the dynamics of the 2008 financial crisis, and it’s very possible that some of these issues are layered between the fine lines of this story. With an abandoned shipping container being the initial cause of Our Man’s high seas accident, one could relate that to the irresponsibility of big corporations and the negative effects it has on the people. However, as you would expect from this metaphorical movie; it’s all up to each viewer’s interpretation. I applaud the rigorous efforts placed in producing this film, but for some reason I thought it was a tough film to fully connect to. It may be due to its stark minimalism or maybe the subtle emotional payoff. In any case, it was one of the year’s most ambitious movies, and I encourage anybody up for a challenge to give it a try. Expand
  22. Mar 31, 2014
    10
    Not a film for lovers of fast paced action yarns, "All is Lost" is a reflective survival story in which a single man (Redford) awakes on his boat to find himself alone and sinking. With virtually no dialogue, this is a film of thought and the simple need to rely upon the human instinct for survival.
    Beautifully shot and directed, the film at its heart has a career best performance from
    Not a film for lovers of fast paced action yarns, "All is Lost" is a reflective survival story in which a single man (Redford) awakes on his boat to find himself alone and sinking. With virtually no dialogue, this is a film of thought and the simple need to rely upon the human instinct for survival.
    Beautifully shot and directed, the film at its heart has a career best performance from Redford and must rank as one of the films of the year.
    Expand
  23. May 25, 2014
    8
    I have owned All Is Lost for some time now i just never got around to watching it that's a shame because i knew the film was good but damn i didn't know it was going to be a contender for my favorite Robert Redford movie. The fact that Robert Redford says less then 10 words through out the whole film is amazing i think its not till like the 22 minute mark till we hear him finally sayI have owned All Is Lost for some time now i just never got around to watching it that's a shame because i knew the film was good but damn i didn't know it was going to be a contender for my favorite Robert Redford movie. The fact that Robert Redford says less then 10 words through out the whole film is amazing i think its not till like the 22 minute mark till we hear him finally say something. The plot is simple but masterful some would find this type of film boring but not me i have actually stayed out on a boat for two weeks when i was younger and i had a blast. The film opens up with Robert Redford waking up to little spurts of water coming into his boat he gets up to see that he had clipped the edge of a container full of shoes that had fallen off a cargo ship. Well he ends up fixing the hole in his ship and life goes on as before but soon a huge storm hits and while fixing things around inside his boat a big wave hits his boat causing him to hit his head on a steel post that knocks him out. He then wakes up to water up to his thighs so he gets out a life raft and starts to gather some food and other things and he gets inside is life raft that is being pulled behind the boat. From here we watch Robert Redford try to survive in the open water as he tries to make his way to the Sumatra Straits in hope that he ends up being saved.

    Overall i give it a 8.5 This film is beautiful, mesmerizing, and breathtaking All Is Lost is a most watch for all.
    Expand
  24. Dec 16, 2013
    9
    Another film about the human spirit’s ability to persevere we do not need, yet here we are again.

    In the straights on Sumatra off the coast of Indonesia a lone sailor (Robert Redford) awakens to find his sailboat's cabin filling fast with ocean. A massive whole has been torn through the side after a freak, overnight collision with a rogue shipping container. In the vastness of the
    Another film about the human spirit’s ability to persevere we do not need, yet here we are again.

    In the straights on Sumatra off the coast of Indonesia a lone sailor (Robert Redford) awakens to find his sailboat's cabin filling fast with ocean. A massive whole has been torn through the side after a freak, overnight collision with a rogue shipping container. In the vastness of the Indian Ocean the spectacular odds of this collision’s happening seem staggering, and yet this is only the beginning of the misadventure.

    After patching up the side of the boat, even despite the total loss of all modern navigation equipment, the danger seems to cease. For a moment it seems like all that’s left is for the lone sailor to venture into the nearest port and seek repairs, but of course we know this is not the story.

    It is as if the hulking metal mass has delivered upon the lone sailor a divine wrath from which there is no escape. When we see the container, a faceless representation of some mega conglomerate, smashed through the side of the delicate sailboat, sweatshop-produced shoes spilling out into the ocean, the irony is overwhelming. The very world the lone sailor has set out to get away from has tracked him down.

    Before we start the film, just from the title alone, we know what the outcome will be, yet despite the unoriginal plot and standard shipwreck story conventions, the film succeeds. Fantastically succeeds.

    Almost completely devoid of dialogue, Robert Redford exudes a stolid, matter-of-fact persona in the face of catastrophe. He toils steadily, remaining steadfast in his manner. It is exhausting just watching him labor endlessly and even though he is performing, this performance cannot really be considered acting. Simply going through the motions of this role is enough to exude awe, especially when he is being thrown around wildly by the untamed, open ocean; the work that it must have taken to play this role is obvious and seems to strip away acting practices; what we really see is a man just trying not to die.
    Expand
  25. Nov 16, 2014
    9
    Although it can't reach the cinematic heights like "normal" movies, this experimental film All is Lost is better than you might think. Even though its premise is basic, it still managed to hold my attention for all its 106 minute runtime. Redford shows off his acting chops here, and gives at least a little bit of insight into his character. Overall, the film is worth watching, especiallyAlthough it can't reach the cinematic heights like "normal" movies, this experimental film All is Lost is better than you might think. Even though its premise is basic, it still managed to hold my attention for all its 106 minute runtime. Redford shows off his acting chops here, and gives at least a little bit of insight into his character. Overall, the film is worth watching, especially if you like out-of-the-norm movies like this. Expand
  26. Dec 2, 2013
    9
    A similar picture by Aleksandr Sokurov, Mother and Son, is an example of another brilliant film that uses action instead of dialogue, as well as time to tell its story. But to give this film an unusually low score would be the result of a lack of film literacy. I'd caution those who hated All Is Lost to avoid films by Andrei Tarkovsky and Satyajit Ray, too.
  27. Nov 11, 2013
    9
    "All is Lost" will likely come across in different ways to different individuals. The movie-going public has a detached concept of the situation that Robert Redford's protagonist faces think TV hit "Survivor", where a tough day involves performing stunts brainstormed by the show's staff who are camped on the other side of the island and the big downside is getting blackballed by"All is Lost" will likely come across in different ways to different individuals. The movie-going public has a detached concept of the situation that Robert Redford's protagonist faces think TV hit "Survivor", where a tough day involves performing stunts brainstormed by the show's staff who are camped on the other side of the island and the big downside is getting blackballed by backbiting co-contestants.
    I am a student of actual survival stories such as the Uruguayan rugby team's 1972 crash in the Andes, or Steven Callahan's story of surviving 76 days in a life raft in the Atlantic in his book "Adrift".
    This is the basis for the "All is Lost" script, watching another human actually fighting for his life. Even though the film plays a little fast and loose with the technical aspects I think the movie succeeds masterfully in creating a powerful existential action movie without dialogue and limited special effects. It has the ascetic feel and pathos of Hemingway's "Old Man and the Sea" but eschews dialogue, depending instead on Redford's superb acting to communicate the determination, fear, doubt and defeat of a man facing his mortality. This film is a rare gem in a pile of trinkets.
    Expand
  28. Nov 11, 2013
    7
    Good drama, but irritating if you know anything about sailing. 1) Emergency beacons are cheap and small and waterproof. Anyone with any sense would have at least one on board. 2) What is the fool doing in the cabin during a storm? He should be at the Helm. 3) Why did he spread that sail over the bow of his boat? So what if some water was leaking in. He could just pump it out (that isGood drama, but irritating if you know anything about sailing. 1) Emergency beacons are cheap and small and waterproof. Anyone with any sense would have at least one on board. 2) What is the fool doing in the cabin during a storm? He should be at the Helm. 3) Why did he spread that sail over the bow of his boat? So what if some water was leaking in. He could just pump it out (that is why the hand pump is next to the helm) 4) Why did he try to send an SOS early in the movie when his boat at that point was in good condition? I could go on but you get the point. Redford makes up for the technical details though. Very good acting. Expand
  29. Feb 21, 2014
    8
    An amazing and heart warming movie. There is only one character in the movie and still the producers are still able to get to grab the viewer. It was able to get a range of emotions out of me. It shows how strong the unnamed man is and his will to keep alive. Bravo! A great film!
  30. Apr 11, 2015
    7
    All is Lost es una película que aunque no llega a desarrollarse de una manera potente, posee un atractivo sutancial y bien definido.

    Esta película en sí no posee un núcleo que sea totalmente potente, pero que al fin y al cabo llega a dar cierto impacto que la hace ser más admirable en su atmósfera, manteniendo siempre las preguntas: ¿Qué va a pasar? ¿Qué hará el hombre? ¿cómo
    All is Lost es una película que aunque no llega a desarrollarse de una manera potente, posee un atractivo sutancial y bien definido.

    Esta película en sí no posee un núcleo que sea totalmente potente, pero que al fin y al cabo llega a dar cierto impacto que la hace ser más admirable en su atmósfera, manteniendo siempre las preguntas: ¿Qué va a pasar? ¿Qué hará el hombre? ¿cómo terminará?., dejando así que este film no contiene una gran potencia, pero que no resulta aburrida y que llega a ser cautivadora conteniendo un final poético e intelectual.
    Expand
  31. May 3, 2014
    10
    There are no other actors, no other locations, no other dialogue. All we get is just one guy, one sea, one story. This is the kind of film that needs to be made more often. Everything about it is powerful.
  32. Sep 20, 2014
    7
    All is Lost is the movie that the Academy Award basically forgot this year. The seemingly hopeless undertaking of an older man’s fight for survival through unrelentingly dire circumstances after his boat’s hull collides with an abandoned shipping container at sea.

    Containing only 2 lines and a voice over, the movie is a triumph of cinematic skill and acting. All is Lost is
    All is Lost is the movie that the Academy Award basically forgot this year. The seemingly hopeless undertaking of an older man’s fight for survival through unrelentingly dire circumstances after his boat’s hull collides with an abandoned shipping container at sea.

    Containing only 2 lines and a voice over, the movie is a triumph of cinematic skill and acting. All is Lost is minimalistic, having very few ‘tricks’ to rely upon, and still the film is captivating. It is beautiful, serene, despairingly expansive and gray. While some may feel Robert Redford’s portrayal of the nameless mariner to be dull and rife with improbabilities and inaccuracies I found his stoic nature to be appropriate and drawing. His resilience and resourcefulness despite the harrowing conditions would otherwise fail to immerse the audience. Instead we feel a part of the survival story, with bated breath, thinking ‘would I make it this long without giving up?’

    The ending to All is Lost may be frustrating to some but I appreciate its ambiguity. What you take from the ending says much more about your true self than the movie’s actual conclusion, a deliberate choice done by the writer and director of the film J.C. Chandor. Trying not to spoil anything – I found that I am an optimist.

    More reviews of recent releases can be found at our website.
    Expand
  33. Nov 13, 2014
    7
    "All Is Lost" 10 Scale Rating: 7.0 (Good) ...

    The Good: How great is Robert Redford? He keeps your interest without saying a word. Through action, facial expressions, and body language Redford puts on an absolute show. While I went in thinking I wouldn't like it much, "All Is Lost" ended up being a pretty good film. The Bad: Ultimately though, a solitary man alone and at sea is only
    "All Is Lost" 10 Scale Rating: 7.0 (Good) ...

    The Good: How great is Robert Redford? He keeps your interest without saying a word. Through action, facial expressions, and body language Redford puts on an absolute show. While I went in thinking I wouldn't like it much, "All Is Lost" ended up being a pretty good film.

    The Bad: Ultimately though, a solitary man alone and at sea is only so interesting. Eventually, the film succumbs to the slow pacing that occurs in-between dilemmas.
    Expand
  34. Dec 25, 2014
    9
    There is a hefty sense of dread that you share with Redford's lead. What's really immersive about this film is that it relies on the situation to build tension and atmosphere. In this respect, it succeeds greatly. Although there are only extremely mysterious glimpses into the reason the protagonist finds himself in this environment, the shared hopelessness with character and audience makesThere is a hefty sense of dread that you share with Redford's lead. What's really immersive about this film is that it relies on the situation to build tension and atmosphere. In this respect, it succeeds greatly. Although there are only extremely mysterious glimpses into the reason the protagonist finds himself in this environment, the shared hopelessness with character and audience makes up for the lack of nuance.
    Lastly, people that say Redford can't hold the screen for the run time are just plain wrong in my opinion. He's a fine actor and he succeeds at getting people on his side without dialogue. Not many actors have earned that merit.
    Expand
  35. Jan 2, 2015
    8
    If you like grisly wrinkled faces looking concerned, this is probably the movie for you. Don't expect any dialogue. Don't expect musical cues to let you know how concerned you need to be. All you have is stark realism that at times does become monotonous. Robert Redford has a lot of acting chops, and he does a tremendous job in this movie. Too many actors would have tried to over sell it.If you like grisly wrinkled faces looking concerned, this is probably the movie for you. Don't expect any dialogue. Don't expect musical cues to let you know how concerned you need to be. All you have is stark realism that at times does become monotonous. Robert Redford has a lot of acting chops, and he does a tremendous job in this movie. Too many actors would have tried to over sell it. I'm not really sure how a human being would act in the situation, but I imagine he nailed it. Great movie, but definitely not for everyone. Expand
  36. Feb 12, 2015
    9
    'All is lost' starts with the apology of a man (Robert Redford) who admits he has tried - to be true, to be strong, to be right, to love - but failed. He fought till the end, he says. The movie shows his struggle. Man versus nature. We see a man who probably didn't care much about others during his life. He lived the life he wanted to live, he wrote the rules. Now we see him in a situation'All is lost' starts with the apology of a man (Robert Redford) who admits he has tried - to be true, to be strong, to be right, to love - but failed. He fought till the end, he says. The movie shows his struggle. Man versus nature. We see a man who probably didn't care much about others during his life. He lived the life he wanted to live, he wrote the rules. Now we see him in a situation where he has to bow for his superior. He is being played with. Redford proves he still got it. His performance is down to the bone, and at the same time he refuses to give in to sentimentality. A must see. Expand
  37. Sep 23, 2015
    7
    Don't like Redford but I have got myself into watching everything that was released in this year with a green dot. Yeah bite me, I can never figure out what to watch.

    If you have no interest in sailing, the sea, film, or Robert Redford stay clear. This is a silent film, pretty much, I found my self longing for him to stub his toe so he would cuss. Saying that he is a wonderful actor,
    Don't like Redford but I have got myself into watching everything that was released in this year with a green dot. Yeah bite me, I can never figure out what to watch.

    If you have no interest in sailing, the sea, film, or Robert Redford stay clear.

    This is a silent film, pretty much, I found my self longing for him to stub his toe so he would cuss. Saying that he is a wonderful actor, don't like him though, and his talent almost holds you like Hanks in Cast Away.

    Can flounder (hu hu hu) at times, but is smooth sailing overall.
    Expand
Metascore
87

Universal acclaim - based on 45 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 41 out of 45
  2. Negative: 0 out of 45
  1. Reviewed by: Kevin Harley
    Dec 23, 2013
    80
    With no 3D, no friends and no hope, Redford and Chandor show how survivalist instincts can stoke thrilling, thoughtful cinema. If Gravity grabbed you, hop aboard and hold tight.
  2. Reviewed by: Chris Hewitt (1)
    Dec 23, 2013
    100
    A triumph of pure cinema and wonderful visual storytelling from Chandor, who must now be considered the real deal, while Redford is sublime in what could well be the performance of his career.
  3. Reviewed by: Lawrence Toppman
    Nov 7, 2013
    75
    The presence of Robert Redford gives the character weight, if not depth, because we bring to the film everything we know about the actor from other movies. Redford’s characters have seemed unflappable for more than 40 years: sometimes cool, sometimes cocky, but almost always master of a situation. To see him beginning to flounder is to see a new Redford, one who catches us off guard.