Metascore
87

Universal acclaim - based on 45 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 184 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring:
  • Summary: Deep into a solo voyage in the Indian Ocean, an unnamed man wakes to find his 39-foot yacht taking on water after a collision with a shipping container left floating on the high seas. With his navigation equipment and radio disabled, the man sails unknowingly into the path of a violentDeep into a solo voyage in the Indian Ocean, an unnamed man wakes to find his 39-foot yacht taking on water after a collision with a shipping container left floating on the high seas. With his navigation equipment and radio disabled, the man sails unknowingly into the path of a violent storm. Despite his success in patching the breached hull, his marinerâ Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 41 out of 45
  2. Negative: 0 out of 45
  1. Reviewed by: Joe Morgenstern
    Oct 17, 2013
    100
    It's a meditation on mortality, with remarkable resemblances to "Gravity," not to mention echoes of "The Old Man and the Sea." It's admirably crafted, with a wealth of detail that illustrates the sailor's resourcefulness.
  2. Reviewed by: Marc Mohan
    Oct 24, 2013
    100
    The pacing is perfect, and the action, mostly filmed in a studio, is never less than utterly believable. The director’s first feature, “Margin Call,” was full of rapid-fire dialogue, and he shows off considerable range by following it up with this film.
  3. Reviewed by: Chris Hewitt (1)
    Dec 23, 2013
    100
    A triumph of pure cinema and wonderful visual storytelling from Chandor, who must now be considered the real deal, while Redford is sublime in what could well be the performance of his career.
  4. 90
    In his late seventies, Robert Redford has never held the camera as magnificently as he does in the survival-at-sea thriller All Is Lost.
  5. Reviewed by: Peter Rainer
    Oct 18, 2013
    83
    If one buys into the whole grace under pressure thing, All Is Lost – the title is its own spoiler alert – is first-rate.
  6. Reviewed by: Justin Chang
    May 25, 2013
    80
    A virtually wordless film that speaks with grave eloquence and simplicity about the human condition. Nothing here feels fancy or extraneous, least of all Redford’s superb performance.
  7. Reviewed by: Rene Rodriguez
    Nov 7, 2013
    50
    All is Lost is more fun to think about than it is to actually watch: It’s a testament to a great actor, an experimental piece of cinema and a bit of a bore.

See all 45 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 39 out of 73
  2. Negative: 25 out of 73
  1. Jan 28, 2014
    10
    This is an extraordinary and riveting film and deserves much more than nominations --and it has had far fewer than it should have --itThis is an extraordinary and riveting film and deserves much more than nominations --and it has had far fewer than it should have --it deserves a win. For the screenplay, for the performance, for the sheer beauty of it. It felt like a book that you cannot put down, that you urgently want to know how it ends, that you don't want to end. I hope this film and Robert Redford's performance in it win at the Spirits. It has such spirit. Expand
  2. Feb 26, 2014
    9
    Redford should have been nominated for an Oscar, and in any other year would have been (2013 was so strong for film and especially maleRedford should have been nominated for an Oscar, and in any other year would have been (2013 was so strong for film and especially male leads!) I found it gripping despite the ambiguity and lack of dialogue because you can't help wondering about the steps he takes for survival and would you have done the same thing, etc. Wished for a clearer ending but I guess they wanted us to discuss it. Beautiful photography and music, great acting, great truth. Expand
  3. Nov 5, 2013
    8
    ALL IS LOST is a survivalist film following one lonely "our man" who remains silent. The film blasts a punch with its combination of terrorALL IS LOST is a survivalist film following one lonely "our man" who remains silent. The film blasts a punch with its combination of terror and beauty. The sea has never seemed more astounding and frightening. Redford is cast so well, it is impossible to imagination another actor in this role. ALL IS LOST, through brilliant camera work and stellar music, reaches biblical proportions in its view of the frailty and strength of the human spirit, the will to survive, and the desire to end it all. Expand
  4. Sep 23, 2014
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Watched the movie and was disappointed that the man, Robert Redford, was not really a sailor. Cannot imagine what he was doing so far away from a shore or land. He had no access to a life jacket, he didn't put the harness on until too late, his liferaft was kept in the V-berth when it should have been strapped on deck, had no EPIRB and he had no idea how to use a radio. He struggled to put on a storm jib which should have been easily accessible too since he saw the storm coming. I did like the way the boat was patched and he did try to get noticed by the containers, but as most sailors know, there is no one on the bridge of the containers and no one wandering around their decks at night. His flares left a lot to be desired but I cannot blame him for trying to light a fire on the life raft except it caught the whole thing alight. That was too bad. I do know that there wasn't any hand at the end and that he died or drowned. The photography was great and I was sad to see the boat sink. Robert Redford should have checked up on sailing rules before doing the movie or was he just too complacent to bother. Most lone sailors are much better prepared than he. Sorry about the negatives but??? Expand
  5. Dec 31, 2013
    5
    There is nothing to it. With less words than any movie I have ever seen, Redford needed to do some extraordinary acting to give some poetry orThere is nothing to it. With less words than any movie I have ever seen, Redford needed to do some extraordinary acting to give some poetry or artistry to the film. Unfortunately, the movie becomes a standard survival film. Expand
  6. Nov 7, 2013
    3
    I could not get into this movie as much as I wanted to. The only good thing was that the music score was appropriate for this movie. ItI could not get into this movie as much as I wanted to. The only good thing was that the music score was appropriate for this movie. It helped me sleep. The music was just as slow as the movie. The acting by Redford was non existent. No acting what so ever. He just went thru the motions. Too bad. Expand
  7. Jan 1, 2014
    0
    I havent sailed much but even to me this movie which solely portrays sailing emergency situation at sea seems as a string of completely mindI havent sailed much but even to me this movie which solely portrays sailing emergency situation at sea seems as a string of completely mind boggling unbelievable events as if sailor is trying to kill himself instead of fighting for his life. Thus ruining this movie for me. The fact that there is no dialogue and there is just a single character on screen makes sure of that. Expand

See all 73 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. The Best and Worst Movies of 2013

    The Best and Worst Movies of 2013 Image
    Published: January 6, 2014
    There were more great movies released in 2013 than in any year in recent memory. Browse our official lists of the year's highest-scoring movies in a variety of categories, and check out 2013's worst films, too.