Sony Pictures Home Entertainment | Release Date: September 13, 2000
6.8
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 342 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
244
Mixed:
20
Negative:
78
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
Trev29Jun 29, 2013
A movie for anyone who likes rock n' roll, an original script full of lively characters, and looking to a have an entertaining time. A great American film that stands out amongst crap.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
seancriswellOct 29, 2012
Quite a fun movie that doesn't disappoint on many levels. Well written and acted with many both funny and heart warming moments. I would say that the one weak link in this movie is Patrick Fugit which proves to be problematic at times becauseQuite a fun movie that doesn't disappoint on many levels. Well written and acted with many both funny and heart warming moments. I would say that the one weak link in this movie is Patrick Fugit which proves to be problematic at times because he is in most every scene. There a couple scenes in particular with Hudson where Fugit fails to hold his own against her or the dialogue, and this took me out of the movie for a moment or two. These moments are few and far between however and most of this movie is entertaining. Hoffman in particular is extraordinary as usual. While this movie did nothing to hook me emotionally, it also did nothing to disappoint. An entertaining film worth a few viewings. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
SpangleDec 5, 2014
Almost Famous is absolutely a very good film that I really enjoyed thoroughly. First off, the acting is great. Patrick Fugit, Billy Crudup, Kate Hudson, Jason Lee, and Philip Seymour Hoffman, are all stupendous. All of their characters areAlmost Famous is absolutely a very good film that I really enjoyed thoroughly. First off, the acting is great. Patrick Fugit, Billy Crudup, Kate Hudson, Jason Lee, and Philip Seymour Hoffman, are all stupendous. All of their characters are endearing in their own way and really steal the spotlight individually at times. The directing from Cameron Crowe is great and the story is told wonderfully. It really does not glamorize rock and roll of the time, but it certainly makes you fall in love with these flawed human beings as we interact with them through the eyes of a young 15 year old writer. We truly fall in love with these people as he does and struggle through the same struggles he does as a writer on this trip that changes his life forever. Ultimately, Almost Famous is a resounding success and a film that provides laughs, drama, and just enough of romance, to keep you interested. A truly great film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
cameronmorewoodNov 8, 2012
A lovely film, Almost Famous is incredibly enjoyable and surprisingly heartwarming.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
HarveyDentApr 14, 2013
A great movie on a subject that doesn't personally engage me all that much, but did so in this film. the movies tone is a bit strange, going from comedy to series drama, but that is part of what makes it so good. Not quite special enough forA great movie on a subject that doesn't personally engage me all that much, but did so in this film. the movies tone is a bit strange, going from comedy to series drama, but that is part of what makes it so good. Not quite special enough for a 10, but a great movie none the less Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
NitishAug 27, 2014
yehh, it's a master piece, an intense story line, the real world behind the walls of music, the drugs, the sex, thew love,the life and everything. Just i was hoping the ending to be a little more intense but it's cool. Very nice story.
It's
yehh, it's a master piece, an intense story line, the real world behind the walls of music, the drugs, the sex, thew love,the life and everything. Just i was hoping the ending to be a little more intense but it's cool. Very nice story.
It's a must watch for everyone who want to feel something real, artistic and beautiful.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
MovieGuysSep 21, 2013
Crowe should get rewarded for Almost Famous, as it has wit, charm and feel-good overtones. The message and themes shine bright, and every character is there for a reason. Some scenes drag a little bit too long and are overplayed a little bit,Crowe should get rewarded for Almost Famous, as it has wit, charm and feel-good overtones. The message and themes shine bright, and every character is there for a reason. Some scenes drag a little bit too long and are overplayed a little bit, which is the sole reason for my 8 and not 10 rating. But, still overall a great film and I definitely recommend it. I especially liked Eric Stonestreet as Sheldon the desk clerk, after seeing him in ModFam. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
cjm868Apr 1, 2016
"The only true currency in this bankrupt world is what you share with someone else when you're uncool." - Lester Bangs (Philip Seymour Hoffman)

Almost Famous is THE MOVIE that I want to watch again for the very first time. Of course there
"The only true currency in this bankrupt world is what you share with someone else when you're uncool." - Lester Bangs (Philip Seymour Hoffman)

Almost Famous is THE MOVIE that I want to watch again for the very first time. Of course there are a few movies I feel this way about but this is THE one that I would watch again with fresh eyes if i could.

I remember very vividly the first time I watched Almost Famous. I was caught in it's glow and I didn't want it to end, ever.

On watching it for what must be the fifth time, I still adore it and still didn't want it to end... but it did, so someday soon I will watch it a sixth time, a seventh time and so on.

I'll tell you how I feel about this film but I can't use my own words because Roger Ebert has already perfectly articulated my thoughts on it: "Oh, what a lovely film. I was almost hugging myself while I watched it."
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
heeldavidJun 5, 2014
Cameron Crowe gives us tremendous entertainment about his own experiences when he was a Rolling Stone writer during his teenage days. This 122 minute movie is very smart and gives us great performances from Kate Hudson, Patrick Fugit, BillyCameron Crowe gives us tremendous entertainment about his own experiences when he was a Rolling Stone writer during his teenage days. This 122 minute movie is very smart and gives us great performances from Kate Hudson, Patrick Fugit, Billy Crudup and the great talented supporting cast Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
iCronicAug 6, 2017
Jimmy Fallon and Eric Stonestreet are the real stars here. The plane sequence lifted this up half a star, some interesting young faces to see here
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ydnar4Apr 18, 2015
Very rarely do I ever finish a movie and want to watch it again immediately. Almost Famous is one of those films. Everything about this movie is perfect. Cameron Crowe really captured something that he was passionate about. Almost Famous isVery rarely do I ever finish a movie and want to watch it again immediately. Almost Famous is one of those films. Everything about this movie is perfect. Cameron Crowe really captured something that he was passionate about. Almost Famous is essentially Crowe's life as a teenager while he was writing for Rolling Stone, he lived this movie. I love Billy Crudup as Russell Hammond, who is one of the coolest characters ever portrayed on screen if you ask me. Jason Lee was also great as the lead singer, I really love everything Lee does and I will he'd get some more recognition for how great he is, but Kate Hudson is who really steals the show. Hudson has the performance of a lifetime in this movie as Penny Lane and you are drawn to her whenever she is on the screen. Almost Famous captures a point in time that will never grow old, this film will always be amazing and I recommend it to anyone, old or young. Almost Famous belongs in my stack of perfect films. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
EpicLadySpongeMar 21, 2016
Almost Famous is famous enough to be famous! You'll learn how it takes to be a normal loser to a very special VIP. [In case of a newbie is going to ask what does VIP stand for, look up the Internet]
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
rei07Jul 19, 2016
This is by far one of my favorite music-based films ever. With this film, Cameron Crowe offers a compelling, yet strangely funny film. I found the story completely engaging (granted that many events in this film are somewhat based on Crowe'sThis is by far one of my favorite music-based films ever. With this film, Cameron Crowe offers a compelling, yet strangely funny film. I found the story completely engaging (granted that many events in this film are somewhat based on Crowe's real life experiences as a teen journalist in the 70s), the movie well-acted, and the film completely entertaining. This movie is a true work of art. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews