User Score
6.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 326 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 75 out of 326
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. BobZ.
    Mar 9, 2001
    10
    I grew up in the 70's--this flick is outstanding.
  2. AndrewP.
    Feb 10, 2003
    10
    I love this movie! It's one of my all time favorites.
  3. DanC.
    Apr 14, 2004
    10
    One of the best music movies in recent years. Great performances.
  4. MorganW
    Sep 4, 2009
    10
    This movie is my all time favorite movie. I first saw this movie on tv when i was 14 and it changed my whole view on music. I thought pop music was good, haha not anymore!. i wish i was penny lane, kate plays her perfectly; she should of won the oscar.The band was so real. i love every scene, and the music in them is perfect. Crow did an amazing job and I wish i had grown up in this era This movie is my all time favorite movie. I first saw this movie on tv when i was 14 and it changed my whole view on music. I thought pop music was good, haha not anymore!. i wish i was penny lane, kate plays her perfectly; she should of won the oscar.The band was so real. i love every scene, and the music in them is perfect. Crow did an amazing job and I wish i had grown up in this era so i could of excperence it instead of wishing. Expand
  5. ValerieG.
    Apr 6, 2001
    10
    This was clearly one of the best movies of the year. I can't wait to watch all over again.
  6. Fastic
    Apr 22, 2002
    10
    One of the best films ever... the bus-scene with "tiny dancer" just rules!
  7. ButteredPopcorn
    Mar 8, 2003
    10
    A Very Very Good movie. Has everything I need in a movie- entertaining to the max while grappling with some substantive issues. Stays honest in its telling of Rock's backstage bawdiness which is essential. A very simple film at its heart. With so much heart, it's heard not to like it. Not an epic, not really a masterpiece, but a real gem in this viewers opinion. A movie good A Very Very Good movie. Has everything I need in a movie- entertaining to the max while grappling with some substantive issues. Stays honest in its telling of Rock's backstage bawdiness which is essential. A very simple film at its heart. With so much heart, it's heard not to like it. Not an epic, not really a masterpiece, but a real gem in this viewers opinion. A movie good enough to watch several times. The actor that portrays the mentor music-critic is really top-notch. What a hoot! Expand
  8. KevinH.
    Aug 22, 2004
    10
    I have the extended Director's Cut and love it. It's one of those films that fascinates, drawing me into the story and the characters. It's funny and touching, and the actors are great. Billy Cruddup is now a name to watch, especially after seeing him in Charlotte Gray as well. Kate Hudson, is so cool and some of her subtle expressions.... What's all of this rock & I have the extended Director's Cut and love it. It's one of those films that fascinates, drawing me into the story and the characters. It's funny and touching, and the actors are great. Billy Cruddup is now a name to watch, especially after seeing him in Charlotte Gray as well. Kate Hudson, is so cool and some of her subtle expressions.... What's all of this rock & roll spirit stuff? Does it need some more grit, cynicism - what? It's a movie and one that bears multiple watchings. I can come home tired and get my tea on the table, then skip to a favourite moment - and R E L A X !! Just excellent! Expand
  9. ErickC.
    Oct 5, 2005
    10
    Great movie!! great soundtrack!! a perfect 10 !!
  10. Paulas.
    May 4, 2005
    10
    I loved this movie...thought provoking and enormously entertaining.
  11. BlakeJ.
    Mar 11, 2007
    10
    One of the few movies that can satisfy all tastes. All of the supporting actors and actresses make the movie. Frances McDormand's turn as Elaine is a landmark in film as far as "over-bearing" mother roles are concerned. Zooey Deschanel makes for the perfect foil character of the film. Of course, Kate Hudson's turn as "Penny Lane" is an unforgettable performance, and is surely One of the few movies that can satisfy all tastes. All of the supporting actors and actresses make the movie. Frances McDormand's turn as Elaine is a landmark in film as far as "over-bearing" mother roles are concerned. Zooey Deschanel makes for the perfect foil character of the film. Of course, Kate Hudson's turn as "Penny Lane" is an unforgettable performance, and is surely the best of her career. I also thorougly enjoyed Phillip Seymour Hoffman's portrayal of Lester Bangs. This movie is perfect for all audiences. There is something in it for everyone. It is one of those movies that can be watched over and over again. Not to mention the soundtrack will bring anyone who is not already a Led Zeppelin, Elton John, or Joni Mitchell fan to go out and purchase some albums... Expand
  12. SusanL.
    Mar 1, 2008
    10
    Camerpn Crowe, a marvelous soundtrack and a story set at the nadir of great rock music. What more do you want?
  13. RyanM.
    Oct 17, 2001
    10
    It takes you back an era like your living in the life of the characters, now that is greatness--one of the ten greatest movies of all-time.
  14. PennyL.
    Jan 26, 2001
    10
    This movie will go down in time like Titanic!
  15. PicoP.
    Feb 19, 2001
    10
    The best film of the year.
  16. Deb
    Mar 29, 2010
    10
    Pete Travers got it right - I have sold my soul to rock and roll. And I would sell it again for a chance to live one day in the reality of this movie.
  17. J.Lake
    Aug 26, 2002
    10
    Absolutely stunning performances, one of the best movies I've ever seen.
  18. WilliamMiller
    Jan 14, 2003
    10
    Absolutely amazing. This is a real movie about real people, no special effects or big explosions. Every time I watch this movie again I enjoy it even more; what a wonderful film.
  19. PeterA.
    Aug 9, 2004
    10
    Oone of the best movies I've ever seen. Amazing character development, story, and best of all, it's honest.
  20. Anak.
    Nov 5, 2006
    10
    This movie made me want to pick up a guitar, and never let it go. Its a movie that once you watch you never forget. I sat in front of the TV for hours after it ended marveling the eloquence and beauty that it showed. This movie made Tiny Dancer my favorite song. It made me wish I was Kate Hudson, and I was a hippie, it made me wish I could live life like her. The soundtrack is amazing, This movie made me want to pick up a guitar, and never let it go. Its a movie that once you watch you never forget. I sat in front of the TV for hours after it ended marveling the eloquence and beauty that it showed. This movie made Tiny Dancer my favorite song. It made me wish I was Kate Hudson, and I was a hippie, it made me wish I could live life like her. The soundtrack is amazing, and over a year after I saw it, I still have a guitar in my hand. Expand
  21. ToddS
    Aug 1, 2007
    10
    Amazing movie. I love Crudup, his indecision, not really sure where he's going. The stupid drama between the band that was so real. The coming of age for Young William. The passion of the fans and the love of rock and roll. Most importantly, the character of Penny Lane is amazing, as well as her relationships with William and Russel. Kate Hudson has never been better.
  22. MozG.
    Aug 16, 2007
    10
    Kate Hudson is the heart of this movie; Billy Crudup is its soul. Between them they carry this already astonishing piece of cinema-almost-verite into the stratosphere. Fugit is a wonderful debutante, and his honesty completes the godhead.
  23. CasperL.
    Apr 20, 2008
    10
    I loved this movie. Funny, heartfelt, and great acting. One of my favorites.
  24. CollinP
    Jan 15, 2010
    10
    Hands down, my favorite film of the 21st Century (so far).
  25. DonaldS.
    Jan 26, 2001
    10
    I would pay $50 to see this movie.
  26. DonaldS.
    Jan 26, 2001
    10
    I would pay $50 to see this movie.
  27. PicoP.
    Feb 19, 2001
    10
    The best film of the year.
  28. WilliamM.
    May 22, 2001
    10
    Best movie of the year BY FAR. Not just a must-see, a must-own.
  29. KonradR.
    Dec 12, 2002
    10
    One of the films of the most memorable films of all time. There are no flaws to pick out here, lead by Cameron Crowe, the mastermind behind Jerry Maguire, the cast melt perfectly together. It's touching, moving, hilarious and stunning.
  30. ElliottM.
    Oct 23, 2002
    10
    This film makes me so happy.
  31. Jeremy
    Sep 29, 2003
    10
    An extrodinarily written, brilliantly realized movie that serves as the best rock and roll movie ever made, and among the best films about teenage life. Rarely are their characters so loveable than in Cameron Crowe movies.
  32. DianaL.
    Dec 3, 2007
    10
    this movie made me think and so many things. Its wierd how can a person or act change your mind. im pretty sure everybody wants to be like peny lane. she so radicall and many ways. this is movie is one favorites. everybody should watched.
  33. HarperJ.
    Nov 21, 2009
    10
    You can't say you dislike rock and roll after this movie, you feel like you were the one on tour with them.
  34. Jul 21, 2012
    10
    Pure genious!There is not one flaw in this film and as a movie it is perfect and honestly ahead of it's time.If you have been there done that,then it's pure mind blowing.I'm not over hyping this movie,I'm just speaking the truth.I've seen this movie easily 75 + times and every time I watch it,I feel good all over again and that's the mark of a true gem of a movie.
  35. Dec 3, 2010
    10
    I love the story, the acting and the music. These elements create a lot of raw emotion. Great blend of comedy and drama. This is a masterpiece that should stand the test of time.
  36. Aug 27, 2011
    10
    What Almost Famous has on its side is something that is seldom seen in Hollywood pictures. It is sincerity. There is something so endearing about every character and every scene in Almost Famous, and the genuine that Crowe has and gives to characters reflects onto the audience.
  37. Dec 9, 2011
    10
    With its superb cast, powerful script and delightful soundtrack, "Almost Famous" certainly found the right tone to make me experience the sensations of both real music and true cinema.
  38. Jan 26, 2012
    10
    Cameron Crowe, who was a teenage rock critic, drew upon his personal experiences to write and direct this film. It follows a teenage music critic as he joins a fictitious band, Stillwater, on their cross-country tour. It is funny, heartbreaking, historical, musically stimulating, and incredibly satisfying. A great film for anyone who is seeking to get lost in the decade of the seventies.Cameron Crowe, who was a teenage rock critic, drew upon his personal experiences to write and direct this film. It follows a teenage music critic as he joins a fictitious band, Stillwater, on their cross-country tour. It is funny, heartbreaking, historical, musically stimulating, and incredibly satisfying. A great film for anyone who is seeking to get lost in the decade of the seventies. This film is brimming over with nostalgia-inducing imagery and music. Expand
  39. Feb 20, 2012
    10
    best 60's movie !!! Kate Hudson gave us her best performance of her all career in Almost Famous. The music is fantastic. Make you want to back in time and live when the Rock and roll was pure and enthralling.
  40. Nov 8, 2012
    10
    A lovely film, Almost Famous is incredibly enjoyable and surprisingly heartwarming.
  41. Apr 18, 2015
    10
    Very rarely do I ever finish a movie and want to watch it again immediately. Almost Famous is one of those films. Everything about this movie is perfect. Cameron Crowe really captured something that he was passionate about. Almost Famous is essentially Crowe's life as a teenager while he was writing for Rolling Stone, he lived this movie. I love Billy Crudup as Russell Hammond, who is oneVery rarely do I ever finish a movie and want to watch it again immediately. Almost Famous is one of those films. Everything about this movie is perfect. Cameron Crowe really captured something that he was passionate about. Almost Famous is essentially Crowe's life as a teenager while he was writing for Rolling Stone, he lived this movie. I love Billy Crudup as Russell Hammond, who is one of the coolest characters ever portrayed on screen if you ask me. Jason Lee was also great as the lead singer, I really love everything Lee does and I will he'd get some more recognition for how great he is, but Kate Hudson is who really steals the show. Hudson has the performance of a lifetime in this movie as Penny Lane and you are drawn to her whenever she is on the screen. Almost Famous captures a point in time that will never grow old, this film will always be amazing and I recommend it to anyone, old or young. Almost Famous belongs in my stack of perfect films. Expand
  42. Dec 11, 2014
    10
    A movie you should go out of your way to get to watch, not on cable, but the full version. It's simply astonishing and amazing. You feel like you are there with a boy more or less coming of age and learning how hard the real world is. Two thumbs up.
  43. [Anonymous]
    Feb 18, 2001
    9
    This movie was funny, poignant, and it evoked an era that will never be recaptured.
  44. BryanG
    Oct 2, 2005
    9
    Very cute, fun, and rewarding movie.
  45. KateM.
    Sep 19, 2005
    9
    The music in this film opens up the seventies to those of us who were unfortunate enough to be born a long time after, in a very accessible and muted way. Take the tour bus scene where Russell enters the bus with just a pair of orange/pink swim shorts on. I'd never heard the song 'Tiny Dancer' before but instantly fell in love with it. You wish you were there to join in. The music in this film opens up the seventies to those of us who were unfortunate enough to be born a long time after, in a very accessible and muted way. Take the tour bus scene where Russell enters the bus with just a pair of orange/pink swim shorts on. I'd never heard the song 'Tiny Dancer' before but instantly fell in love with it. You wish you were there to join in. YES we all know it's partly-if not mostly-fiction but it does make you crave just a small part of the fantastic experiance it must have been. Downright inspirational. This is the kind of film that makes you wish you were someone else-if only for one day in time. Tough question is who? For me it would be the critic. To be given the chance to step into their world within having too much irrepairable damage inflicted must have been amazing-if Cameron Crowe really did experiance this, he must regret the passing of time. If this film is a snap shot of the rock and roll period when it was already ending, i can only imagine what it would have been like seeing it at its peak. If you don't love this film, you're missing something! Expand
  46. ElvisS.
    Feb 17, 2001
    9
    Elvis says "This movie rocks!, only Blue Hawaii had a better plot, better character development, and a better looking star."
  47. YoonCho
    Sep 13, 2003
    9
    Not only a great rock movie but an excellent portrayal of the 'intellectual' or analytical personalities drawn to the phenomenon of popular art . The film examines the role of the writer: should he be a fan/groupie or a principled critic? The inter-relationship between art and commerce, profession and friendship, understandably complicate the issue and Crowe wonderfully Not only a great rock movie but an excellent portrayal of the 'intellectual' or analytical personalities drawn to the phenomenon of popular art . The film examines the role of the writer: should he be a fan/groupie or a principled critic? The inter-relationship between art and commerce, profession and friendship, understandably complicate the issue and Crowe wonderfully dramatizes this tension. Also, the film brims with a musicality rare in movies. When the people in the bus join in singing Elton John's Tiny Dancer, it's not image plus music, but image vibrating AS music. Both sharply insightful and poetically romantic. Expand
  48. JoshG
    May 23, 2009
    9
    This movie was amazing. I've watched this movie more than any other movie. It really captures the spirit of rock n' roll. Kate Hudson's character was AMAZING. The Tiny Dancer bus scene is obviously one of, if not the best scene in the whole movie as well. Fantastic film.
  49. ColeL.
    Nov 17, 2001
    9
    One of the best hippie movies of the decade. It bring the 70's back to the future. You must see this extraordinary movie.
  50. Oct 16, 2011
    9
    Almost famous isn't just another film about music, it could quite easily be considered one of the finest films about music ever made. It has so much to say about the music industry, being in a band, fandom, and the cynicism of journalism. It's also full of great actors playing characters that you actually care about, that you can truly invest in. As the most entertaining films alwaysAlmost famous isn't just another film about music, it could quite easily be considered one of the finest films about music ever made. It has so much to say about the music industry, being in a band, fandom, and the cynicism of journalism. It's also full of great actors playing characters that you actually care about, that you can truly invest in. As the most entertaining films always manage to do, it finds the perfect balance between comedy and tragedy. It's also got a killer soundtrack and some great 70s period details. It's fun in every sense of the word, and a thoroughly rewarding viewing experience. Expand
  51. Aug 27, 2014
    9
    Drawn from experiences early in his career, Cameron Crowe offers a delightful look at music, love and the 1970s. Almost Famous will have you grinning from ear to ear and humming along the way. It's magic!
  52. Apr 14, 2013
    9
    A great movie on a subject that doesn't personally engage me all that much, but did so in this film. the movies tone is a bit strange, going from comedy to series drama, but that is part of what makes it so good. Not quite special enough for a 10, but a great movie none the less
  53. Jun 5, 2014
    9
    Cameron Crowe gives us tremendous entertainment about his own experiences when he was a Rolling Stone writer during his teenage days. This 122 minute movie is very smart and gives us great performances from Kate Hudson, Patrick Fugit, Billy Crudup and the great talented supporting cast
  54. DerekL.
    Mar 1, 2001
    8
    Comes as close to a good movie as any Hollywood movie will. Sat there thinking, I should not like this, but kept muttering to myself, "This is great".
  55. PatC.
    Oct 31, 2003
    8
    I liked it and wanted to believe in the movie's premise and tidy conclusion. Not sure I can. But has an undeniable coming-of-age feel to it, well paced, interesting goofball charcters. Nothing quite overcomes temptation like innocence.
  56. J.RyanG.
    May 26, 2005
    8
    I would have hated this movie, with all its excesses and self-endulgence, had I not believed that the filmmaker was really there. Cameron Crowe takes us deep into the action, and our perfect tour guide is the starry eyed Patrick Fugit, who we get to know intimately based on how he views the wild world of rock 'n roll. Philip Seymour Hoffman gives another brilliant cameo performance, I would have hated this movie, with all its excesses and self-endulgence, had I not believed that the filmmaker was really there. Cameron Crowe takes us deep into the action, and our perfect tour guide is the starry eyed Patrick Fugit, who we get to know intimately based on how he views the wild world of rock 'n roll. Philip Seymour Hoffman gives another brilliant cameo performance, instructing the Fugit character about the kinds of things he'll encounter. This is a nicely crafted film, and though it is too long and too busy--even for this subject matter--everytime I watch it, I fail to find a single scene to cut. Plus, I am always uplifted. When I first saw it, I didn't think they could make movies like this anymore. It is rated R, but it feels very PG to me; it is awfully soft and innocent. If it had a little more "Boogie Nights," it would undeniably be the best film of 2000. Expand
  57. May 29, 2011
    8
    A simple plot, but it gets very attractive inside the context of the rock and roll world, besides the soundtrack that is great, it's a essential movie to anyone fan of good music.
  58. Aug 12, 2013
    8
    Aspiring music William Miller lands the assignment of his dreams when given the chance to go on the road with rock-band Stillwater. Initially full of enthusiasm the reality will change his life forever.

    Based on director Cameron Crowe's real life experience as a teenage music writer the movie doesn't get wrapped up in trying to have a message and just concentrates on giving an insight
    Aspiring music William Miller lands the assignment of his dreams when given the chance to go on the road with rock-band Stillwater. Initially full of enthusiasm the reality will change his life forever.

    Based on director Cameron Crowe's real life experience as a teenage music writer the movie doesn't get wrapped up in trying to have a message and just concentrates on giving an insight into a world that most of us never see. Throughout the movie there are a number of genuinely funny and memorable scenes which alongside a great soundtrack makes for a convincing and entertaining movie.
    Expand
  59. Jun 29, 2013
    8
    A movie for anyone who likes rock n' roll, an original script full of lively characters, and looking to a have an entertaining time. A great American film that stands out amongst crap.
  60. Dec 5, 2014
    8
    Almost Famous is absolutely a very good film that I really enjoyed thoroughly. First off, the acting is great. Patrick Fugit, Billy Crudup, Kate Hudson, Jason Lee, and Philip Seymour Hoffman, are all stupendous. All of their characters are endearing in their own way and really steal the spotlight individually at times. The directing from Cameron Crowe is great and the story is toldAlmost Famous is absolutely a very good film that I really enjoyed thoroughly. First off, the acting is great. Patrick Fugit, Billy Crudup, Kate Hudson, Jason Lee, and Philip Seymour Hoffman, are all stupendous. All of their characters are endearing in their own way and really steal the spotlight individually at times. The directing from Cameron Crowe is great and the story is told wonderfully. It really does not glamorize rock and roll of the time, but it certainly makes you fall in love with these flawed human beings as we interact with them through the eyes of a young 15 year old writer. We truly fall in love with these people as he does and struggle through the same struggles he does as a writer on this trip that changes his life forever. Ultimately, Almost Famous is a resounding success and a film that provides laughs, drama, and just enough of romance, to keep you interested. A truly great film. Expand
  61. Aug 27, 2014
    8
    yehh, it's a master piece, an intense story line, the real world behind the walls of music, the drugs, the sex, thew love,the life and everything. Just i was hoping the ending to be a little more intense but it's cool. Very nice story.
    It's a must watch for everyone who want to feel something real, artistic and beautiful.
  62. Jun 26, 2014
    8
    The roots of it, Cameron Crowe's background, helps make this film seem real and oddly enough, human. The acting is terrific, why Kate Hudson ruined her career I will never understand. It's witty, funny, and sad at the same time. My only reason for it being an eight is the running time. Other than perhaps ten to twenty minutes, I enjoyed this film.
  63. Sep 21, 2013
    8
    Crowe should get rewarded for Almost Famous, as it has wit, charm and feel-good overtones. The message and themes shine bright, and every character is there for a reason. Some scenes drag a little bit too long and are overplayed a little bit, which is the sole reason for my 8 and not 10 rating. But, still overall a great film and I definitely recommend it. I especially liked EricCrowe should get rewarded for Almost Famous, as it has wit, charm and feel-good overtones. The message and themes shine bright, and every character is there for a reason. Some scenes drag a little bit too long and are overplayed a little bit, which is the sole reason for my 8 and not 10 rating. But, still overall a great film and I definitely recommend it. I especially liked Eric Stonestreet as Sheldon the desk clerk, after seeing him in ModFam. Expand
  64. DavidR.
    Dec 22, 2000
    7
    Good movie.
  65. NedD.
    Sep 14, 2001
    7
    Yes, this film is lots of fun. But I'm still not sure what all the fuss is about. It's breezy and enjoyable but doesn't really have any substance to speak of. After it was over there wasn't any lasting impression.
  66. B.J.S.
    Aug 12, 2004
    7
    This movie is fun to watch the first time but after a couple times it loses interest. The story does not really have too much to it. The filming did not have any stylistic editing in it execpt for the occaisonal album cover seen in a reflection of a window. Any one could have thought of that and done it easily. This was a fun movie to watch and keeps you interested but it is lacking some This movie is fun to watch the first time but after a couple times it loses interest. The story does not really have too much to it. The filming did not have any stylistic editing in it execpt for the occaisonal album cover seen in a reflection of a window. Any one could have thought of that and done it easily. This was a fun movie to watch and keeps you interested but it is lacking some things to make it a great movie. Expand
  67. KelseaF.
    Apr 13, 2004
    7
    I'm surprised to see that this movies metascore is 95. Yes, it was a good movie, but not THAT good. I thought it was just your average protected-high-school-kid-sees-glance-of-real-world type movie. Nothing worth a 95. I would recomend it, but not as an excellent movie. Just as a good but not great story of a boy.
  68. Oct 29, 2012
    7
    Quite a fun movie that doesn't disappoint on many levels. Well written and acted with many both funny and heart warming moments. I would say that the one weak link in this movie is Patrick Fugit which proves to be problematic at times because he is in most every scene. There a couple scenes in particular with Hudson where Fugit fails to hold his own against her or the dialogue, and thisQuite a fun movie that doesn't disappoint on many levels. Well written and acted with many both funny and heart warming moments. I would say that the one weak link in this movie is Patrick Fugit which proves to be problematic at times because he is in most every scene. There a couple scenes in particular with Hudson where Fugit fails to hold his own against her or the dialogue, and this took me out of the movie for a moment or two. These moments are few and far between however and most of this movie is entertaining. Hoffman in particular is extraordinary as usual. While this movie did nothing to hook me emotionally, it also did nothing to disappoint. An entertaining film worth a few viewings. Expand
  69. tim
    Sep 24, 2007
    6
    Seems like a cheap knockoff of Rodney Bingenheimer's life. That's funny because Mr. Crow used to visit Rodney's club every chance he got. I just saying.
  70. MaryZ.
    Feb 9, 2001
    5
    I grew up in the 70's--this flick was ho-hum.
  71. MartinM.
    Apr 21, 2001
    5
    Snore... this movie is really overrated. It's always interesting to see all the professional critics jump on the bandwagon & make so much noise about a movie that is at best average. This sort of reminds of the thing they all did with "Crouching Tiger, Hidden Drag-queen".
  72. WaldoJ.
    Dec 8, 2009
    5
    One of the most disappointing films I have ever seen in my life. I love movies, I love classic rock, I, like the protagonist, discovered rock at a young age. However, the film is one word: BLAND. And bland is most certainly not a word you would associate with coming of age and the power of rock and roll. It's based on Crowe's own experiences, but it makes you wonder: Did he One of the most disappointing films I have ever seen in my life. I love movies, I love classic rock, I, like the protagonist, discovered rock at a young age. However, the film is one word: BLAND. And bland is most certainly not a word you would associate with coming of age and the power of rock and roll. It's based on Crowe's own experiences, but it makes you wonder: Did he water it down or was it all really this uneventful? The performances by Patrick Fugit, Billy Crudup, and Jason Lee are very solid, while the usually great Frances McDormand was handed an underwritten character. Kate Hudson, meanwhile, plays "band aid" Penny Lane in a lifeless, generic fashion that makes it unlikely anyone would fall for her, and that she would have an interest in anything, let alone rock and roll. The film lopes along and never gains momentum, and leaves you with a flat feeling. If you want the real spirit of rock music, watch A Hard Day's Night, School of Rock, American Graffiti, and Dazed and Confused, and forget Almost Famous. Expand
  73. Marija
    Nov 9, 2004
    4
    I didn't sew anything that much brilliant in this film to recived great score they has, and still trying to figure out how movie they was moved from theater in my city after two days get this high on list. The story line and caracters are very plain, there wasn't any spectacular moment to remember forever and talk about it over and over (that is must for good film). Films like I didn't sew anything that much brilliant in this film to recived great score they has, and still trying to figure out how movie they was moved from theater in my city after two days get this high on list. The story line and caracters are very plain, there wasn't any spectacular moment to remember forever and talk about it over and over (that is must for good film). Films like this one pushed out to audience think "that's right thing" evryday push down some grates moves worth pf attention they will never get. Expand
  74. MihaG.
    Sep 12, 2004
    4
    Overrated. No energy in this movie.
  75. Feb 26, 2013
    4
    While it does contain some great moments, there aren't enough to make the three hours this film takes to finish seem less like three hours. Overrated.
  76. KingI.
    Sep 14, 2005
    3
    I don't care what anyone says about this critics' darling. This movie sucks big time. It's boring, I hate Kate Hudson, every character is either whiny or a wanker, and it just generally irritates me.
  77. ChrisC.
    Aug 14, 2001
    2
    Am I missing something? Evidently so, because everyone seems to love this flick. I didn't. I thought it was clumsy and annoying. Although there were three stellar performances: Frances McDormand, Phillip Seymour Hoffman, and Kate Hudson.
  78. ChrisC.
    Aug 14, 2001
    2
    Am I missing something? Evidently so, because everyone seems to love this flick. I didn't. I thought it was clumsy and annoying. Although there were three stellar performances: Frances McDormand, Phillip Seymour Hoffman, and Kate Hudson.
  79. IsabelC.
    Jul 8, 2002
    2
    HUGE disappointment! Where did they get these actors?? Really scraped the bottom of the barrel here. Even Frances MacDormand's talent is wasted in this film. Just a really dreadful movie.
  80. BobA.
    Nov 7, 2003
    2
    This movie is about Rock and Roll? Puh-huh-huh-leeeaassee! This is about as rock-n-roll as Leave it to Beaver. Cameron Crowe is by far one of the most overrated whatever-he-is-es ever. Maybe one or two good moments.
  81. AlD
    Aug 14, 2003
    1
    This film has no rock 'n roll spirit at all. It was obviously made by someone whose experience of rock is limited to watching Elton John from a corporate box. A comparison between this dross and Michael Winterburn's "24 hour party people" shows just how little Americans, with their packaged view of the world, understand about the subversive power of popular culture. I agree with This film has no rock 'n roll spirit at all. It was obviously made by someone whose experience of rock is limited to watching Elton John from a corporate box. A comparison between this dross and Michael Winterburn's "24 hour party people" shows just how little Americans, with their packaged view of the world, understand about the subversive power of popular culture. I agree with Isabel C below "Just a truly dreadful movie" Collapse
  82. JBarr
    Apr 8, 2005
    0
    Boring as hell.
  83. MaurícioG.
    Apr 30, 2003
    0
    Are you f****** kidding me? This movie is for all the retards that allways wanted to have a band and live amidst drugs, rock, and women. It shows just how stupid the whole thing is. It's the perfect example of living a wasted life.
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 38 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 38
  2. Negative: 0 out of 38
  1. Reviewed by: Cody Clark
    88
    Crowe's script is a thing of wonder, and he again proves himself to be an outstanding director of actors.
  2. Reviewed by: Tom Keogh
    100
    A wondrous honesty.
  3. Crowe is so good on mood and milieu that when Elton John's bubblegum ballad "Tiny Dancer" swells on the soundtrack, in this context it sounds like a hymn.