Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 38 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 244 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring:
  • Summary: In the 1970's, a high school boy (Fugit) is given an opportunity to follow and write a story about the hot new rock band Stillwater (with lead guitarist Crudup) as they tour the USA.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 38
  2. Negative: 0 out of 38
  1. Reviewed by: Robert Horton
    100
    You'll treasure this movie.
  2. 100
    An unqualified triumph, the year's best movie so far.
  3. 100
    Oh, what a lovely film. I was almost hugging myself while I watched it.
  4. Reviewed by: David Edelstein
    90
    Crowe's world is an open ecosystem --transcendentally open. This movie is his boombox held aloft.
  5. Reviewed by: Cody Clark
    88
    Crowe's script is a thing of wonder, and he again proves himself to be an outstanding director of actors.
  6. Crowe gave Kate Hudson one pointer while making Almost Famous: Her character simply had to light up every room as soon as she walked into it.
  7. A sweet but curiously unfulfilling story.

See all 38 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 69 out of 83
  2. Negative: 8 out of 83
  1. CollinP
    Jan 15, 2010
    10
    Hands down, my favorite film of the 21st Century (so far).
  2. Deb
    Mar 29, 2010
    10
    Pete Travers got it right - I have sold my soul to rock and roll. And I would sell it again for a chance to live one day in the reality of Pete Travers got it right - I have sold my soul to rock and roll. And I would sell it again for a chance to live one day in the reality of this movie. Expand
  3. DonaldS.
    Jan 26, 2001
    10
    I would pay $50 to see this movie.
  4. Feb 20, 2012
    10
    best 60's movie !!! Kate Hudson gave us her best performance of her all career in Almost Famous. The music is fantastic. Make you want tobest 60's movie !!! Kate Hudson gave us her best performance of her all career in Almost Famous. The music is fantastic. Make you want to back in time and live when the Rock and roll was pure and enthralling. Expand
  5. JoshG
    May 23, 2009
    9
    This movie was amazing. I've watched this movie more than any other movie. It really captures the spirit of rock n' roll. Kate This movie was amazing. I've watched this movie more than any other movie. It really captures the spirit of rock n' roll. Kate Hudson's character was AMAZING. The Tiny Dancer bus scene is obviously one of, if not the best scene in the whole movie as well. Fantastic film. Expand
  6. Jun 26, 2014
    8
    The roots of it, Cameron Crowe's background, helps make this film seem real and oddly enough, human. The acting is terrific, why Kate HudsonThe roots of it, Cameron Crowe's background, helps make this film seem real and oddly enough, human. The acting is terrific, why Kate Hudson ruined her career I will never understand. It's witty, funny, and sad at the same time. My only reason for it being an eight is the running time. Other than perhaps ten to twenty minutes, I enjoyed this film. Expand
  7. ChrisC.
    Aug 14, 2001
    2
    Am I missing something? Evidently so, because everyone seems to love this flick. I didn't. I thought it was clumsy and annoying. Am I missing something? Evidently so, because everyone seems to love this flick. I didn't. I thought it was clumsy and annoying. Although there were three stellar performances: Frances McDormand, Phillip Seymour Hoffman, and Kate Hudson. Expand

See all 83 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: 30 Best Road Movies of the Past 30 Years

    Ranked: 30 Best Road Movies of the Past 30 Years Image
    Published: November 3, 2010
    Friday's new comedy "Due Date" is only the latest example of one of Hollywood's favorite genres. Join us as we journey through three decades of road movies, from "Vacation" to "Sideways."
  2. Film Critics Pick the Best Movies of the Decade

    Film Critics Pick the Best Movies of the Decade Image
    Published: January 3, 2010
    Dozens of film critics have made their lists of the best films of the past ten years, and we've tallied the results.
  3. Ten Years of Metacritic: The Best (and Worst) Movies of the Decade

    Ten Years of Metacritic: The Best (and Worst) Movies of the Decade Image
    Published: December 17, 2009
    Our best of the decade coverage continues with a look at the past ten years in cinema. While the decade's best-reviewed movie may not have been a commercial blockbuster (or even in English), our lists turn up plenty of recognizable names in addition to obscure gems you may have missed.