Almost Famous

Almost Famous Image
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 38 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 358 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring:
  • Summary: In the 1970's, a high school boy (Fugit) is given an opportunity to follow and write a story about the hot new rock band Stillwater (with lead guitarist Crudup) as they tour the USA.

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 38
  2. Negative: 0 out of 38
  1. Chicago Tribune
    Reviewed by: Michael Wilmington
    100
    I loved this movie madly, and so will many of you.
  2. It's not only the most gentle and effortlessly funny movie so far this year, it's a film with a style and sensibility that wonderfully harkens back to Hollywood's golden age of sophisticated comedy, and in particular to the masterpieces of Crowe's filmmaking idol, Billy Wilder.
  3. Reviewed by: Tom Keogh
    100
    A wondrous honesty.
  4. 90
    Crowe has made a hugely entertaining, nearly pitch-perfect film about rock & roll.
  5. Mr. Showbiz
    Reviewed by: Cody Clark
    88
    Crowe's script is a thing of wonder, and he again proves himself to be an outstanding director of actors.
  6. Reviewed by: Mike Clark
    88
    A movie that is easily likable.
  7. A sweet but curiously unfulfilling story.

See all 38 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 71 out of 86
  2. Negative: 8 out of 86
  1. CollinP
    Jan 15, 2010
    10
    Hands down, my favorite film of the 21st Century (so far).
  2. PicoP.
    Feb 19, 2001
    10
    The best film of the year.
  3. Dec 11, 2014
    10
    A movie you should go out of your way to get to watch, not on cable, but the full version. It's simply astonishing and amazing. You feel likeA movie you should go out of your way to get to watch, not on cable, but the full version. It's simply astonishing and amazing. You feel like you are there with a boy more or less coming of age and learning how hard the real world is. Two thumbs up. Expand
  4. Apr 14, 2013
    9
    A great movie on a subject that doesn't personally engage me all that much, but did so in this film. the movies tone is a bit strange, goingA great movie on a subject that doesn't personally engage me all that much, but did so in this film. the movies tone is a bit strange, going from comedy to series drama, but that is part of what makes it so good. Not quite special enough for a 10, but a great movie none the less Expand
  5. Dec 5, 2014
    8
    Almost Famous is absolutely a very good film that I really enjoyed thoroughly. First off, the acting is great. Patrick Fugit, Billy Crudup,Almost Famous is absolutely a very good film that I really enjoyed thoroughly. First off, the acting is great. Patrick Fugit, Billy Crudup, Kate Hudson, Jason Lee, and Philip Seymour Hoffman, are all stupendous. All of their characters are endearing in their own way and really steal the spotlight individually at times. The directing from Cameron Crowe is great and the story is told wonderfully. It really does not glamorize rock and roll of the time, but it certainly makes you fall in love with these flawed human beings as we interact with them through the eyes of a young 15 year old writer. We truly fall in love with these people as he does and struggle through the same struggles he does as a writer on this trip that changes his life forever. Ultimately, Almost Famous is a resounding success and a film that provides laughs, drama, and just enough of romance, to keep you interested. A truly great film. Expand
  6. ChrisC.
    Aug 14, 2001
    2
    Am I missing something? Evidently so, because everyone seems to love this flick. I didn't. I thought it was clumsy and annoying. Am I missing something? Evidently so, because everyone seems to love this flick. I didn't. I thought it was clumsy and annoying. Although there were three stellar performances: Frances McDormand, Phillip Seymour Hoffman, and Kate Hudson. Expand

See all 86 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: 30 Best Road Movies of the Past 30 Years

    Ranked: 30 Best Road Movies of the Past 30 Years Image
    Published: November 3, 2010
    Friday's new comedy "Due Date" is only the latest example of one of Hollywood's favorite genres. Join us as we journey through three decades of road movies, from "Vacation" to "Sideways."
  2. Film Critics Pick the Best Movies of the Decade

    Film Critics Pick the Best Movies of the Decade Image
    Published: January 3, 2010
    Dozens of film critics have made their lists of the best films of the past ten years, and we've tallied the results.
  3. Ten Years of Metacritic: The Best (and Worst) Movies of the Decade

    Ten Years of Metacritic: The Best (and Worst) Movies of the Decade Image
    Published: December 17, 2009
    Our best of the decade coverage continues with a look at the past ten years in cinema. While the decade's best-reviewed movie may not have been a commercial blockbuster (or even in English), our lists turn up plenty of recognizable names in addition to obscure gems you may have missed.
  4. Spielberg Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best

    Spielberg Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best Image
    Published: June 24, 2016
    We rank every movie directed by Steven Spielberg throughout his 40-plus-year career.
  5. What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video

    What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video Image
    Published: June 24, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Amazon Instant Video and Prime Instant Video, updated frequently.
  6. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: June 22, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Independence Day: Resurgence, Free State of Jones, The Shallows, Hunt for the Wilderpeople, The Neon Demon, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.
  7. 21 Alien Invasion Movies, Ranked from Worst to Best

    21 Alien Invasion Movies, Ranked from Worst to Best Image
    Published: June 21, 2016
    We rank recent alien invasion movies by Metascore.