Alpha Dog

User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 93 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 47 out of 93
  2. Negative: 19 out of 93

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. PnArdyPnArdy
    May 13, 2007
    3
    Boring, dull, tragic and artificial. Don't recommend.
  2. GregH.
    Jan 12, 2007
    0
    Justin Timberlake single-handedly brought this movie down. Sounds like a pre-pubescent little boy acting like a gangsta.
  3. JamesC.
    Jan 14, 2007
    1
    We have our first nominee for "Worst Movie of the Year." Yes, we have bad acting, horrendous dialogue, choppy editing, and really bad make-up. Mr. Timberlake stick to singing, you have done 3 clunker films in a row. Mariah Carey does one bad film and gets crucified. Madonna , ditto. Where is the outrage!!! ??? The only decent actor in this turd of a movie is Ben Foster. John Cassavetes We have our first nominee for "Worst Movie of the Year." Yes, we have bad acting, horrendous dialogue, choppy editing, and really bad make-up. Mr. Timberlake stick to singing, you have done 3 clunker films in a row. Mariah Carey does one bad film and gets crucified. Madonna , ditto. Where is the outrage!!! ??? The only decent actor in this turd of a movie is Ben Foster. John Cassavetes must be rolling in his grave!!!! A complete and utter failure of a film. Expand
  4. JohnP.
    May 21, 2007
    1
    And I thought Kids & Bully were already disturbingly bad. Enough already, stop it with the teenage nilhism and move on the something new. I don't need to be sworn at 30 times a second to get the point. Their was no point. It is to bad that Nick Cassavetes couldn't have picked up on some of his dad's movie making talent. Hard hitting reality checks but all done with terrific And I thought Kids & Bully were already disturbingly bad. Enough already, stop it with the teenage nilhism and move on the something new. I don't need to be sworn at 30 times a second to get the point. Their was no point. It is to bad that Nick Cassavetes couldn't have picked up on some of his dad's movie making talent. Hard hitting reality checks but all done with terrific acting and not 24/7 shockarama B.S. Highly recommed you watch this movie while you are asleep because you won't get one single iota of edification or pleasure and at least you'll get some rest. Good night. Collapse
  5. DeclanM
    Jun 21, 2007
    0
    complete and utter rubbish
  6. time
    Sep 4, 2007
    0
    I nearly wet myself when I found out Justin Timberlake was playing a street thug. What next Stevie Wonder in Driving Ms. Daisy 2? The only good role for Justin may be a castrated choir boy.
  7. JanB.
    Jan 5, 2008
    1
    The worst movie of 2007 i've seen. Had doubts about Timberlake's acting skills, but he was the only one making the movie a little bit interesting. Very very boring movie.
  8. CodyM.
    Feb 14, 2007
    0
    I've gotta agree with James C; Mariah & Madonna get blacklisted in Hollywood for doing a bad movie yet Timberlake keeps on getting roles even though he acts like he's still in the mickey mouse club doing a disney special or something. He should really stick to singing (or whatever you call that nasal whining thing he does!).
  9. RichardH.
    May 11, 2007
    1
    This film was laugh out loud bad. I'd put it up there with classics such as Showgirls as a terrible films so bad they're entertaining. Has some nice titties in it too, that's about it. Justin Timberlake surprisingly isn't a terrible actor, if er, he did any acting, considering there was practically no plot or anything coherant or good to work with. Blah, just a total This film was laugh out loud bad. I'd put it up there with classics such as Showgirls as a terrible films so bad they're entertaining. Has some nice titties in it too, that's about it. Justin Timberlake surprisingly isn't a terrible actor, if er, he did any acting, considering there was practically no plot or anything coherant or good to work with. Blah, just a total crappy film overall, wants to be Scarface, but is just totally camp and poop. Thank you. Expand
  10. SaraG.
    May 8, 2007
    2
    I couldn't decide if I should laugh or cry, the whole thing was really confusing...They really should've picked a genre and stuck with it, also it was shocking to find that it was based on actual events. Not very believable.
  11. GaborA.
    Dec 28, 2007
    2
    This movie is indeed bad, but bad isn't the most apt description. Absurd is. Everything about this movie is absurd from the story to the directing to the editing. The acting is the most ridiculous. JT takes this as an opportunity to show us how black he is, not at all. Foster, who is usually reliable, is an over the top joke. Emile Hirsch does a Leonardo DiCaprio impersonation the This movie is indeed bad, but bad isn't the most apt description. Absurd is. Everything about this movie is absurd from the story to the directing to the editing. The acting is the most ridiculous. JT takes this as an opportunity to show us how black he is, not at all. Foster, who is usually reliable, is an over the top joke. Emile Hirsch does a Leonardo DiCaprio impersonation the whole movie. And everyone else just acts stoned even if they're not. Expand
  12. Kevin
    Jan 27, 2007
    0
    Everyone involved in this movie should be deeply embarrassed - plot is weak, acting is worse, and the script is disastrous.
  13. Nov 10, 2015
    0
    Disney boy Timberlake as a tatted up thug swearing on a flip-phone about a drug deal while drinking whiskey from a bottle. L to the O to the L! The one good thing about this movie? Viewing with others can be a hoot for once you realize how bad it is (which is nearly immediately), the fact that it's supposed to be serious or dramatic morphs it into a comedy for nearly every scene isDisney boy Timberlake as a tatted up thug swearing on a flip-phone about a drug deal while drinking whiskey from a bottle. L to the O to the L! The one good thing about this movie? Viewing with others can be a hoot for once you realize how bad it is (which is nearly immediately), the fact that it's supposed to be serious or dramatic morphs it into a comedy for nearly every scene is hilarious due to: 1. Horrendous and abundant over-acting. 2. Ignorant plot. 3. Moronic dialogue. 4. Putrid direction. 5. Much more. Beware: don't play the drink every time you hear the F word game with your friends on this one as you'll all die from alcohol poisoning. Every single person involved with this movie should be ashamed of themselves for being a part of this ridiculous garbage. Expand
Metascore
53

Mixed or average reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 30
  2. Negative: 1 out of 30
  1. Reviewed by: Justin Chang
    60
    Writer-director Nick Cassavetes' sprawling dramatization recklessly blurs the line between reconstruction and reality in ways that are admittedly interesting, if more than a little artistically suspect.
  2. 70
    If nothing else, Alpha Dog's worth a look for the performance of Justin Timberlake, the moral center of a movie sorely in need of some conscience. Already a gifted comic actor--his Saturday Night Live appearances are now anticipated events--he proves himself able to go to a pitch-black place.
  3. 50
    Timberlake walks off with the movie. Too bad it's not worth stealing.