User Score
6.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 89 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 56 out of 89
  2. Negative: 18 out of 89
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. ChristopherW.
    May 6, 2007
    4
    Anton Yelchin and Justin Timberlake provide the way inside this film. Virtually every character in 'Alpha Dog' is despicable and unsympathetic, but there is something emotionally honest and somewhat purposeful that develops out of the most unlikely of friendships between Yelchin and Timberlake. I really think Timberlake played his cards right in this one. If not for this Anton Yelchin and Justin Timberlake provide the way inside this film. Virtually every character in 'Alpha Dog' is despicable and unsympathetic, but there is something emotionally honest and somewhat purposeful that develops out of the most unlikely of friendships between Yelchin and Timberlake. I really think Timberlake played his cards right in this one. If not for this pairing, the film would have remained utterly bereft of focus and empathy. Despite its many artistic flaws, the tragic ending does indeed seem, well, tragic...and emerges as the heart piece in this cold depressing film. Expand
  2. Sep 17, 2010
    4
    Based on actual events that took place in 1999, drug dealers fall out, kid brother gets kidnapped, shenanigans happen.
    I have never seen a film where I wanted all the characters to die within the first five minutes of them being on screen. Tries to be slick, witty & wit da kidz but just comes across as brash, brainless & plain annoying.
  3. PnArdyPnArdy
    May 13, 2007
    3
    Boring, dull, tragic and artificial. Don't recommend.
  4. SaraG.
    May 8, 2007
    2
    I couldn't decide if I should laugh or cry, the whole thing was really confusing...They really should've picked a genre and stuck with it, also it was shocking to find that it was based on actual events. Not very believable.
  5. GaborA.
    Dec 28, 2007
    2
    This movie is indeed bad, but bad isn't the most apt description. Absurd is. Everything about this movie is absurd from the story to the directing to the editing. The acting is the most ridiculous. JT takes this as an opportunity to show us how black he is, not at all. Foster, who is usually reliable, is an over the top joke. Emile Hirsch does a Leonardo DiCaprio impersonation the This movie is indeed bad, but bad isn't the most apt description. Absurd is. Everything about this movie is absurd from the story to the directing to the editing. The acting is the most ridiculous. JT takes this as an opportunity to show us how black he is, not at all. Foster, who is usually reliable, is an over the top joke. Emile Hirsch does a Leonardo DiCaprio impersonation the whole movie. And everyone else just acts stoned even if they're not. Expand
  6. JamesC.
    Jan 14, 2007
    1
    We have our first nominee for "Worst Movie of the Year." Yes, we have bad acting, horrendous dialogue, choppy editing, and really bad make-up. Mr. Timberlake stick to singing, you have done 3 clunker films in a row. Mariah Carey does one bad film and gets crucified. Madonna , ditto. Where is the outrage!!! ??? The only decent actor in this turd of a movie is Ben Foster. John Cassavetes We have our first nominee for "Worst Movie of the Year." Yes, we have bad acting, horrendous dialogue, choppy editing, and really bad make-up. Mr. Timberlake stick to singing, you have done 3 clunker films in a row. Mariah Carey does one bad film and gets crucified. Madonna , ditto. Where is the outrage!!! ??? The only decent actor in this turd of a movie is Ben Foster. John Cassavetes must be rolling in his grave!!!! A complete and utter failure of a film. Expand
  7. JohnP.
    May 21, 2007
    1
    And I thought Kids & Bully were already disturbingly bad. Enough already, stop it with the teenage nilhism and move on the something new. I don't need to be sworn at 30 times a second to get the point. Their was no point. It is to bad that Nick Cassavetes couldn't have picked up on some of his dad's movie making talent. Hard hitting reality checks but all done with terrific And I thought Kids & Bully were already disturbingly bad. Enough already, stop it with the teenage nilhism and move on the something new. I don't need to be sworn at 30 times a second to get the point. Their was no point. It is to bad that Nick Cassavetes couldn't have picked up on some of his dad's movie making talent. Hard hitting reality checks but all done with terrific acting and not 24/7 shockarama B.S. Highly recommed you watch this movie while you are asleep because you won't get one single iota of edification or pleasure and at least you'll get some rest. Good night. Expand
  8. JanB.
    Jan 5, 2008
    1
    The worst movie of 2007 i've seen. Had doubts about Timberlake's acting skills, but he was the only one making the movie a little bit interesting. Very very boring movie.
  9. RichardH.
    May 11, 2007
    1
    This film was laugh out loud bad. I'd put it up there with classics such as Showgirls as a terrible films so bad they're entertaining. Has some nice titties in it too, that's about it. Justin Timberlake surprisingly isn't a terrible actor, if er, he did any acting, considering there was practically no plot or anything coherant or good to work with. Blah, just a total This film was laugh out loud bad. I'd put it up there with classics such as Showgirls as a terrible films so bad they're entertaining. Has some nice titties in it too, that's about it. Justin Timberlake surprisingly isn't a terrible actor, if er, he did any acting, considering there was practically no plot or anything coherant or good to work with. Blah, just a total crappy film overall, wants to be Scarface, but is just totally camp and poop. Thank you. Collapse
  10. GregH.
    Jan 12, 2007
    0
    Justin Timberlake single-handedly brought this movie down. Sounds like a pre-pubescent little boy acting like a gangsta.
  11. DeclanM
    Jun 21, 2007
    0
    complete and utter rubbish
  12. time
    Sep 4, 2007
    0
    I nearly wet myself when I found out Justin Timberlake was playing a street thug. What next Stevie Wonder in Driving Ms. Daisy 2? The only good role for Justin may be a castrated choir boy.
  13. CodyM.
    Feb 14, 2007
    0
    I've gotta agree with James C; Mariah & Madonna get blacklisted in Hollywood for doing a bad movie yet Timberlake keeps on getting roles even though he acts like he's still in the mickey mouse club doing a disney special or something. He should really stick to singing (or whatever you call that nasal whining thing he does!).
  14. Kevin
    Jan 27, 2007
    0
    Everyone involved in this movie should be deeply embarrassed - plot is weak, acting is worse, and the script is disastrous.
Metascore
53

Mixed or average reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 30
  2. Negative: 1 out of 30
  1. Reviewed by: Justin Chang
    60
    Writer-director Nick Cassavetes' sprawling dramatization recklessly blurs the line between reconstruction and reality in ways that are admittedly interesting, if more than a little artistically suspect.
  2. Reviewed by: Robert Wilonsky
    70
    If nothing else, Alpha Dog's worth a look for the performance of Justin Timberlake, the moral center of a movie sorely in need of some conscience. Already a gifted comic actor--his Saturday Night Live appearances are now anticipated events--he proves himself able to go to a pitch-black place.
  3. 50
    Timberlake walks off with the movie. Too bad it's not worth stealing.