Metascore
24

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 19
  2. Negative: 12 out of 19
  1. Reviewed by: Kerry Lengel
    Dec 15, 2011
    60
    The sequel's target audience may be too young to realize that the best punch lines are long past their expiration date, but at least they're learning the idea of the catchphrase. They can hear the exclamation points.
  2. Reviewed by: Marjorie Baumgarten
    Dec 15, 2011
    0
    I really think the entire payoff to the Chipmunks' gambit comes in those inevitable moments when Dave bellows in exasperation, "Alvin." Maybe if we all bellow in unison it will be forceful enough to put an end to this painful film franchise.
  3. Reviewed by: Joel Brown
    Dec 15, 2011
    25
    Whatever character they bring to their lines, the actors' voices are mostly unrecognizable after being digitally 'munk-ified.
  4. Reviewed by: David Ehrlich
    Dec 15, 2011
    20
    Chipwrecked is the sort of Sunday afternoon trifle that will mollify children and mortify their parents, an eyesore that auto-tunes its strong cast into anonymity and undercuts its convincingly rendered CG leads by confining them to hideously cheap environments.
  5. Reviewed by: Adam Markovitz
    Dec 15, 2011
    42
    Good news: The shrill CG rodents, who last infested theaters in 2009's Squeakquel, are stranded on a jungle island with little hope of survival. Bad news: They've brought us along.
  6. Reviewed by: Betsy Sharkey
    Dec 15, 2011
    20
    I fear the furry singing sensations may have finally run completely aground. If only they were truly stranded on that desert island…
  7. Reviewed by: Michelle Orange
    Dec 15, 2011
    40
    Number of chipmunks who speak fluent chola when necessary: three. Number of Spider-Man/Pepe Le Pew mash-ups I can't really get into: one.
  8. Reviewed by: Joe Neumaier
    Dec 15, 2011
    60
    Either the "Alvin and the Chipmunks" movies are getting better, or I've accidentally buried my brain for the winter. The third entry in the franchise - Chip-Wrecked - is, dare I say, the charm.
  9. Reviewed by: Lou Lumenick
    Dec 16, 2011
    0
    It really couldn't have been easy for Jason Lee ("Almost Famous") to keep a straight face while saying, "I'm not in this for the money.''
  10. Reviewed by: Peter Hartlaub
    Dec 15, 2011
    25
    It's an uninspired and instantly forgettable film. But it completely succeeds by its own standards: an 87-minute rainy-day distraction that will probably make a zillion dollars.
  11. Reviewed by: Jaime N. Christley
    Dec 15, 2011
    12
    It's that rare thing, a movie that clocks in under 90 minutes, but feels like an endurance test in every moment, at every plot concern, and every musical number.
  12. Reviewed by: Nathan Rabin
    Dec 14, 2011
    33
    With its wall-to-wall pop covers, Chipwrecked isn't a kids' movie so much as a brightly animated, instantly forgettable animated feature-length advertisement for the NOW That's What I Call Music! compilation series of contemporary pop hits.
  13. 25
    Like the recent Adam Sandler dud "Jack and Jill," a sizable chunk of Chip-Wrecked was shot on the newest ship in the fleet of a major cruise company – the ultimate in movie product placement!
  14. 20
    Every bit as frantic, frenetic, groan-inducing and all around grating as its two predecessors.
  15. Reviewed by: Neil Genzlinger
    Dec 15, 2011
    50
    No swear words here; just harmless fun.
  16. Reviewed by: Mary Pols
    Dec 19, 2011
    40
    To get serious about Alvin for a moment, there are worse things for your kid to be into.
  17. Reviewed by: David Fear
    Dec 19, 2011
    20
    As for parents: Are you cool with feeling like you're having artificial sweetener sandblasted into your eyeballs for 87 minutes?
  18. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    Dec 15, 2011
    38
    Maybe for the next installment, they can go off to college and find something better to do than making these silly movies.
  19. Reviewed by: John Anderson
    Dec 15, 2011
    50
    As impressive as the CG elements are in "Chipwrecked," they're a mixed blessing: The more lifelike the techies make the critters -- Alvin (voiced by Justin Long), Theodore (Jesse McCartney) and Simon (Matthew Gray Gubler) -- the more we're reminded they're rodents.
User Score
3.3

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 90 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 36
  2. Negative: 24 out of 36
  1. Dec 23, 2011
    1
    The only reason I gave this a 1 and not a 0 is because it would be a fun movie for toddlers. But to us who understand what "real" movies are,The only reason I gave this a 1 and not a 0 is because it would be a fun movie for toddlers. But to us who understand what "real" movies are, this movie is just an annoying and noisy piece of junk. Full Review »
  2. Jun 21, 2012
    0
    Terrible worst movie of 2011 and one of the worst movies in history just stupid horrible nothing special worst sequel and worst chipmunk movieTerrible worst movie of 2011 and one of the worst movies in history just stupid horrible nothing special worst sequel and worst chipmunk movie very bad movie don't watch it Full Review »
  3. Jan 17, 2012
    3
    Hmmmmm what can i possibly say... this movie is not good BUT i actually survived watching it so i didn't hesitate.

    It definitely wont keep
    Hmmmmm what can i possibly say... this movie is not good BUT i actually survived watching it so i didn't hesitate.

    It definitely wont keep any memories and isn't a recommended movie.
    Full Review »