Metascore
24

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 19 Critics What's this?

User Score
3.3

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 88 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The vacationing Chipmunks and Chipettes are turning a luxury cruise liner into their personal playground, until they become 'chipwrecked' on a remote island. As the 'Munks and Chipettes try various schemes to find their way home, they accidentally discover their new turf is not as deserted as it seems. (20th Century Fox)

    Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 19
  2. Negative: 12 out of 19
  1. Reviewed by: Kerry Lengel
    Dec 15, 2011
    60
    The sequel's target audience may be too young to realize that the best punch lines are long past their expiration date, but at least they're learning the idea of the catchphrase. They can hear the exclamation points.
  2. Reviewed by: Neil Genzlinger
    Dec 15, 2011
    50
    No swear words here; just harmless fun.
  3. Reviewed by: Adam Markovitz
    Dec 15, 2011
    42
    Good news: The shrill CG rodents, who last infested theaters in 2009's Squeakquel, are stranded on a jungle island with little hope of survival. Bad news: They've brought us along.
  4. Reviewed by: Joel Brown
    Dec 15, 2011
    25
    Whatever character they bring to their lines, the actors' voices are mostly unrecognizable after being digitally 'munk-ified.
  5. 25
    Like the recent Adam Sandler dud "Jack and Jill," a sizable chunk of Chip-Wrecked was shot on the newest ship in the fleet of a major cruise company – the ultimate in movie product placement!
  6. Reviewed by: Betsy Sharkey
    Dec 15, 2011
    20
    I fear the furry singing sensations may have finally run completely aground. If only they were truly stranded on that desert island…
  7. Reviewed by: Marjorie Baumgarten
    Dec 15, 2011
    0
    I really think the entire payoff to the Chipmunks' gambit comes in those inevitable moments when Dave bellows in exasperation, "Alvin." Maybe if we all bellow in unison it will be forceful enough to put an end to this painful film franchise.

See all 19 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 35
  2. Negative: 23 out of 35
  1. Dec 17, 2011
    10
    My husband & I saw the Chipwrecked movie this AM. We really enjoyed the movie! It was cute. I think it deserves a great rating. It is sweet, cute, and a fine plot. We need family friendly, feel good movies today. It starts well and ends well. If you like the chipmunks, you will like this movie as well. Expand
  2. Apr 9, 2012
    10
    I dont understand what is with all these bad reviews. I mean the chipmunks are like ten THEY ARE GOING TO BE CHILDISH ! Sure I will admit it is not the best alvin and the chipmunks movie but who cares? I just want to watch a film that will at least make me smile afterwards and this does that and more ! Expand
  3. Jan 2, 2012
    7
    Watching it right now. It's ok nothing special. Xstuftvgtxcfcc
  4. Nov 10, 2014
    2
    With terrible songs, an extremely derivative and overused plot & setting (stranded on a beach) and poor dialogue, Alvin and the Chipmunks: Chipwrecked might entertain younger audiences but no one older. Expand
  5. Mar 7, 2012
    1
    This movie is in short: terrible. The humor is so childish that not even a 9 year-old would laugh at it and plus they have already made two bad enough movies before this why can't they just quit while they are ahead. The singing is lame, the movie is super short, and there is no humor whatsoever. If you are two years old this movie might be up your alley. Save your $15 and don't watch it. Expand
  6. Jul 18, 2013
    0
    Las cosas se fueron a lo ridiculo dejando a alvin a las ardillas en la ridicules y desastre total cada vez se quiebra mas esta pobre pelicula de donde se saco tanto lo bueno de la trilogia como lo malo Expand
  7. Dec 17, 2012
    0
    This 'film' is absolutely terrible. All I really need to say.

See all 35 User Reviews