Metascore
24

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 19 Critics What's this?

User Score
3.4

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 94 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The vacationing Chipmunks and Chipettes are turning a luxury cruise liner into their personal playground, until they become 'chipwrecked' on a remote island. As the 'Munks and Chipettes try various schemes to find their way home, they accidentally discover their new turf is not as desertedThe vacationing Chipmunks and Chipettes are turning a luxury cruise liner into their personal playground, until they become 'chipwrecked' on a remote island. As the 'Munks and Chipettes try various schemes to find their way home, they accidentally discover their new turf is not as deserted as it seems. (20th Century Fox)

    Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 19
  2. Negative: 12 out of 19
  1. Reviewed by: Kerry Lengel
    Dec 15, 2011
    60
    The sequel's target audience may be too young to realize that the best punch lines are long past their expiration date, but at least they're learning the idea of the catchphrase. They can hear the exclamation points.
  2. Reviewed by: Neil Genzlinger
    Dec 15, 2011
    50
    No swear words here; just harmless fun.
  3. Reviewed by: Adam Markovitz
    Dec 15, 2011
    42
    Good news: The shrill CG rodents, who last infested theaters in 2009's Squeakquel, are stranded on a jungle island with little hope of survival. Bad news: They've brought us along.
  4. Reviewed by: Joel Brown
    Dec 15, 2011
    25
    Whatever character they bring to their lines, the actors' voices are mostly unrecognizable after being digitally 'munk-ified.
  5. 25
    Like the recent Adam Sandler dud "Jack and Jill," a sizable chunk of Chip-Wrecked was shot on the newest ship in the fleet of a major cruise company – the ultimate in movie product placement!
  6. Reviewed by: Betsy Sharkey
    Dec 15, 2011
    20
    I fear the furry singing sensations may have finally run completely aground. If only they were truly stranded on that desert island…
  7. Reviewed by: Marjorie Baumgarten
    Dec 15, 2011
    0
    I really think the entire payoff to the Chipmunks' gambit comes in those inevitable moments when Dave bellows in exasperation, "Alvin." Maybe if we all bellow in unison it will be forceful enough to put an end to this painful film franchise.

See all 19 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 37
  2. Negative: 24 out of 37
  1. Dec 17, 2011
    10
    My husband & I saw the Chipwrecked movie this AM. We really enjoyed the movie! It was cute. I think it deserves a great rating. It isMy husband & I saw the Chipwrecked movie this AM. We really enjoyed the movie! It was cute. I think it deserves a great rating. It is sweet, cute, and a fine plot. We need family friendly, feel good movies today. It starts well and ends well. If you like the chipmunks, you will like this movie as well. Expand
  2. Dec 23, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This disgraceful impudence of these furry rodents must come to a full hearted end! Any nostalgia factor towards the titular, Alvin and his cohorts has already been exposed of, and the fallout of this most gruesome of alterations is appalling to the point I dare not even gaze towards it much longer! Every nickel spent towards this waste of human thought and money brings me closer to not just a brutal display of projectile vomit, but closer to my head implanted on the pavement 3 feet deep in. Within this movie, once lovable shenanigans of our nostalgic protagonist, the ruffian but loveable Alvin, reaches a factor in which it is annoying. Due to his tomfoolery, his need to go about and shove his tuffs of fur in and about everyone's business has reached the point it insults everyone's intelligence. Their cruise, that brings us eventually to our punful shipwrecking, is annoying to the point their capers fail to bring a smile to my once gleeful face. This movie's humor consists of not just hurtful, if not racist humor situations, in which everyone acts as expected according to skin color, or, for lack of better term, fatness. Case and point, the over weight boy surrendering his kite for a plate of donuts, Alvin taking on the mannerisms expecting of a rapper type persona, and the actions of the females around the dance scene within the midst of the middle act. What kind of child friendly movie allows for such harmful ideas to be laughed along with. This is only comparable to North Korea's actions of including hurtful and spiteful lyrics within children's nurseries. This is what we're getting at America, North Korea. And Communism. As the movie goes on, we eventually leave hurtful towards out race and outward appearance, and just enter hurtful to out minds and self respect. As the film reaches it's second half, the cast of this long-derailed train finally, and I put emphasis on FINALLY, reach the promised island. The first thing we're greeted to after out journey about stereotypes, hurtful comedy, and just foolish antics that look down upon our children like a principal to a common hoodlum? Simple, a parody of LOST. Among other things, the second act of this movie proves to be almost as spiteful as the very introduction to our cast and crew. The movie continues on it's merry way of talking down to your children and you, by treating us like we're the fools, who'll laugh at any pop cultural thing brought up! My words have been hateful so far, and let me assure you, it shall continue down this slope to insanity! It shall! I shall rain down with my rage and hatred! HOW DARE CGI CHIMPMUNKS, TAKE A SMALL CHUNK OF MY WALLET, AND SWALLOW IT DOWN THEIR ANIMATED GULLETS! HOW DARE THEY DIGEST MY CURRENCY, RENDER MY VIEWING EXPERIENCE RUINED FOREVER! GUAAAAAAAAAAAAAH! *thanks for reading :3 Expand
  3. Jul 30, 2012
    8
    This Film was Pretty decent despite what others say, but I can see where they are coming from. But The kids loved and as adults it does notThis Film was Pretty decent despite what others say, but I can see where they are coming from. But The kids loved and as adults it does not really matter what we think because at the end of the day it was aimed at the kids. But in fairness I think they tried to appeal to low teens as well this time. Which Ultimately let the film down. There is nothing that unique so it would not be my first choice film or the Kids's, sadly! Bye Bye Chipmunks Collapse
  4. Nov 10, 2014
    2
    With terrible songs, an extremely derivative and overused plot & setting (stranded on a beach) and poor dialogue, Alvin and the Chipmunks:With terrible songs, an extremely derivative and overused plot & setting (stranded on a beach) and poor dialogue, Alvin and the Chipmunks: Chipwrecked might entertain younger audiences but no one older. Expand
  5. Mar 7, 2012
    1
    This movie is in short: terrible. The humor is so childish that not even a 9 year-old would laugh at it and plus they have already made twoThis movie is in short: terrible. The humor is so childish that not even a 9 year-old would laugh at it and plus they have already made two bad enough movies before this why can't they just quit while they are ahead. The singing is lame, the movie is super short, and there is no humor whatsoever. If you are two years old this movie might be up your alley. Save your $15 and don't watch it. Expand
  6. Jul 18, 2013
    0
    Las cosas se fueron a lo ridiculo dejando a alvin a las ardillas en la ridicules y desastre total cada vez se quiebra mas esta pobre peliculaLas cosas se fueron a lo ridiculo dejando a alvin a las ardillas en la ridicules y desastre total cada vez se quiebra mas esta pobre pelicula de donde se saco tanto lo bueno de la trilogia como lo malo Expand
  7. Dec 24, 2014
    0
    Well, I liked Alvin and the Chipmunks 1 and 2 a LOT. I've watched the cartoon when I was a kid and I loved it, and I thought that the first 2Well, I liked Alvin and the Chipmunks 1 and 2 a LOT. I've watched the cartoon when I was a kid and I loved it, and I thought that the first 2 movies didn't disappointed. But,I have to admit that Chipwrecked was the worst one and I hate it.
    I remember that I was in a theater with A LOT of people expecting the movie to be great,but what we've got was a total disappointment.A LOT OF PEOPLE stopped watching the movie and thought it was really bad.
    The storyline was boring,the movie was forgettable,it didn't looked like an Alvin and the Chipmunks movie,and etc.
    Expand

See all 37 User Reviews