Twentieth Century Fox Film Corporation | Release Date: December 23, 2009
4.3
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 114 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
28
Mixed:
37
Negative:
49
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
1
ShaneA.Dec 26, 2009
What a terrible excuse for a cute movie. Absolutely brainless.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
BaldipMDec 26, 2009
Wow not worth the time.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
3
JulianMDec 27, 2009
Anyone over 12 years of age will find this movie boring, childish, repetitive, and stupid.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
3
davehJan 2, 2010
My 7 year old son laughed, my 9 year old daughter was bored. and everyone else agreed that it was painful and insulting. Even David Cross couldn't save the experience.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
AVBSJan 2, 2010
No... Just, no. These types of movies need to die.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
NicholasS.Jan 3, 2010
This movie would be cringe worthy, even for a 5 year old.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
JoshuaC.Jan 30, 2010
everyone knows how stupid singing chipmunks are. If you don't you should die or suiside right away. this movie has no aparent humor, and dance moves that makes this the worst musical ever. I am not even sure if this is a musical. everyone knows how stupid singing chipmunks are. If you don't you should die or suiside right away. this movie has no aparent humor, and dance moves that makes this the worst musical ever. I am not even sure if this is a musical. Probobaly, a ****tty kids comedy that even a 4 year old wont find humorous. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
3
DanBurritoSep 10, 2015
The first one started out watchable but then went downhill but this one goes downhill from the beginning, it adds THREE EXTRA OBNOXIOUS HIGH PITCHED VOICES to the mix and essentially just copies the story from the first. I think my iq izThe first one started out watchable but then went downhill but this one goes downhill from the beginning, it adds THREE EXTRA OBNOXIOUS HIGH PITCHED VOICES to the mix and essentially just copies the story from the first. I think my iq iz lowering thiss moovie makes you stoopid dont wach it duuuuh... Save you-self... Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
1
YellowKirbyNov 26, 2015
OBNOXIOUS SINGING CHIPMUNKS. If that's not bad enough for you, how about OBNOXIOUS SINGING CHIPMUNKS AND THEIR OBNOXIOUS SINGING GIRLFRIENDS. Coz that's basically what this crap squeakquel is. *shudders*
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
3
EpicLadySpongeDec 29, 2015
Get your earphones or headphones ready as the chipmunks return for another dull movie of theirs as they hit the screen for even more annoying singing!
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
3
grandpajoe6191Sep 28, 2011
"Alvin and the Chipmunks: The Squeakquel" is a movie so preposterously obvious you won't remember a thing except for the annoying high-pitched voices of the chipmunks after 2 hours.
9 of 11 users found this helpful92
All this user's reviews
6
RogerSmith97Nov 4, 2011
So Much More Than The 1st One! It Lacks Creativity But Earns In Back In This Movie! :D
Honestly This Isent A Really Good Or Really Bad Movie... Good... Average...
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
3
MichaelDJan 1, 2011
Well one thing for sure is that its worse than the first movie.
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
10
BrendaADec 23, 2009
I think the movie was terrific and very kid friendly. Adults will love it too.
2 of 5 users found this helpful
8
SOlonJun 25, 2010
My son is 19 months and doesn't like hardly any tv, but he loves both of these movies! Anything to buy me a few min to rest is worth it, he's soooo busy!!!
1 of 3 users found this helpful
10
oscarthedonMay 17, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. One of the best movies of 2009! It was so epic! (Why did Ian have to be half *****, that part disturbed me). Anyway, this is very funny, go buy it before the shelves. I checked the "spoiler" box because i said a movie part. Easy to know :P Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
3
homer4presidentMar 28, 2015
A boring, irritating cash grab that challenges your sanity for 1 1/2 hours. An atrocity to film making, its among the worst films I've had to suffer through. The fact that this made well over $400m at the box office makes me question how muchA boring, irritating cash grab that challenges your sanity for 1 1/2 hours. An atrocity to film making, its among the worst films I've had to suffer through. The fact that this made well over $400m at the box office makes me question how much more greedy Hollywood can be. The abysmal "humor" throughout the whole movie gets stale immediately and it's filled with writing that was quite possibly made by a 5 year old. A complete waste of your time, don't go near this abomination. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
7
JamesPDec 23, 2009
Having not seen the first one, I was worried that maybe I wouldn't be able to understand the 'squeakquel' but I caught on within the first few minutes as the plot doesn't really carry on, or so I'm told anyway. Having not seen the first one, I was worried that maybe I wouldn't be able to understand the 'squeakquel' but I caught on within the first few minutes as the plot doesn't really carry on, or so I'm told anyway. Generally, the film is aimed at children, but the film also has been tailored so that it is enjoyable for parents too. Overall a good film with a great, but sometimes predictable storyline. 7/10 from me. Collapse
0 of 1 users found this helpful
7
JeffC.Dec 24, 2009
This was a very entertaining film and worth 90 minutes and $7. The so-called professional reviewers need to lighten up. This is a movie about talking chipmunks. If you are entertained, that is all you can expect. We had ages 3, 7, 10, 29, This was a very entertaining film and worth 90 minutes and $7. The so-called professional reviewers need to lighten up. This is a movie about talking chipmunks. If you are entertained, that is all you can expect. We had ages 3, 7, 10, 29, 35, 39, 61, 62 in attendance. Everyone was entertained and thought it was a good movie. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
premDec 31, 2009
Hey good movie ad has the capacity to hold your bredth for the whole duration. and to cater the audience from 3 to 63 its worth that.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
7
DavidW.Jan 3, 2010
A perfectly acceptable kids film. My little boy loves the first film and the Squeakquel was just as well received. I wouldn't watch this film on my own, with out the company of my son, Alvin and his pals are best enjoyed with a younger A perfectly acceptable kids film. My little boy loves the first film and the Squeakquel was just as well received. I wouldn't watch this film on my own, with out the company of my son, Alvin and his pals are best enjoyed with a younger audience in tow. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
7
joehJan 7, 2010
Not much to say about the movie, I just can't believe Chad S. brought up "Howard the Duck", now THAT was a weird ass movie. What seems strange to me is that I think both Alvin and Howard were supposed to be directed towards a similar Not much to say about the movie, I just can't believe Chad S. brought up "Howard the Duck", now THAT was a weird ass movie. What seems strange to me is that I think both Alvin and Howard were supposed to be directed towards a similar demographic, yet I'd say Howard was a FAR more mature film (or perhaps just violent and controversial) despite it being almost twenty years older. One has to wonder. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
BettyM.Jan 8, 2010
Very cute for kids. Our granddaughters ages 3 and 7 loved it.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
KurtTFeb 6, 2010
A great movie to take your kids to but adults may like it, some in-the-middle, and some may not.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
7
janecFeb 14, 2010
What a change from Scaring the pants off most of the movies to Laughing all the time.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
6
AlexApr 23, 2010
Same as before, families will enjoy the world's first Squeakquel.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
Maatts6Aug 29, 2010
Much lower than the first, Which Was the movie Where the whole family enjoyed the film and laughed Became only for children under 5 years.The squirrels that would be the novelty and promise become boring. Movie predictable.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
6
MovieLonely94Nov 4, 2010
just a fine sequel.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
4
RayJDec 23, 2009
To much slapstick and not enough humor.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ljDec 23, 2009
Better than first surprisingly excellent.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
ChadS.Dec 25, 2009
Here's a novel idea: since the 3D animated chipmunks inhabit the real world, why not go the distance and outfit the singing vermin with a story where real world rules apply? Alvin, Simon, and Theodore attend a normal public high school, Here's a novel idea: since the 3D animated chipmunks inhabit the real world, why not go the distance and outfit the singing vermin with a story where real world rules apply? Alvin, Simon, and Theodore attend a normal public high school, in which they find themselves in situations that seem written for "normal" chipmunks, not superstar ones. Asked by the principal to save the music department, Alvin and his furry bros have to win a high school talent contest, and for some strange reason, this directive is important to them. Aren't they supposed to be an established singing group? (It also begs another question: Wouldn't a professional act be disqualified from an amateur contest?) It's not that they're humble: the writers give these chipmunks amnesia, especially Simon. The jocks pick on the bespectacled chipmunk because he's a nerd, but this is a nerd who's been on tour, and yet the worldly chipmunk gets tricked into being the "litter monitor". Not far behind in the poorly written department is Alvin; he goes out for football as part of his aspiration to be one of the cool kids. Why bother? He's a star; he has millions of adoring fans; he inspired a middle-aged woman to get a tattoo bearing his band's namesake. If the chipmunks were spoiled rock stars, then, perhaps, their stint as high school students, as a preventive measure against megalomania, would make the film's narrative seem less of a series of arbitrary choices. To make matters worse, there's The Chippettes(and the "Dreamgirls" subplot) to contend with. Couldn't "Alvin and the Chipmunks: The Squeakquel" just go the "Howard the Duck" route and have one of the chipmunks fall for a human girl? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
kokojJan 2, 2010
Poorly written dialogue. Nothing special. the chipmunk voices actually go from cute to annoying.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
RickAJan 16, 2010
A good movie to take the kids to. As an adult movie not so good, I found it to be boring. I almost fell asleep a couple of times. Maybe I was to tired to go to this movie that night.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
LindseyDFeb 12, 2010
The modern music chosen was cool to hear in the movie, but it was your standard sequel, complete with peer pressure, slap stick, dumb teenagers a moral to stay true to yourself and to work together. I guess that for a child it would be a The modern music chosen was cool to hear in the movie, but it was your standard sequel, complete with peer pressure, slap stick, dumb teenagers a moral to stay true to yourself and to work together. I guess that for a child it would be a cute movie but JUST as a movie regardless of age group it is not particularly intelligent or creative. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
IsaacV.Feb 18, 2010
The movie definitely needs work but is a sure contender against the first one.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
AndrewUltimateOct 21, 2010
I have to say I can't quite see what's TOO bad about this movie. Some parts of it may not make sense and contain cheesy jokes, but overall, I just can't imagine myself giving it a three or a four. I mean, not a ten either, but I thought itI have to say I can't quite see what's TOO bad about this movie. Some parts of it may not make sense and contain cheesy jokes, but overall, I just can't imagine myself giving it a three or a four. I mean, not a ten either, but I thought it was pretty good. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
JonnyFendiJan 11, 2011
I watched thiz movie with no expectations. I think all of the things that they wanted to show us already appeared in the first movie. So the sequel (which named: The Squeakquel) is only a repetitions on what we saw before. The movie stillI watched thiz movie with no expectations. I think all of the things that they wanted to show us already appeared in the first movie. So the sequel (which named: The Squeakquel) is only a repetitions on what we saw before. The movie still cast by: Jason Lee and David Cross. The Alvin Character is voiced by Justin Long. The former Director Tim Hill (who also directed GARFIELD, 2004) replaced by Betty Thomas. It is very clear, The movie-makers intend to refresh things up by the appearance of new characters, The Chippetes (the girl version of The Chipmunks). Members of The Chippetes are: Brittany (Christina Applegate), Jeanette (Anna Faris), Eleanor (Amy Poehler). We certain knew the trio as creditable Drama-Comediennes. I think in some ways, the movie is less musical than the first one. The Chippetes performance looks like based on the nowadays Hip Hop style. If we looked at the human characters, Zachary Levi who seems to have more proportion than Jason Lee, both of them did not make us stunned by their performance. Their role definitely could be replaced easily by other Casts. In the end, I just said thiz kind of movie definitely just for fun.

Visit My Blog on JONNY'S MOVEE : http://jonnyfendi.blogspot.com
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
LawlessSquirrelApr 21, 2011
A worthy successor to the last movie, which is good or bad depending on your stance. Other than an over-dependence on the introduction of the Chipettes, there's nothing 'wrong' with this sequel that wasn't equally wrong in the original, butA worthy successor to the last movie, which is good or bad depending on your stance. Other than an over-dependence on the introduction of the Chipettes, there's nothing 'wrong' with this sequel that wasn't equally wrong in the original, but it seems to lack the same heart. If you liked the first one, you'll like this one too, but it comes across as a sequel more than a worthy tribute to the source. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
JoeRosaNov 15, 2011
Filled with a few laughs here and there. They some what "kill off" Jason Lee's character due to him making very little appearance in the film. He recovers in the hospital while the Chipmunks are to stay with their aunt and attend school. ThisFilled with a few laughs here and there. They some what "kill off" Jason Lee's character due to him making very little appearance in the film. He recovers in the hospital while the Chipmunks are to stay with their aunt and attend school. This seems more like an excuse to send the Chipmunks back home and introduce a new character. Toby who takes the place of Dave ( Jason Lee) as he "tries" to take care of the chipmunks. He is filled with poor dialog and serves no real purpose to the story. It was a very poor mistake to use Toby rather than Dave. I would have expected a move like this if it was straight to dvd or Jason Lee not wanting to play the role anymore. One of the biggest issues people may find with this title is copy and paste. The Chipettes find Ian who repeats his actions to them as he did to the Chipmunks in the first movie. Principal Dr. Ruben requests the Chipmunks to help with a music contest to help save the music program. This Squeakquel felt like there should have been more to the entire movie. The overall plot is lacking and the music selection was okay. The only redeeming thing about the entire movie is the Chipettes. They should have been introduced in the 3rd movie while making this one about something else. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
ZilcellNov 27, 2011
Alvin and the Chipmunks: The Squeakquel may lack some of the surprise that the original had, but it is still kid friendly. It may be a hit or miss for most adults though.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
aaronpaul121May 24, 2012
This is way better than the Chipwrecked sequel and it is the best of the whole series. But there are scenes that are too annoying and there are scenes that are good. The high-pitched voices of the chipmunks sometimes disturbs me and sometimesThis is way better than the Chipwrecked sequel and it is the best of the whole series. But there are scenes that are too annoying and there are scenes that are good. The high-pitched voices of the chipmunks sometimes disturbs me and sometimes impresses me. But overall, it is an average movie for adults and a great one for children..... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
jfrotylpe532Jan 13, 2013
I found myself bored. The movie is just like the first but more stupid and less fun. The reason it even got a 1 is because Theodore is amazing. The rest of the characters are just pathetic and so are the events following the stupid characters.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
RikiegeFeb 7, 2013
A sequel that has nothing to do with his former party. Pesima but good to hang out.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
LaGuertaMar 4, 2013
No modicum of effort has gone into this film and every lazy, predictable attempt at humour only serves to zap the energy audience members will desperately need to get through an hour and a half of, what can only be described as, crass commercialism.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Annoymous1Jul 10, 2013
I am not a big fan of sequels aren't I? (Look at my profile), but it was funny, great songs added and I think it could have got a better mark than this, preposterous and lanky at that though.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
JmsbppJul 18, 2013
Se intenta mejorar pero queda dentro del mismo rollocon otras factores que se quieren hacer ver grandes pero no lo logran efectivamente, esta vez las Arditas fue una idea entretenida a la vez que algunas veces se ve ridicula.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
jeff_reviewsJul 24, 2013
I may have been more optimistic on the first film, but the second is just downright outrageously old. With its cliche roles of the smarts, handsome looks, and the charmer; the characters in "Alvin and the Chipmunks: The Squeakquel" areI may have been more optimistic on the first film, but the second is just downright outrageously old. With its cliche roles of the smarts, handsome looks, and the charmer; the characters in "Alvin and the Chipmunks: The Squeakquel" are downright old and boring, and even worse as they add three more talking chipmunks with similar personalities as well. If David Cross' character wasn't horrible in the first, his role in the second is very dull and boring as well, with his already cliche character before turning horribly annoying. The plot of the story is obviously kid-friendly, as it takes on the role of high school that hundreds of films have already taken, and is nothing new. Although most kids will enjoy this film, to me, it was a bit to overdone with its annoying and boring plot and character elements, and its tired singing musical with the chipmunk voices. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
Jack97Jan 1, 2014
Children will love it of course, but I didn't like it that much. Compared to the first one it feels cheap and that it could have been better. But then again not everything lives up to it's potential.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
XkryonJan 26, 2014
Really a very tasteless movie. I don't want to waste my time with another brainless movie like this. Really stupid argument even for a 5 years kid!! And they want to make another!!! Noooooooo!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
FranzHcriticJul 9, 2014
I don't even think my little cousins would like it. I was a kid myself when I watched it, and I thought nothing of it. Now, re-watching it, it's probably the worst live action movie. Not one joke really made me laugh.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
MariofanMar 7, 2015
Not as good as the other 2 chipmunks movies but still great. The storyline was good. It was funny overall. The songs were great. It even had Wii Sports make a cameo. Alvin and the Chipmunks: The Squeakquel is a great movie and you shouldNot as good as the other 2 chipmunks movies but still great. The storyline was good. It was funny overall. The songs were great. It even had Wii Sports make a cameo. Alvin and the Chipmunks: The Squeakquel is a great movie and you should watch it anytime. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Jollyjoe1000Dec 11, 2015
I do not get the problem with this movie, I found it fun. Man the alvin and the chipmunks movie are great examples of underrated movies, and I hope the bad criticism stops with road chip.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
CineAutoctonoDec 24, 2015
Alvin pulled a sequel, and Alvin, Simon and Theodore have company of Ardites , lol that funny idea of ​​a sequel to Alvin and the Chipmunks , but otherwise was the best movie of one of the most disastrous film of the family sagas.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
gameguardian21Mar 20, 2016
Just when I thought I might enjoy it, it just brings a slap to the face as you are giving the same movie over again. Juat keep it for the kids so that the adults can stay in another room.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
FuturedirectorMar 22, 2016
Alvin and the chipmunks: The Squeakquel is not as funny as the original and and it shows simple a characters with boring story-telling and very down-beat plot. Fans will be disappointed with this very low result, with good-enough music and aAlvin and the chipmunks: The Squeakquel is not as funny as the original and and it shows simple a characters with boring story-telling and very down-beat plot. Fans will be disappointed with this very low result, with good-enough music and a bad premise. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
superbatAug 5, 2016
This is probably one of the worst movies of all time, not just a horrible movie, but a revolting one. This suffers from the same disease the plagued the Ice Age franchise. Brings nothing new, boring, dull. It is beyond horrible.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
FreedomFightersNov 22, 2016
Talk about ending the year off with a whimper. After my review of "Avatar" spoke very positively of the James Cameron film, the last film that I'm reviewing from 2009 is "Alvin and the Chipmunks: The Squeakquel," the easily inferior sequel toTalk about ending the year off with a whimper. After my review of "Avatar" spoke very positively of the James Cameron film, the last film that I'm reviewing from 2009 is "Alvin and the Chipmunks: The Squeakquel," the easily inferior sequel to the surprisingly decent 2007 film. While the first film had a few charming and entertaining moments, "The Squeakquel" loses those moments, and overall, it's boring, much less fun, less humorous, and the soundtrack is definitely worse here. While it's perfect for the kids (minus one really weird, out-of-place pole-dancing joke), it's overall a poor sequel that I can't really recommend. There are plenty of better family options for the holidays than this film.
On a side note that has no impact on the score, you know what's crazy? This film managed to outgross pretty much any-and-all holiday family films released in 2009. "A Christmas Carol," "Fantastic Mr. Fox," "The Princess and the Frog," you name it, this film passed ALL of them. And fun fact: when I went to see "Avatar," for some reason, the people at the theater gave us tickets to this film (which we had already seen, by the way) and, in our desperate attempt to find the theater that was showing "Avatar" (which luckily, we found), we walked into 3-4 screenings of this film. How it got that big, I will never know, but regardless, "The Squeakquel" is an underwhelming experience at the movies, and you should take your child to something more competent.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews