Fox 2000 Pictures | Release Date: December 14, 2007
5.4
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 195 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
81
Mixed:
50
Negative:
64
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
EmilyTJan 17, 2008
I am 7 years old and my daddy is writing this for me. I thought the movie was totally awesome. I loved Theodore, he is so cute. I think that if you are a kid you should go see this move. Hello, folks. This is Emily's Dad. I think you I am 7 years old and my daddy is writing this for me. I thought the movie was totally awesome. I loved Theodore, he is so cute. I think that if you are a kid you should go see this move. Hello, folks. This is Emily's Dad. I think you should drop the kids off in the theatre and go see No Country for Old Men. This movie is boring. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
8
LawlessSquirrelApr 21, 2011
If you're looking for a movie like the old Chipmunks movies, you'll probably find yourself entertained. Don't expect ground-breaking work, because this certainly isn't it, but it's a well meaning attempt to pay tribute to Alvin and theIf you're looking for a movie like the old Chipmunks movies, you'll probably find yourself entertained. Don't expect ground-breaking work, because this certainly isn't it, but it's a well meaning attempt to pay tribute to Alvin and the Chipmunks series, and succeeds in being just that. The plot is predictable and there's no serious depth, but if you go in with the right state of mind it makes for a heart-warming piece of escapism. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
oscarthedonMay 17, 2011
Amazing...Do you know how epic this movie was? It was so epic...Ok, a part i could throw out the window, otherwise this movie was epic. Best film of 2007 up until 2009. Why is the average critic review score 39? It could have been better,Amazing...Do you know how epic this movie was? It was so epic...Ok, a part i could throw out the window, otherwise this movie was epic. Best film of 2007 up until 2009. Why is the average critic review score 39? It could have been better, thats only my opinion... Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
homer4presidentMar 28, 2015
I didn't think I was going to like it as much as I did, but it was predictable! Alvin and the Chipmunks is cute, funny, and a fun family flick. It's not very original, but who cares, it's a harmless kids film that nobody should have a problemI didn't think I was going to like it as much as I did, but it was predictable! Alvin and the Chipmunks is cute, funny, and a fun family flick. It's not very original, but who cares, it's a harmless kids film that nobody should have a problem with, because it is just trying to be exactly what it is. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
2
YellowKirbySep 9, 2015
Alvin and the Chipmunks starts out alright, but then, everything goes down the toilet. Chipmunks as pop stars? Obnoxious protagonists? If you're looking for a kiddy film, then look no further... unless you're looking for something that's goodAlvin and the Chipmunks starts out alright, but then, everything goes down the toilet. Chipmunks as pop stars? Obnoxious protagonists? If you're looking for a kiddy film, then look no further... unless you're looking for something that's good quality! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
4
grandpajoe6191Sep 28, 2011
"Alvin and the Chipmunks" is a movie that has a SOOOO-familar-plot-and-script-that-is-obvious-and-basic-as-hell, I don't even want to talk about it....
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
4
RogerSmith97Nov 4, 2011
The Movie Is So Basic & Bland That It's More Boring Than Fun.. We All Know Alvin & The Chipmunks... They Died... 10 Years Ago.....
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
4
Potter17Feb 3, 2012
Childish, predictable and meaningless at the best you can think of, "Alvin and the Chipmunks"serves only as a showcase for impressively designed creatures, because entertainment it is not.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
ImogenDulieu987Oct 29, 2011
I gave this film 10 out of 10 because of the following reasons:

1. Great film. 2. Lots of funny moments. 3. I would watch it 1 million times if i could (which i can because i have it on dvd - thank you amazon...) 4. Great
I gave this film 10 out of 10 because of the following reasons:

1. Great film.
2. Lots of funny moments.
3. I would watch it 1 million times if i could (which i can because i have it on dvd - thank you amazon...)
4. Great quality images.
5. Good storyline.
6. One of the best films that were released in 2007.
7. Great acting.
8. Humorous scenes.
9. Heartwarming moments.
10. Great sequels.

I recommend this film to anyone who has a young relative (baby, little brother/sister, little nephew/niece or grandson/granddaughter etc...) or anyone who enjoys a good cartoon because it is a great cartoon which you can buy from any dvd store (Blockbuster) or online store (Amazon, eBay or Play.com).

So why are you still reading this you should be on a different website or on your way to a dvd store now. Go on GO!!!!!

By ImogenDulieu987
Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
0
JHJan 1, 2008
Why????!!!!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
[Anonymous]Feb 3, 2008
Well this movie wasn't as god-awful as I expected it to be. The characters were two-demensional, the man playing dave (whom I can't recall the name) made me wince whenever he yelled "ALVIN". Oh, and the chipmunks' voices while Well this movie wasn't as god-awful as I expected it to be. The characters were two-demensional, the man playing dave (whom I can't recall the name) made me wince whenever he yelled "ALVIN". Oh, and the chipmunks' voices while inevitably charming were sometime a little difficult to understand, but were bearable. The storyline was predictable. Really this isn't the kind of movie you would watch if you were say 13+ but if you did anyway, it probably didn't wow you. But in praise to this movie, kids will like it, it's a good family movie and it's a passable alternative to other pieces of garbage. But if you are looking for a spectacular, worldly-acclaimed children's movie that also reaches to a broader audience, try Ratatouille. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
LindaW.Apr 26, 2008
Totally enjoyable....watched with my two grandchildren and we were totally entertained. Sweet story of becoming a family and the importance of someone caring for you. Highly recommended.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AshleyMurilloJan 4, 2008
I loved Alvin and the Chipmunks. Theodore was my favorite he was so cute. I especially liked the singing and the squeaky voices of the chipmunks. It is a awesome movie for kids.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MrMallardJan 7, 2008
A fantastic kids movie, lots of manic singing, slapstick and mess-making from the chipmunks to keep the kiddies amused, plus some great humour for the parents. David Cross is especially funny. What impressed me most though was the refreshing A fantastic kids movie, lots of manic singing, slapstick and mess-making from the chipmunks to keep the kiddies amused, plus some great humour for the parents. David Cross is especially funny. What impressed me most though was the refreshing sight of normal-sized women in the Chipmunk's band (no size zeros here), and the movie also features actors *shock horror* with less than ridiculously perfect teeth, all of which can only send out positive messages to the children. The film also held my three year old's undivided attention for an hour an a half (no mean feat). And most importantly, her verdict is,and I quote: "It was great!" Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
BryceL.Feb 1, 2008
Very underrated family flick.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ArielN.Feb 10, 2008
I loved this movie i thought it was great!!!! most critics don't like it but i liked it and thought it was pretty funny!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MelissaD.Feb 15, 2008
This movie is awesome.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JanmikS.Apr 28, 2008
Ended up giving smiles to people's faces but relies on a very weak and predictable plot. Here you may find yourself not just foreseeing the plot but ALSO finishing the characters' dialogs.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
CristianS.Apr 5, 2008
This movie was cheap,lazily written, terrible graphics were tossed in and I gave it a 2 -a 2 for pity-if i was mean i would give it -46 but i can not rate it that bAd. SO DO NOT GET THE DVD
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TomW.Apr 6, 2008
Alvin still rules aftger 45 years! This new version captures the charm, humor and fun of these characters. Hoorah to Ross Bagadasarian Jr and Janice Karman for injecting new life into this iconic legend. 200 MILLION in box office can't Alvin still rules aftger 45 years! This new version captures the charm, humor and fun of these characters. Hoorah to Ross Bagadasarian Jr and Janice Karman for injecting new life into this iconic legend. 200 MILLION in box office can't be wrong! The updated songs are great and I dare anyone not to get misty eyed when Theodore get scared at night from nightmare and crawls into bed with Dave and cuddles around his neck......The best thing since "My Mother" song from "The Chipmunk Adventure"!!!!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AndreFMay 28, 2008
This movie really made me feel like I was a little kid watching the cartoon again. It was funny from beginning to end. If you go expecting to see anything, but a silly adaption of a children's cartoon you'll e really disappointed.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
TerryC.Dec 10, 2007
Alvin chipmunks us into a daring entertaining surprise that is so dumb, it doesn't have any brain, and the heart is so soulless, I hate it, how can anyone love stupidity right from the get-go.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JevanieM.Dec 23, 2007
I don't know why the rating got so bad.but I think it was a great movie it's filled with great surprises and I love their songs.I hope they make a second movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
AshleyFDec 29, 2007
... Good god, I'm glad my ticket was pre-payed for. Awful, awful movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
HeidiC.Jan 26, 2008
Uh... chipmunks that start singing and become rockstars??? Ummm (cough cough) the storyline sucked but there were a few funny parts.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
RobinD.Feb 16, 2008
Don't listen to the media critics mom and dad .Alvin and the Chipmunks is a fun, basically clean, void of super scare the heck out of the kids movie. The music is fun the chipmunks are lovable, so is Dave. The kids and I walk out of the Don't listen to the media critics mom and dad .Alvin and the Chipmunks is a fun, basically clean, void of super scare the heck out of the kids movie. The music is fun the chipmunks are lovable, so is Dave. The kids and I walk out of the theatre and went straight to the store to buy the dvd. It was a feel good movie for us. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
JayH.Mar 26, 2008
It's certainly not a great film, but it's not that bad. There are some cute and funny moments. It's not a very original story, but still it's likable enough and harmless entertainment.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
kayleighmsMar 28, 2008
Alvin, Simon, and Theodore are all present and accounted for (just like in
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ErickH.Mar 3, 2008
Surprisingly GOOD! Surpassed my expectations...The Three Chipmunks were irresistibly CUTE!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JaredB.Apr 10, 2008
Okay, so this isn't the laugh-a-minute romp that the original cartoon series was. I still LOVED it. There were a couple of spots where the writers injected some crass, crude humor into the script. For example, there is a scene where one Okay, so this isn't the laugh-a-minute romp that the original cartoon series was. I still LOVED it. There were a couple of spots where the writers injected some crass, crude humor into the script. For example, there is a scene where one of the chipmunks farts in another character's face. If they would have left this out, my rating would definitely be a 10. However, despite this one flaw, this is still a fresh, funny update of one of the greatest cartoons to ever grace television sets. I highly recommend this film Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
MikeG.Apr 12, 2008
I'm getting' tired of the typical Hollywood storyline that was attached to a great movie idea, you know the drill, Dave takes his friends (chipmunks and women) for granted, then reconciles the situation with 10 minutes left in the I'm getting' tired of the typical Hollywood storyline that was attached to a great movie idea, you know the drill, Dave takes his friends (chipmunks and women) for granted, then reconciles the situation with 10 minutes left in the movie. Also the "love interest" blond seems uppity. This movie is great for kids new to redundant Hollywood scripts, everyone else has seen it already, just without chipmunk "paint". Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
PeterJ.Apr 21, 2008
This movie was awful. Even my small children were smart enough to know that this was pure garbage and they went outside and played.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
AmberPMay 7, 2008
This was a cute movie. If you want to get the family together to watch a movie, I would recommend Alvin and The Chipmunks.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
JakeHJun 19, 2008
Cute little animals... but plot sucked.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
DestroyUsAug 15, 2009
Horrible movie with weak plot, casting, and music. worst film I've seen recently.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BradB.Dec 12, 2007
I was really surprised at how much I enjoyed this! GARFIELD sucked, so I definitely had low expectations. But this movie was actually really good!! Jason Lee is wrong in the lead role, but I still loved the movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SalRomanoDec 12, 2007
Most people would expect this movie to bomb badly. Thats not the case however. Alvin and the Chipmunks provides a funny witty experience the whole family can enjoy.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JaredC.Dec 13, 2007
Alvin and the Chipmunks, even the name sounds stupid. Who would waste their time or their money to go watch the dumbest film of the century. Seriously, the only attraction to this film is the voice of the chipmunks, which sounds kind of Alvin and the Chipmunks, even the name sounds stupid. Who would waste their time or their money to go watch the dumbest film of the century. Seriously, the only attraction to this film is the voice of the chipmunks, which sounds kind of funny, but after 5 minutes in, you start getting sick of all the cheesy moments and awfully written lines in the film. All the director sees that's enjoyable is the little cute chipmunks, that were so pathetic and emabarrasing most of the time. I not only barfed in Saw 4, but I had the stomach flew right after I watched this terrible chipmunk adaption. Even if Peter Jackson directed this film, it still would be stupid. The most pointless scene in the film was when the guy wakes up at 3:00 in the morning trying to shutup the chipmunks from randomly singing out of the blue. I can't believe how lame this movie was. I can't say that I've seen a more worse motion picture than this one. Avoid at all costs. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RachealsDec 15, 2007
I am a mother of 3 and we all went to see it my 7 year old daugter, my 12 year old daugter, and my 15 year old son! my son was dreading going but he loved it! my whole family was laughing and even after the movie we were singing and laughing I am a mother of 3 and we all went to see it my 7 year old daugter, my 12 year old daugter, and my 15 year old son! my son was dreading going but he loved it! my whole family was laughing and even after the movie we were singing and laughing the whole way home! nothing makes me happier then to see my children laugh and this movie brought tears to my eyes i was so happy! I recommend seeing it iwith children of all ages! This movie is histarical and touching like a christmas movie should! It really warmed my heart up, and reminded me of good times i have had in the past christmas's! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
ChadS.Dec 16, 2007
"Alvin and the Chipmunks" is a movie for children saddled with a plotline that will not pique their imagination. They'll be bored stiff. Adults will recognize the framework of the musical biopic; the rise to fame, followed by the "Alvin and the Chipmunks" is a movie for children saddled with a plotline that will not pique their imagination. They'll be bored stiff. Adults will recognize the framework of the musical biopic; the rise to fame, followed by the realization that fame isn't all it's cracked up to be(Theodore's gluttony is a metaphor for drug use), but a small child won't. And that's a problem. "Alvin and the Chipmunks" is "A Star is Born" with vermin. Kids want magic. Adults want Judy Garland. Neither party will be satisfied by this charmless piece of noxious filmmaking. "The Chipmunk Song" does not translate to a contemporary audience. It belongs in a time capsule. The film's only satisfying moment is when we see David Seville(Jason Lee...slumming...for his kids) writing the famous children's song at his piano. If you're of a certain age, when Alvin sings, "me, I want a hula-hoop", your heart will yearn to be a child again. But then they ruin the song's innocence with a unctous remake that's predictably awful, replete with that bane of screenwriting, the montage, which encapsulates their meteoric rise to the top. "Alvin and the Chipmunks" is the anti-thesis of what Pixar stands for; the late Jim Henson, too. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
vidManDec 19, 2007
Just like I thought when I saw the trailer. It is almost nothing like the cartoon show. The acting is terrible and the story is cliche. And it almost feels like it ends abruptly.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EuniceTDec 26, 2007
This is an awesome movie. The chipmunks are cute in their own way, unique and adorable. The cast of human characters isn't as amazing, but the chipmunks' performance definitely makes it up for that. It wasn't a primilarily This is an awesome movie. The chipmunks are cute in their own way, unique and adorable. The cast of human characters isn't as amazing, but the chipmunks' performance definitely makes it up for that. It wasn't a primilarily funny movie, but at least the absense of frequent comedy doesn't glare too much at the audience. Bottom line: FABULOUS... :) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
EvanP.Dec 27, 2007
TERRIBLE MOVIE!!! I hated this whole thing no funny parts at all. not even little kids laughed in the theater. half the people left after the first half an hour. and the best parts are already shown in the commericails
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
CrissY.Feb 13, 2008
It wasn't bad but it wasn't good ether.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
AaronC.Apr 21, 2008
I am giving this movie a 1. i would've given it a zero but i think it really has the chance of winning the best picture Oscar/ and also the best actor Oscar but not for the human but instead for one of the chipmunks.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SadevareJ.Apr 26, 2008
THIS IS A GOOD MOVIE!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoeN.Apr 28, 2008
I loved this flick, it was a entertaining sight that can make any alvin and the chipmunks fan pop...you gotta love this classic, i give it 4 out of 5.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CelineAMay 15, 2008
This movie was awesome. The story was awesome. The way it begun and how it ended was funny and cute. The most cute characters were of course the three chipmunks. Alvin was all funky and groovy. Simon was the nerd - looking one. Theodore was This movie was awesome. The story was awesome. The way it begun and how it ended was funny and cute. The most cute characters were of course the three chipmunks. Alvin was all funky and groovy. Simon was the nerd - looking one. Theodore was cutest of all the chipmunks. I recommend you to watch this movie. I am telling, it was amazing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PhilS.Dec 16, 2007
Excellent family fun - It is aimed at 6 year olds and works perfectly for them. I don't understand who the begative reviewers thought it was aimed at.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
gm101Aug 11, 2011
Now I don't want to defend the awful 'talking cgi animal' genre, but I'd be lying if I said I didn't enjoy this movie. Be sure to watch if you enjoy Chipmunk songs like I do!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
AndrewUltimateOct 21, 2010
This movie was very funny and cute. I can't really imagine myself ever giving it a three or a two. Definitely not worthy of reviews its been getting. Also, they cover good songs, not cookie-cutter-pop-stuff.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
MovieLonely94Nov 4, 2010
a perfect adaptation of our favorite singing chipmunks.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
MichaelDJan 1, 2011
It's not great. Good for little kids but not exactly for teens and adults. Though it's not the worst movie I ever seen.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
aaronpaul121Oct 1, 2012
It is the 2nd best movie of the whole Chipmunk series. The plot of the movie is too boring and too predictable. The chipmunks are very annoying. I gave a 2 because of the overall impact of the movie, it's good. But it is still absolutely aIt is the 2nd best movie of the whole Chipmunk series. The plot of the movie is too boring and too predictable. The chipmunks are very annoying. I gave a 2 because of the overall impact of the movie, it's good. But it is still absolutely a really bad film.......... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
ZilcellNov 27, 2011
It can actually be fun for both kids and adults. Alvin and the Chipmunks has immature moments, but the jokes are funny and the characters are funny.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
RikiegeFeb 7, 2013
Overall is good, but it is very slow and makes you boring. Recommended for people who have nothing to do one day.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
dante_finnDec 22, 2012
Hours Of Nutty Fun
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
Annoymous1Jul 10, 2013
It was framed the "Movie of the year" and it became a hit, though I don't know why it spawned some sequels. Sure, it's cute and odd, but it just gives out an equal thumb.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
JmsbppJul 18, 2013
tiene buenos contenidos para un niño y una buena idea que no sobresale de entre otras peliculas basicas tal vez unas ardillas habladoras no lograron el verdadero extito
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
jeff_reviewsJul 23, 2013
"Alvin and the Chipmunks" is somewhat enjoyable, as it feels quirky in a good way and new, but the script and plot has a familiar kid-genre, leaving nothing truly special to adults. The storyline is basic, nothing fascinating or interesting"Alvin and the Chipmunks" is somewhat enjoyable, as it feels quirky in a good way and new, but the script and plot has a familiar kid-genre, leaving nothing truly special to adults. The storyline is basic, nothing fascinating or interesting or, plus the singing aspect to the film does feel bland. Besides this, the film will succeed to entertain, but not with many things that are special. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
XzRecolzJul 17, 2013
Alright, I guess... I don't get the title though "Alvin and the Chipmunks" Alvin is a chipmunk? The movie is for kids, I think most of them will like it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
FranzHcriticJul 9, 2014
The ending of the film had me resting my eyes, if you'll pardon a metaphor. The animation is nothing to point out, the story is beyond unfathomable and stupid, and the voices are just annoying.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
MovieGuysFeb 9, 2014
The trio of chipmunks are cute, but any remaining fondness of them will be diminished by the end of this movie. Sadly, this movie, well, sucked. The acting was horrible --even more than the atrocious script-- and eventually the chipmunks gotThe trio of chipmunks are cute, but any remaining fondness of them will be diminished by the end of this movie. Sadly, this movie, well, sucked. The acting was horrible --even more than the atrocious script-- and eventually the chipmunks got annoying to put up with anymore. I have to admit that the movie started out pretty good though, and that's the reason for the 3 instead of 0 stars. Also, I can't get the sound of Jason Lee screaming "ALVIN!" out of my head, because that's about the only line from the movie that you will remember. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
FreedomFightersNov 10, 2016
You know what, this film wasn't THAT BAD. Sure, it sticks to the same kid-friendly formula as many similar films, and it might annoy a few people, but it's got some occasionally funny moments, some pretty great music and some good animationYou know what, this film wasn't THAT BAD. Sure, it sticks to the same kid-friendly formula as many similar films, and it might annoy a few people, but it's got some occasionally funny moments, some pretty great music and some good animation in regards to the characters. Obviously, this is one of those films that kids will enjoy more than parents, and I don't think it's worth repeat viewings, but all in all, "Alvin and the Chipmunks" isn't an awful film at all. Just keep your expectations in check, and make sure to watch it with the kids, if you want to get the full enjoyment out of this one. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
diogomendesApr 18, 2015
Yep, this was pretty bad. Though the chipmunks themselves are simply adorable, this movie is disastrously hampered by a god-awful attempt at a successful sense of humor and underwritten characters. Strictly for the kiddies.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
MariofanFeb 21, 2015
Awesome movie! It is one of the best movies of 2007. There were lots of funny parts. The storyline was great. The chipmunks look great CGI animated. The songs were awesome. Alvin and the Chipmunks is a great film and it is definitely worthAwesome movie! It is one of the best movies of 2007. There were lots of funny parts. The storyline was great. The chipmunks look great CGI animated. The songs were awesome. Alvin and the Chipmunks is a great film and it is definitely worth watching. And the critics are bird brains. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
CineAutoctonoAug 1, 2015
Without being there I think this film is for children and it was interesting while it lasted , it's totally boring , who can not do something inconcedible but better than Garfield.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
DanBurritoJul 15, 2016
After a decent start, Alvin and the Chipmunks soon becomes a tired, predictable and often grating film with little merit beyond its cute animation. The three main characters are devoid of personality, and while they may win over the kiddies,After a decent start, Alvin and the Chipmunks soon becomes a tired, predictable and often grating film with little merit beyond its cute animation. The three main characters are devoid of personality, and while they may win over the kiddies, they will most likely annoy adults. Jason Lee meanwhile, looks depressed to even be in the movie, and it's not hard to see why. The only funny part of the movie is David Cross, who brings much more energy to the picture than it deserves. So why did I give it a five and not a two, I hear you ask? Because the beginning does have its moments. That, and I'm feeling generous. Overall, it may please young children, but Alvin and the Chipmunks will do little for their parents, and fans of the original cartoon looking for nostalgia will probably feel cheated. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
toronto905Sep 28, 2015
After 49 (almost 50) years Alvin still has it! This film is a faithful and delightful adaptation of a beloved children's family and musical cartoon. It successfully replicates and in some ways improves the sole charms of the characters withAfter 49 (almost 50) years Alvin still has it! This film is a faithful and delightful adaptation of a beloved children's family and musical cartoon. It successfully replicates and in some ways improves the sole charms of the characters with the kiddish mischief sure to entertain kids. This is also a very good animation effort!
There is sweetness here. The scene in which Dave and the boys decorate the tree is charming, and the Chipmunks' excited presentation of gifts to their human dad is actually sort of touching. And dang it, the little animated rodents are cute.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
CharlieBetterIsDec 26, 2015
Alvin e os Esquilos é péssimo. Só algumas partes que se salvam. História tosca, humor tosco. Sem mais. Acho que os produtores e diretores deviam ter mais criatividade se querem criar um filme desse tipo.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
EpicLadySpongeDec 29, 2015
Alvin and the Chipmunks is as decent-looking as ever, but unfortunately placed a few problems in the entire movie itself including how you can't have an Alvin and the Chipmunks movie without the annoying chipmunks singing throughout the entire movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
gameguardian21Mar 20, 2016
I think we all know what to expected this movie to be. It was to be a movie for the kids to watch before they will realize that this movie is stupid, kidish and dumb.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
FuturedirectorMar 15, 2016
A doody and somehow cliched picture that simply can only be enjoyed by gross viewers and children. Anyway, it's cool soundtrack and the good performances take an important part of this.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
FELIPEFERREIRAMay 28, 2016
Não sei como eu já gostei desse filme. Horrível ao extremo! Minha nossa, a história é tão tosca que chega a um nível que fica insuportável ver o filme até o fim. Salvo apenas... sei lá, acho que nada.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
superbatAug 5, 2016
Even though Alvin and the Chipmunks isn't the ideal animated film, it gets a 5 because it is way better than the failures that were to come. It starts off well but then towards the end it goes down the drain. A very boring and bland movie, toEven though Alvin and the Chipmunks isn't the ideal animated film, it gets a 5 because it is way better than the failures that were to come. It starts off well but then towards the end it goes down the drain. A very boring and bland movie, to be honest. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
TheLonelyCriticJun 28, 2016
It's just trying to be a movie for kids huh? And because kids can watch it, we shouldn't complain huh? Ok, let's say I made a movie that was just 90 minutes of footage looking at a wall. It might be terrible, but you can't complain because itIt's just trying to be a movie for kids huh? And because kids can watch it, we shouldn't complain huh? Ok, let's say I made a movie that was just 90 minutes of footage looking at a wall. It might be terrible, but you can't complain because it was meant to be about a wall. The logic of these users baffles me. Now where was I? Ah yes, this movie is awful. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
JPKApr 29, 2017
WORST THING EVER CREATED!
This movie kinda made me lose faith in humanity, everything, from the horrifically awful script, the ugly chipmunks, and cringe-worthy humor is awful here and this is the worst movie I've ever seen.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews