Fox 2000 Pictures | Release Date: December 14, 2007
5.4
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 194 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
82
Mixed:
49
Negative:
63
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
2
YellowKirbySep 9, 2015
Alvin and the Chipmunks starts out alright, but then, everything goes down the toilet. Chipmunks as pop stars? Obnoxious protagonists? If you're looking for a kiddy film, then look no further... unless you're looking for something that's goodAlvin and the Chipmunks starts out alright, but then, everything goes down the toilet. Chipmunks as pop stars? Obnoxious protagonists? If you're looking for a kiddy film, then look no further... unless you're looking for something that's good quality! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
0
JHJan 1, 2008
Why????!!!!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JanmikS.Apr 28, 2008
Ended up giving smiles to people's faces but relies on a very weak and predictable plot. Here you may find yourself not just foreseeing the plot but ALSO finishing the characters' dialogs.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
TerryC.Dec 10, 2007
Alvin chipmunks us into a daring entertaining surprise that is so dumb, it doesn't have any brain, and the heart is so soulless, I hate it, how can anyone love stupidity right from the get-go.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
AshleyFDec 29, 2007
... Good god, I'm glad my ticket was pre-payed for. Awful, awful movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
kayleighmsMar 28, 2008
Alvin, Simon, and Theodore are all present and accounted for (just like in
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
PeterJ.Apr 21, 2008
This movie was awful. Even my small children were smart enough to know that this was pure garbage and they went outside and played.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
DestroyUsAug 15, 2009
Horrible movie with weak plot, casting, and music. worst film I've seen recently.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JaredC.Dec 13, 2007
Alvin and the Chipmunks, even the name sounds stupid. Who would waste their time or their money to go watch the dumbest film of the century. Seriously, the only attraction to this film is the voice of the chipmunks, which sounds kind of Alvin and the Chipmunks, even the name sounds stupid. Who would waste their time or their money to go watch the dumbest film of the century. Seriously, the only attraction to this film is the voice of the chipmunks, which sounds kind of funny, but after 5 minutes in, you start getting sick of all the cheesy moments and awfully written lines in the film. All the director sees that's enjoyable is the little cute chipmunks, that were so pathetic and emabarrasing most of the time. I not only barfed in Saw 4, but I had the stomach flew right after I watched this terrible chipmunk adaption. Even if Peter Jackson directed this film, it still would be stupid. The most pointless scene in the film was when the guy wakes up at 3:00 in the morning trying to shutup the chipmunks from randomly singing out of the blue. I can't believe how lame this movie was. I can't say that I've seen a more worse motion picture than this one. Avoid at all costs. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
ChadS.Dec 16, 2007
"Alvin and the Chipmunks" is a movie for children saddled with a plotline that will not pique their imagination. They'll be bored stiff. Adults will recognize the framework of the musical biopic; the rise to fame, followed by the "Alvin and the Chipmunks" is a movie for children saddled with a plotline that will not pique their imagination. They'll be bored stiff. Adults will recognize the framework of the musical biopic; the rise to fame, followed by the realization that fame isn't all it's cracked up to be(Theodore's gluttony is a metaphor for drug use), but a small child won't. And that's a problem. "Alvin and the Chipmunks" is "A Star is Born" with vermin. Kids want magic. Adults want Judy Garland. Neither party will be satisfied by this charmless piece of noxious filmmaking. "The Chipmunk Song" does not translate to a contemporary audience. It belongs in a time capsule. The film's only satisfying moment is when we see David Seville(Jason Lee...slumming...for his kids) writing the famous children's song at his piano. If you're of a certain age, when Alvin sings, "me, I want a hula-hoop", your heart will yearn to be a child again. But then they ruin the song's innocence with a unctous remake that's predictably awful, replete with that bane of screenwriting, the montage, which encapsulates their meteoric rise to the top. "Alvin and the Chipmunks" is the anti-thesis of what Pixar stands for; the late Jim Henson, too. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
EvanP.Dec 27, 2007
TERRIBLE MOVIE!!! I hated this whole thing no funny parts at all. not even little kids laughed in the theater. half the people left after the first half an hour. and the best parts are already shown in the commericails
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
AaronC.Apr 21, 2008
I am giving this movie a 1. i would've given it a zero but i think it really has the chance of winning the best picture Oscar/ and also the best actor Oscar but not for the human but instead for one of the chipmunks.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
aaronpaul121Oct 1, 2012
It is the 2nd best movie of the whole Chipmunk series. The plot of the movie is too boring and too predictable. The chipmunks are very annoying. I gave a 2 because of the overall impact of the movie, it's good. But it is still absolutely aIt is the 2nd best movie of the whole Chipmunk series. The plot of the movie is too boring and too predictable. The chipmunks are very annoying. I gave a 2 because of the overall impact of the movie, it's good. But it is still absolutely a really bad film.......... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
FranzHcriticJul 9, 2014
The ending of the film had me resting my eyes, if you'll pardon a metaphor. The animation is nothing to point out, the story is beyond unfathomable and stupid, and the voices are just annoying.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
MovieGuysFeb 9, 2014
The trio of chipmunks are cute, but any remaining fondness of them will be diminished by the end of this movie. Sadly, this movie, well, sucked. The acting was horrible --even more than the atrocious script-- and eventually the chipmunks gotThe trio of chipmunks are cute, but any remaining fondness of them will be diminished by the end of this movie. Sadly, this movie, well, sucked. The acting was horrible --even more than the atrocious script-- and eventually the chipmunks got annoying to put up with anymore. I have to admit that the movie started out pretty good though, and that's the reason for the 3 instead of 0 stars. Also, I can't get the sound of Jason Lee screaming "ALVIN!" out of my head, because that's about the only line from the movie that you will remember. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
diogomendesApr 18, 2015
Yep, this was pretty bad. Though the chipmunks themselves are simply adorable, this movie is disastrously hampered by a god-awful attempt at a successful sense of humor and underwritten characters. Strictly for the kiddies.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
CharlieBetterIsDec 26, 2015
Alvin e os Esquilos é péssimo. Só algumas partes que se salvam. História tosca, humor tosco. Sem mais. Acho que os produtores e diretores deviam ter mais criatividade se querem criar um filme desse tipo.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
gameguardian21Mar 20, 2016
I think we all know what to expected this movie to be. It was to be a movie for the kids to watch before they will realize that this movie is stupid, kidish and dumb.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
FELIPEFERREIRAMay 28, 2016
Não sei como eu já gostei desse filme. Horrível ao extremo! Minha nossa, a história é tão tosca que chega a um nível que fica insuportável ver o filme até o fim. Salvo apenas... sei lá, acho que nada.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
TheLonelyCriticJun 28, 2016
It's just trying to be a movie for kids huh? And because kids can watch it, we shouldn't complain huh? Ok, let's say I made a movie that was just 90 minutes of footage looking at a wall. It might be terrible, but you can't complain because itIt's just trying to be a movie for kids huh? And because kids can watch it, we shouldn't complain huh? Ok, let's say I made a movie that was just 90 minutes of footage looking at a wall. It might be terrible, but you can't complain because it was meant to be about a wall. The logic of these users baffles me. Now where was I? Ah yes, this movie is awful. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews