Fox 2000 Pictures | Release Date: December 14, 2007
5.4
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 195 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
81
Mixed:
50
Negative:
64
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
4
grandpajoe6191Sep 28, 2011
"Alvin and the Chipmunks" is a movie that has a SOOOO-familar-plot-and-script-that-is-obvious-and-basic-as-hell, I don't even want to talk about it....
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
4
RogerSmith97Nov 4, 2011
The Movie Is So Basic & Bland That It's More Boring Than Fun.. We All Know Alvin & The Chipmunks... They Died... 10 Years Ago.....
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
4
Potter17Feb 3, 2012
Childish, predictable and meaningless at the best you can think of, "Alvin and the Chipmunks"serves only as a showcase for impressively designed creatures, because entertainment it is not.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
[Anonymous]Feb 3, 2008
Well this movie wasn't as god-awful as I expected it to be. The characters were two-demensional, the man playing dave (whom I can't recall the name) made me wince whenever he yelled "ALVIN". Oh, and the chipmunks' voices while Well this movie wasn't as god-awful as I expected it to be. The characters were two-demensional, the man playing dave (whom I can't recall the name) made me wince whenever he yelled "ALVIN". Oh, and the chipmunks' voices while inevitably charming were sometime a little difficult to understand, but were bearable. The storyline was predictable. Really this isn't the kind of movie you would watch if you were say 13+ but if you did anyway, it probably didn't wow you. But in praise to this movie, kids will like it, it's a good family movie and it's a passable alternative to other pieces of garbage. But if you are looking for a spectacular, worldly-acclaimed children's movie that also reaches to a broader audience, try Ratatouille. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
HeidiC.Jan 26, 2008
Uh... chipmunks that start singing and become rockstars??? Ummm (cough cough) the storyline sucked but there were a few funny parts.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
JayH.Mar 26, 2008
It's certainly not a great film, but it's not that bad. There are some cute and funny moments. It's not a very original story, but still it's likable enough and harmless entertainment.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
MikeG.Apr 12, 2008
I'm getting' tired of the typical Hollywood storyline that was attached to a great movie idea, you know the drill, Dave takes his friends (chipmunks and women) for granted, then reconciles the situation with 10 minutes left in the I'm getting' tired of the typical Hollywood storyline that was attached to a great movie idea, you know the drill, Dave takes his friends (chipmunks and women) for granted, then reconciles the situation with 10 minutes left in the movie. Also the "love interest" blond seems uppity. This movie is great for kids new to redundant Hollywood scripts, everyone else has seen it already, just without chipmunk "paint". Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
AmberPMay 7, 2008
This was a cute movie. If you want to get the family together to watch a movie, I would recommend Alvin and The Chipmunks.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
JakeHJun 19, 2008
Cute little animals... but plot sucked.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
vidManDec 19, 2007
Just like I thought when I saw the trailer. It is almost nothing like the cartoon show. The acting is terrible and the story is cliche. And it almost feels like it ends abruptly.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
CrissY.Feb 13, 2008
It wasn't bad but it wasn't good ether.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
AndrewUltimateOct 21, 2010
This movie was very funny and cute. I can't really imagine myself ever giving it a three or a two. Definitely not worthy of reviews its been getting. Also, they cover good songs, not cookie-cutter-pop-stuff.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
MichaelDJan 1, 2011
It's not great. Good for little kids but not exactly for teens and adults. Though it's not the worst movie I ever seen.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
RikiegeFeb 7, 2013
Overall is good, but it is very slow and makes you boring. Recommended for people who have nothing to do one day.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
dante_finnDec 22, 2012
Hours Of Nutty Fun
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
Annoymous1Jul 10, 2013
It was framed the "Movie of the year" and it became a hit, though I don't know why it spawned some sequels. Sure, it's cute and odd, but it just gives out an equal thumb.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
JmsbppJul 18, 2013
tiene buenos contenidos para un niƱo y una buena idea que no sobresale de entre otras peliculas basicas tal vez unas ardillas habladoras no lograron el verdadero extito
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
jeff_reviewsJul 23, 2013
"Alvin and the Chipmunks" is somewhat enjoyable, as it feels quirky in a good way and new, but the script and plot has a familiar kid-genre, leaving nothing truly special to adults. The storyline is basic, nothing fascinating or interesting"Alvin and the Chipmunks" is somewhat enjoyable, as it feels quirky in a good way and new, but the script and plot has a familiar kid-genre, leaving nothing truly special to adults. The storyline is basic, nothing fascinating or interesting or, plus the singing aspect to the film does feel bland. Besides this, the film will succeed to entertain, but not with many things that are special. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
XzRecolzJul 17, 2013
Alright, I guess... I don't get the title though "Alvin and the Chipmunks" Alvin is a chipmunk? The movie is for kids, I think most of them will like it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
FreedomFightersNov 10, 2016
You know what, this film wasn't THAT BAD. Sure, it sticks to the same kid-friendly formula as many similar films, and it might annoy a few people, but it's got some occasionally funny moments, some pretty great music and some good animationYou know what, this film wasn't THAT BAD. Sure, it sticks to the same kid-friendly formula as many similar films, and it might annoy a few people, but it's got some occasionally funny moments, some pretty great music and some good animation in regards to the characters. Obviously, this is one of those films that kids will enjoy more than parents, and I don't think it's worth repeat viewings, but all in all, "Alvin and the Chipmunks" isn't an awful film at all. Just keep your expectations in check, and make sure to watch it with the kids, if you want to get the full enjoyment out of this one. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
CineAutoctonoAug 1, 2015
Without being there I think this film is for children and it was interesting while it lasted , it's totally boring , who can not do something inconcedible but better than Garfield.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
DanBurritoJul 15, 2016
After a decent start, Alvin and the Chipmunks soon becomes a tired, predictable and often grating film with little merit beyond its cute animation. The three main characters are devoid of personality, and while they may win over the kiddies,After a decent start, Alvin and the Chipmunks soon becomes a tired, predictable and often grating film with little merit beyond its cute animation. The three main characters are devoid of personality, and while they may win over the kiddies, they will most likely annoy adults. Jason Lee meanwhile, looks depressed to even be in the movie, and it's not hard to see why. The only funny part of the movie is David Cross, who brings much more energy to the picture than it deserves. So why did I give it a five and not a two, I hear you ask? Because the beginning does have its moments. That, and I'm feeling generous. Overall, it may please young children, but Alvin and the Chipmunks will do little for their parents, and fans of the original cartoon looking for nostalgia will probably feel cheated. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
EpicLadySpongeDec 29, 2015
Alvin and the Chipmunks is as decent-looking as ever, but unfortunately placed a few problems in the entire movie itself including how you can't have an Alvin and the Chipmunks movie without the annoying chipmunks singing throughout the entire movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
FuturedirectorMar 15, 2016
A doody and somehow cliched picture that simply can only be enjoyed by gross viewers and children. Anyway, it's cool soundtrack and the good performances take an important part of this.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
superbatAug 5, 2016
Even though Alvin and the Chipmunks isn't the ideal animated film, it gets a 5 because it is way better than the failures that were to come. It starts off well but then towards the end it goes down the drain. A very boring and bland movie, toEven though Alvin and the Chipmunks isn't the ideal animated film, it gets a 5 because it is way better than the failures that were to come. It starts off well but then towards the end it goes down the drain. A very boring and bland movie, to be honest. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews