Miramax Films | Release Date: November 2, 2001
7.3
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 405 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
309
Mixed:
22
Negative:
74
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
nebneb5813Jan 26, 2014
Reading the less than favorable user review box has reminded me of what constitutes a good movie in America these days. People consider themselves trendy if they travel half-an-hour to view "Her" on limited release. Watching an artisticallyReading the less than favorable user review box has reminded me of what constitutes a good movie in America these days. People consider themselves trendy if they travel half-an-hour to view "Her" on limited release. Watching an artistically driven movie on their mac with English subtitles? Give me a break. I wonder if people who granted this movie a 5 or below actually booted it up expecting to be impressed. Was this reeeaaallllyyy their type of movie? I was reading one obnoxiously ignorant commenter who condemned the movie on its lack of "suspense" as if that is the backbone to all great movies. Perhaps in a blockbuster by James Cameron, but hardly at all when you scour the depths of Indie classics. Another commenter criticized the "Romantic Comedy" (it receives this genre on Wiki…seems like that's where all movies are jammed into) on its lack of humor. Personally, I found it to contain clever humor at times, but it wasn't a movie with an intention to make people howl with laughter. That would kill the whole vibe of it. Nor was it a movie that inserted jokes in left or right knowing that people would at least find a few of them funny. It was all beautifully subtle. Sorry, about the rant, but I'm sick of how people today approach a move like this one, thinking themselves intelligent by giving a positively reviewed movie bad marks, without grasping the movie's entire purpose. I guess it's comparable to when a bunch of buffoonish Americans trot into a French fine restaurant and leave with a bad taste in their mouths. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
7
DemmitriJun 24, 2011
I don't know why this movies has such a low score by the critic, but you are gonna love this movie. I just love this movie... there is a certain magic about this movie, though that does not seem to work for everybody.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
seyyedAug 17, 2016
یکی از شاهکارترین هایی که تا به حال دیدم
این فیلم رو فقط و فقط درونگرا ها درک میکنن و برونگرا ها این فیلم رو نمیفهمن
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
JohnB.Feb 5, 2007
One of the most beautiful movies I have ever seen. Everything from the acting to the directing, the soundtrack to the production design is crafted exceptionally well and put together beautifully!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
FloranV.Feb 6, 2007
Love, love, LOVE this movie! Watch it whenever I'm down, or in love, or just.. anything, really. I cannot watch it too often.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
SeanPOct 10, 2008
Just to let metacritic know: Empire magazine gave this film a 5/5.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
NeillMJul 10, 2009
Really enjoyable movie that has unique moments, lines, and actions that are hilarious, brilliant, and fun. Definitely an art movie, but easily reachable and understandable.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
JessD.Dec 8, 2006
Adorable -- you really see a change in the character Amelie and because she's so sweet you're happy for her when things work out. The criticism floating around about how it's not a real vision of contemporary paris is true Adorable -- you really see a change in the character Amelie and because she's so sweet you're happy for her when things work out. The criticism floating around about how it's not a real vision of contemporary paris is true though-- no modern city is as beautiful, happy, and white as the Paris in Amelie. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
M.DayeFeb 4, 2006
Amélie is one of the most remarkable pieces of cinema produced this millennium. Audrey Tautou is magnificent in her role as sympathetic waitress Amélie Poulain and is definitely one to watch.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
RyanD.Aug 8, 2006
This is the most unique film i have ever seen. It is in a class of its own. A great achievement.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
RachelC.Jul 18, 2007
I love this movie. Why I like it? Because, mostly of it's uniqueness, and it's such an original idea. The camera style is lovely, and even with the subtitles it made me feel thoroughly engaged. I think it depends on your I love this movie. Why I like it? Because, mostly of it's uniqueness, and it's such an original idea. The camera style is lovely, and even with the subtitles it made me feel thoroughly engaged. I think it depends on your personality on how you value this film, as I have noticed people either give it 9's or 10's, to 0's. I think you have to patient, and give it a fair chance, and if you prefer the big blockbusters then maybe you wouldn't be interested in this film. But, nevertheless, I do think some of the comments are pretty tight and harsh, and didn't give it a chance! Overall, beautiful movie. Lovely cinematography. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
SophieAug 24, 2008
An artistic movie, art in sounds colors, everything its just magic. A fairy tale that moves the world for searching happines, best movie i have seen, exciting until the very last minutes. worth watching and understanding. Perfect art movie.
2 of 3 users found this helpful
10
JennaT.Aug 24, 2008
loved it, the colors the art, the jokes. Its just exquisit, with sweet and spicy scenes, funny and inspiring. A tribute to happiness and life. If you dont get it, you just dont know what life is. Touching and perfect to the very last minute. loved it, the colors the art, the jokes. Its just exquisit, with sweet and spicy scenes, funny and inspiring. A tribute to happiness and life. If you dont get it, you just dont know what life is. Touching and perfect to the very last minute. With a balance beteen complements. Just perfect. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
JamesT.Nov 12, 2003
Life is simple... while we are chasing those material stuff, this movie brings us back to the good old days where life and job is just as simple as it is...
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
RobC.Nov 15, 2005
Simply adorable. A movie with no guns, violence, hatred, just pure indulgence of the sweet, feel good variety. Anyone who despises this film has no soul. Ok, you may not like it, but you cant hate it. Audrey Tatou is absolutely charming as a Simply adorable. A movie with no guns, violence, hatred, just pure indulgence of the sweet, feel good variety. Anyone who despises this film has no soul. Ok, you may not like it, but you cant hate it. Audrey Tatou is absolutely charming as a shy cafe worker, working her magic bringing cheer and joy into peoples lives. Its such a refreshing film to watch, cajoled along by a very Parisian soundtrack. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MarcoS.Oct 16, 2006
All the characteristics of this movie together are stronger, than when considered separated.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
BobA.Jan 17, 2006
A trite little confection, that goes out of its way to pull at our heart strings. It's cutesy, sentimental, quirky, and silly. I wanted to dislike it, but I didn't. In fact I loved it.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
P.MartaNov 9, 2006
Beautyful movie! I love Amelie!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
AndrewH.Jun 28, 2006
This is one of my all time favorite movies. Great fun.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
KatC.Oct 11, 2007
Life is so full of the ups and downs... It's refreshing for the soul the see the whimsical and magical side of life and love. To see the difference one person can make to so many. Don't look so deep into it that you lose the Life is so full of the ups and downs... It's refreshing for the soul the see the whimsical and magical side of life and love. To see the difference one person can make to so many. Don't look so deep into it that you lose the purpose of Amelie... just enjoy the moment. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
EstebanFApr 21, 2008
Horribly boring and dumb, this is a movie that tries to be what it isn't: an artistic production. After 30 minutes of it, you just want to stop. The story is just too "pink", simply too "happy" to stand it. 0 realism, dumb, it Horribly boring and dumb, this is a movie that tries to be what it isn't: an artistic production. After 30 minutes of it, you just want to stop. The story is just too "pink", simply too "happy" to stand it. 0 realism, dumb, it doesn't challenge the audience and it doesn't make you feel anything but boredom. Soul-less, failed artistic wannabe movie. Expand
3 of 8 users found this helpful
10
dudejimboJan 20, 2015
my favourite movie of all time, so this is kinda subjective. STUNNING, keeps you attached on the screen from the start to the very end and the way the life of the protagonist is told lets you emphasize a lot with her. the music from THE MANmy favourite movie of all time, so this is kinda subjective. STUNNING, keeps you attached on the screen from the start to the very end and the way the life of the protagonist is told lets you emphasize a lot with her. the music from THE MAN that is yann tiersen is perfect in every situation and the whole thing hides a lot of intelligent humor. not your classical love story. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
Quicksand10Nov 10, 2015
I can't understand why people like this movie, nor why the scores on Metacitic, IMDB, and Rotten Tomatoes are so high. Of all the movies I have watched, this one gets the title of "Most hated movie of all time".
1 of 6 users found this helpful15
All this user's reviews