Miramax Films | Release Date: November 2, 2001
7.4
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 438 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
336
Mixed:
20
Negative:
82
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Expand
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
2
RobertH.Jan 13, 2002
Terribly boring movie about a quirky character that I couldn't care less about. If you are thinkiing about seeing it - passadena!
2 of 3 users found this helpful
10
JeffreyH.Jan 17, 2002
The best film in a very long time. You leave the theatre feeling really good. Plot is simple. However, the characters are so real and entertaining, you can't help but watch in anticipation of each scene. Amelie is a masterpiece!!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
RenéH.Aug 23, 2002
*Wunderfull*
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JohnS.Nov 9, 2001
Fabuleux.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
LynneR.Sep 26, 2002
Anyone who doesn't like this movie doesn't believe in Love with a capital L. For those people, I am very sad.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
7
SamM.Jul 17, 2002
Yes, it sports a beautiful women in a beautifully shot movie. Apart from that, the story is kind of flimsy. Not bad, but not an arthouse film, where it cleverly hides. However, this film is more fun and interesting than the outrageously Yes, it sports a beautiful women in a beautifully shot movie. Apart from that, the story is kind of flimsy. Not bad, but not an arthouse film, where it cleverly hides. However, this film is more fun and interesting than the outrageously overrated Gosfard Park with a 95 at this site. So if you had to choose, Metacritic would suggest GP, but I recommend Amelie. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
4
NikkiJul 22, 2002
I can't believe people are raving about this ! I almost fell asleep during the movie. It has the most unexciting plot, SO un-exciting! WHY? WHY do people rave about this? Because it is french? Because the girl is cute?? I'm telling I can't believe people are raving about this ! I almost fell asleep during the movie. It has the most unexciting plot, SO un-exciting! WHY? WHY do people rave about this? Because it is french? Because the girl is cute?? I'm telling you, you've GOT to be kidding when you say you enjoyed this movie. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
6
AvrumNov 14, 2001
Cute. But it did not, could not?, live up to the praise it received.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
EdS.Nov 19, 2001
Very inventive and charming.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
EricS.Nov 29, 2001
Highly recommended. Exactly my type of of quirky, funny movie.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
GilbertNov 19, 2002
The only problem with this movie is that it's a little demanding on a modern audience. Specifically, it demands that they have souls.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
[Anonymous]Dec 29, 2002
Gentle and good-spirited, it's very difficult for me to find anything horribly bad to say about this film. In the (fine?) tradition of French absurdist/surreal filmmaking, this has suitably bizaare abnormalities and inexplicable Gentle and good-spirited, it's very difficult for me to find anything horribly bad to say about this film. In the (fine?) tradition of French absurdist/surreal filmmaking, this has suitably bizaare abnormalities and inexplicable shifts--nonetheless, I found myself wanting to excuse them--they also rather contribute to the movie itself. It was a delight to watch, and certainly not two hours I'm wishing desperately to have returned to me. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
AntonioN.R.Jun 17, 2002
It's very beautiful. Anyone can extract some interesting ideas in it. It's very happy and Audrey Tautou is genial.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
DudedJul 30, 2003
Amelie was a great movie! It has every thing a viewer could hope for:a great screen write, great sound, cinematogrophy, acting and more! A good movie with a great message.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
TerranceR.Apr 13, 2002
My favorite of 2001. Very clever and inventive. Lots of fun.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
AngelicaM.May 6, 2002
This movie showed the real beauty of what other countries have to offer. "I think I was in a museum" was what I thought when I got out of the theater. This movie shows the beauty of what modern movie can have and a story that only happens This movie showed the real beauty of what other countries have to offer. "I think I was in a museum" was what I thought when I got out of the theater. This movie shows the beauty of what modern movie can have and a story that only happens once in a while. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
PuddleDec 12, 2002
It's simply amazing!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
OllieT.Dec 13, 2002
Uplifting and beautiful.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
MaxP.Aug 11, 2002
This is a great looking film that takes two hours to reach an ending you knew was coming for at least an hour and a half.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KeithK.May 30, 2002
I loved it. It's really original!!! In place of a plot, director Jean-Pierre Jeunet substitutes enough weird camera angles and trick shots so that Amelie rapidly becomes a Coen Brothers movie directed by David Fincher after running out I loved it. It's really original!!! In place of a plot, director Jean-Pierre Jeunet substitutes enough weird camera angles and trick shots so that Amelie rapidly becomes a Coen Brothers movie directed by David Fincher after running out of his Ritalin prescription. All of this, however, works to perfection with the wondrous, doe-eyed performance of Tautou. After each scene, she turns to whisper a gentle aside to the camera, reminding us that no matter how weird or depressing the world is, this little imp still manages to keep her joyful, naive nature. And, because each of her whispered asides is "Zoom zoom," we don't actually need the subtitles to understand what she's saying. For more of this and other Positive Movie Reviews, see http://home.earthlink.net/~dleheny/ Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
WilliamB.Jun 16, 2002
From A to Z: Awful, Boring, Crap, Decadent, Excrement, Flimsy, Garbage, Hideous, Illicit, Junk, Kinky, Lousy, Miserable, Nonsense, Odorless, Prosaic, Queer, Rotten, Simple, Terrible, Ugly, Vicious, Wicked, ZZZZZZZ!
2 of 4 users found this helpful
0
HarryH.Apr 9, 2002
Absolute Crapola!
1 of 3 users found this helpful
1
JuleNov 25, 2001
I may have smiled about 2 seconds during the 2 hours long. Ultimately boring, mixing MTV kind of VisualFX's with awful color saturation, tedious script, hollow characters and like i said not funny at all. I am stunned by the positive I may have smiled about 2 seconds during the 2 hours long. Ultimately boring, mixing MTV kind of VisualFX's with awful color saturation, tedious script, hollow characters and like i said not funny at all. I am stunned by the positive reviews. J-P Jeunet confirms he's a joke as far as cinema is concerned. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
JanaH.May 30, 2002
Loved it. Absolutely amazing...saw it couple of times already and want to see it again. Will make your day bright and sunny and joyfull. Must see.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
MarcK.Mar 22, 2002
I can understand if people didn't love this film. I have no idea how anyone could have a strong dislike, unless they their idea of a good film is to the see the latest Arnold shoot-em-up. I was a little disappointed with the last 15 I can understand if people didn't love this film. I have no idea how anyone could have a strong dislike, unless they their idea of a good film is to the see the latest Arnold shoot-em-up. I was a little disappointed with the last 15 minutes of the film, but other than that, it was absolutely superb. Audrey Tautou deserved an Oscar nomination! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
Carol-AnnC.Feb 23, 2002
After reading mostly favorable reviews I went to see this ridiculoous film. Vladimar P. criticized Robert H for his 2 rating. Vladimar I do not know what stuff you're smoking but this movie was heartless, boring and downright ugly. What After reading mostly favorable reviews I went to see this ridiculoous film. Vladimar P. criticized Robert H for his 2 rating. Vladimar I do not know what stuff you're smoking but this movie was heartless, boring and downright ugly. What a dissapointment! Vladimar do not give up your day job. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
9
InkP.Dec 26, 2001
Wonderful. Simply wonderful moviemaking.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
PaulaW.Jan 31, 2002
Don't be put off by critics who say Amelie is too treacly. I nearly was, and I'm glad I finally saw this. Think of it this way: valentines are an art form like any other. Like the almonds in your nougat, there are enough quirks in Don't be put off by critics who say Amelie is too treacly. I nearly was, and I'm glad I finally saw this. Think of it this way: valentines are an art form like any other. Like the almonds in your nougat, there are enough quirks in the characters and enough tongue-in-cheek stylistic tricks (like the muted Technicolor palette and the deadpan narrator) to dispel any guilt I felt about enjoying this magical-realist story of a waitress who takes one great coincidence as a sign that she should start meddling in all her neighbors' unhappy lives to bring them joy. If this film can't bring a smile to the most jaded lips, then nothing will. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
GerardD.Jan 4, 2003
Jeunet's best work yet. I loved his Delicatessen... this one is just as good and should please a wider audience. The use of primary colors and quirky humor are intrinsic features of the film, unless one is color-blind or lacking a sense Jeunet's best work yet. I loved his Delicatessen... this one is just as good and should please a wider audience. The use of primary colors and quirky humor are intrinsic features of the film, unless one is color-blind or lacking a sense of humor. The film contains a message, but it doesn't beat you up with it, and it would be a cynic indeed who could disagree with the message. Recommended. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
LisaGJul 20, 2002
This movie is incredible. If you have to see one movie, go and see this one. It's amazingly sweet!!! Throughout the entire movie, that's all you can think about. Go out and watch it!! Go NOW!!! It rocks!!!
0 of 1 users found this helpful