Miramax Films | Release Date: November 2, 2001
7.4
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 438 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
336
Mixed:
20
Negative:
82
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Expand
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
ThomasW.Jan 15, 2004
A wonderious movie with clever moments wonderfull charecters and a true sense of fantasy. A rarity in films as its truely unpredictable and totaly original, theres nothing else like it.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
7
T.M.Jan 28, 2005
The visuals of this film were absolutely stunning and made me want to move to Paris. The film was also in some ways different from anything I'd ever seen and superior to typical Hollywood product. However, the story was a bit The visuals of this film were absolutely stunning and made me want to move to Paris. The film was also in some ways different from anything I'd ever seen and superior to typical Hollywood product. However, the story was a bit threadbare, and the film could have been about 25-30 minutes shorter. Audrey Tatou is one of the most charming actresses I've seen in a long time, but I'd prefer to see her in a role where she can show much more dramatic range. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
TorS.Mar 9, 2005
This is a brilliant life affirming movie where Audrey Tautou gives life to what is an extremely challenging role. There are parts of the movie that just shows you how brilliant a director Jean-Pierre Jeunet is. See it and join in this This is a brilliant life affirming movie where Audrey Tautou gives life to what is an extremely challenging role. There are parts of the movie that just shows you how brilliant a director Jean-Pierre Jeunet is. See it and join in this amazing experience. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
DianaMar 11, 2005
An original, beautyful, and funny movie. not for the average hollywood-primed attention span, i guess.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
7
DemmitriJun 24, 2011
I don't know why this movies has such a low score by the critic, but you are gonna love this movie. I just love this movie... there is a certain magic about this movie, though that does not seem to work for everybody.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
PeterWhatAug 31, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I really cannot believe there are any bad comments about this film. This movie is beautiful in every single way of beauty. The visuals are great, the story is great and the minimalism of the story is nothing but brilliant. Not even to mention the stunning soundtrack... Every person that doesn't like this movie must be one fan of those awful big Hollywood productions or those ridiculous American chick-flicks. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
9
jimmytancrediDec 1, 2011
I must confess that I am fascinated by this film . Forward to the totally uncompromising history weâ
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
GreatbealloJun 3, 2013
This was my favorite film for years, and it is still one of my favorites. The title character is one of the greatest heroines in in movie history. Audrey Tautou seems to channel a young Audrey Hepburn in this film, and her performance isThis was my favorite film for years, and it is still one of my favorites. The title character is one of the greatest heroines in in movie history. Audrey Tautou seems to channel a young Audrey Hepburn in this film, and her performance is perfect. The cinematography is beautiful, the score is masterful, and the actors are wonderful. So good. So so good. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
4
axelkochDec 26, 2012
It's odd. At some points that's nice but at some other points that makes the movie silly. I couldn't get in touch with the main character and almost any other character seems kind of deranged. It's much too long and the love story is madeIt's odd. At some points that's nice but at some other points that makes the movie silly. I couldn't get in touch with the main character and almost any other character seems kind of deranged. It's much too long and the love story is made idoticly long. A heavily overrated motion picture that only goes strong with its awesome narration, the cinematography and the fantastic soundtrack. Maybe I wasn't in the right mood for it but the romance isn't loveable at all. It's rather boring and a goony image of love and relationships between people. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
0
Quicksand10Nov 10, 2015
I can't understand why people like this movie, nor why the scores on Metacitic, IMDB, and Rotten Tomatoes are so high. Of all the movies I have watched, this one gets the title of "Most hated movie of all time".
0 of 4 users found this helpful04
All this user's reviews
10
listenlearnAug 13, 2016
One of my all time favorite movies, like rewatch every year, maybe multiple times! Love the shy character who's easy to relate to, love the music and the style and the humor!
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
MaxP.Aug 11, 2002
This is a great looking film that takes two hours to reach an ending you knew was coming for at least an hour and a half.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
Erik_ImsenFeb 4, 2013
While Amelie appeared as a true UFO in the filmmaking landscape to anyone who wasn't acquainted to Jeunet's universe, it happened to be, back in 2001, a logic evolution in the director's work after Delicatessen and The City of Lost Children.While Amelie appeared as a true UFO in the filmmaking landscape to anyone who wasn't acquainted to Jeunet's universe, it happened to be, back in 2001, a logic evolution in the director's work after Delicatessen and The City of Lost Children. Amelie is a masterpiece of "Jeunetian" optimistic poetry, that interestingly clashes with the dark poetry of his previous films yet seems to simply be the flip side of the same modern-poetic coin. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
seancriswellApr 3, 2013
Amelie is born to parents who while caring and intelligent never show her the affection children crave, and shelter her from fear that she has a heart condition. Naturally as soon as Amelie is old enough she wants to venture out into the realAmelie is born to parents who while caring and intelligent never show her the affection children crave, and shelter her from fear that she has a heart condition. Naturally as soon as Amelie is old enough she wants to venture out into the real world. She feels like an outcast but soon realizes that the people in her life feel like outcasts for one reason or another and she sets out to do the things for them they will not do for themselves to make them happy. Unless you are heartless it will be impossible for you not to find Amelie endearing, and most of us can probably relate to her insecurities in one way or another. As Amelie works through her insecurities and tries to do something to make herself happy, as well as those around her, our fondness for her grows and grows.

The title character is not the only thing that Jeunet does well in Amelie. The supporting characters are well thought out and blend perfectly in Amelie's world. This film is also beautifully shot. There are many breathtaking frames in Amelie. His use of color is also impeccable and adds much to the visual tone of this movie. The casting of Tautou can also not be overstated. She is perfect in this role, I can't imagine another actress playing her as well.

The themes in Amelie are not unique and are presented in a straight forward way. But rarely have I seen them done so well, with such an endearing character, and with the style of this film. Amelie is an endearing feel good film that I will enjoy coming back to again.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
MovieGuysSep 15, 2013
I watched Amélie with English subtitles, since I do not speak French. If I can connect and understand a movie so well, even when the dialogue spoken is in a different language, then that is the mark of true genius.

Although this is a
I watched Amélie with English subtitles, since I do not speak French. If I can connect and understand a movie so well, even when the dialogue spoken is in a different language, then that is the mark of true genius.

Although this is a foreign film, it didn't feel awkward or messy, like some other foreign films I've seen. Instead, it played out well with a moving soundtrack and beautiful cinematography. The shots of Paris were breathtaking, and the acting was very well done. Love was in the air in this film, with some very funny and erotic scenes entailing. The dialogue, although in French, was still very well-spoken and had a sharp wit to it. I don't want to give more away if I don't have to, so I'll just say don't take your kids to this film until they're at least 16 or so
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
juliankennedy23Sep 9, 2014
Amelie: 6 out of 10: Sweet, light and sometimes a little irritating this strangely adult fable starts out very strong and sinks under the weight of it's too cute for words protagonist and her self made predicament. Amelie is a strange birdAmelie: 6 out of 10: Sweet, light and sometimes a little irritating this strangely adult fable starts out very strong and sinks under the weight of it's too cute for words protagonist and her self made predicament. Amelie is a strange bird indeed. She seems initially one of those wonderfully original creations but as time in the movie marches on it becomes obvious. She is a twelve-year-old girl in a woman's body.

Yup she has silly crushes plays silly pranks and a vivid imagination. In fact one could very much see her being played by a twelve year old. This would work perfectly if the movie wasn't so jarringly adult in other ways. (Amelie's quest works in a porn shop, people having hook-up sex in a daytime café)

It is more of a tone issue than any objection to adult content. (As a glance at most of my other reviews will testify.) Also like most twelve-year olds Amelie pulls pranks and games a little to long. (After the 2-hour mark or so I was practically screaming at the screen to get on with it)

Now don't get me wrong the first hour or so is one of the most delightful screen experiences. I loved the traveling gnome (which started a fad that lives on today) and liked the obsessive tape recording man in café.

It also shows a true fantasy version of Paris like You've You Mail's New York. In fact when Amelie is helping others rather than on her own quest the movie seems to move briskly and with purpose.

It is only in her pursuit of love that Amelie fails as both a person and a movie. Just like most twelve-year-old girls.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
wawanDec 14, 2014
Somehow I don't have any words to speak. But I just know one thing that this is the great-comedy movie. Unique, but so touchable. The movie what The critic called it "The Real Sugar Rush" is mixing something that very very irrational thingSomehow I don't have any words to speak. But I just know one thing that this is the great-comedy movie. Unique, but so touchable. The movie what The critic called it "The Real Sugar Rush" is mixing something that very very irrational thing but somehow it wasn't. Amelie Poulan always make me so reasonable to choose what the next scene will come, but she make it nothing and that was always make me mad but I don't know, I feel happy and the same time I laugh. Why? Because that was always hard to catch what exactly I expected what the next scene will come. The movie always real but somehow it's not.
Well, Amelie is the great quality comedy film, because it serve something unique and different with all of its fun and its bearing on all the appearing. The movie brake the usual in the world of comedy film facade.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
dudejimboJan 20, 2015
my favourite movie of all time, so this is kinda subjective. STUNNING, keeps you attached on the screen from the start to the very end and the way the life of the protagonist is told lets you emphasize a lot with her. the music from THE MANmy favourite movie of all time, so this is kinda subjective. STUNNING, keeps you attached on the screen from the start to the very end and the way the life of the protagonist is told lets you emphasize a lot with her. the music from THE MAN that is yann tiersen is perfect in every situation and the whole thing hides a lot of intelligent humor. not your classical love story. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
moslegend34Jun 5, 2015
That scene at Sacre Coeur... even if I'm haven't been terribly fond of romantic movies, this was an absolute treasure to behold. The director uses a dazzling combination of cut shots, frank narration, a wonderfully varied score as well as anThat scene at Sacre Coeur... even if I'm haven't been terribly fond of romantic movies, this was an absolute treasure to behold. The director uses a dazzling combination of cut shots, frank narration, a wonderfully varied score as well as an intricate plot to deliver a spellbinding experience. Sprinkled with unpredictable dashes of humour and cynicism, viewers of all nationalities should enjoy this post 2000 French masterpiece.
'Le destin d'amelie poulain' has reached dizzying heights bien sur.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
SpangleJun 7, 2015
Fast paced, whimsical, enchanting, and an all around pleasure to watch, Amelie is a little feel good film that you cannot help but watch with a smile on your face. With quick cuts, lively editing, and an all around frenetic pace, AmelieFast paced, whimsical, enchanting, and an all around pleasure to watch, Amelie is a little feel good film that you cannot help but watch with a smile on your face. With quick cuts, lively editing, and an all around frenetic pace, Amelie whisks you into the world of Amelie, a lonely girl living outside of Paris. After discovering a small box belonging to a boy 40 years earlier, she seeks out the owner. Eventually, she continues to do nice things for random people, never seeking recognition, but simply wanting to watch a stranger smile and be happy for once. A shining light in a dark world, Amelie also manages to make its audience smile. It is just as funny as it needs to be, but is entirely heart warming throughout. It is also really well made. It is well shot, the colors are so lively and seem to really pop in this film, the direction is strong, and the acting is really good. Overall, Amelie is a fun film straight from France that never ceases to entertain. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
RobertBroganSep 27, 2015
Amelie is a film romantics and dreamers can love. It gives the sense that life can be something more throughout the film and here the plot, the effects, the music, and the vibe go great together. Amelie is a peculiar film, very French, and IAmelie is a film romantics and dreamers can love. It gives the sense that life can be something more throughout the film and here the plot, the effects, the music, and the vibe go great together. Amelie is a peculiar film, very French, and I cannot think of anything that was missing from it; heartily recommended. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
PetitBikiniJan 1, 2016
I loved absolutely everything about "Amélie". Whenever I think about it or listen to its soundtrack (which is THE best soundtrack ever created for film) I just smile and become strangely happy.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
EpicLadySpongeApr 6, 2016
For such a foreign film, no one can perfectly understand Amélie more than the average critic or moviegoer. The title character does seem to be creepy at times because 'she'll change your life' and if I can add more words into there, it'll beFor such a foreign film, no one can perfectly understand Amélie more than the average critic or moviegoer. The title character does seem to be creepy at times because 'she'll change your life' and if I can add more words into there, it'll be forever. If you're going to watch this movie, stay aware that any of the scenarios in this movie can change your life instantly. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
seyyedAug 17, 2016
یکی از شاهکارترین هایی که تا به حال دیدم
این فیلم رو فقط و فقط درونگرا ها درک میکنن و برونگرا ها این فیلم رو نمیفهمن
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews