Miramax Films | Release Date: November 2, 2001
7.4
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 440 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
338
Mixed:
20
Negative:
82
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Expand
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
GerardD.Jan 4, 2003
Jeunet's best work yet. I loved his Delicatessen... this one is just as good and should please a wider audience. The use of primary colors and quirky humor are intrinsic features of the film, unless one is color-blind or lacking a sense Jeunet's best work yet. I loved his Delicatessen... this one is just as good and should please a wider audience. The use of primary colors and quirky humor are intrinsic features of the film, unless one is color-blind or lacking a sense of humor. The film contains a message, but it doesn't beat you up with it, and it would be a cynic indeed who could disagree with the message. Recommended. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
7
CarmenB.Mar 5, 2002
Cute, funny, entertaining but no more than that.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
BjornS.Apr 13, 2002
I just love this movie... there is a certain magic about this movie, though that does not seem to work for everybody.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
AkseliE.Apr 3, 2002
I almost lost my belief in good movies while watching all that Hollywood crap. I just didn't get it until it hit me with a cricket bat. Hey, best movies are made in Europe. No American movies ever again after I saw this! HAHAHA! :)
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
DarrellS.Jul 16, 2002
I had to see this in our 'Art House' theatre as no 'real' house had it. Incredible! Amelie puts a hot stick in the eye of American filmmaking and shows how at least somewhere (France), the Art of film is still alive and I had to see this in our 'Art House' theatre as no 'real' house had it. Incredible! Amelie puts a hot stick in the eye of American filmmaking and shows how at least somewhere (France), the Art of film is still alive and not sold out to 'money machine' cinema. It follows the heart, not the formula. Thank god someone cares more about entertaining and not just a 'bottom line'. Kudos! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
LisaGJul 20, 2002
This movie is incredible. If you have to see one movie, go and see this one. It's amazingly sweet!!! Throughout the entire movie, that's all you can think about. Go out and watch it!! Go NOW!!! It rocks!!!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JoyAug 30, 2002
This film was absolutely enchanting! It was completely different from anything I'd ever seen before....It brought out the beauty of life's simple questions--those little, curious things you notice but never find a way to express. I This film was absolutely enchanting! It was completely different from anything I'd ever seen before....It brought out the beauty of life's simple questions--those little, curious things you notice but never find a way to express. I loved it! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
1
JuleNov 25, 2001
I may have smiled about 2 seconds during the 2 hours long. Ultimately boring, mixing MTV kind of VisualFX's with awful color saturation, tedious script, hollow characters and like i said not funny at all. I am stunned by the positive I may have smiled about 2 seconds during the 2 hours long. Ultimately boring, mixing MTV kind of VisualFX's with awful color saturation, tedious script, hollow characters and like i said not funny at all. I am stunned by the positive reviews. J-P Jeunet confirms he's a joke as far as cinema is concerned. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
S.IsekinJan 11, 2002
It puts a smile on my face and keeps my cynicism in check for a few hours.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
NancyL.Jan 3, 2002
I'm usually not big about foreign films (hated "Crouching Tiger"...), but this was utterly charming, amusing and endearing. An absolutely and thoroughly enjoyable movie watching experience. I may even get my husband to watch this one I'm usually not big about foreign films (hated "Crouching Tiger"...), but this was utterly charming, amusing and endearing. An absolutely and thoroughly enjoyable movie watching experience. I may even get my husband to watch this one (I'll see it again!). Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
RobertoL.Mar 16, 2002
I go to the movies to be entertained. What was this movie? I would best describe it as a documentary comedy on a bunch of losers who I had absolutely no feeling for? Reading some of your reviews, I think that those of you who liked this I go to the movies to be entertained. What was this movie? I would best describe it as a documentary comedy on a bunch of losers who I had absolutely no feeling for? Reading some of your reviews, I think that those of you who liked this garbage would probably enjoy watching paint dry or moss grow on a rock. Simply a horrible movie. I know I just don't get. Guess what? I'm glad! Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful
1
JaredH.Apr 1, 2002
Terrible movie about some very depressing characters. Amelie wants him - hides from him - wants him - doesn't want him - meddles in other peoples lives and so on. Who cares?
2 of 3 users found this helpful
9
KeithK.May 30, 2002
I loved it. It's really original!!! In place of a plot, director Jean-Pierre Jeunet substitutes enough weird camera angles and trick shots so that Amelie rapidly becomes a Coen Brothers movie directed by David Fincher after running out I loved it. It's really original!!! In place of a plot, director Jean-Pierre Jeunet substitutes enough weird camera angles and trick shots so that Amelie rapidly becomes a Coen Brothers movie directed by David Fincher after running out of his Ritalin prescription. All of this, however, works to perfection with the wondrous, doe-eyed performance of Tautou. After each scene, she turns to whisper a gentle aside to the camera, reminding us that no matter how weird or depressing the world is, this little imp still manages to keep her joyful, naive nature. And, because each of her whispered asides is "Zoom zoom," we don't actually need the subtitles to understand what she's saying. For more of this and other Positive Movie Reviews, see http://home.earthlink.net/~dleheny/ Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
AngelicaM.May 6, 2002
This movie showed the real beauty of what other countries have to offer. "I think I was in a museum" was what I thought when I got out of the theater. This movie shows the beauty of what modern movie can have and a story that only happens This movie showed the real beauty of what other countries have to offer. "I think I was in a museum" was what I thought when I got out of the theater. This movie shows the beauty of what modern movie can have and a story that only happens once in a while. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
WilliamB.Jun 16, 2002
From A to Z: Awful, Boring, Crap, Decadent, Excrement, Flimsy, Garbage, Hideous, Illicit, Junk, Kinky, Lousy, Miserable, Nonsense, Odorless, Prosaic, Queer, Rotten, Simple, Terrible, Ugly, Vicious, Wicked, ZZZZZZZ!
2 of 4 users found this helpful
10
MattR.Jul 16, 2002
Anachronisms and golden-age nostalgia notwithstanding, this is a great film.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
7
SamM.Jul 17, 2002
Yes, it sports a beautiful women in a beautifully shot movie. Apart from that, the story is kind of flimsy. Not bad, but not an arthouse film, where it cleverly hides. However, this film is more fun and interesting than the outrageously Yes, it sports a beautiful women in a beautifully shot movie. Apart from that, the story is kind of flimsy. Not bad, but not an arthouse film, where it cleverly hides. However, this film is more fun and interesting than the outrageously overrated Gosfard Park with a 95 at this site. So if you had to choose, Metacritic would suggest GP, but I recommend Amelie. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
4
NikkiJul 22, 2002
I can't believe people are raving about this ! I almost fell asleep during the movie. It has the most unexciting plot, SO un-exciting! WHY? WHY do people rave about this? Because it is french? Because the girl is cute?? I'm telling I can't believe people are raving about this ! I almost fell asleep during the movie. It has the most unexciting plot, SO un-exciting! WHY? WHY do people rave about this? Because it is french? Because the girl is cute?? I'm telling you, you've GOT to be kidding when you say you enjoyed this movie. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
9
RenéH.Aug 23, 2002
*Wunderfull*
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
LolaAug 30, 2002
If you didn't like this film, then you didn't "get it." You might try again... It's absolutely mind-opening.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MerriolB.Aug 7, 2002
I rented this movie, finished watching it + immediately went + bought it!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
DudedJul 30, 2003
Amelie was a great movie! It has every thing a viewer could hope for:a great screen write, great sound, cinematogrophy, acting and more! A good movie with a great message.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
BenW.Sep 7, 2003
Breezy, bouncy fun that will put a smile on your face and brighten your disposition. :)
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
GaborA.Sep 7, 2004
Terrible. There isnt a reedeming element to this movie. No drama, no scares, no laughs (i mean anything that is actually funny), no themes, no good dialogue, and no suspense. And no "oh my god, is she going to talk to him?" does not qualify Terrible. There isnt a reedeming element to this movie. No drama, no scares, no laughs (i mean anything that is actually funny), no themes, no good dialogue, and no suspense. And no "oh my god, is she going to talk to him?" does not qualify as suspense. Amelie would have made a decent music video, or maybe a short. But two hours of watching a shy girl fumble around Paris is simply unbearable. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful
10
IchiK.Jul 11, 2005
Inspirational, quirky and poignant. A fantastic film.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
DarrenM.Jul 1, 2005
So good I named my daughter Amelie.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JohnB.Feb 5, 2007
One of the most beautiful movies I have ever seen. Everything from the acting to the directing, the soundtrack to the production design is crafted exceptionally well and put together beautifully!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
FloranV.Feb 6, 2007
Love, love, LOVE this movie! Watch it whenever I'm down, or in love, or just.. anything, really. I cannot watch it too often.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
SeanPOct 10, 2008
Just to let metacritic know: Empire magazine gave this film a 5/5.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
NeillMJul 10, 2009
Really enjoyable movie that has unique moments, lines, and actions that are hilarious, brilliant, and fun. Definitely an art movie, but easily reachable and understandable.
0 of 1 users found this helpful