Amélie

Amélie Image
Metascore
69

Generally favorable reviews - based on 31 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 423 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: ,
  • Summary: Amélie, a young waitress in a tiny Parisian café, discovers an old box of childhood treasures hidden beneath her apartment floorboards which leads her on an odyssey to transform the lives of her neighbors, and perhaps even her own.

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 31
  2. Negative: 1 out of 31
  1. 100
    Joyous. This is a film that will put a goofy grin on your face from the opening frame, through to the credits, out into the lobby, the whole way home, and possibly even till you fall asleep.
  2. This is the Paris -- and the mad, beautiful young Parisienne -- we look for in dreams.
  3. 90
    Amelie is joie de vivre in a nougat.
  4. Reviewed by: Lisa Nesselson
    80
    Fresh, funny, exquisitely bittersweet tour de force.
  5. A charmer, a movie whose embrace of cinema is so passionate it could be mistaken for an embrace of life.
  6. Whether you're charmed or bored by the movie depends entirely on your feelings for Amelie, a young woman whose hyper-quirky personality both takes some getting used to and grows old fast.
  7. 20
    Sucks -- because it's a frenetic bore that insists on its audience's adoration while making no demands upon their intelligence.

See all 31 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 14 out of 124
  1. Sophie
    Aug 24, 2008
    10
    An artistic movie, art in sounds colors, everything its just magic. A fairy tale that moves the world for searching happines, best movie i An artistic movie, art in sounds colors, everything its just magic. A fairy tale that moves the world for searching happines, best movie i have seen, exciting until the very last minutes. worth watching and understanding. Perfect art movie. Expand
  2. FloranV.
    Feb 6, 2007
    10
    Love, love, LOVE this movie! Watch it whenever I'm down, or in love, or just.. anything, really. I cannot watch it too often.
  3. Jan 20, 2015
    10
    my favourite movie of all time, so this is kinda subjective. STUNNING, keeps you attached on the screen from the start to the very end and themy favourite movie of all time, so this is kinda subjective. STUNNING, keeps you attached on the screen from the start to the very end and the way the life of the protagonist is told lets you emphasize a lot with her. the music from THE MAN that is yann tiersen is perfect in every situation and the whole thing hides a lot of intelligent humor. not your classical love story. Expand
  4. Dec 1, 2011
    9
    I must confess that I am fascinated by this film . Forward to the totally uncompromising history weâ
  5. Jan 19, 2011
    9
    A simple story, the interesting characters, delightful music, and interesting visual effects. I think it's safe to say thatA simple story, the interesting characters, delightful music, and interesting visual effects. I think it's safe to say that Amélie is a wonderful movie in every regard. Expand
  6. Jan 26, 2014
    8
    Reading the less than favorable user review box has reminded me of what constitutes a good movie in America these days. People considerReading the less than favorable user review box has reminded me of what constitutes a good movie in America these days. People consider themselves trendy if they travel half-an-hour to view "Her" on limited release. Watching an artistically driven movie on their mac with English subtitles? Give me a break. I wonder if people who granted this movie a 5 or below actually booted it up expecting to be impressed. Was this reeeaaallllyyy their type of movie? I was reading one obnoxiously ignorant commenter who condemned the movie on its lack of "suspense" as if that is the backbone to all great movies. Perhaps in a blockbuster by James Cameron, but hardly at all when you scour the depths of Indie classics. Another commenter criticized the "Romantic Comedy" (it receives this genre on Wiki…seems like that's where all movies are jammed into) on its lack of humor. Personally, I found it to contain clever humor at times, but it wasn't a movie with an intention to make people howl with laughter. That would kill the whole vibe of it. Nor was it a movie that inserted jokes in left or right knowing that people would at least find a few of them funny. It was all beautifully subtle. Sorry, about the rant, but I'm sick of how people today approach a move like this one, thinking themselves intelligent by giving a positively reviewed movie bad marks, without grasping the movie's entire purpose. I guess it's comparable to when a bunch of buffoonish Americans trot into a French fine restaurant and leave with a bad taste in their mouths. Expand
  7. Nov 10, 2015
    0
    I can't understand why people like this movie, nor why the scores on Metacitic, IMDB, and Rotten Tomatoes are so high. Of all the movies II can't understand why people like this movie, nor why the scores on Metacitic, IMDB, and Rotten Tomatoes are so high. Of all the movies I have watched, this one gets the title of "Most hated movie of all time". Expand

See all 124 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. What to Watch Now on Netflix

    What to Watch Now on Netflix Image
    Published: August 26, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Netflix streaming, updated frequently. You can also find a list of titles expiring soon.
  2. Film Friday (8/26): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (8/26): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: August 26, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at Kenneth Lonergan's Manchester by the Sea, Damien Chazelle’s La La Land, Adam Wingard's Blair Witch, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.
  3. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: August 24, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Don't Breathe, Hands of Stone, Southside With You, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.
  4. What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video

    What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video Image
    Published: August 23, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Amazon Instant Video and Prime Instant Video, updated frequently.