Columbia Pictures | Release Date: December 13, 2013
7.3
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 1225 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
909
Mixed:
186
Negative:
130
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
2
subseqDec 21, 2013
You are kidding me. This movie is one of the best? Odds-on favorite for best picture? Who are these professional reviewers? Ahh, yes, they are of that postmodernist breed who like nonsense disguised as cinematic art. Sorry, but this was aYou are kidding me. This movie is one of the best? Odds-on favorite for best picture? Who are these professional reviewers? Ahh, yes, they are of that postmodernist breed who like nonsense disguised as cinematic art. Sorry, but this was a mess. To start you had three character narration tracks, Irving, Richie, and Sydney all had their turns--a director's shot at cutting-edge experimentation that was just stupid. Then there was the uneven smattering of Pulp Fiction-like time exploitation which just made it disjointed. The main blight was this now typical fixation with showcasing people doing stunningly insipid things then forcing us to gaze at others trying to cope in wildly emotional ways. This drives me crazy. The attempt at some penetrating authenticity with mere random and painfully distended melodrama was so contrived I just want to puke at the screen. You saw the same thing with Silver Linings Playbook and I hated that movie for the same reason. Yet I keep reading how David O. Russell is so wonderful, so I thought I'd give him another chance and see if this would be different. It wasn't. It gets a "2" rating because it did get tepidly interesting with the mob involvement there for a bit, as well as some of the con artist twists. Other than that, boorishly silly to the hilt Expand
22 of 41 users found this helpful2219
All this user's reviews
0
sodlidDec 26, 2013
The critics that ruined my Christmas. It would have been hard to live up the all the reviews, but this movie was boring. It's not a 1, but certainly not a 10. There was no buzz leaving the theaters, and the discussion in the car was howThe critics that ruined my Christmas. It would have been hard to live up the all the reviews, but this movie was boring. It's not a 1, but certainly not a 10. There was no buzz leaving the theaters, and the discussion in the car was how silly the plot was. The characters would have been better served in a Saturday Night Live skit. They were all kind of over the top and silly. Expand
16 of 45 users found this helpful1629
All this user's reviews
1
xcalumFeb 23, 2014
One of the worst films I've seen in theaters. The characters were completely unlikeable, I wasn't sure if I should root for the cop or the crooks, the story was boring and I didn't see a point to Louie CK and Jennifer Lawrence even beingOne of the worst films I've seen in theaters. The characters were completely unlikeable, I wasn't sure if I should root for the cop or the crooks, the story was boring and I didn't see a point to Louie CK and Jennifer Lawrence even being there. It seemed like they were there just because they were big names and not because they fit the role.

If it wasn't for Bale and Amy Adams the movie would have been a complete wash. I almost left the theater twice during the movie and I only stayed to find out how it ended for Bale and Adams.
Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
0
sparrow173Apr 19, 2014
Trying to rip off Karen from Goodfellas.....badly! I can't for the life of me understand how this film got such good reviews. Bad. Just BAD.

The plot of this film started as one thing and ended in another but tried to make out a kind of
Trying to rip off Karen from Goodfellas.....badly! I can't for the life of me understand how this film got such good reviews. Bad. Just BAD.

The plot of this film started as one thing and ended in another but tried to make out a kind of Usual Suspects twist at the end. Rubbish pure rubbish.
Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
3
dierregiFeb 16, 2014
The very messy plot should be about a convoluted scam played by a couple of swindlers, “forced” to work for the FBI. The swindlers happen to be Irving (Bale) and Sydney (Adams), also involved in a torrid extramarital affair. Irving isThe very messy plot should be about a convoluted scam played by a couple of swindlers, “forced” to work for the FBI. The swindlers happen to be Irving (Bale) and Sydney (Adams), also involved in a torrid extramarital affair. Irving is married to Rosalyn (Lawrence) a single mum, whose son he adopted. Like most married men, he stalling divorce because the “child would suffer”.

Irving and Sydney get busted by Richie (Cooper) an ambitious FBI agent who forces them to get bigger fish into the agency net. Or, at least this should be the plot, because it gets derailed in all directions, none of which even remotely interesting.

It feels like the whole movie is a scam played on the audience, starting with Lawrence. I understand that she is the present ”Hollywood-IT-hot” girl, but her part is bloated out of proportion, when her character was at best a marginal one.

She is constantly on screen, shouting all her lines and going on endlessly about her relationship with Irving. Who cares? I wanted to see a movie about a hustle, not a dysfunctional couple in action, especially when their dysfunctions are not the core of the plot. We also get plenty of the Sydney-Richie relationship (and again, who cares?)

Everybody is exceedingly verbose, and situations that would require at most 30 seconds of screen time drag on for several minutes. Even considered as a “character study”, the movie still does not work.

Besides, the “moral” of the story is a murky one and an additional joke played on the audience: whoever makes more money (regardless of their methods) is smarter than anybody holding an honest job.
Corrupted politicians are portrayed as minor offenders, dealing dirty deeds for the good of the community. Richie is played as a fool, while mediocre Irving and Sydney are glorified as first-class tricksters. Even dumb and insufferable Rosalyn gets a happy ending of her own

The best thing about American Hustle is the 70’s atmosphere, with some amazingly tacky clothes and a good soundtrack, but it is definitely not enough to save the movie. Unbelievable to think this mess got 10 Oscars nominations….
Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
1
VivienlawJan 5, 2014
Thought this film was utter rubbish, yes acting was good but with little plot to go with. Took ages to get going and sadly never did. If this wins any awards I am at a loss as to what people find entertaining
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
3
jackophantJan 25, 2014
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A movie perhaps for the bored cinefiles of the world, American Hustle is a convoluted mess with little direction and so much plot that it makes your head spin. It is different, in that David O'Russell way that might have worked for Silver Linings Playbook but fails when it aims for too much. It has some great actors, who give it their all but that doesn't really matter when the audience has no idea of what they're doing or why they're doing it. To give you an idea of what this movie is, I'll say the best part is when Robert De Niro briefly shows up for three minutes and reminds us all of how great Goodfellas and Casino were. For the rest of the movie I sat asking myself a few questions like: What is going on? Shouldn't this be considered entrapment? Man, Amy Adams nipples have been dangerously close to a wardrobe malfunction for like two hours, why does she only wear that one type of v-neck? Seriously, did they just glue her clothes to her nips or something? When will it ever end?'
The only redeeming factor to this movie is that it's not the typical, it goes its own way and does its own thing and I'll give it props for that. I just don't think American Hustle is an enjoyable movie.
Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
0
CikJan 26, 2014
Linear, predictable and mundane move. Maybe, maybe a decent rental, but not a rewarding movie at all, and certainly any comparisons to Pulp Fiction are grossly exaggerated.
6 of 12 users found this helpful66
All this user's reviews
0
lalolandasimpsoFeb 11, 2014
David. O Russell thinks he is a better director than he really is, and this movie is the biggest evidence of this. The only notable is Amy Adam's performance, but American Hustle is in my opinion a boring, superficial and totally overrated film.
6 of 12 users found this helpful66
All this user's reviews
3
SusanmetacriticDec 31, 2013
My comment is also in the red zone. I thought AH was a very bad rip off of Goodfellas-but with no humor, no likable characters, no attractiveness in any of the characters (not actual actors) save a few scenes with Jennifer Lawrence whoMy comment is also in the red zone. I thought AH was a very bad rip off of Goodfellas-but with no humor, no likable characters, no attractiveness in any of the characters (not actual actors) save a few scenes with Jennifer Lawrence who wasn't given much in the way of dialogue to work with. I was hoping there would be a great soundtrack to at least jump us from scene to scene, but that wasn't even included as promised. It was just too cold outside and too late at night to motivate my daughter or myself to get up and face the freezing walk to the car, so we stayed "hoping for a moment that just don't come" I didn't believe the plot, the dialogue, the characters..it just seemed like the most contrived attempt at art I've seen in a long time. I would have been better off watching the alleged porn in the next theater aka Wolf of Wall Street. Bummer! Expand
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
2
kecaramJan 4, 2014
Did not live up to the hype. If you liked Silver Linings Playbook (I'm sorry for you if you did), and are a Jennifer Lawrence fan you'll probably like this movie. If, like myself, you do not find yourself in that camp, American Hustle is notDid not live up to the hype. If you liked Silver Linings Playbook (I'm sorry for you if you did), and are a Jennifer Lawrence fan you'll probably like this movie. If, like myself, you do not find yourself in that camp, American Hustle is not worth your time. Unmemorable plot and characters, passably acted at best, and slow (oh god is it slow). Upsides are Christian Bale's performance (funny, nuanced, highly-committed) and the soundtrack. Expand
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
3
axelkochMar 2, 2014
The vast majority of critics and (thus?) moviegoers reacted differently, but I actually consider American Hustle to be an effective argument against improvisation in films. Because, whereas I’m a great fan of it when it’s executed amusinglyThe vast majority of critics and (thus?) moviegoers reacted differently, but I actually consider American Hustle to be an effective argument against improvisation in films. Because, whereas I’m a great fan of it when it’s executed amusingly by talented stand-up comedians, unscripted babble can thoroughly blacken a film’s quality – and that’s exactly what happened with this one. Granted, it does have good-looking costumes and set design as well as fine cinematography and editing, and if you find joy in the over the top of over the top portrayal of characters– well, go ahead, watch it. I just think that most of the people claiming to like the film are being overtly pretentious and following critics’ opinions, since American Hustle is a surprisingly boring, annoyingly ridiculous, and not anywhere close to funny film. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
3
SoapertJan 26, 2014
This movie was a mess. It tried to set up a plot that never ended up happening. The pacing was very slow which would be fine if there was any reward for the two hours of pointlessness required to endure.It wasn't even particularly stylish. OnThis movie was a mess. It tried to set up a plot that never ended up happening. The pacing was very slow which would be fine if there was any reward for the two hours of pointlessness required to endure.It wasn't even particularly stylish. On top of that Jennifer Lawrence's accent was absolutely brutal and most of the time non-existent. Metacritic is usually fairly accurate with their scores but this one is miles off. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
3
Clean_ReviewFeb 2, 2014
American Hustle is a somewhat uneven movie with disappointing and entertaining parts. The movie sagged in the middle with a tangled plot. Performances were generally good, although some seemed like a rehash from last year's Silver LiningsAmerican Hustle is a somewhat uneven movie with disappointing and entertaining parts. The movie sagged in the middle with a tangled plot. Performances were generally good, although some seemed like a rehash from last year's Silver Linings Playbook. Overall, American Hustle is not a particularly memorable movie. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
1
boggerJan 10, 2014
I just dont get the critics rave reviews. I thought it had an unoriginal scripts with poorly written characters and even poorer dialogue. Stuffing a film with big name movie starts seems to be inversely related to how good the film is.
None
I just dont get the critics rave reviews. I thought it had an unoriginal scripts with poorly written characters and even poorer dialogue. Stuffing a film with big name movie starts seems to be inversely related to how good the film is.
None of it was believable - the romantic interludes didn't work as all characters involved were unlovable. One cop battering another cop with a phone to get arrests - nah.
Not a good film.
Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
2
RlindaJan 12, 2014
I agree with the other reviewers who found this film profoundly boring. I couldn't make it even half-way through before walking out. I also felt it was trying so hard to be another Good Fellas but it didn't come close. In one scene, theyI agree with the other reviewers who found this film profoundly boring. I couldn't make it even half-way through before walking out. I also felt it was trying so hard to be another Good Fellas but it didn't come close. In one scene, they showed the outside of the Chelsea Hotel in NYC and then they cut to an interior shot, presumably inside that hotel. They made it look like a nice hotel. I can vouch that the Chelsea Hotel was a fleabag hotel in the late 70s because I stayed there for one night in 1980. We couldn't stand more than one night and scrambled to a safer, cleaner hotel for the rest of our stay.

Bottom line: Save your money
Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
1
lensmanJan 12, 2014
There's no denying the acting chops of Bale, Adams & Lawrence. However, that their talents were put to the service of this absolute mess of a "story" is a misfortune for them, the entire viewing audience - and especially these actors' fans. IThere's no denying the acting chops of Bale, Adams & Lawrence. However, that their talents were put to the service of this absolute mess of a "story" is a misfortune for them, the entire viewing audience - and especially these actors' fans. I lasted 65 minutes. As my stomach began to churn with more agitation, I chose to walk out - and was happy to do so. I read the rest of the plot details at Wikipedia and apparently the mess I saw only got much worse. My dissatisfaction is not just personal, but for all of us in the movie-viewing public, that we should be offered as entertainment a made-up tale of moral recklessness. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
0
NAQURATORApr 2, 2014
I came in to this movie thinking I was going to see a real badass gangster movie about hustlers. can't give more then 0 because I couldn't finish it. This is the story of a pathetic man that robs people of 5000 dollars, in my eyes this isn'tI came in to this movie thinking I was going to see a real badass gangster movie about hustlers. can't give more then 0 because I couldn't finish it. This is the story of a pathetic man that robs people of 5000 dollars, in my eyes this isn't a hustler. Bad title, bad story and just overall bad, can't seem to find the reason this movie gets a score that high from critics, together with frozen probably the most misleading scores of critics this year, can't finish either movie and they have more then 7? everyone has a right to an opinion but this 10? What, you people have not seen any movie the past 10 years? Just watch silver linings playbook, a lot of the same actors, 10x better story (and I don't like romantic movies!!), IN WHAT WORLD WOULD THIS MOVIE BE WORTHY OF AN OSCAR? Even 47 ronin was more entertaining and man that movie sucked, but at least I could finish it Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
3
charles19Apr 6, 2014
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This movie is cynical, vacuous and depressing. The critics are really wrong about this one! The main character is so unlovable. Which is why the ending really irked me. Con-artists don't become good people all of a sudden, and ride off into the sunset enjoying a conventional and moral existence. Yes, perhaps he had some redeeming qualities, but no leopard changes their spots like that. Oh, did I mention that this movie is cynical, vacuous and depressing? Except for the ending, which is just silly. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
3
diegocampMar 26, 2014
Oh my god!! What a BORING movie!!! I don´t understand what´s the Oscars fuzz about!! Some of the characters are OK, and some even suck. The plot is more of the same, nothing original here. The good things about this are the makeup, clothes,Oh my god!! What a BORING movie!!! I don´t understand what´s the Oscars fuzz about!! Some of the characters are OK, and some even suck. The plot is more of the same, nothing original here. The good things about this are the makeup, clothes, style, and of course Christian Bale´s great performance. The rest of the cast got nothing compared to him. But apart from this, this movie really sucks... Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
2
skykappahMar 15, 2014
What the? Really? I'll make it short.. Overrated beyond belief.. The acting isn't all that and deservedly never won anything at the Oscars. I really don't know what kind of back room deal was going on with the Hollywood clique.. But this isWhat the? Really? I'll make it short.. Overrated beyond belief.. The acting isn't all that and deservedly never won anything at the Oscars. I really don't know what kind of back room deal was going on with the Hollywood clique.. But this is in no way a good film. Waste of time. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
2
allan_treebeardJan 16, 2014
American Hustle is the only movie I have ever seen where I felt like walking out of the cinema. There were a couple of scenes that made me smile or laugh but overall the whole film was dire, a sort of dull shade of grey and blandnessAmerican Hustle is the only movie I have ever seen where I felt like walking out of the cinema. There were a couple of scenes that made me smile or laugh but overall the whole film was dire, a sort of dull shade of grey and blandness throughout. I can't even put my finger on what was so bad about it I just know I did'nt enjoy it one bit. It kind of reminded me of a Guy Ritchie movie...but with all the interesting bits taken out. Even the "twist" or "how they did" moment at the end just didnt grab me, it just felt very "oh..." Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
3
victoratorJan 22, 2014
This movie is so overrated. It is not funny nor the story is interesting. I have no clue why it is considered to be so good. It deserves 5/10 at most.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
1
tarsy8893Jan 14, 2014
The plot of this film in no way lives up to it's marketing. The acting was excellent, but that ultimately could not sway me from the excruciatingly unrealistic characters, their relationships, and the way they move the plot forward. For aThe plot of this film in no way lives up to it's marketing. The acting was excellent, but that ultimately could not sway me from the excruciatingly unrealistic characters, their relationships, and the way they move the plot forward. For a film made to attract audiences that are expecting sex and violence and cliche and humour and drama and cunning... it is a crash and burn failure. No sex. At all. No violence. At all. Little attempt at humour. Honestly, awful film. Collapse
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
3
robel43Jan 26, 2014
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I saw American Hustle after reading the positive reviews of the Media after all the nominations received for the Oscar Awards but I was very disappointed for the following reasons:
- the movie tries unsuccessfully to move between comedy and a serious story
- they said that it was based on a true story Arabscam (or s similar name) but most of the facts seem totally unrealistic and difficult to happen, such as advancing money to receive a loan from UK in the '70 ties or Arabs investing in US in gambling in the same historical period
- in the movie there are many inconsistencies. For example De Niro discovers that the Arab doesn't understand the arab language and there is no consequence?
If it is based on a true story I would like to know exactly what happened to see if the erratic behavior of many characters really took place.
The acting is OK, except for the poor appearence of De Niro but this doesn't seem enough to me to rehabilitate the story and the movie overall
Roberto Bellei
Rome Italy
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
3
CanucksMar 20, 2014
I was looking forward to seeing this film for a while but was left very disappointed. I struggled to get through it with boredom. The story seemed forced to me and while the level of acting was good I never got into at all. Expected more fromI was looking forward to seeing this film for a while but was left very disappointed. I struggled to get through it with boredom. The story seemed forced to me and while the level of acting was good I never got into at all. Expected more from an Oscar nominee. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
3
ezekielromanMar 30, 2014
This is the problem that I had with this film, it was utterly boring. The acting was beyond great don't get me wrong, but the movie itself was a total snooze fest! No real memorable scenes in it, except for the ending credits... Look, I don'tThis is the problem that I had with this film, it was utterly boring. The acting was beyond great don't get me wrong, but the movie itself was a total snooze fest! No real memorable scenes in it, except for the ending credits... Look, I don't mean to be so harsh but come on! Some people can agree it wasn't that great of a movie. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
1
WoodbineSep 29, 2014
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This film convinced me to register here. I just couldn't believe the high average review score. I/10 is harsh but there is no way this is a 7.5, which makes the critic score just ridiculous.

I like the four main characters in their previous work, but my god this was turgid. Cooper, Adams, Lawrence and Bale is pretty much a dream-team cast, but I found myself losing interest well before the end, and generally not caring about what was going to happen.

Where was the danger? The slick voiceovers, quick wit and bizarre costumes created a more comical setting, but apart from the five minutes where De Niro rocks up I never felt that any of the characters were in any danger. Cooper bless him might get his heart broken. Oh well. It's not exactly Joe Pesci's menacing presence.

A bunch of generally unlikeable characters all trying to get one up on each other. Rather than Goodfellas,, this was more like Ocean's Eleven without the charm and twists.
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
1
LizLarragaJan 16, 2014
I'm really disappointed, the movie is boring and confusing at some points. I expected so much more, the trailer looked so cool and funny and the end was really flat. So Overrated.
4 of 9 users found this helpful45
All this user's reviews
2
BKMJan 9, 2014
I've never been a huge fan of David O. Russel's films, but this one was a complete mess in spite of the top shelf talent involved. The narrative felt clunky and unfocused and the performances seemed hammy and over the top. Only Louis C.K.,I've never been a huge fan of David O. Russel's films, but this one was a complete mess in spite of the top shelf talent involved. The narrative felt clunky and unfocused and the performances seemed hammy and over the top. Only Louis C.K., in a small role as one of the few sane characters in this overstuffed pinata, generated any laughs. One of the most overrated awards season films I've seen in a long time. Expand
3 of 7 users found this helpful34
All this user's reviews
1
MuntcunkyJan 12, 2014
Acting isn't bad, but the film is slow, boring, and filled with characters you don't care about. You could stop watching at any point and not care that you will never know how it ends. If you do watch it all the way through you will leaveActing isn't bad, but the film is slow, boring, and filled with characters you don't care about. You could stop watching at any point and not care that you will never know how it ends. If you do watch it all the way through you will leave feeling "American Hustled". You will scratch your head and wonder if you missed something...you didn't. All hype, and awards...major disappointment. Expand
3 of 7 users found this helpful34
All this user's reviews
2
AbbiFletchaDec 27, 2013
Slow, unconvincing, cannot see what would make this a "best" pic in any way. Did I mention s-l-o-w?? Several of the performances were mildly entertaining; perhaps three real laughs in the two hours. No reaction from my audience. What was allSlow, unconvincing, cannot see what would make this a "best" pic in any way. Did I mention s-l-o-w?? Several of the performances were mildly entertaining; perhaps three real laughs in the two hours. No reaction from my audience. What was all the hype about? Seems like The Emperor's New Clothes. Expand
3 of 7 users found this helpful34
All this user's reviews
1
EnderbyDec 29, 2013
The first movie in a long time that kept me glancing at my watch. First to try to guess how much time there was left before it might become interesting, and secondly in order to simply judge how much longer I had to endure it. I don't getThe first movie in a long time that kept me glancing at my watch. First to try to guess how much time there was left before it might become interesting, and secondly in order to simply judge how much longer I had to endure it. I don't get why the critics like it.....weak plot, weak dialog, and boring. Jennifer Lawrence and Elizabeth Rohmer were the two bright spots. I hope Christian Bale was well paid because otherwise I'd be very depressed about putting on 40 pounds for this epic miss if I were him. Expand
3 of 7 users found this helpful34
All this user's reviews
1
insert_hereDec 28, 2013
I'm with the minority on the one. The comments by Sodlid and Subseq nail it. American Hustle is like a unfunny joke at a party filled with pretentious people. What really surprises me are the numerous comments of great acting.

I couldn't
I'm with the minority on the one. The comments by Sodlid and Subseq nail it. American Hustle is like a unfunny joke at a party filled with pretentious people. What really surprises me are the numerous comments of great acting.

I couldn't get passed the cheesy, cliched overacting by Christian Bale and Amy Adams. Bradley Cooper was annoying and not by design. Jennifer Lawrence was the lone exception. This was just one of the many problems with this film. But it was a big enough obstacle to not want to go further.
Expand
7 of 17 users found this helpful710
All this user's reviews
0
dnywholvsbwlingJan 3, 2014
Thought the acting was terrible by the leads except for bale, and his character was unwatchable. Lawrence was good playing crazy, but her character was almost pointless making her scenes look way overdone. Can't figure out the media'sThought the acting was terrible by the leads except for bale, and his character was unwatchable. Lawrence was good playing crazy, but her character was almost pointless making her scenes look way overdone. Can't figure out the media's "rapturous" reception of this disaster of a movie. Cooper and Adams are particularly bad, and it looked like the director let them develop their own characters and lines, which will get you this amateurish result from actors who are not that good. 0 is a bit rough, but it was meant to counter balance the overrated reviews of audience and critics, it is probably a 4 or 5. Expand
9 of 22 users found this helpful913
All this user's reviews
0
finnigan37Jan 18, 2014
I have no idea how this all style, no substance mess has garnered so much acclaim. What a boring film. No stakes, no suspense, poor comedy, and way too much talking. I'm literally baffled by this film.
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
3
WymasterJan 18, 2014
American Hustle does not bring us anything new, and yet it still manages take risks in the end were completely unnecessary. I think people are fooled by the stellar cast and flashy costumes into thinking this is a good movie. If this sameAmerican Hustle does not bring us anything new, and yet it still manages take risks in the end were completely unnecessary. I think people are fooled by the stellar cast and flashy costumes into thinking this is a good movie. If this same movie were made by M. Night Shyamalan, people would be saying it was just another bad Shyamalan film. Because it is from David O. Russell, people praise it as another good Russell film. This is a film that is supposed to focus around the idea of survival, and what you would do in order to get the money, or fame, that you need in order to survive. Yet it teaches us nothing new about the ideals of American society, and this fictional telling of an actual historical event falls flat on its face at it appears as just that: Fictional. David O. Russell dazzled with The Fighter and Silver Linings Playbook, but he just got too cocky here and thought he could tackle 5 different characters in an interwoven story and still allow us to focus on one thing. The acting is great, no doubt, and the writing is pretty good too. However, we end up getting bored by the pointlessness and irrelevance. The opening 10 minutes is some of the worst filmmaking I've ever seen. Though it picks up decently after that, it is not nearly enough to save what I view as an unnecessary movie. Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
0
Pelen23Jul 25, 2014
Unoriginal, unfunny,unengaging , uninteresting, unentertaining, self obsessed, super pretentious and absolutely boring. The oscar wining the sting meets goodfellas/casino and cast Robert DeNiro to insult the injury.

We see Christian
Unoriginal, unfunny,unengaging , uninteresting, unentertaining, self obsessed, super pretentious and absolutely boring. The oscar wining the sting meets goodfellas/casino and cast Robert DeNiro to insult the injury.

We see Christian Blair doing his hair in the opening scene and this is the point where the film loses the connection with its audience and proves that " the look" is so important. This is why we see the 70s hair do, fashion and music all the way through film but hey Who cares the plot?

Some of the audience might have loved the film's charm.However ,it is a 20 minute too long and empty film in the end.
Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
0
JEKJan 6, 2014
The acting was good but the movie sucks. I don't know why does these critics call them critics. The movie was dragging and boring. I was expecting the ending would be great but I got really disappointed with the movie.
9 of 23 users found this helpful914
All this user's reviews
2
vaughn99Dec 21, 2013
Totally forgettable movie, I was real disappointed by this one. Being a fan of Russel's previous films, i had high expectations for this one but this one is a rare dud for him. There never seems to get going until the very end. Never was ableTotally forgettable movie, I was real disappointed by this one. Being a fan of Russel's previous films, i had high expectations for this one but this one is a rare dud for him. There never seems to get going until the very end. Never was able to get into the film. Jennifer Lawrence is the only reason to see this, maybe Christian Bale. Expand
9 of 23 users found this helpful914
All this user's reviews
0
NazguleroJan 17, 2014
Truly stunning how the worst movies of the year get Oscar nominations. This movie is a joke, there is not a single redeeming feature in all of it, except for maybe Amy Adams' looks, she is cute, but that has nothing to do with the movie. ItTruly stunning how the worst movies of the year get Oscar nominations. This movie is a joke, there is not a single redeeming feature in all of it, except for maybe Amy Adams' looks, she is cute, but that has nothing to do with the movie. It really is hard not to fall asleep. The characters are all unlikable, they look weird, they dress weird, the are weird. This movie, together with 'Gravity', should have never been released to the public. Simply awful. Expand
11 of 29 users found this helpful1118
All this user's reviews
0
high90Mar 3, 2014
Jesus did someone actually compare this to Good Fellas now that's the best joke iv heard all year. Is this what is seen as a great movie, it reminds me of bad improve acting classes where actors we all have seen in a million other moviesJesus did someone actually compare this to Good Fellas now that's the best joke iv heard all year. Is this what is seen as a great movie, it reminds me of bad improve acting classes where actors we all have seen in a million other movies talking crap. Its too long as well. Avoid Expand
3 of 8 users found this helpful35
All this user's reviews
3
frendJan 6, 2014
This film is a mess. Like most David O Russel films, this is a great example of quirky and obnoxious affectation that sacrifices meaningfulness, coherence and solid narrative. It seems that the media, by giving this film such unabashedThis film is a mess. Like most David O Russel films, this is a great example of quirky and obnoxious affectation that sacrifices meaningfulness, coherence and solid narrative. It seems that the media, by giving this film such unabashed acclaim, makes sloppy chaotic direction seem legitimate. If you have enough likable actors in your ensemble it doesn't matter that the dialogue only serves to beguile us with how fast they can say it, or as long as it sounds complicated it might actually mean something. The films plot just tumbles forward sporadically when the characters are done talking and decide to get back to the task at hand. David O Russel is full of Critics and sheep alike enjoyed this film because they like watching a 90's quirk-era hack splatter brightly colored paints on the wall because, "Heck, I don't know what it means but it sure looks pretty." Expand
3 of 8 users found this helpful35
All this user's reviews
0
EludiumQ36Mar 21, 2014
That was my first review a few yrs back, but I re-watched it and re-rated it. Why? Because I watched from a different perspective this time. Amy Adams is my celebrity crush so I studied her portrayal as well as the rest of the leads and foundThat was my first review a few yrs back, but I re-watched it and re-rated it. Why? Because I watched from a different perspective this time. Amy Adams is my celebrity crush so I studied her portrayal as well as the rest of the leads and found them all to be quality. I dinged the film's rating off of 10 due to its slow pacing, and PG-13 level "nudity". In fact, I saw nothing "R" about this film. I also dinged it for its unlikely outcome, conning the FBI? Yeh, right. It's watchable but it's no masterpiece.
-------------------------------------
Sorry, we've been conned, hoodwinked which of course is the film's conceit. A bunch of b-list actors doing a 70s period piece featuring your dad's big-band music and your big brother's pop hits. This looks and feels like a made-for-tv movie from the 70s. I do not know how people sat through this in a theater. Seriously.
Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
3
GreatMartinDec 20, 2013
After all the 4 star reviews, critic’s raves, plus the 7 Golden Globe nominations, including Best picture, for “American Hustle” this will definitely be a minority review.

Along with cementing her versatility as an actress, Jenifer
After all the 4 star reviews, critic’s raves, plus the 7 Golden Globe nominations, including Best picture, for “American Hustle” this will definitely be a minority review.

Along with cementing her versatility as an actress, Jenifer Lawrence is the main, if only a few, reasons to see this film. Her role as Rosalyn Rosenfeld is as far from her performances as Ree Dolly in “Winter’s Bone”, Katniss Everdeen in “The Hunger Games” series or her Oscar winning Tiffany Maxwell in “Silver Linings Playbook”. Here she recalls the ditzy, dumb blonds through all of Hollywood film history and would be right at home in a 1930s, 1940s, screwball comedy. She is the shining light in “American Hustle”.

The soundtrack offers a variety of music from Duke Ellington’s “Jeep Blues” to Amy Adams and Christian Bale dancing to “I’ve Got Your Number” and then her and Bradley Cooper dancing in a disco to, who else?, the Bee Gees and Jennifer Lawrence lip synching to “Live and Let Die” all definitely a plus for the movie.

One surprise, to me, was the role played by Patsy Levine and I will leave it at that.

Bradley Cooper, as an FBI man setting up a sting using con artists Adams and Bale, is, as Bale is, in love with Adams and with her low cut down to there dresses that is understandable, brings a lot of his charm to his role. The cast as a whole do the best they can though many times Christian Bale mumbles, like Marlon Brando did at his worst, making his speech indecipherable.

The 1970s and New York at the time is duplicated by the production crew and the hair styles are standouts, especially for Copper and Bale in two scenes.

While most critics praised the direction by David O. Russell, and the screenplay by Eric Warren Singer along with Russell, I just didn’t get into the film or characters and looked forward to every appearance by Lawrence.
Expand
3 of 10 users found this helpful37
All this user's reviews
0
max0x7baMar 10, 2014
Good actors, poor story, extremely boring movie. They could make the ending brilliant by saying something like "And then he found a five dollar bill!"
2 of 7 users found this helpful25
All this user's reviews
0
CountvontrollioJan 5, 2015
Hey here's an idea for ya. If you're going to bust someone on a wire or film, you might want to have done a bit of surveillance on who the crims are so you know wha tthe **** is going on. If a film is setting itself up as a heist flick ofHey here's an idea for ya. If you're going to bust someone on a wire or film, you might want to have done a bit of surveillance on who the crims are so you know wha tthe **** is going on. If a film is setting itself up as a heist flick of some sort of tricky intelligence, then it had at least have some. Its almost as bad as the Oceans 12 or 13 movie which is off the planet isane in its stupidity, but this does get close.
Just horrible characters al about ripping everyone off, and the'yre somehow justified in doing it, but their original con that get s the attention of the FBI is just ridiculous, pretending to get people loans and then not getting them, but securing a fee, surely someone would've beat the **** out of them for that.
But the movie sort of reaches for some sort of grandiosity that never delivers because as stated teh con jobs are lame and then the penultimate one is incredulous for the cops stupidity. Critcs dispalayed collective insanity on this one. Too much concentrated media ownership once again, gotta get the money back. well done Hollywood you self congratulating morons. ****wits!!!
Expand
0 of 7 users found this helpful07
All this user's reviews
1
VivienneElizaJan 16, 2015
I don't understand this movie at all,this is the most boring movie that i have ever saw,cut it in such a complicate way....I just wanna ask,who gave this movie such a high points?I still can't believe i spent 2 hours watching thisI don't understand this movie at all,this is the most boring movie that i have ever saw,cut it in such a complicate way....I just wanna ask,who gave this movie such a high points?I still can't believe i spent 2 hours watching this movie.It's horrible Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
IHATEAMERICANHUFeb 20, 2015
While the characters are well played , the logical coherence is more and more doubtful. Neither does my cat understand the plot nor does my rabbit. Maybe Jennifer Lawrence is hot , but this movie is not.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews