American Hustle

User Score
7.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1110 Ratings

User score distribution:
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 13, 2013
    10
    David O. Russel proves once again how good of a director he is. The acting is also hugely strong, most notably from Jennifer Lawrence and Christian Bale. This is a sure bet for the Oscar race and as a whole its just a fantastic film, beautifully acted, vibrantly filmed and if you're a fan of Silver Linings Playbook or other O. Russel pics you'll love this film.
  2. Dec 4, 2013
    9
    If you're a lover the Silver Linings Playbook cast, they're pretty much all back in this film. I'd heard a ton about the ABSCAM scandal through out my youth, so I'm happy that Russell decided to bring the story to life in such a hilarious fasion. Cooper isn't as amazing as you'd like him to be here (he needed to tone down the mania just a bit), but Christian Bale, Jennifer Lawrence, and,If you're a lover the Silver Linings Playbook cast, they're pretty much all back in this film. I'd heard a ton about the ABSCAM scandal through out my youth, so I'm happy that Russell decided to bring the story to life in such a hilarious fasion. Cooper isn't as amazing as you'd like him to be here (he needed to tone down the mania just a bit), but Christian Bale, Jennifer Lawrence, and, especially, Amy Adams carry the weight of this film. And yes, lest I forget, Renner is brilliant. I'd also like to specifically call out the music as dead-on perfect. The film feels a touch long, but you really can't go wrong with this movie. Expand
  3. Jan 20, 2014
    10
    This movie has you guessing which way the story is heading one minute and then it heads in the opposite direction. It's replete with comedy, intrigue, suspense and action. It's well worth it to see it on the big screen.
  4. Jan 15, 2014
    8
    American Hustle is the new movie of David O. Russell, and like Silver Linings Playbook and The Fighter, it has a parade of great actors, giving wonderful performances. Christian Bale really transmits the conflict that lives the protagonist between stop working for the FBI and the loyalty that has with people of his world. Amy Adams captures so well the double personality that a woman canAmerican Hustle is the new movie of David O. Russell, and like Silver Linings Playbook and The Fighter, it has a parade of great actors, giving wonderful performances. Christian Bale really transmits the conflict that lives the protagonist between stop working for the FBI and the loyalty that has with people of his world. Amy Adams captures so well the double personality that a woman can act. Jennifer Lawrence is convincing as a manipulator mother with psychological projection. Even Jeremy Renner plays very well the mayor that will do whatever it takes to help his citizen. Bradley Cooper is the one that falls in the performances, I mean it is unexpected for a simple comedy actor, but since he demonstrate his potential on Silver Linings Playbook, I think he could do it a lot better here. Above all, David O. Russell has real talent to choose and direct actors. Because of all these is possible to transmit the topics of the film, like the idea of what people do in order to survive (change name and look, make up stories of childhood, create fake business, deny family and even betray the people you know); and the power that have friends and family over ones choices. The only problem of the story is that the script is not well develop so it becomes very difficult to connect the dots and decrypt the movie, but it is very dynamic and catches you from the beginning. Expand
  5. Dec 30, 2013
    8
    Great cast. Great acting. Good story. The only knock I have is the movie is a bit slow and methodical in its pace. Not very often the entire ensemble cast of one movie could be nominated for an Oscar since all the performances were strong across the board. Good movie.
  6. Feb 2, 2014
    7
    Having now seen this film I can certainly say this is very overrated. Know that it won a Golden Globe and has many BAFTA and Oscar nominations is surprising. It is unnecessarily long, not as interesting as it tries to be, more stylish than it needs to be, has one character which is inconsistent and has a underwhelming ending. It reminds me that Citizen Kane never won best picture butHaving now seen this film I can certainly say this is very overrated. Know that it won a Golden Globe and has many BAFTA and Oscar nominations is surprising. It is unnecessarily long, not as interesting as it tries to be, more stylish than it needs to be, has one character which is inconsistent and has a underwhelming ending. It reminds me that Citizen Kane never won best picture but Driving Miss Daisy did; award ceremonies don't reward great films but rather popular and newly released films. We need to treat these ceremonies as entertainment and not as a measure of cinema hallmarks.

    Make no mistake this is a good movie. Ignore the press and hype so you can realise this is just a decent con artist film, one that spends more time giving it's 4 cast members time to shine and entertaining us, than having a compelling and memorable story.
    Expand
  7. Jan 19, 2014
    10
    Best ensemble of the year. Bale, Adams, Cooper, and Lawrence all show how great they are at what they do in a film that tells its story perfectly. The ending was perfect and it still managed to make you laugh many time. Lawrence is Hilarious and was born to act. Great movie, possibly best of the year.
  8. Feb 17, 2014
    10
    I absolutely love this movie. From start to finish, I could not take my eyes off the screen. The soundtrack is awesome and the characters are believable and likable. Just a great, fun movie to watch. I am adding this one to my personal collection.
  9. Jan 22, 2014
    10
    A cleverly funny and seductive film with fascinating characters is what pulls you in. But the fantastic performances and a story that makes you feel good, is why you stay. And credit should be given to Jennifer Lawrence and Amy Adams, who play both vulnerable and enticing at the same time.
  10. Apr 29, 2014
    9
    American Hustle is energetic, funny and perfectly cast. It features smart twists & turns from a very smart script and is directed stylishly by David O. Russell.
  11. Jan 12, 2014
    7
    I think this movie is overrated. Performance was good but often overdone. It was painful to see Bale trying to be a fat and bald guy but not very successful/convincing. And as the main character behind all this, his character wasn't fully developed IMO, because a lot of unnecessary attention was paid to both Lawrence and Cooper being crazy, and Adams' semi-exposed boobs. The storyline isI think this movie is overrated. Performance was good but often overdone. It was painful to see Bale trying to be a fat and bald guy but not very successful/convincing. And as the main character behind all this, his character wasn't fully developed IMO, because a lot of unnecessary attention was paid to both Lawrence and Cooper being crazy, and Adams' semi-exposed boobs. The storyline is less than surprising or novel. The time shift was maybe unnecessary and I did not see it add to the story, similar to a comparison with Pulp Fiction. Expand
  12. Jan 20, 2014
    10
    This is the best David O. Russel movie to date! American hustle really felt a Martin Scorsese movie. It had me fooled until the very end. And was one of the best movies of the year.
  13. Mar 11, 2014
    9
    American Hustle is a very entertaining movie. It has the best ensemble one can have for a movie. Christian Bale gives a flawless performance. It is the best movie of David O. Russel.
  14. qev
    Apr 10, 2014
    10
    every aspect of this film is a delight, from concept to execution (via some tremendous characterizations by a truly talented cast (Bale's best perf, perchance?), thru a proper on-it plot, by way of excellent settings and bang-on, shameless costumes (and hair!), right up to the "did you guess the end beforehand? NO!" activity). spot on
  15. Jun 7, 2014
    10
    David O. Russel is back and this time its for American Hustle. With famous stars such as Bale, Cooper, Lawrence, Adams, and Renner this movie is deemed for greatness. With a jazzy powerful script and actors that transformed themselves into their roles this truly makes for a great movie. You are left speechless at the amazing script and plot and when the end of this movie happens you willDavid O. Russel is back and this time its for American Hustle. With famous stars such as Bale, Cooper, Lawrence, Adams, and Renner this movie is deemed for greatness. With a jazzy powerful script and actors that transformed themselves into their roles this truly makes for a great movie. You are left speechless at the amazing script and plot and when the end of this movie happens you will be struck with awe at how well of an overall movie this is. I truly think this movie deserved Best Picture at The Oscars 2013... 10/10 Expand
  16. Aug 8, 2014
    9
    David O. Russell has once again proves himself of how to direct a good film. It is the brilliant movie ever since Silver Linings Playbook with Cooper and Lawrence. With Bale and Adams, the movie brings stimulating performances and interlectuall dialogue by the actors and the filmmakers to bring this movie into real life.
  17. Jan 16, 2014
    10
    I'm a big fan of Silver Linings Playbook, and I wanted to watch this movie when I knew that the same director, David O. Russel, directed this one, the movie is really amazing, the cast it's incredible, mainly for Jennifer Lawrence, I really expect that the win the Oscar again... American Hustle it's one of 2013 best movies.
  18. Dec 21, 2013
    9
    It's the late 70s: every man in this movie has ridiculous hair, while the women are glamorous and hot. A con man (Christian Bale) teams with his soul mate (Amy Adams) and they end up forced into a scam with a hothead FBI agent (Bradley Cooper). The transactions are complicated by a mouthy wife (Jennifer Lawrence) and an earnest politician (Jeremy Renner). Despite how complicated it sounds,It's the late 70s: every man in this movie has ridiculous hair, while the women are glamorous and hot. A con man (Christian Bale) teams with his soul mate (Amy Adams) and they end up forced into a scam with a hothead FBI agent (Bradley Cooper). The transactions are complicated by a mouthy wife (Jennifer Lawrence) and an earnest politician (Jeremy Renner). Despite how complicated it sounds, this film is really about the characters and the brilliant actors who made the bold choices. Every actor has created memorable, enjoyable individuals and their performances are potent (Lawrence is once again a revelation). Co-writer/director David O. Russell has crafted a richly observed, compellingly complex and sometimes funny vehicle for them to hustle. Expand
  19. Dec 23, 2013
    10
    Fantastic cast, especially Christian Bale and Amy Adams. David O. Russell is one of the best filmmakers working today. Jennifer Lawrence gives a very memorable supporting performance that deserves every bit of praise she's received.
  20. Dec 20, 2013
    9
    There are so many funny movies this year that are getting so much praise this award season, and "American Hustle" is one of them. It's a fun, funny and entertaining good time. It's filled with crap loads of great performances (which you come to expect from a David O. Russell film), an interesting enough story and great humor. While at times it may feel like its way more ridiculous than itThere are so many funny movies this year that are getting so much praise this award season, and "American Hustle" is one of them. It's a fun, funny and entertaining good time. It's filled with crap loads of great performances (which you come to expect from a David O. Russell film), an interesting enough story and great humor. While at times it may feel like its way more ridiculous than it already feels, it's still a great time and one that shouldn't be missed. I give it an A-! Expand
  21. Dec 17, 2013
    9
    Overall, a fun film, but it's really all about the outrageous performances! The music and costumes are great, and completely sell the time period. Adams and Lawrence are spicy, Bale is incredible, but Coopers performance is overrated and felt very improvised. Renner is the secret MVP, and plays the best against type. I would see it again on DVD.
  22. Dec 21, 2013
    10
    Ahhhh… Time spent on character development? Sweet! A plot that never stops engaging the viewer to feel as if they too are in on this thrilling and con? THANK YOU! Christian and Jennifer's characters are written to jump off the page…. and they do -from page to screen and right into your heart.. You love them, are shocked by them. have compassion for their pathetic attempts at feelingAhhhh… Time spent on character development? Sweet! A plot that never stops engaging the viewer to feel as if they too are in on this thrilling and con? THANK YOU! Christian and Jennifer's characters are written to jump off the page…. and they do -from page to screen and right into your heart.. You love them, are shocked by them. have compassion for their pathetic attempts at feeling loved and rooting for everyone as loyalties switch--or do they? Ms. Adams is outshone by the writing of the other's characters yet she still manages to keep your eyes fixated on her as she delivers an enormous need for approval. Those necklines helped enormously! Was fashion in the 70's have such revealing clothing? YES! They did! Poor Bradley Cooper. He really has a lukewarm talent at best. He has technique but no depth, no inner life, no layers to feed his performance. Russell wisely uses that lack of depth to service the character's influence on the story line just as he did in "Playbook". Whenever Cooper's on screen the film loses it's pathos but Adams, Lawrence and Bale have such an intense incandescent light, nothing survives but the memory of their brilliance. Lucky for Cooper. Expand
  23. Dec 15, 2013
    9
    “American Hustle” stars Bradley Cooper, Jennifer Lawrence, Amy Adams and Christian Bale in this 2 hour film directed by David O. Russel who co-wrote it with Eric Singer. This is a fast moving and intelligently writtten story of con men (and women) seeking to outsmart each other. This film is a viewer’s delight as we watch the intricacies of the plot unfold. Although Mr. Cooper, Ms. Adams“American Hustle” stars Bradley Cooper, Jennifer Lawrence, Amy Adams and Christian Bale in this 2 hour film directed by David O. Russel who co-wrote it with Eric Singer. This is a fast moving and intelligently writtten story of con men (and women) seeking to outsmart each other. This film is a viewer’s delight as we watch the intricacies of the plot unfold. Although Mr. Cooper, Ms. Adams and Ms. Lawrence give stellar performances, the kudos really must go to Mr. Bale who plays his part with credibility and passion. Acknowledgments must also got to Director Russell who, despite the obvious length of the film keeps it well paced and easy to watch. I give the film a 9 rating with more of the film sure to be talked about at Oscar time in February 2014 Expand
  24. Dec 13, 2013
    10
    “American Hustle” may have an awkward start, especially as it takes a moment to get used to Russell’s style and tone, but once “Hustle” finds its footing it really takes off and is one of the most intelligent and enjoyable films of the year.
  25. Dec 14, 2013
    10
    You will love this film. David O. Russell is one of our greatest directors and he did it once again. An amazing cast with an amazing screenplay; you wont be disappointed.
  26. Dec 21, 2013
    7
    American Hustle is a film that is extremely over-hyped. Every big-name review site has given this film incredibly generous scores. I saw this and was a tad disappointed, because I didn't feel it lived up to it's hype. However, I enjoyed the film nonetheless. American Hustle centers around two con artists named Irving Rosenfeld (Christian Bale) and Sydney Prosser (Amy Adams). During theirAmerican Hustle is a film that is extremely over-hyped. Every big-name review site has given this film incredibly generous scores. I saw this and was a tad disappointed, because I didn't feel it lived up to it's hype. However, I enjoyed the film nonetheless. American Hustle centers around two con artists named Irving Rosenfeld (Christian Bale) and Sydney Prosser (Amy Adams). During their long run of scamming people and stealing their money, they are eventually caught by FBI agent Richie DiMaso (Bradley Cooper). Instead of arresting them, Richie devises a plan to use the con artists to bust corrupt politicians. In order to do so, they need to become allies with the mafia, the universally loved mayor of New Jersey (Jeremy Renner), and a man of false importance entitled "The Sheik". Along with this, there is a huge subplot involving love among the characters. Sydney fakes love with Richie in order to get closer to him and make him trust her, and Irving cannot decide who to ultimately be with; his crazy and gossipy wife Rosalyn (Jennifer Lawrence) or Sydney. He has a hard time leaving his wife because he loves his stepson Danny. This here lies the first problem with this film. At times there were so many sexually charged scenes I couldn't remember if I was watching a crime drama or a porno. Along with the over-abundance of provocative moments, each character is interesting, there is too much going on in order to become invested in these people. In terms of acting, I had an issue with the actors dropping accents they had. Christian Bale was pretty consistent, but Amy Adams and Jennifer Lawrence dropped their accent frequently. Amy Adams' character also has a fake identity as a British woman with bank connections, however her accent isn't convincing in the slightest and it's hard to see how she conned so many people with such a soft and easily fake accent. Other than accent issues, each actor was very good. Even though the actors were really good, the cast list enhanced the hype factor a lot more, thus bringing the movie down for me more. When I saw Christian Bale, Jennifer Lawrence, Bradley Cooper, and Louis CK (Who had one of my favorite characters) on the cast list, I got really pumped. But that just hurt more when the movie didn't meet my expectations. The movie's writing was enjoyable, however the banter felt very forced, along with trying to replicate what "The Big Lebowski" did with explicit banter. Some consider this film a comedy, but it wasn't a laugh-fest the whole way through. Regardless, the moments that were funny hit their mark very well. The soundtrack and cinematography were both stellar, aside from occasionally annoying close ups. Even though I don't believe this film lives up to it's hype or properly utilizes it's two hour run time, American Hustle is a movie with the occasional funny moment, some great use of music, and plot twists up the wazoo that will probably entertain any fan of the crime drama genre. Expand
  27. Jan 9, 2014
    8
    Witty and hilarious, but for some reason, I felt like I was wanting more, mainly in the story. Cast was great, the two that surprised me the most were Jennifer Lawrence and Bradley Cooper. Hilarious.
  28. Dec 23, 2013
    10
    American Hustle is one of the best films of the year. There's a palpable energy that's undeniable- the love quadrangle between the four main characters is exciting and visceral. It's an emotional roller coaster that's sure to sweep you off your feet.
  29. Jan 3, 2014
    9
    Per il film con cui confermare il suo buon momento creativo, David O. Russell raccoglie gli attori delle due precedenti pellicole e li immerge in una storia di imbrogli e contro-imbrogli (da cui il sottotitolo italiano ‘L’apparenza inganna’) ispirata a fatti realmente accaduti agli inizi degli anni Settanta. Il tutto riporta certo alla mente film come ‘La stangata’, ma lo svolgimentoPer il film con cui confermare il suo buon momento creativo, David O. Russell raccoglie gli attori delle due precedenti pellicole e li immerge in una storia di imbrogli e contro-imbrogli (da cui il sottotitolo italiano ‘L’apparenza inganna’) ispirata a fatti realmente accaduti agli inizi degli anni Settanta. Il tutto riporta certo alla mente film come ‘La stangata’, ma lo svolgimento personale e la mano assai felice così che non si avvertono le oltre due ore di durata malgrado la trama sia tutto meno che lineare. Irving (Bale) e Sydney (Adams) sono due imbroglioni dalla notevole intesa ‘lavorativa’ e sessuale malgrado la panza e il riportone di lui, Bale ingrassato di una ventina di chili per il ruolo che però cercano di non fare il passo più lungo della gamba. Questo non basta ad evitar loro il venire incastrati dall’agente federale Richie DiMaso (Cooper) che, osteggiato dal proprio capo, pensa di sfruttarli per far carriera scoprendo i maneggi di alcuni politici locali implicati nella ricostruzione di Atlantic City. Due sono i fattori che mandano in crisi l’operazione, l’interessamento della mafia alla gestione delle case da gioco nella persone dal killer Victor Tellegio, un Robert De Niro che, senza comparire nei titoli, fa un’autocitazione dei tempi di ‘Quei bravi ragazzi’ e ‘Casinò’ che anche un omaggio a Scorsese e Rosalyn (Lawrence), quasi ex moglie di Irving che molto meno scricoccata di quanto il suo comportamento faccia pensare, ma comunque una componente non controllabile. Per cavarsela, Irving e socia danno fondo al loro mestiere e in qualche modo riescono a girarsene fuori, mentre nella rete restano solo alcuni pesci piccoli e il sindaco Carmine Polito (Renner), uno che bene o male ha sempre agito per la comunità e, col passare del tempo, di Irving diventato amico. Alla fine, sono i delinquenti di professione a risultare più ‘onesti’ morale discutibile e non certo nuova, una delle poche perplessità che il film fa nascere mentre Richie sparisce dalla scena, scaricato anche da chi pensava di sfruttarne gli eventuali successi. Contrappasso doloroso per un narciso come lui memorabile la scena con i bigodini in testa per farsi i ricci tanto remissivo in casa quanto aggressivo fuori in una ricerca di giustizia sbilanciata dall’ambizione. Nei suoi panni, Cooper offre un’ottima interpretazione, forse solo qua e là un po’ forzata, di un altro personaggio con molte più ombre che luci dopo Avery in ‘Come un tuono’: però tutto il cast che funziona alla perfezione, regalando un insieme di interpretazioni di altissimo livello, tanto che appare davvero difficile citare uno e non l’altro. Va però sottolineato che a fianco della bravura di Bale, Adams e Renner si fa notare Lawrence che sembra un’altra rispetto a quella di ‘Hunger games’ e sa sfruttare con notevole efficacia il minor spazio concessole facendo di Rosalyn una figura fondamentale. Questa insistenza sugli attori voluta dal regista che si sempre detto molto più interessato ai personaggi che all’intreccio: i caratteri sono infatti disegnati a tutto tondo con psicologie definite anche con l’aiuto degli interpreti che sovente sono stati lasciati liberi di improvvisare sullo spartito di una sceneggiatura di Eric Singer (rivista da Russell) che risale a qualche anno fa. Altrettanta importanza data alle dinamiche psicologiche fra le varie figure, con la cinepresa che le segue spesso da distanza ravvicinata alternandosi tra di loro per coglierne le differenti sfumature in special modo nei frequenti faccia a faccia: si tratti di scontri a muso duro o momenti di forte tensione sensuale, ogni situazione svolta in modo da cercare di trasmettere allo spettatore il massimo delle sensazioni. Ne esce un film di gran ritmo che guarda con notevole cinismo, umorismo acido e una punta di amarezza alla società in cui tali personaggi hanno potuto svilupparsi. Al confronto, meno definito il contesto: la fotografia di Linus Sandgren bella, colorata come da momento storico e mai banale, ma gli anni Settanta restano sullo sfondo (con più di un anacronismo, vedi ‘I feel love’ nella versione dei Bronski Beat) e, a parte qualche elemento decorativo i pesanti telefoni, le camicie aperte sul petto gli occhiali a goccia e, soprattutto, i vestiti vedono-non-vedo di Amy Irving si ha l’impressione che la vicenda sarebbe potuta essere ambientata in qualsiasi altro periodo senza perdere nulla della sua efficacia. Efficacia che ha fatto incetta di candidature ai Golden Globe e minaccia di ripetersi agli Oscar. Expand
  30. Jan 6, 2014
    9
    American Hustle continues the rich vain of form that the movie industry has produced over the last couple of years. David O. Russell once again weaves his magic as director in this big cast crime/comedy. Carrying on his fine form from Silver Linings Playbook. It's also a movie that proves big cast names can produce screen chemistry for the ages. The Bale/Cooper character interaction is onAmerican Hustle continues the rich vain of form that the movie industry has produced over the last couple of years. David O. Russell once again weaves his magic as director in this big cast crime/comedy. Carrying on his fine form from Silver Linings Playbook. It's also a movie that proves big cast names can produce screen chemistry for the ages. The Bale/Cooper character interaction is on par with Newman/Redford or De Niro/Pacino. Amy Adams gave a performance that will no doubt bring a host of accolades and Jennifer Lawrence continues her high standards that like Adams will have accolades coming her way.

    The movie itself hooks you from the off and takes you the audience straight into participation of what is going on. Who is conning who leaves you engrossed. The Sting meets Donnie Brasco springs to mind without going into the movie plot too much and spoiling a very pleasurable movie that needs to be seen without too much talking. All in all American Hustle sets a very high standard for forthcoming movies of 2014 to live up too.
    Expand
  31. Dec 26, 2013
    8
    A Good movie is always appreciated. I must say that American Hustle is a couple of Reeses pieces short of greatness..but it was well made and acted. The backdrop of 1970's New York and a large dose of political corruption, sex, infidelity and mob involvement makes this a must see movie. Plot and sub plots abound and even tho there is a brief moment of lull.... it picks up and delivers theA Good movie is always appreciated. I must say that American Hustle is a couple of Reeses pieces short of greatness..but it was well made and acted. The backdrop of 1970's New York and a large dose of political corruption, sex, infidelity and mob involvement makes this a must see movie. Plot and sub plots abound and even tho there is a brief moment of lull.... it picks up and delivers the goods. Great cast. all in all a good time at the movies Expand
  32. Dec 21, 2013
    10
    Officially, American Hustle is now my favourite movie of all times. It is hilarious and has everything what a movie needs. The best cast of the year, a great director and an amazing screenplay; this is the best picture of the year.
  33. Dec 13, 2013
    9
    Favorite fun movie of the year amazing direction, acting, writing

    Christian Bale was especially impressive though the rest of the actors were excellent as well
  34. Dec 17, 2013
    10
    One of the best films of the year. It's very funny, sexy. The cast is amazing. Christian Bale, Amy Adams, Bradley Cooper, Jeremy renner and Jennifer Lawrence are all great and stunning. They give us a very interesting change. Their hair and their costumes in film are beautiful, sexy and very fashionable.
  35. Dec 21, 2013
    9
    A mesmerizing ensemble production. Amy Adams shows her acting chops again (following "The Fighter"), and she is so delectable to look at. Joining her are Christian Bale and Jennifer Lawrence doing wonders with a great script. As it states in the beginning "some of this stuff actually happened," and it's a nod that the writers are going to mess with the plot for arts sake. The pace neverA mesmerizing ensemble production. Amy Adams shows her acting chops again (following "The Fighter"), and she is so delectable to look at. Joining her are Christian Bale and Jennifer Lawrence doing wonders with a great script. As it states in the beginning "some of this stuff actually happened," and it's a nod that the writers are going to mess with the plot for arts sake. The pace never slackens and when the first stringers are off camera the subs are almost as good. I found the movie reminiscent of "Goodfellas" but with a heart instead of a fist. Bale deserves chameleon of the year award, Amy has put the saccharin behind her for good and Jennifer does her best work since "Winter's Bone." Worthy of an Oscar nomination and maybe a statue, in a tough year to pick. Expand
  36. Dec 23, 2013
    9
    From a directing and acting standpoint, American Hustle is a tour de force. This is O'Russell's best film to date (which is no small feat). Like his past work, the character's are dense, intricate, believable, and even relatable. Though all of the actors and actresses are game, Lawrence, Bale, and Renner seemed stand out the most, giving some very exceptional performances. The productionFrom a directing and acting standpoint, American Hustle is a tour de force. This is O'Russell's best film to date (which is no small feat). Like his past work, the character's are dense, intricate, believable, and even relatable. Though all of the actors and actresses are game, Lawrence, Bale, and Renner seemed stand out the most, giving some very exceptional performances. The production design here is truly a feast for the eyes, and it captures the essence of the late 70's impeccably. The only weakness here is that the story (while good) does not have that real "grab-and-pull" quality that so many great stories have. But this is only a minor quibble, when considering all of the greatness that is on display here. Expand
  37. Dec 16, 2013
    8
    A solid cast sort of makes a solid movie! Bale and Adams are wonderful, Lawrence is ridiculous in all the right ways, and Cooper holds his own but is almost just a more manic version of his Silver Linings character. The 4 leads really keep each other on the top of their game, equally complex in character but delivered with varying intensity! However, despite the noise, it's really RennerA solid cast sort of makes a solid movie! Bale and Adams are wonderful, Lawrence is ridiculous in all the right ways, and Cooper holds his own but is almost just a more manic version of his Silver Linings character. The 4 leads really keep each other on the top of their game, equally complex in character but delivered with varying intensity! However, despite the noise, it's really Renner who ends up being the heart of the film; he is unbelievably fantastic in what is likely one of the best subtle performances of the year that is bound to be severely underrated until the chaos of the other 4 settles. His Carmine is tragically perfect, quiet, and is probably at his best when interacting with Irving (Bale). Even with the pizazz and big performances, Carmine was the only character I ended up really caring about. At the end of the day, this is a good movie with great actors in ridiculous attire and the perfect showcase for their talents, but other than that, it's just an entertaining movie. Expand
  38. Dec 21, 2013
    9
    Not perfect, like many critics have been claiming it to be. However, it is most certainly yet another great addition to director David O. Russell's line of films. The story and pacing felt a little stuck at times. But really, it's the acting and the intriguing cast that makes this movie great! Christian Bale puts on a few pounds as the unpredictable con man, Irving. Bradley Cooper'sNot perfect, like many critics have been claiming it to be. However, it is most certainly yet another great addition to director David O. Russell's line of films. The story and pacing felt a little stuck at times. But really, it's the acting and the intriguing cast that makes this movie great! Christian Bale puts on a few pounds as the unpredictable con man, Irving. Bradley Cooper's performance as a crooked FBI agent served as one of the more memorable male performances in the film. Amy Adams is daring as Bale's love interest. Jeremy Renner gives a worthwhile goody two-shoes performance as the mayor. And last, but absolutely not least, Jennifer Lawrence gives it her all in what may well be her fiercest performance yet. The plot was also intelligent and well done for the most part, but like I said, it's really the characters that make this movie. David O. Russell even said it himself that he likes to focus on and prioritize characters more than plot. In this film's case, it fortunately worked. So overall, if you're a fan of David O. Russell's previous films (or films with interesting characters,) there's no reason you shouldn't enjoy this, because this may be one of his best films yet. Expand
  39. Dec 22, 2013
    10
    This is great charter based film that goes from hilarious (Jennifer Lawrence and Chistian Bale) to dramatic (Jeremy Renner and Bradley Copper) in less time than it take Christian Bale to comb his hair.
  40. Dec 13, 2013
    8
    An acting masterclass delivered by talented cast-amazing direction-High-energy comedy crime film that will catch our heart there is no moment u will not feel dull-it keep u engaged,superb cast-acting-direction-script that made this HUSTLE Ranks with the year's best movies, CHRISTIAN BALE IS VERY DEDICATED ACTOR-I LOVE IT- THIS YEAR HUSTLE WILL ROCK AT OSCAR 2013
  41. Dec 23, 2013
    10
    I saw this yesterday, a great movie, a lot of fun. Intelligent. strong performances from the entire cast, no weak links. Jennifer Lawrence is so good, very funny.
  42. Dec 14, 2013
    7
    If you're a lover the Silver Linings Playbook cast, they're pretty much all back in this film. I'd heard a ton about the ABSCAM scandal through out my youth, so I'm happy that Russell decided to bring the story to life in such a hilarious fasion. Cooper isn't as amazing as you'd like him to be here (he needed to tone down the mania just a bit), but Christian Bale, Jennifer Lawrence, and,If you're a lover the Silver Linings Playbook cast, they're pretty much all back in this film. I'd heard a ton about the ABSCAM scandal through out my youth, so I'm happy that Russell decided to bring the story to life in such a hilarious fasion. Cooper isn't as amazing as you'd like him to be here (he needed to tone down the mania just a bit), but Christian Bale, Jennifer Lawrence, and, especially, Amy Adams carry the weight of this film. And yes, lest I forget, Renner is brilliant. I'd also like to specifically call out the music as dead-on perfect. The film feels a touch long, but you really can't go wrong with this movie Expand
  43. Dec 28, 2013
    9
    A sensationally entertaining film that allows all 5 of its leads to shine (Cooper and Renner are particularly good). There is a moment during the film, a drunken restaurant songfest, when the sheer virtuosity of the storytelling on display here truly hit me.
  44. Dec 31, 2013
    9
    One of the best of 2013, I was laughing throughout the movie. Every character is very, very well played with Jennifer Lawrence a standout, as expected. Storyline was complicated but well told and never lost the audience. Recommend!
  45. Jan 13, 2014
    9
    I enjoyed this film but it was the acting by Amy Adams and Jennifer Lawrence that made this what it is. You could not take your eyes off Amy Adams and not just because of her dresses. You can just see her always thinking of what she should be doing next. The plot was lacking a little bit of a punch but watching Amy Adams think was reason enough to see this film.
  46. Jan 7, 2014
    7
    Great acting, great cinematography, the story however feels a little empty in the end. So much potential but the climax didn't justify the build up. It all gets wrapped up a bit too quickly after 2 hours of careful build up. Decent but over rated.
  47. Jan 5, 2014
    8
    David O' Russell has another winner. A great movie with great hair. With a stellar cast it is easy to enjoy and watch these pros do what they do best. None of the actors really get a standout moment though, except for Jennifer Lawrence. The story moves at a slow pace, but the movie makes up for it with a perfect soundtrack that breathes the very essence of the 70's.
  48. Mar 4, 2014
    9
    Yet another crime movie based on real events like recent ‘Pain & Gain’. It was the star's collision, everyone competed with each others. Giants like Christian Bale, Bradley Cooper and Jeremy Renner fought to show their masculine strength. In another stream Amy Adams and new sensation Jennifer Lawrence had war to rule feminine parts. Overall, it is the celebration time for movie buffs toYet another crime movie based on real events like recent ‘Pain & Gain’. It was the star's collision, everyone competed with each others. Giants like Christian Bale, Bradley Cooper and Jeremy Renner fought to show their masculine strength. In another stream Amy Adams and new sensation Jennifer Lawrence had war to rule feminine parts. Overall, it is the celebration time for movie buffs to see multi stars in one screen.

    As usual Bale’s appearance did not surprise me. He’s one of the actors from Hollywood who do a variety of experimental roles in his movies especially in physical appearances. Bradley Cooper had a good time recently with many blockbusters, so in a movie to share screenspace with Bale will boost his professional growth in his career graph.

    Amy Adams is a good actress, but she’s not attracted to me though she was great in this film. No doubt Jennifer Lawrence was thrown an incredible performance with her small role. Yet both are very enjoyable to watch, especially expected that particular cat fight moment.

    Let me tell why you should not miss this movie. The cast was the great strength the movie had. Robert De Niro’s guest appearance made it more fuzz and the puzzling story created lots of guess games among viewers. I must say it was well scripted by the writers and crafted beautifully by the director of 'Three Kings'.
    Expand
  49. Dec 30, 2013
    9
    David O. Russell continues his fantastic film making. Though not as good as Silver Linings Playbook, American Hustle works mainly because of top notch acting. A
  50. Jan 2, 2014
    8
    American Hustle is the 3rd film from director David O. Russel, and it is a great film .One of the very you will see in 2013.The movie is energetic,extremely well made and features outstanding performances from it's A-List cast, which includes the likes of Christian Bale,Amy Adams, and Bradley Cooper.The characters bring the movie to life, and help to make up for the uneven script. TheAmerican Hustle is the 3rd film from director David O. Russel, and it is a great film .One of the very you will see in 2013.The movie is energetic,extremely well made and features outstanding performances from it's A-List cast, which includes the likes of Christian Bale,Amy Adams, and Bradley Cooper.The characters bring the movie to life, and help to make up for the uneven script. The movie reminds me of older Scorsese films like Goodfellas, and while it falls a bit short of being that grand, what you get with this movie is some of the best entertainment of 2013.American Hustle is a great movie, and very much worth a watch. Expand
  51. Jan 4, 2014
    7
    Loosely based on the FBI ABSCAM Operation in the 1970’s, the film follows successful conman Irving Rosenfeld, played by the usually committed Christian Bale, and his deceptive crime partner and mistress “Edith Greensly” played with allure by Amy Adams. To evade prosecution these con artists are forced to serve the FBI by creating an elaborate sting operation to nail corrupt politicians inLoosely based on the FBI ABSCAM Operation in the 1970’s, the film follows successful conman Irving Rosenfeld, played by the usually committed Christian Bale, and his deceptive crime partner and mistress “Edith Greensly” played with allure by Amy Adams. To evade prosecution these con artists are forced to serve the FBI by creating an elaborate sting operation to nail corrupt politicians in the U.S of A. Spearheading this FBI operation on the field is Bradley Cooper’s Agent Richie DiMaso, who goes toe-to-toe with the very con artists he enlisted. Among the corrupt politicians being played by all involved; Mayor Carmine Polito (well played by Jeremy Renner) has his heart in the right place but uses the wrong means to go about accomplishing his plans. While all this scamming and “stinging” is going, Jennifer Lawrence’s Rosalyn Rosenfeld, the zany wife of Irving, threatens the whole operation with her jealousy driven antics. I detailed all the major characters, not to fill space or waste time, but to express my appreciation for the characters in this film. A great character is nothing without great performances, and the cast delivers from all angles! If I was to single out any performance it would probably be Bradley Cooper’s eccentric characterization, which was nice comedic work in an already hilarious film. As it stands the ensemble was fantastic, and well guided by director David O. Russell who continues to prove his ability to direct actors. With the multiple narrators to widen the viewer’s perspective, the off-key film editing and the soundtrack, O. Russel may have taken a few too many notes from Scorsese; but it works, it all works well. This approach was a service to the complicated story, which was made into a digestible viewing experience. It also helped in character development; after all, the film was a character study at its heart. With a sound cast and confident direction, this was a wild burst of energy from a filmmaker who is eyeing gold at this year’s awards season. Expand
  52. Jan 7, 2014
    7
    Though the acting is strong and eclectic to where it adds rather sophisticated comedy, the style and feel of the movie is strikingly similar to 'Goodfellas', a classic of cinema. 'American Hustle' is an entertaining and well written film that, unfortunately, takes too many essences of past films, thought I won't go into the list. I don't see Jennifer Lawrence as anything in here. BradleyThough the acting is strong and eclectic to where it adds rather sophisticated comedy, the style and feel of the movie is strikingly similar to 'Goodfellas', a classic of cinema. 'American Hustle' is an entertaining and well written film that, unfortunately, takes too many essences of past films, thought I won't go into the list. I don't see Jennifer Lawrence as anything in here. Bradley Copper was annoying. Christian Bale and Amy Adams were the standalone characters in this film, Bale especially with his dedication to the role. David O. Russell's previous two films were his most talented, not 'American Hustle'. Expand
  53. Jan 6, 2014
    8
    Another unforgettable movie of David O. Russel emerged. The story not only contains a perfect amount of comedy, but also enough suspense to sustain the 140 min. of running time. Moreover there are incredible performances of the leads, especially Bale, Lawrence. A film which is to be recommended.
  54. Dec 30, 2013
    9
    American Hustle has an energy that makes the movie come alive and injects the story with comedy, tension, surprise and sympathy for the characters. The entire cast gives outstanding performances in David O. Russell's best film.
  55. Jan 9, 2014
    8
    Awesome film. David O. Russell kills it as director and Bale, Adams, Cooper, Lawrence, Renner, Louis CK, De Niro, etc, kill it in this one. The characterization of everyone is fantastic and it's awesome that we got to see so many back stories of different characters, which helped you to understand why they did the things they did. Honestly, this is my favorite film of 2013 that I've seen thus far.
  56. Dec 30, 2013
    10
    Again David O. Russell comes out on top. Bringing back a lot of the people that were in his previous project "Silver Linings Playbook", the film is rich with the cast (the cast, wow!), the story, and the writing. Not to mention some of the humor the film brings is very enjoyable. The film of 2013 without a doubt.
  57. Dec 23, 2013
    7
    This is a very good film that is chock full of wonderful performances and unfortunately a little short on plot. To me, it felt like Ocean's Twelve only better. Great ensemble cast but poor subject matter.

    The actors are terrific, especially Christian Bale and Jennifer Lawrence, and the performances by some of the great cameos spoiler alert, Louis CK and Robert DeNiro were quite a
    This is a very good film that is chock full of wonderful performances and unfortunately a little short on plot. To me, it felt like Ocean's Twelve only better. Great ensemble cast but poor subject matter.

    The actors are terrific, especially Christian Bale and Jennifer Lawrence, and the performances by some of the great cameos spoiler alert, Louis CK and Robert DeNiro were quite a treat. However, the plot which should have been the glue that held the movie together was weak. The little twists didn't jump off the screen like they could have. Instead of saying "holy cow!" I wound up just saying, "hmmm."
    Expand
  58. Jan 1, 2014
    9
    This movie starts out a little slowly, and because the first few minutes are out of time sequence, starts out confusing as well. Takes a good half hour or so and then things get wildly interesting. The ending will amply reward you for your patience: its brilliant. Most importantly, the characters are extraordinarily well developed by the screenplay and extraordinarily portrayed by aThis movie starts out a little slowly, and because the first few minutes are out of time sequence, starts out confusing as well. Takes a good half hour or so and then things get wildly interesting. The ending will amply reward you for your patience: its brilliant. Most importantly, the characters are extraordinarily well developed by the screenplay and extraordinarily portrayed by a brilliant cast. When Robert De Niro is a minor character, yet wonderful in his only thrilling and tense scene of perhaps 6 minutes, you can imagine how well Cooper, Bale, Adams and Lawrence are in their demanding rolls. There are some hilarious moments and you are kept on the edge of your seat because so many endings are possible. While the movie is based on the 70s ABSCAM political license, it is only loosely based on it. Lots of fictional license is taken and used superbly. We will see it again on pay per view. Expand
  59. Jan 7, 2014
    10
    Being from the Bronx near Grand Concourse, I can say that Christian Bale NAILS IT! Jennifer Laurence is the hottest woman in Hollywood and this movie is a blast. This movie is so well worth the price of admission it makes up (almost) for all the bad movies I've seen recently. Hilarious, philosophic and an insight to all types of people that will remind you of some you know and you will wetBeing from the Bronx near Grand Concourse, I can say that Christian Bale NAILS IT! Jennifer Laurence is the hottest woman in Hollywood and this movie is a blast. This movie is so well worth the price of admission it makes up (almost) for all the bad movies I've seen recently. Hilarious, philosophic and an insight to all types of people that will remind you of some you know and you will wet yourself. Expand
  60. Jan 2, 2014
    10
    This is an excellent movie and Amy Adams truly deserves an Oscar of her performance. She is an extraordinary actress, far better than many Oscar winning actresses of our time and she proved it in this movie.

    Bradley Cooper also did an excellent job. He was truly hilarious and he did an excellent job of playing Richie Dimaso. Amy Adams together with Bradley Cooper held this movie
    This is an excellent movie and Amy Adams truly deserves an Oscar of her performance. She is an extraordinary actress, far better than many Oscar winning actresses of our time and she proved it in this movie.

    Bradley Cooper also did an excellent job. He was truly hilarious and he did an excellent job of playing Richie Dimaso. Amy Adams together with Bradley Cooper held this movie together.

    However, Christian Bale did overdo some scenes. On occasions, Bale's facial expressions were not in line with his character or the particular emotion in the scene and every time it happened, it was painfully obvious.

    Also Jennifer Lawrence, was not right for this role. She did well in the dressing room scene with Amy Adams but mostly J Law was out of her element. Her facial expressions were in line with the character but her voice, tone and accent just didn't fit the character at all. And it was just so obvious that she didn't belong in this character. She has had a very protective upbringing to play this kind of a character.

    But overall, it was an excellent movie. A must watch!!
    Expand
  61. Jan 12, 2014
    9
    Good story and plot, with a fairly unpredictable ending unless you know a great deal about the ABSCAM senario. Bale was very good with his role and even Cooper was good as he finally got out of his type-casting roles and into something that resembles acting. As a b0onus, since the flick is based in the 70s the sound track is well done as well.
  62. Jan 4, 2014
    8
    The character development in this movie is fantastic. Each character is thoroughly developed and is really fleshed out. You like some characters, you hate some; you even love some. The cast, which only helps character development, was one of the best casts I have seen in a movie. Christian Bale, Bradley Cooper, Amy Adams, Jennifer Lawrence, Jeremy Renner, Louis C.K. and the list just keepsThe character development in this movie is fantastic. Each character is thoroughly developed and is really fleshed out. You like some characters, you hate some; you even love some. The cast, which only helps character development, was one of the best casts I have seen in a movie. Christian Bale, Bradley Cooper, Amy Adams, Jennifer Lawrence, Jeremy Renner, Louis C.K. and the list just keeps going on! The story was also quite exemplary. It was not a cliche movie, and everything was tied up in the end. The movie was like a puzzle. All the pieces fell into place. It was very satisfying. David O. Russel did a fantastic job with the directing on this. I would love to see Jennifer Lawrence get Best Supporting Actress at the Oscars. As far as movie of the year, I personally don't think it will get it. It was good, but there are many other great movies out there. Expand
  63. Jan 2, 2014
    8
    The heist film genre is one of the most exciting film genres in recent memory, thanks to the likes of elaborate minds and stylistically driven directors. From Soderbergh’s Ocean trilogy which began the trend of mainstream, modern-day cops-and-robbers films, to other very meticulously crafted caper films, the heist genre is one which is both exciting and compelling to crack before theThe heist film genre is one of the most exciting film genres in recent memory, thanks to the likes of elaborate minds and stylistically driven directors. From Soderbergh’s Ocean trilogy which began the trend of mainstream, modern-day cops-and-robbers films, to other very meticulously crafted caper films, the heist genre is one which is both exciting and compelling to crack before the climactic final act. American Hustle is a modern day, somewhat self-indulgent, patriotic heist film with outstanding performances, many good times and very few bad times. The beauty of Hustle lies in its amazing ability to fake it; whether it be faking an overly complicated narrative for no apparent reason or a meaningful story that never gets old, Hustle is a solid film that will con your heart, through and through.

    American Hustle is a testament to a very powerful, respected and hard-working director. David O. Russell is a director who focuses more on his characters than he does on his story, and it is easily noticed in Hustle. Each and every one of the performances in his newest writing/directing credit is every bit as evolved and appreciated as his last. O. Russell has proven, time and time again, that his ability to get the best performances out of his actors is one of his many featured signatures. From Melissa Leo, Amy Adams, Christian Bale, Bradley Cooper, Jacki Weaver, Robert Di Nero, and Jennifer Lawrence, O. Russell brings a furious velocity to his characters in the form of his actors that have ended in Oscar glory, if not recognition, at the very least.

    American Hustle is a con film showing the real con-artists as small time players against the biggest con artists of the world; the American government and the American judicial system. Hustle is a loose re-telling of the events following the investigation of the operation named “Abscam”.

    Like any good story being told, it begins, and will always begin with a girl. That girl, in this case, is Sydney Prosser (Amy Adams), or Lady Edith Greensly, either way, it starts with a girl, as do most American narratives. When low-level con artist and small-time businessman Irving Rosenfeld meets stripper Sydney at a party in 1978, the two begin a love-affair that involves low-level stakes at fraud and scamming, unbeknownst to Irving’s unstable wife at the time, Rosalyn (Jennifer Lawrence). As Irving and Sydney meet investors and embezzle their money, they attract the attention of undercover FBI agent Richie Di Maso (Bradley Cooper). Desperate to make a name for himself, Di Maso entraps the two con-artists in a scam that includes the mayor of Camden, New Jersey Carmine Polito (Jeremy Renner), various members of Congress, and the mafia.

    While Irving’s life spins completely out of control between spiralling cons, a love triangle between him, Sydney, and Richie, as well as his manipulating and out of control wife, Irving must master the fine art of deception so that he and Sydney can still come out with their lives.

    Much like the marketing of the film, and true to the style of the director, the performances are at the forefront of Hustle. Turning in two of the best performances of his career (the other being the slow burning thriller Out of the Furnace) Bale solidifies his confidence as a serious method actor. Bale’s dedication to the craft, whether it be his outrageous weight-gain or loss, heightens his performances.

    Other stand-out performances include Amy Adams, whose confused and beguiling depiction of a desperate woman in search of love, happiness, and the American dream, is met wholeheartedly when she delivers lines like “you’re nothing to me until you’re everything”. Adams sheds her good-girl image as she did for O. Russell previously in The Fighter, by playing the sexy pillar to her love interests. Much like Julia Roberts did in Erin Brockovich, I’m not sure if Adams deserves the supporting Oscar nomination or if her constantly revealing side-boob does. Either way, Adams seduces her leading men in high fashion, and ironically enough, low fabric.

    Lawrence, who won the Oscar for Lead Actress with O. Russell’s highly over-rated Silver Linings Playbook last year as another unstable, slutty persona, really gives a sense of her characters unwillingness to change. Lawrence’s Rosalyn is a crazy, contorting character who shows that her character is way out of her league in her husband’s world of deceit. Rosalyn is really a child in a grown man’s world.

    Renner hits it out of the park as Polito, an honest man whose sketchy manoeuvres as a person in power, really sheds the action-hero substitute Renner has been playing recently in franchise revival action genre films.
    Expand
  64. Jan 11, 2014
    8
    This years Argo with the most Golden Globe nominations of any movie. American Hustle seems to be preferred by critics than the public, just take a look at the discussion forum, however I found it to be one of the years best films.

    Despite a slow and disappointing start, in which I was already planning my review containing many uses of the word overrated, American Hustle improves hugely
    This years Argo with the most Golden Globe nominations of any movie. American Hustle seems to be preferred by critics than the public, just take a look at the discussion forum, however I found it to be one of the years best films.

    Despite a slow and disappointing start, in which I was already planning my review containing many uses of the word overrated, American Hustle improves hugely in the last 100 minutes. Mainly because of the brilliant ensemble cast with names such as Christian Bale, in yet another body transformation for a role. His two wives Amy Adams as Sydney Prosser and Jennifer Lawrence giving the best performance in the movie for Rosalyn Rosenfeld. Oscar nominee, for Silver Linings Playbook, Bradley Cooper is mesmerising along side Louis C.K. as the 2 FBI agents. But the most surprising performance is definitely by the most unknown members of The Avengers himself Jeremy Renner who was obviously out of his comfort zone playing the corrupt politician Carmine Polito. A very unusual role for him to play because he didn't blow anything up within the first 5 minutes. How much they develop over the 130 minutes is probably the most unpredictable and surprising thing about the whole picture. Everything is filmed with a unique style obviously paying homage to the decade it is set in, the 70's. Retro costumes and most noticeably retro hair give American Hustle a very likable and entertaining visual style which I hope will appear in more of David O. Russell's movies in future. Much to my surprise American Hustle also has a very witty and effective sense of humor, which easily made me laugh on many occasions, mainly due to the convincing chemistry between Christian Bale and Jennifer Lawrence. However what surprises the most is without a doubt is the almost unbelievable fact that American Hustle is based on a true story, it obviously has exaggerated elements put in the script for dramatic or comedic effect, but still it's pretty mind blowing that someone would even attempt the events that happen in this movie.

    Perfectly cast and full of unique interesting characters who never fail to entertain you, America Hustle is one of the best scripted and directed movies of 2013. I enjoyed near to every second of it and think it deserves it's title as this years Argo.
    Expand
  65. Jan 6, 2014
    8
    David O. Russell has done it again. American Hustle has it all. Sexy, funny, and Great Performances. Christian Bale and Cooper are great. Christian almost never disappoints, so you will find yourself entertained by his character. Mr. Cooper has really taken on the job of a true actor in his last few films. He is 2 for 2 on David O. Russell directed films, and I wouldn't be surprised if weDavid O. Russell has done it again. American Hustle has it all. Sexy, funny, and Great Performances. Christian Bale and Cooper are great. Christian almost never disappoints, so you will find yourself entertained by his character. Mr. Cooper has really taken on the job of a true actor in his last few films. He is 2 for 2 on David O. Russell directed films, and I wouldn't be surprised if we see a few more team ups by the two. The costumes, hair, and make-up are spot on. Great ensemble cast. Lawrence and Adams are two of this era's best actresses. Must see film. Expand
  66. Dec 16, 2013
    10
    Definitely one of the Best Movie of the year, easily. It was completely different and a nice change from all the drama category. It was entertaining, hilarious and overall engaging film. What really made the movie come alive was the fantastic cast ensemble, from Bradley Cooper to Amy Adams and Jennifer Lawrence. The cast complemented each other like butter and toast, smooth, silky andDefinitely one of the Best Movie of the year, easily. It was completely different and a nice change from all the drama category. It was entertaining, hilarious and overall engaging film. What really made the movie come alive was the fantastic cast ensemble, from Bradley Cooper to Amy Adams and Jennifer Lawrence. The cast complemented each other like butter and toast, smooth, silky and sweet. David O. Russell is a great director and writer and deserves to win Original Screenplay and Director. His repertoire definitely puts him in the finest director category along with Martin Scorsese and Steven Spielberg from his work for "The Three Kings," "The Fighter," and last year's "The Silver Lining's Playbook." Expand
  67. Dec 30, 2013
    10
    Wow! Ever since I watched The Godfather or Scarface, I was craving a strong movie like them. I say this was the best movie of the century! Just makes the viewer so satisfied. There were no negatives about it. Acting was perfect, movie was perfect, perfectly directed, ending was perfect... Thank You David O. Russel.
  68. Dec 29, 2013
    7
    I'm surprised at all the love given to this film. The acting? Superb throughout. The story, however, was a little boring at times, and there really is no character you can root for. Also, many critics are saying it is a comedy, and I chuckled a few times but neither I or the packed theater I saw it with laughed all that much. In the end, the great acting throughout made it a passableI'm surprised at all the love given to this film. The acting? Superb throughout. The story, however, was a little boring at times, and there really is no character you can root for. Also, many critics are saying it is a comedy, and I chuckled a few times but neither I or the packed theater I saw it with laughed all that much. In the end, the great acting throughout made it a passable film, but it does not have the repeatability factor for me. I have no desire to see it again. As a footnote, Jennifer Lawrence may be the best actress in Hollywood. The movie came to life every time she was on the screen. Expand
  69. Dec 24, 2013
    10
    Filled with phenomenal performances, an expertly written screenplay with both clever twists and likable characters, and a perfect blend of comedy and drama, American Hustle is another incredible achievement from one of my favorite film directors of the past few years. American Hustle is easily my favorite movie of the year.
  70. Dec 25, 2013
    9
    "American Hustle" is a pretty darn good, entertaining, and fun film. While I don't think it's director David O' Russell's best film, I still think it is his best directed. It is directed with a flashy style that really fits with the era of the movie. There are many over the top moments and exaggerated camera sweeps that really brings a lot of excitement on screen. The script is layered"American Hustle" is a pretty darn good, entertaining, and fun film. While I don't think it's director David O' Russell's best film, I still think it is his best directed. It is directed with a flashy style that really fits with the era of the movie. There are many over the top moments and exaggerated camera sweeps that really brings a lot of excitement on screen. The script is layered with hilarious dialogue and deeper meaning of living the "American Dream" than what is actually being presented on screen. However, I wish it did have more focus and a tighter story as it did feel like it was all over the place. The journey is also more satisfying than the actual conclusion.

    The cast is great and the director really gets some amazing performances from the cast. Christian Bale, Amy Adams, and Bradley Cooper are great in their roles and play very dimensional characters. They make them come alive and their on-screen chemistry is great. However, the real stand-out in this star studded cast is Jennifer Lawrence, who doesn't have as much depth or screen time, but commands total attention on-screen. She embodies everything that the movie is going for by being over the top, zany, and full on entertaining. Everytime she was off-screen, I kept on begging for more.

    Overall, "American Hustle" is a really good movie that is equal parts entertaining and thought provoking. It never reaches any emotional highs and needs some focus, but David O' Russell's stylish direction, use of high energy music, and committed cast makes this movie something special. I give it 4.5/5
    Expand
  71. Jan 1, 2014
    8
    While having unambitious and unpredictable main plot "American Hustle" shines in almost every aspect of cinema! But this movie also did some questionable turns, that took away the from the overall experience!
  72. Dec 26, 2013
    10
    My second favorite movie of the year after "Blue is....". A film critic wrote the perfect blurb for this movie "This movie is like a slot machine which keeps spitting out quarters". Exactly. The movie is so much fun and scene after scene after scene are delightful. Pure entertainment.
  73. Jan 5, 2014
    10
    I went into this expecting a funny script propped up by a great cast, but this movie is much more than that. Easily the best thing I've seen in theaters in years. There are funny moments, but this is a showcase of characters that engage and never stop developing. If ever there was a case of sympathy for the bad guy, you'll find it here. Bale has the performance of a lifetime here. It'sI went into this expecting a funny script propped up by a great cast, but this movie is much more than that. Easily the best thing I've seen in theaters in years. There are funny moments, but this is a showcase of characters that engage and never stop developing. If ever there was a case of sympathy for the bad guy, you'll find it here. Bale has the performance of a lifetime here. It's unlike anything I've seen from him before. You'll see an unexpected honesty in his performance. Adams and Cooper likewise showcase their notable talents, and a cast of impeccable supporting characters really drives this home. The weakest performance comes from Lawrence, but even so she has moments of raw, emotional talent that make up for a few missteps. Don't miss this movie! Expand
  74. Dec 28, 2013
    10
    This one of the best movies I have seen since Django. It ranks up there with the Best. I was stressed the whole time and the payoff was excellent. Amy Adams and Christian bale will blow you away.
  75. Jan 15, 2014
    8
    Bradly Cooper has to be one of the most underrated actors in Hollywood; Few flaws in this movie. The role of the "good" politicians just trying to "help" their communities was foolishly unrealistic
  76. Lyn
    Jan 2, 2014
    9
    This story was a lot of fun, the acting excellent and the soundtrack a baby boomer's dream. Have to say I think Jennifer Lawrence's status as entertainment media "it girl" led to her (absolutely fine) performance being overrated somewhat. But Christian Bale and Amy Adams are spectacular.
  77. Jan 10, 2014
    9
    American Hustle has everything you'd want in a movie -- an interesting plot, a well-crafted film, and great acting. Amy Adams hasn't received much acclaim for her role here, having been largely over-shadowed by Jennifer Lawrence, but there are no weak performances here.
  78. Dec 29, 2013
    7
    Overall a very good movie with some top notch acting performances and a really good story and twist near the end. The film really hit the 70s atmosphere. The lead actors were all amazing; however, I personally didn't find Jennifer Lawrence all that convincing. She just doesn't seem to fit in overall and I feel like she over-acted her role. Just too flamboyant and over the top in all herOverall a very good movie with some top notch acting performances and a really good story and twist near the end. The film really hit the 70s atmosphere. The lead actors were all amazing; however, I personally didn't find Jennifer Lawrence all that convincing. She just doesn't seem to fit in overall and I feel like she over-acted her role. Just too flamboyant and over the top in all her scenes. The other actors were simply awesome. Expand
  79. Jan 2, 2014
    7
    This movie is very well done and expertly charracter driven. All of the actors do an amazing job. That is where the slight problem occurs with this movie. The story struggles, they would build up a scenario (setting up Carmine) then something would change (Mob) and a whole new problem would arise without resolving anything. Really enjoyed it! Still gave it a 7 because its just below great.
  80. Jan 15, 2014
    7
    At the end of the film, I felt like starting a chant, "overrrated!". That's exactly how I felt about American Hustle after watching it, even though, I enjoyed it at times. The film seems to be garnering lots of praise because it has several actors and a director working in their prime (David O. Russell, Jennifer Lawrence, Bradley Cooper, Christian Bale, and Amy Adams). The acting isAt the end of the film, I felt like starting a chant, "overrrated!". That's exactly how I felt about American Hustle after watching it, even though, I enjoyed it at times. The film seems to be garnering lots of praise because it has several actors and a director working in their prime (David O. Russell, Jennifer Lawrence, Bradley Cooper, Christian Bale, and Amy Adams). The acting is definitely good, as is the directing (good acting usually requires good directing), but the story is subpar. It is quite clear that Russel and his writing team were going for a Scorsese type feel to the movie, given all the voice over narratives, and at times manic flow to the film. Russel, should however, take notes next time he watches a Scorese film because although Scorsese's movies bounce around at times, their always coherent; the same can;t be said for Russel's American Hustle. There was something to like or enjoy in just about every scene of Hustle, but I rarely ever knew what was going on. Also, it was hard for me to connect to any of the characters because there was no character development done. It seems like the point Russel was going for, was that the characters are all conning each other, so the film in a way is conning the viewers and keeping them on the edge on their seats. That just didn't work for me. I absolutely loved Silver Linings Playbook, so I was excited to see American Hustle, it's too bad the film was just average. Expand
  81. Mar 25, 2014
    8
    Solid movie, a lil long and disjointed, but VERY little. This is a GREAT movie, it'll really get cha 'rooting' and saying verbals like "oh yeah!", "that's right", "OMG OMG!". The only complaint is the ending, the end twist is what disjoints the movie, its an EXTREMELY small twist, that doesn't start developing till LONG after the plot has run its course. The main complaint with the endSolid movie, a lil long and disjointed, but VERY little. This is a GREAT movie, it'll really get cha 'rooting' and saying verbals like "oh yeah!", "that's right", "OMG OMG!". The only complaint is the ending, the end twist is what disjoints the movie, its an EXTREMELY small twist, that doesn't start developing till LONG after the plot has run its course. The main complaint with the end twist, is how predictable and boring it is, it also gets right down corny at the VERY end. The ending brings a top notch 9/10 or even 10/10 movie, down to a 8/10. GREAT movie though, a must see, for movie lovers. Expand
  82. Jan 12, 2014
    7
    Ehh. It's good but it does not come close to knocking it out of the park as critics would have you believe. It was entirely watchable and I enjoyed it, but it was a step down from silver linings playbook. It's worth going to see, but I didn't find it particularly special.
  83. Feb 23, 2014
    9
    After making great fighter and The Silver Linnings Playbook that helped in the total image transformation director, David O.Russel reaches the apex of his career doing his hilarious, daring, and ambitious film about the reinvention of the human being and the necessity of such a cheat to live with the minimum of dignity, and he tells it through fine performances ranging from soft-spokenAfter making great fighter and The Silver Linnings Playbook that helped in the total image transformation director, David O.Russel reaches the apex of his career doing his hilarious, daring, and ambitious film about the reinvention of the human being and the necessity of such a cheat to live with the minimum of dignity, and he tells it through fine performances ranging from soft-spoken characters we all know that one hour will explode, the ones who are always on ecxtase and his screen presence is striking, in a reverent, slow but very fun and compensatory what makes you think without guilt contrary to another strong oscar nominated 12 years a slave history. Expand
  84. Jan 11, 2014
    9
    American Hustle will hustle your heart away. Everybody is out to be their better selves and in a way they all succeed with a few minor short comings. I adored the acting and the characters displayed in the film, but as with O. Russells last effort Silver Linings, i did not really care for the characters. I felt this film was much more entertaining than Silver Linings and it was worth theAmerican Hustle will hustle your heart away. Everybody is out to be their better selves and in a way they all succeed with a few minor short comings. I adored the acting and the characters displayed in the film, but as with O. Russells last effort Silver Linings, i did not really care for the characters. I felt this film was much more entertaining than Silver Linings and it was worth the watch and should win some awards. Expand
  85. Jan 5, 2014
    9
    American Hustle has a continuous flow of energy that keeps you captivated and wanting more. All the performances are good, especially Ms. Lawrence's; her character has such self-pride and a way of putting the blame on everyone else that she becomes the comic relief to almost every scene she's in.
  86. Feb 7, 2014
    8
    El director David O. Russell está en su estado más puro, primero The Fighter, luego Silver Linings Playbook, ahora es el turno de premiar a American Hustle, por ser valiente y original. La película ofrece una trama completamente original e interesante, y de momentos, muy entretenida diversión con tintes de comedia. La puesta en época es excelente, el vestuario es magistral y merece unEl director David O. Russell está en su estado más puro, primero The Fighter, luego Silver Linings Playbook, ahora es el turno de premiar a American Hustle, por ser valiente y original. La película ofrece una trama completamente original e interesante, y de momentos, muy entretenida diversión con tintes de comedia. La puesta en época es excelente, el vestuario es magistral y merece un Oscar, pero lo mejor de esta película fueron las actuaciones, todas y cada una es perfecta (destaco más sobre Christian Bale y Jennifer Lawrence). Si disfrutas del buen cine o el cine ganador, debes ir corriendo a ver esta película, no los decepcionará. Expand
  87. Dec 28, 2013
    9
    "American Hustle" looks like a really fun romp. The fact that it's by the same man who did "Silver Linings Playbook" tells you that this movie is going to be great.
  88. Dec 26, 2013
    9
    Great. O Russ is a dynamic director. Acting by every character is pretty impressive. Everyone had chemistry. A good written story that keeps you sticking around. 8.7/10
  89. Dec 27, 2013
    7
    This is the biggest rip off of Goodfellas ever... It's a good but not great movie that just feels like David O is trying to hard to be Martin Scorsese. Louis C.K. is the best part of the movie.
  90. Dec 27, 2013
    8
    An entertaining movie, exceptionally acted. Somebody in this movie will win an Academy Award for acting...probably Bradley Cooper for his portrayal of the ambitious FBI agent. The main characters were all terrific. I have to say I felt a bit disappointed in the end though. I was hoping for a more satisfying ending akin to "The Sting".
  91. Dec 29, 2013
    9
    “Some of this actually happened.”

    From this first inter-title, David O. Russell’s new crime comedy-drama American Hustle(2013) promised two and a half hours of the twisted, the practically anarchic, but most especially, the absolutely absurd and in the best way possible. Despite its late arrival to the Oscar scene (along with Scorsese’s Wolf of Wall Street) and its being overshadowed
    “Some of this actually happened.”

    From this first inter-title, David O. Russell’s new crime comedy-drama American Hustle(2013) promised two and a half hours of the twisted, the practically anarchic, but most especially, the absolutely absurd and in the best way possible. Despite its late arrival to the Oscar scene (along with Scorsese’s Wolf of Wall Street) and its being overshadowed by Steve McQueen’s long-awaited 12 Years a Slave, American Hustleproves worthy of every nomination and accolade to date and lives up to its enormous hype. It is one of the best films to hit cinemas in years

    If the subject matter doesn’t scream Scorsese’s Goodfellas (1990) (or even Mean Streets (1973), if you squint), the style most definitely does. American Hustle’s narrative trajectory is almost reminiscent of Casino (1995) in its first person narrative, given from the perspectives of both Bale’s Irving Rosenfeld and Adams’ Sydney Prosser. Yet, it’s no Scorsese in regards to cinematography and definitely no Guillermo del Toro. From a first viewing, the camera placement and movement remains incredibly simplistic and unremarkable. The cinematography, therefore, simply acts as an enabler for the film’s greatest aspects namely the performances by the A-list cast, and its fantastic script and plot.

    The screenplay is simply sensational, creating a remarkable dynamic between both comedy and drama that is so rarely accomplished with films of this nature. Dramatic moments including a screaming match between Irving and and his unstable wife, Rosalyn (Jennifer Lawrence) are immediately followed by hilarious quips and creative dialogue that left me gasping for air. Everything about the script is interconnected fluidly and cleverly and moments expressed in the film’s infancy reappear later on with greater prominence and importance, all working together to create a story that comes full circle and completely encapsulates its overall themes of reinvention and survival. The story is fantastic, the writing superb and the plot completely driven by its characters.

    Christian Bale, renowned for his dedication when it comes to a character’s physicality, immediately astounds with a comb-over and beer belly in his interpretation of lead, Irving Rosenfeld. However, it’s his rendition of Irving that truly startles. Bale cleverly crafts a man who, despite his conning nature, is honourable at heart and is uncomfortable with potentially destroying a good man with good intentions (Jeremy Renner’s Carmine Polito). Bale could have gone over the top with Irving he is, after all, a conman from the Bronx but, instead, he opted for a more realistic, grounded character. It was a fantastic choice, and one that definitely adds to the story’s growing tension and drama. This may perhaps be one of Bale’s best films.

    Opposite Bale is Amy Adams, in arguably one of her best showings to date, as well. Her performance as cleverly deceptive Sydney Prosser (or Lady Edith Greensly, if you’re on the wrong side of the desk) is punctuated by moments of severe sincerity and emotional turmoil. Adams’ prowess as an actress is in top form, and she proves absolutely deserving of her nomination for Best Leading Actress at this year’s Golden Globe awards.

    In almost a throwback to another Russell film, Silver Linings Playbook, Bradley Cooper plays uncontrollable FBI agent Richie DiMaso (slightly familiar to Paul Solitano in regards to his wild desperation), who is determined to prove himself as a worthy player to not only his department, but his mother and especially himself. Though not Cooper’s best performance to date, American Hustle definitely shows off his stuff and solidifies his position as a powerful, talented actor in Hollywood.

    Jennifer Lawrence once again proves herself to be one of the most daring and talented young actresses in the business as Rosalyn Rosenfeld, Irving’s unstable and uncontrollable wife. In a world of reinvention and masks, Rosenfeld is the only character who tries not to change (“I hate change. I think I’d die before I ever changed”) and it shows through her erratic and sometimes violent behavior perfectly executed by Lawrence. Simply put, after watching American Hustle, I threw my hands up in the air and exclaimed to a startled audience of moviegoers, “Just give her the Oscar now!”

    If the acting and pristine characterisation isn’t any indication of what an incredible film American Hustle is, just take a look at the Golden Globe nods its received (7 in total). And American Hustle proves incredibly deserving of every scrap of recognition that it’s been getting.

    If you haven’t heard about or seen American Hustle, please get yourself out from underneath whatever rock you’ve been under for the last six or seven months and stomp on over to your local cinema immediately. Also, tune into the Golden Globe Awards on Jan. 12, 2014, where it’s sure to give 12 Years a Slave a run for its money!
    Expand
  92. Jan 17, 2014
    10
    Mind simply blown !!!
    American Hustle
    What a brilliant film I have just seen .... Everything is just ... just awesome... This is actor's movie and you will be amazed by every performances. Jennifer Lawrence and Christian Bale steal the show.... Best thing about Christian Bale is... when he is preparing for new role.. he inspires you... and his characters simply mark your brain... for
    Mind simply blown !!!
    American Hustle
    What a brilliant film I have just seen ....
    Everything is just ... just awesome... This is actor's movie and you will be amazed by every performances. Jennifer Lawrence and Christian Bale steal the show.... Best thing about Christian Bale is... when he is preparing for new role.. he inspires you... and his characters simply mark your brain... for many days... till his next performance... and this time we have Bradley Cooper to fight with him... the fight is so thrilling... fearless Amy Adams, classic Jeremy Runner and Robert Di Nero in guest appearance .... you cant demand for more... And captain of the ship is Great Director David O Russel !!!
    It is soft love story having thriller, comedy, emotions, twists in it !!!

    This film is going to rock at the Oscars.. surely !!! Am so confused now... am going to stick with Gravity or changing my party now... but I m loving this confusion....
    Don't think again... leave your place and rush to the nearest theaters... You stop that torrent right now as you should watch such art in the theaters to experience the EXPERIENCE...
    Expand
  93. Mar 2, 2014
    10
    from the guy who brought you silver lingings playbook which i love brings american hustle i did not that mush but it find it too much drama but i love david o rusell his ideas in movies are 99% useful and brilliant
  94. Feb 9, 2014
    7
    The movie was great but not outstanding. It is definitely not academy award winning picture of the year, or even nomination level. Seeing it once was enough.
  95. Jan 25, 2014
    9
    I confess that I slept through the fatigue for 10 minutes as I watched, but that does not detract from the merit of the film covered all possible parameters in order to become what it is today, the tape with more nominations for Academy Awards (Gravity like).
    With effervescent dialogues, spectacular performances, for me the best was that of Amy Adams certainly.
    Excellent sound,
    I confess that I slept through the fatigue for 10 minutes as I watched, but that does not detract from the merit of the film covered all possible parameters in order to become what it is today, the tape with more nominations for Academy Awards (Gravity like).
    With effervescent dialogues, spectacular performances, for me the best was that of Amy Adams certainly.
    Excellent sound, soundtrack, photography, art, costumes, everything. Undoubtedly one of the 10 best films of 2013.
    Expand
  96. Mar 2, 2014
    9
    I can't give an opinion on this movie without talking about David O. Russell's previous film first.

    I didn't enjoy Silver Linings Playbook when i first saw it. I thought the characters were too crazy and the story was just over-the-top. As the months went by, i started realizing that, maybe, we all are really crazy; each in his/her own subtle way. David O. Russell just denotes this
    I can't give an opinion on this movie without talking about David O. Russell's previous film first.

    I didn't enjoy Silver Linings Playbook when i first saw it. I thought the characters were too crazy and the story was just over-the-top. As the months went by, i started realizing that, maybe, we all are really crazy; each in his/her own subtle way. David O. Russell just denotes this idea, without the subtle so as to make it clear to us. That's when i watched the movie again and really loved it. And then i watched American Hustle, and loved it as well.

    The characters are really screwed up. Thanks to very stellar performances, especially by Christian Bale and Jennifer Lawrence, the characters really exemplify the craziness inherent in many people. Amy Adams is brilliant, while Bradley Cooper should have taken the craziness down a notch. The directing is superb, and so is the script. And it has one of the best soundtracks of the year.

    I'm so glad to have seen this film. David O. Russell is one of my favorite director's right now.
    Expand
  97. Feb 1, 2014
    7
    This movie overwhelms with great roles being performed fantastically. Good plot. It's just that the first half of the movie is so slow paced that it almost bored me to death. And then the second half is a nice comeback. Why couldn't it have been a bit more stable? In the end I had fun but I was fearing for the worst when it was half time...
    Please people, this is not a 10 movie...
    This movie overwhelms with great roles being performed fantastically. Good plot. It's just that the first half of the movie is so slow paced that it almost bored me to death. And then the second half is a nice comeback. Why couldn't it have been a bit more stable? In the end I had fun but I was fearing for the worst when it was half time...
    Please people, this is not a 10 movie... however, the actors were great!
    Expand
  98. Mar 24, 2014
    9
    Another excellent film under the directorship of David O. Russell. American Hustle is a modern day classic. Just genius. It tells the story of conman Irving Rosenfeld (Christian Bale) and his seductive mistress and partner Sydney Prosser (Amy Adams) who are forced to work with the F.B.I by Agent Richie DiMaso (Bradley Cooper) to set up an elaborate sting operation to uncover corruptAnother excellent film under the directorship of David O. Russell. American Hustle is a modern day classic. Just genius. It tells the story of conman Irving Rosenfeld (Christian Bale) and his seductive mistress and partner Sydney Prosser (Amy Adams) who are forced to work with the F.B.I by Agent Richie DiMaso (Bradley Cooper) to set up an elaborate sting operation to uncover corrupt politicians including the Mayor of camden (Jeremy Renner) however it's the unpredictability of Rosenfelds's wife (Jennifer Lawrence) that puts the plan in danger. It's filled with fantastic performances from all the leads. Christian Bale proves his class with a stellar showing accompanied by his partner in crime Amy Adams who herself, impresses with a varying performance. Bradley Cooper also comes up with the goods in yet another star turn. Yet again, it's Jennifer Lawrence who steals the show. The girl isn't just amazingly stunning but she's an extraordinarily gifted actress as she continues to wow audiences in each film she appears in. She is sensational in her supporting role. The film is thoroughly entertaining. Infact, it's contagious!! Definitely a feel good film that you would foolish to miss out on especially when you have the star studded line up on show. Expand
  99. Apr 12, 2014
    8
    American Hustle tells the story of con man Irving Rosenfeld (Bale) and partner Sydney Prosser (Adams) as they are forced to use their tricks in order to help ambitious FBI agent Richie DiMaso (Cooper).

    Featuring a fantastic cast and a darkly humorous script this is certainly one of the best movies of 2013, even if it doesn’t quite deliver fully on it initial set up.
  100. Jan 20, 2014
    7
    Over-hyped but certainly good. The story is very intriguing but can feel drawn out to the point where you wonder if the film could do with being half an hour shorter, although trying to predict how it will end is enough to keep you watching anyway. The strongest point about American Hustle is the performances. Every one of the lead actors (Christian Bale, Amy Adams, Bradley Cooper, JeremyOver-hyped but certainly good. The story is very intriguing but can feel drawn out to the point where you wonder if the film could do with being half an hour shorter, although trying to predict how it will end is enough to keep you watching anyway. The strongest point about American Hustle is the performances. Every one of the lead actors (Christian Bale, Amy Adams, Bradley Cooper, Jeremy Renner, Jennifer Lawrence) plays their role to perfection and the interaction between them seems completely natural. The characters themselves are fantastic, each one providing reasons to love and hate them in equal measure which leaves you wondering whose side you want to be on throughout the film. Even so, there are quite a few scenes that seem obnoxiously drawn out and after a while you may start to wish the film would get to the point instead of indulging itself so much that it creates images of David O. Russell jacking one out to his own sense of self satisfaction.
    I can entirely understand why this is a front-runner for film of the year but if you're going to see it then bear in mind that you need an impressive attention span to fully enjoy it.
    Expand
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 47 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 47
  2. Negative: 0 out of 47
  1. Reviewed by: Mike Scott
    Dec 24, 2013
    80
    Like everyone else in Russell's cast, Lawrence appears to be having a blast in the role. It's downright contagious.
  2. Reviewed by: Andrew O'Hehir
    Dec 21, 2013
    100
    A work of tremendous confidence and dazzling showmanship that may just be a delirious movie-as-drug-high or may, if you choose to read it this way, contain a level of commentary about the nature of America and the illusioneering of Hollywood.
  3. 100
    The movie is a slot machine that never stops spitting quarters.