User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 909 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 85 out of 909

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 13, 2013
    10
    David O. Russel proves once again how good of a director he is. The acting is also hugely strong, most notably from Jennifer Lawrence and Christian Bale. This is a sure bet for the Oscar race and as a whole its just a fantastic film, beautifully acted, vibrantly filmed and if you're a fan of Silver Linings Playbook or other O. Russel pics you'll love this film.
  2. Dec 4, 2013
    9
    If you're a lover the Silver Linings Playbook cast, they're pretty much all back in this film. I'd heard a ton about the ABSCAM scandal through out my youth, so I'm happy that Russell decided to bring the story to life in such a hilarious fasion. Cooper isn't as amazing as you'd like him to be here (he needed to tone down the mania just a bit), but Christian Bale, Jennifer Lawrence, and, especially, Amy Adams carry the weight of this film. And yes, lest I forget, Renner is brilliant. I'd also like to specifically call out the music as dead-on perfect. The film feels a touch long, but you really can't go wrong with this movie. Expand
  3. Dec 17, 2013
    10
    One of the best films of the year. It's very funny, sexy. The cast is amazing. Christian Bale, Amy Adams, Bradley Cooper, Jeremy renner and Jennifer Lawrence are all great and stunning. They give us a very interesting change. Their hair and their costumes in film are beautiful, sexy and very fashionable.
  4. Dec 13, 2013
    10
    Favorite fun movie of the year amazing direction, acting, writing

    Christian Bale was especially impressive though the rest of the actors were excellent as well
  5. Dec 13, 2013
    10
    “American Hustle” may have an awkward start, especially as it takes a moment to get used to Russell’s style and tone, but once “Hustle” finds its footing it really takes off and is one of the most intelligent and enjoyable films of the year.
  6. Dec 14, 2013
    10
    You will love this film. David O. Russell is one of our greatest directors and he did it once again. An amazing cast with an amazing screenplay; you wont be disappointed.
  7. Dec 21, 2013
    10
    Officially, American Hustle is now my favourite movie of all times. It is hilarious and has everything what a movie needs. The best cast of the year, a great director and an amazing screenplay; this is the best picture of the year.
  8. Dec 15, 2013
    9
    “American Hustle” stars Bradley Cooper, Jennifer Lawrence, Amy Adams and Christian Bale in this 2 hour film directed by David O. Russel who co-wrote it with Eric Singer. This is a fast moving and intelligently writtten story of con men (and women) seeking to outsmart each other. This film is a viewer’s delight as we watch the intricacies of the plot unfold. Although Mr. Cooper, Ms. Adams and Ms. Lawrence give stellar performances, the kudos really must go to Mr. Bale who plays his part with credibility and passion. Acknowledgments must also got to Director Russell who, despite the obvious length of the film keeps it well paced and easy to watch. I give the film a 9 rating with more of the film sure to be talked about at Oscar time in February 2014 Expand
  9. Dec 23, 2013
    10
    I saw this yesterday, a great movie, a lot of fun. Intelligent. strong performances from the entire cast, no weak links. Jennifer Lawrence is so good, very funny.
  10. Dec 21, 2013
    9
    A mesmerizing ensemble production. Amy Adams shows her acting chops again (following "The Fighter"), and she is so delectable to look at. Joining her are Christian Bale and Jennifer Lawrence doing wonders with a great script. As it states in the beginning "some of this stuff actually happened," and it's a nod that the writers are going to mess with the plot for arts sake. The pace never slackens and when the first stringers are off camera the subs are almost as good. I found the movie reminiscent of "Goodfellas" but with a heart instead of a fist. Bale deserves chameleon of the year award, Amy has put the saccharin behind her for good and Jennifer does her best work since "Winter's Bone." Worthy of an Oscar nomination and maybe a statue, in a tough year to pick. Expand
  11. Dec 23, 2013
    9
    From a directing and acting standpoint, American Hustle is a tour de force. This is O'Russell's best film to date (which is no small feat). Like his past work, the character's are dense, intricate, believable, and even relatable. Though all of the actors and actresses are game, Lawrence, Bale, and Renner seemed stand out the most, giving some very exceptional performances. The production design here is truly a feast for the eyes, and it captures the essence of the late 70's impeccably. The only weakness here is that the story (while good) does not have that real "grab-and-pull" quality that so many great stories have. But this is only a minor quibble, when considering all of the greatness that is on display here. Expand
  12. Dec 23, 2013
    10
    Fantastic cast, especially Christian Bale and Amy Adams. David O. Russell is one of the best filmmakers working today. Jennifer Lawrence gives a very memorable supporting performance that deserves every bit of praise she's received.
  13. Dec 20, 2013
    9
    There are so many funny movies this year that are getting so much praise this award season, and "American Hustle" is one of them. It's a fun, funny and entertaining good time. It's filled with crap loads of great performances (which you come to expect from a David O. Russell film), an interesting enough story and great humor. While at times it may feel like its way more ridiculous than it already feels, it's still a great time and one that shouldn't be missed. I give it an A-! Expand
  14. Dec 17, 2013
    9
    Overall, a fun film, but it's really all about the outrageous performances! The music and costumes are great, and completely sell the time period. Adams and Lawrence are spicy, Bale is incredible, but Coopers performance is overrated and felt very improvised. Renner is the secret MVP, and plays the best against type. I would see it again on DVD.
  15. Dec 21, 2013
    9
    Not perfect, like many critics have been claiming it to be. However, it is most certainly yet another great addition to director David O. Russell's line of films. The story and pacing felt a little stuck at times. But really, it's the acting and the intriguing cast that makes this movie great! Christian Bale puts on a few pounds as the unpredictable con man, Irving. Bradley Cooper's performance as a crooked FBI agent served as one of the more memorable male performances in the film. Amy Adams is daring as Bale's love interest. Jeremy Renner gives a worthwhile goody two-shoes performance as the mayor. And last, but absolutely not least, Jennifer Lawrence gives it her all in what may well be her fiercest performance yet. The plot was also intelligent and well done for the most part, but like I said, it's really the characters that make this movie. David O. Russell even said it himself that he likes to focus on and prioritize characters more than plot. In this film's case, it fortunately worked. So overall, if you're a fan of David O. Russell's previous films (or films with interesting characters,) there's no reason you shouldn't enjoy this, because this may be one of his best films yet. Expand
  16. Jan 16, 2014
    10
    I'm a big fan of Silver Linings Playbook, and I wanted to watch this movie when I knew that the same director, David O. Russel, directed this one, the movie is really amazing, the cast it's incredible, mainly for Jennifer Lawrence, I really expect that the win the Oscar again... American Hustle it's one of 2013 best movies.
  17. Dec 21, 2013
    10
    Ahhhh… Time spent on character development? Sweet! A plot that never stops engaging the viewer to feel as if they too are in on this thrilling and con? THANK YOU! Christian and Jennifer's characters are written to jump off the page…. and they do -from page to screen and right into your heart.. You love them, are shocked by them. have compassion for their pathetic attempts at feeling loved and rooting for everyone as loyalties switch--or do they? Ms. Adams is outshone by the writing of the other's characters yet she still manages to keep your eyes fixated on her as she delivers an enormous need for approval. Those necklines helped enormously! Was fashion in the 70's have such revealing clothing? YES! They did! Poor Bradley Cooper. He really has a lukewarm talent at best. He has technique but no depth, no inner life, no layers to feed his performance. Russell wisely uses that lack of depth to service the character's influence on the story line just as he did in "Playbook". Whenever Cooper's on screen the film loses it's pathos but Adams, Lawrence and Bale have such an intense incandescent light, nothing survives but the memory of their brilliance. Lucky for Cooper. Expand
  18. Dec 22, 2013
    10
    This is great charter based film that goes from hilarious (Jennifer Lawrence and Chistian Bale) to dramatic (Jeremy Renner and Bradley Copper) in less time than it take Christian Bale to comb his hair.
  19. Dec 21, 2013
    9
    It's the late 70s: every man in this movie has ridiculous hair, while the women are glamorous and hot. A con man (Christian Bale) teams with his soul mate (Amy Adams) and they end up forced into a scam with a hothead FBI agent (Bradley Cooper). The transactions are complicated by a mouthy wife (Jennifer Lawrence) and an earnest politician (Jeremy Renner). Despite how complicated it sounds, this film is really about the characters and the brilliant actors who made the bold choices. Every actor has created memorable, enjoyable individuals and their performances are potent (Lawrence is once again a revelation). Co-writer/director David O. Russell has crafted a richly observed, compellingly complex and sometimes funny vehicle for them to hustle. Expand
  20. Dec 30, 2013
    10
    Again David O. Russell comes out on top. Bringing back a lot of the people that were in his previous project "Silver Linings Playbook", the film is rich with the cast (the cast, wow!), the story, and the writing. Not to mention some of the humor the film brings is very enjoyable. The film of 2013 without a doubt.
  21. Dec 23, 2013
    10
    American Hustle is one of the best films of the year. There's a palpable energy that's undeniable- the love quadrangle between the four main characters is exciting and visceral. It's an emotional roller coaster that's sure to sweep you off your feet.
  22. Jan 3, 2014
    9
    Per il film con cui confermare il suo buon momento creativo, David O. Russell raccoglie gli attori delle due precedenti pellicole e li immerge in una storia di imbrogli e contro-imbrogli (da cui il sottotitolo italiano ‘L’apparenza inganna’) ispirata a fatti realmente accaduti agli inizi degli anni Settanta. Il tutto riporta certo alla mente film come ‘La stangata’, ma lo svolgimento personale e la mano assai felice così che non si avvertono le oltre due ore di durata malgrado la trama sia tutto meno che lineare. Irving (Bale) e Sydney (Adams) sono due imbroglioni dalla notevole intesa ‘lavorativa’ e sessuale malgrado la panza e il riportone di lui, Bale ingrassato di una ventina di chili per il ruolo che però cercano di non fare il passo più lungo della gamba. Questo non basta ad evitar loro il venire incastrati dall’agente federale Richie DiMaso (Cooper) che, osteggiato dal proprio capo, pensa di sfruttarli per far carriera scoprendo i maneggi di alcuni politici locali implicati nella ricostruzione di Atlantic City. Due sono i fattori che mandano in crisi l’operazione, l’interessamento della mafia alla gestione delle case da gioco nella persone dal killer Victor Tellegio, un Robert De Niro che, senza comparire nei titoli, fa un’autocitazione dei tempi di ‘Quei bravi ragazzi’ e ‘Casinò’ che anche un omaggio a Scorsese e Rosalyn (Lawrence), quasi ex moglie di Irving che molto meno scricoccata di quanto il suo comportamento faccia pensare, ma comunque una componente non controllabile. Per cavarsela, Irving e socia danno fondo al loro mestiere e in qualche modo riescono a girarsene fuori, mentre nella rete restano solo alcuni pesci piccoli e il sindaco Carmine Polito (Renner), uno che bene o male ha sempre agito per la comunità e, col passare del tempo, di Irving diventato amico. Alla fine, sono i delinquenti di professione a risultare più ‘onesti’ morale discutibile e non certo nuova, una delle poche perplessità che il film fa nascere mentre Richie sparisce dalla scena, scaricato anche da chi pensava di sfruttarne gli eventuali successi. Contrappasso doloroso per un narciso come lui memorabile la scena con i bigodini in testa per farsi i ricci tanto remissivo in casa quanto aggressivo fuori in una ricerca di giustizia sbilanciata dall’ambizione. Nei suoi panni, Cooper offre un’ottima interpretazione, forse solo qua e là un po’ forzata, di un altro personaggio con molte più ombre che luci dopo Avery in ‘Come un tuono’: però tutto il cast che funziona alla perfezione, regalando un insieme di interpretazioni di altissimo livello, tanto che appare davvero difficile citare uno e non l’altro. Va però sottolineato che a fianco della bravura di Bale, Adams e Renner si fa notare Lawrence che sembra un’altra rispetto a quella di ‘Hunger games’ e sa sfruttare con notevole efficacia il minor spazio concessole facendo di Rosalyn una figura fondamentale. Questa insistenza sugli attori voluta dal regista che si sempre detto molto più interessato ai personaggi che all’intreccio: i caratteri sono infatti disegnati a tutto tondo con psicologie definite anche con l’aiuto degli interpreti che sovente sono stati lasciati liberi di improvvisare sullo spartito di una sceneggiatura di Eric Singer (rivista da Russell) che risale a qualche anno fa. Altrettanta importanza data alle dinamiche psicologiche fra le varie figure, con la cinepresa che le segue spesso da distanza ravvicinata alternandosi tra di loro per coglierne le differenti sfumature in special modo nei frequenti faccia a faccia: si tratti di scontri a muso duro o momenti di forte tensione sensuale, ogni situazione svolta in modo da cercare di trasmettere allo spettatore il massimo delle sensazioni. Ne esce un film di gran ritmo che guarda con notevole cinismo, umorismo acido e una punta di amarezza alla società in cui tali personaggi hanno potuto svilupparsi. Al confronto, meno definito il contesto: la fotografia di Linus Sandgren bella, colorata come da momento storico e mai banale, ma gli anni Settanta restano sullo sfondo (con più di un anacronismo, vedi ‘I feel love’ nella versione dei Bronski Beat) e, a parte qualche elemento decorativo i pesanti telefoni, le camicie aperte sul petto gli occhiali a goccia e, soprattutto, i vestiti vedono-non-vedo di Amy Irving si ha l’impressione che la vicenda sarebbe potuta essere ambientata in qualsiasi altro periodo senza perdere nulla della sua efficacia. Efficacia che ha fatto incetta di candidature ai Golden Globe e minaccia di ripetersi agli Oscar. Expand
  23. Jan 6, 2014
    9
    American Hustle continues the rich vain of form that the movie industry has produced over the last couple of years. David O. Russell once again weaves his magic as director in this big cast crime/comedy. Carrying on his fine form from Silver Linings Playbook. It's also a movie that proves big cast names can produce screen chemistry for the ages. The Bale/Cooper character interaction is on par with Newman/Redford or De Niro/Pacino. Amy Adams gave a performance that will no doubt bring a host of accolades and Jennifer Lawrence continues her high standards that like Adams will have accolades coming her way.

    The movie itself hooks you from the off and takes you the audience straight into participation of what is going on. Who is conning who leaves you engrossed. The Sting meets Donnie Brasco springs to mind without going into the movie plot too much and spoiling a very pleasurable movie that needs to be seen without too much talking. All in all American Hustle sets a very high standard for forthcoming movies of 2014 to live up too.
    Expand
  24. Dec 28, 2013
    9
    A sensationally entertaining film that allows all 5 of its leads to shine (Cooper and Renner are particularly good). There is a moment during the film, a drunken restaurant songfest, when the sheer virtuosity of the storytelling on display here truly hit me.
  25. Jan 1, 2014
    9
    This movie starts out a little slowly, and because the first few minutes are out of time sequence, starts out confusing as well. Takes a good half hour or so and then things get wildly interesting. The ending will amply reward you for your patience: its brilliant. Most importantly, the characters are extraordinarily well developed by the screenplay and extraordinarily portrayed by a brilliant cast. When Robert De Niro is a minor character, yet wonderful in his only thrilling and tense scene of perhaps 6 minutes, you can imagine how well Cooper, Bale, Adams and Lawrence are in their demanding rolls. There are some hilarious moments and you are kept on the edge of your seat because so many endings are possible. While the movie is based on the 70s ABSCAM political license, it is only loosely based on it. Lots of fictional license is taken and used superbly. We will see it again on pay per view. Expand
  26. Dec 31, 2013
    9
    One of the best of 2013, I was laughing throughout the movie. Every character is very, very well played with Jennifer Lawrence a standout, as expected. Storyline was complicated but well told and never lost the audience. Recommend!
  27. Dec 24, 2013
    10
    Filled with phenomenal performances, an expertly written screenplay with both clever twists and likable characters, and a perfect blend of comedy and drama, American Hustle is another incredible achievement from one of my favorite film directors of the past few years. American Hustle is easily my favorite movie of the year.
  28. Jan 7, 2014
    10
    Being from the Bronx near Grand Concourse, I can say that Christian Bale NAILS IT! Jennifer Laurence is the hottest woman in Hollywood and this movie is a blast. This movie is so well worth the price of admission it makes up (almost) for all the bad movies I've seen recently. Hilarious, philosophic and an insight to all types of people that will remind you of some you know and you will wet yourself. Expand
  29. Jan 13, 2014
    9
    I enjoyed this film but it was the acting by Amy Adams and Jennifer Lawrence that made this what it is. You could not take your eyes off Amy Adams and not just because of her dresses. You can just see her always thinking of what she should be doing next. The plot was lacking a little bit of a punch but watching Amy Adams think was reason enough to see this film.
  30. Jan 2, 2014
    10
    This is an excellent movie and Amy Adams truly deserves an Oscar of her performance. She is an extraordinary actress, far better than many Oscar winning actresses of our time and she proved it in this movie.

    Bradley Cooper also did an excellent job. He was truly hilarious and he did an excellent job of playing Richie Dimaso. Amy Adams together with Bradley Cooper held this movie
    together.

    However, Christian Bale did overdo some scenes. On occasions, Bale's facial expressions were not in line with his character or the particular emotion in the scene and every time it happened, it was painfully obvious.

    Also Jennifer Lawrence, was not right for this role. She did well in the dressing room scene with Amy Adams but mostly J Law was out of her element. Her facial expressions were in line with the character but her voice, tone and accent just didn't fit the character at all. And it was just so obvious that she didn't belong in this character. She has had a very protective upbringing to play this kind of a character.

    But overall, it was an excellent movie. A must watch!!
    Expand
  31. Dec 26, 2013
    10
    My second favorite movie of the year after "Blue is....". A film critic wrote the perfect blurb for this movie "This movie is like a slot machine which keeps spitting out quarters". Exactly. The movie is so much fun and scene after scene after scene are delightful. Pure entertainment.
  32. Dec 28, 2013
    10
    This one of the best movies I have seen since Django. It ranks up there with the Best. I was stressed the whole time and the payoff was excellent. Amy Adams and Christian bale will blow you away.
  33. Jan 5, 2014
    10
    I went into this expecting a funny script propped up by a great cast, but this movie is much more than that. Easily the best thing I've seen in theaters in years. There are funny moments, but this is a showcase of characters that engage and never stop developing. If ever there was a case of sympathy for the bad guy, you'll find it here. Bale has the performance of a lifetime here. It's unlike anything I've seen from him before. You'll see an unexpected honesty in his performance. Adams and Cooper likewise showcase their notable talents, and a cast of impeccable supporting characters really drives this home. The weakest performance comes from Lawrence, but even so she has moments of raw, emotional talent that make up for a few missteps. Don't miss this movie! Expand
  34. Dec 30, 2013
    9
    American Hustle has an energy that makes the movie come alive and injects the story with comedy, tension, surprise and sympathy for the characters. The entire cast gives outstanding performances in David O. Russell's best film.
  35. Dec 25, 2013
    9
    "American Hustle" is a pretty darn good, entertaining, and fun film. While I don't think it's director David O' Russell's best film, I still think it is his best directed. It is directed with a flashy style that really fits with the era of the movie. There are many over the top moments and exaggerated camera sweeps that really brings a lot of excitement on screen. The script is layered with hilarious dialogue and deeper meaning of living the "American Dream" than what is actually being presented on screen. However, I wish it did have more focus and a tighter story as it did feel like it was all over the place. The journey is also more satisfying than the actual conclusion.

    The cast is great and the director really gets some amazing performances from the cast. Christian Bale, Amy Adams, and Bradley Cooper are great in their roles and play very dimensional characters. They make them come alive and their on-screen chemistry is great. However, the real stand-out in this star studded cast is Jennifer Lawrence, who doesn't have as much depth or screen time, but commands total attention on-screen. She embodies everything that the movie is going for by being over the top, zany, and full on entertaining. Everytime she was off-screen, I kept on begging for more.

    Overall, "American Hustle" is a really good movie that is equal parts entertaining and thought provoking. It never reaches any emotional highs and needs some focus, but David O' Russell's stylish direction, use of high energy music, and committed cast makes this movie something special. I give it 4.5/5
    Expand
  36. Jan 12, 2014
    9
    Good story and plot, with a fairly unpredictable ending unless you know a great deal about the ABSCAM senario. Bale was very good with his role and even Cooper was good as he finally got out of his type-casting roles and into something that resembles acting. As a b0onus, since the flick is based in the 70s the sound track is well done as well.
  37. Mar 4, 2014
    9
    Yet another crime movie based on real events like recent ‘Pain & Gain’. It was the star's collision, everyone competed with each others. Giants like Christian Bale, Bradley Cooper and Jeremy Renner fought to show their masculine strength. In another stream Amy Adams and new sensation Jennifer Lawrence had war to rule feminine parts. Overall, it is the celebration time for movie buffs to see multi stars in one screen.

    As usual Bale’s appearance did not surprise me. He’s one of the actors from Hollywood who do a variety of experimental roles in his movies especially in physical appearances. Bradley Cooper had a good time recently with many blockbusters, so in a movie to share screenspace with Bale will boost his professional growth in his career graph.

    Amy Adams is a good actress, but she’s not attracted to me though she was great in this film. No doubt Jennifer Lawrence was thrown an incredible performance with her small role. Yet both are very enjoyable to watch, especially expected that particular cat fight moment.

    Let me tell why you should not miss this movie. The cast was the great strength the movie had. Robert De Niro’s guest appearance made it more fuzz and the puzzling story created lots of guess games among viewers. I must say it was well scripted by the writers and crafted beautifully by the director of 'Three Kings'.
    Expand
  38. Dec 30, 2013
    9
    David O. Russell continues his fantastic film making. Though not as good as Silver Linings Playbook, American Hustle works mainly because of top notch acting. A
  39. Jan 19, 2014
    10
    Best ensemble of the year. Bale, Adams, Cooper, and Lawrence all show how great they are at what they do in a film that tells its story perfectly. The ending was perfect and it still managed to make you laugh many time. Lawrence is Hilarious and was born to act. Great movie, possibly best of the year.
  40. Feb 17, 2014
    10
    I absolutely love this movie. From start to finish, I could not take my eyes off the screen. The soundtrack is awesome and the characters are believable and likable. Just a great, fun movie to watch. I am adding this one to my personal collection.
  41. Dec 16, 2013
    10
    Definitely one of the Best Movie of the year, easily. It was completely different and a nice change from all the drama category. It was entertaining, hilarious and overall engaging film. What really made the movie come alive was the fantastic cast ensemble, from Bradley Cooper to Amy Adams and Jennifer Lawrence. The cast complemented each other like butter and toast, smooth, silky and sweet. David O. Russell is a great director and writer and deserves to win Original Screenplay and Director. His repertoire definitely puts him in the finest director category along with Martin Scorsese and Steven Spielberg from his work for "The Three Kings," "The Fighter," and last year's "The Silver Lining's Playbook." Expand
  42. Jan 22, 2014
    10
    A cleverly funny and seductive film with fascinating characters is what pulls you in. But the fantastic performances and a story that makes you feel good, is why you stay. And credit should be given to Jennifer Lawrence and Amy Adams, who play both vulnerable and enticing at the same time.
  43. Dec 30, 2013
    10
    Wow! Ever since I watched The Godfather or Scarface, I was craving a strong movie like them. I say this was the best movie of the century! Just makes the viewer so satisfied. There were no negatives about it. Acting was perfect, movie was perfect, perfectly directed, ending was perfect... Thank You David O. Russel.
  44. Jan 20, 2014
    10
    This is the best David O. Russel movie to date! American hustle really felt a Martin Scorsese movie. It had me fooled until the very end. And was one of the best movies of the year.
  45. Mar 11, 2014
    9
    American Hustle is a very entertaining movie. It has the best ensemble one can have for a movie. Christian Bale gives a flawless performance. It is the best movie of David O. Russel.
  46. Lyn
    Jan 2, 2014
    9
    This story was a lot of fun, the acting excellent and the soundtrack a baby boomer's dream. Have to say I think Jennifer Lawrence's status as entertainment media "it girl" led to her (absolutely fine) performance being overrated somewhat. But Christian Bale and Amy Adams are spectacular.
  47. Jan 20, 2014
    10
    This movie has you guessing which way the story is heading one minute and then it heads in the opposite direction. It's replete with comedy, intrigue, suspense and action. It's well worth it to see it on the big screen.
  48. Jan 25, 2014
    9
    I confess that I slept through the fatigue for 10 minutes as I watched, but that does not detract from the merit of the film covered all possible parameters in order to become what it is today, the tape with more nominations for Academy Awards (Gravity like).
    With effervescent dialogues, spectacular performances, for me the best was that of Amy Adams certainly.
    Excellent sound,
    soundtrack, photography, art, costumes, everything. Undoubtedly one of the 10 best films of 2013. Expand
  49. Mar 2, 2014
    9
    I can't give an opinion on this movie without talking about David O. Russell's previous film first.

    I didn't enjoy Silver Linings Playbook when i first saw it. I thought the characters were too crazy and the story was just over-the-top. As the months went by, i started realizing that, maybe, we all are really crazy; each in his/her own subtle way. David O. Russell just denotes this
    idea, without the subtle so as to make it clear to us. That's when i watched the movie again and really loved it. And then i watched American Hustle, and loved it as well.

    The characters are really screwed up. Thanks to very stellar performances, especially by Christian Bale and Jennifer Lawrence, the characters really exemplify the craziness inherent in many people. Amy Adams is brilliant, while Bradley Cooper should have taken the craziness down a notch. The directing is superb, and so is the script. And it has one of the best soundtracks of the year.

    I'm so glad to have seen this film. David O. Russell is one of my favorite director's right now.
    Expand
  50. Mar 24, 2014
    9
    Another excellent film under the directorship of David O. Russell. American Hustle is a modern day classic. Just genius. It tells the story of conman Irving Rosenfeld (Christian Bale) and his seductive mistress and partner Sydney Prosser (Amy Adams) who are forced to work with the F.B.I by Agent Richie DiMaso (Bradley Cooper) to set up an elaborate sting operation to uncover corrupt politicians including the Mayor of camden (Jeremy Renner) however it's the unpredictability of Rosenfelds's wife (Jennifer Lawrence) that puts the plan in danger. It's filled with fantastic performances from all the leads. Christian Bale proves his class with a stellar showing accompanied by his partner in crime Amy Adams who herself, impresses with a varying performance. Bradley Cooper also comes up with the goods in yet another star turn. Yet again, it's Jennifer Lawrence who steals the show. The girl isn't just amazingly stunning but she's an extraordinarily gifted actress as she continues to wow audiences in each film she appears in. She is sensational in her supporting role. The film is thoroughly entertaining. Infact, it's contagious!! Definitely a feel good film that you would foolish to miss out on especially when you have the star studded line up on show. Expand
  51. Feb 8, 2014
    9
    It's truly a rare occasion to have such prominent cast in one movie, each capable of a leading role on their own, the amalgamation of these talents, coupled with extraordinary directing, make American Hustle a deceptively dark yet charming comedy. In a commentary on how far people are willing to use others for own selfish purpose, these illustrious characters seduce, lie and cheat in an orgy of deceit. It's ludicrous, self-deprecating while still able to be funnily relatable and thoroughly enjoyable.

    American Hustle is a story of two con artists, Irving Rosenfeld (Christian Bale) and Sydney Prosse (Amy Adams), who make a living by setting up small fraud businesses. Unfortunately for them, they are caught red-handed by an FBI agent Richard DiMaso (Bradley Cooper). Now faced with heavy charges, both have no choice but to aid the agent in capturing more high profile targets. The operation soon becomes out of control as they try to manipulate increasing amount of victims and also outmaneuver each other, while dangerous and powerful men caught whiff of the sting operation.

    Every time a scene plays out, the actors passionately perform at excellent caliber. Christian Bale transforms himself into almost a completely different person. He looks plumper, wears hair piece and struts with somewhat slouched posture, it's realistically impressive. He shows complacent cautious behavior to mask his sly ambitious side. I admittedly didn't recognize him at some points as he almost merges in the character. Bradley Cooper plays the suave agent, who is Irving's counterpart, brimming with confident and unbridled ambition. The way he portrays his character is explosively brazen, almost obsessively erratic in his endeavor.

    Amy Adams as the role of sensual mistress, trademarked by how unwilling she is on wearing bra, has another persona as Edith, the supposed British lady. She shifts between the roles so convincingly, weaving layers of lies with great British accent; she may very well elude the audience. Jennifer Lawrence plays Irving's overly defensive, disturbed and near **** insane wife. She seems so broken with habitual reliance on dubious men, both using and being used by them. There is one scene where Adams and Lawrence loath each other with such malicious intensity, it's almost creepy to witness.

    I like the addition of Louis C.K. as the reluctant cop and DiMaso's supervisor; he brings organic humor to the table, mostly on his own character’s expense. Jeremey Renner rocks a flamboyant haircut as the seemingly philanthropic mayor Carmine Polito. Sometimes Renner looks genuinely motivated to do good for his city, also rather too innocent to mingle with the rest of suspicious characters. Robert DeNiro, however, portrays an old mob boss, calculatingly dangerous in short time he's on-screen.

    Every minute of the movie practically boasts high level of talent, they are simply captivating, even as they desperately claw their ways by forging fictional version of themselves. Director David O. Russell succeeds in presenting these talents in near over-the-top scenes, which are fairly ridiculous but will make audience can't help but feeling there's a glitter of glamor on them. The movie is clever of its use of twist, although characters' personal struggles are still the essence.

    There lie few movies that can rival American Hustle in the quantity and quality of its actors. It weaves a fantastic gripping tale of fraudulence with colorful characters, dancing with the tune of greed.
    Expand
  52. Jan 10, 2014
    9
    American Hustle has everything you'd want in a movie -- an interesting plot, a well-crafted film, and great acting. Amy Adams hasn't received much acclaim for her role here, having been largely over-shadowed by Jennifer Lawrence, but there are no weak performances here.
  53. Jan 26, 2014
    9
    Fun to watch with a great director David O. Russell, phenomenal cast Jennifer Lawrence, Christian Bale, Bradley Cooper, Amy Adams, Louis C.K. and Jeremy Renner, very successful production design, hair styles and costumes.Script may be a little bit weak but they did a great job, especially Jennifer Lawrence as Irving's manic but sexy wife Rosalyn.
  54. Jul 13, 2014
    10
    I'm just scratching my head looking at these comments complaining how silly and over the top everything was.
    Um, you people are aware this is a comedy, right? In the words of the Joker: "Why so serious?"
  55. Feb 22, 2014
    9
    An impossibly well-performed, skillfully written, and nimbly shot comedic drama, "American Hustle" is yet another quirky success for David O. Russell.
  56. Mar 4, 2014
    9
    American Hustle has a slow, dragging style, which explains why I gave up the first time I watched it before it reached the half hour mark. It felt like the film was trying too hard to create a story, and all the characters felt archetype. But the movie does pick up and become somewhat interesting after that. Though the character motivations are never explored, we get to see the different sides of them which make them all human.

    The plot is simple yet complex, but what it never is intriguing enough. Some con-men are coerced by the FBI into setting up members of the Congress and the Mafia. They must find a way to do the job without being targeted by them afterwards and yet not get incarcerated.

    Irving Rosenfeld (Christian Bale) is an ageing swindler who has a nice steady income through his various clandestine operations. Things get messy for him when he comes across Edith Greensly (Amy Adams), for he has a wife Rosalyn (Jennifer Lawrence) who can create a lot of trouble for him if she isn't kept happy. Richard (Bradley Cooper) is the agent who deals directly with him. He is clever and ambitious and selfish, but mostly is a liability who more often than not gets in their way and creates complications as they try to complete their job assigned to them by the agency. Carmine Polito (Jeremy Renner) is the mayor who is fooled into joining the team in helping the FBI bring down the politicians and the mobsters.

    I felt like the nominations in the categories of acting were undeserved. On the contrary I'm of the opinion that Renner should have been recognized instead of the underwhelming performance given by Cooper. Sure Bale did a good enough job, and he felt like he worked for the role, with his hair and body fat. Adams, in addition to showing a lot of skin, showed another side of her which I believe I had not seen before. She certainly felt like a better actress.

    The art department did a commendable job. The hairstyles, costumes, cars, and room interiors were convincing enough. What was lacking was a plot which would have matched the effort put into bringing the 70s era onto the screen. I was amused by some of the characterization, yet was waiting for over the top humour or insight into the business or a plot twist or something. Sadly there was little if not nothing that blew my mind. Other movies have done the job required of a period piece equally well and fallen to pieces without the support of a strong story but this film was spared that fate because of the names of the cast and director. Rush would have been a better consideration for the category of Best Picture. At least it succeeded in entertaining the hell out of me as well as showing the 1970s.

    It wasn't especially a bad movie, just not something I would have liked nominated for the top prize. It was way over-hyped, and left a bad taste in my mouth when within ten minutes of starting copied Goodfellas in dual voice-over.
    Expand
  57. Mar 22, 2014
    9
    American Hustle is a vigorously accomplished, and impressively stylized film. It's funny, it's full of twists, and it's undeniably alive. David O. Russell has absolutely perfected his directing style, and has cemented a spot among the top talents in the business. The screenplay is just incredibly well written. The actors are all either at the top of, or over the top of their game. Nearly every performance is shockingly good, even by the standards of this ensemble. The one I was most impressed with had to be Bale. His character was so far removed from his usual roles that at times I just had to laugh in astonished disbelief for how strange it was to see him like this. If I have any complaints about the movie they are few and far between. In the first act some lines are hard to hear, and some scenes can get pretty skanky. Other than that, it's great. In 2013, which was one of the best film years ever, American Hustle just might have been the best movie of the year. Expand
  58. Mar 25, 2014
    9
    Fantastic film! Enjoyed this movie throughly from start to finish! Christian Bale gives a brilliant performance that easily rivals that of his work in Out of the Furnace! He is joined by an incredible supporting cast that includes Bradley Cooper, Jeremy Rehner, Bradley Cooper, Jennifer Lawrence, Amy Adams and Robert De Niro! All of whom do phenomenal work! Last but definitely not least, the story is incredible! It has an excellent twist at the end that was completely perfect and end up being exactly how you wanted it all to end! Don't listen to the people who tell you this movie is boring, it is truly one of the best films of the year and if you don't give it a chance you will really be doing yourself a disservice! Expand
  59. Feb 23, 2014
    9
    After making great fighter and The Silver Linnings Playbook that helped in the total image transformation director, David O.Russel reaches the apex of his career doing his hilarious, daring, and ambitious film about the reinvention of the human being and the necessity of such a cheat to live with the minimum of dignity, and he tells it through fine performances ranging from soft-spoken characters we all know that one hour will explode, the ones who are always on ecxtase and his screen presence is striking, in a reverent, slow but very fun and compensatory what makes you think without guilt contrary to another strong oscar nominated 12 years a slave history. Expand
  60. Jan 11, 2014
    9
    American Hustle will hustle your heart away. Everybody is out to be their better selves and in a way they all succeed with a few minor short comings. I adored the acting and the characters displayed in the film, but as with O. Russells last effort Silver Linings, i did not really care for the characters. I felt this film was much more entertaining than Silver Linings and it was worth the watch and should win some awards. Expand
  61. Jan 5, 2014
    9
    American Hustle has a continuous flow of energy that keeps you captivated and wanting more. All the performances are good, especially Ms. Lawrence's; her character has such self-pride and a way of putting the blame on everyone else that she becomes the comic relief to almost every scene she's in.
  62. Dec 28, 2013
    9
    "American Hustle" looks like a really fun romp. The fact that it's by the same man who did "Silver Linings Playbook" tells you that this movie is going to be great.
  63. Jan 18, 2014
    9
    Can I just start with - how the hell are people giving this film bad reviews? People saying it was boring, no thrills? Completely wrong. If you are planning to watch this movie, do it. Do not listen to people who have given negative feedback towards it, because it deserves nothing but positive feedback. It is a brilliant film.

    The four main characters - Irving (Bale), Sydney (Adams),
    Richie (Cooper) and Rosalyn (Lawrence), and you could argue the Mayor is a main character as well, are all brilliant. Great acting. There's something you should like about each one of them, as well as something you won't like. And I especially liked Jennifer Lawrence, we probably all know her best from 'The Hunger Games', and her change of character is amazing, she was one of my favourite actresses already, now my opinion of her is even better, she's just brilliant!

    What I love about this film the most though, is how it is very thrilling at times, then occasionally O. Russell drops in little scenes which are actually really funny, similar to one of his previous films - Silver Linings Playbook. If you have a good sense of humour, you should get a few laughs from this, which is great since it's not even a comedy film.

    I could go on and on with why the film is so great, but that would spoil the plot, so overall, the story is brilliant, watch it.

    I couldn't give the film a 10 though, just because of a few very minor problems I had with it. This probably isn't something you should complain about really, but it did run on a little longer than it should have. Its only a little over 2 hours, but it felt much longer than that, and they could have easily shortened it down a bit and the film would have been just as good. Also, no matter what age you have or how intelligent you are, it can be quite hard to follow at times, you really need to pay attention or you'll be lost. Maybe this isn't a disadvantage for some, as maybe some people like to think about the film whilst watching, but I prefer to be able to sit down, relax and enjoy it. But, don't let this put you off from watching it, as you'll still be able to pick up a lot of things, and you'll understand the overall story.
    Expand
  64. Apr 29, 2014
    9
    American Hustle is energetic, funny and perfectly cast. It features smart twists & turns from a very smart script and is directed stylishly by David O. Russell.
  65. Dec 26, 2013
    9
    Great. O Russ is a dynamic director. Acting by every character is pretty impressive. Everyone had chemistry. A good written story that keeps you sticking around. 8.7/10
  66. Dec 29, 2013
    9
    “Some of this actually happened.”

    From this first inter-title, David O. Russell’s new crime comedy-drama American Hustle(2013) promised two and a half hours of the twisted, the practically anarchic, but most especially, the absolutely absurd and in the best way possible. Despite its late arrival to the Oscar scene (along with Scorsese’s Wolf of Wall Street) and its being overshadowed
    by Steve McQueen’s long-awaited 12 Years a Slave, American Hustleproves worthy of every nomination and accolade to date and lives up to its enormous hype. It is one of the best films to hit cinemas in years

    If the subject matter doesn’t scream Scorsese’s Goodfellas (1990) (or even Mean Streets (1973), if you squint), the style most definitely does. American Hustle’s narrative trajectory is almost reminiscent of Casino (1995) in its first person narrative, given from the perspectives of both Bale’s Irving Rosenfeld and Adams’ Sydney Prosser. Yet, it’s no Scorsese in regards to cinematography and definitely no Guillermo del Toro. From a first viewing, the camera placement and movement remains incredibly simplistic and unremarkable. The cinematography, therefore, simply acts as an enabler for the film’s greatest aspects namely the performances by the A-list cast, and its fantastic script and plot.

    The screenplay is simply sensational, creating a remarkable dynamic between both comedy and drama that is so rarely accomplished with films of this nature. Dramatic moments including a screaming match between Irving and and his unstable wife, Rosalyn (Jennifer Lawrence) are immediately followed by hilarious quips and creative dialogue that left me gasping for air. Everything about the script is interconnected fluidly and cleverly and moments expressed in the film’s infancy reappear later on with greater prominence and importance, all working together to create a story that comes full circle and completely encapsulates its overall themes of reinvention and survival. The story is fantastic, the writing superb and the plot completely driven by its characters.

    Christian Bale, renowned for his dedication when it comes to a character’s physicality, immediately astounds with a comb-over and beer belly in his interpretation of lead, Irving Rosenfeld. However, it’s his rendition of Irving that truly startles. Bale cleverly crafts a man who, despite his conning nature, is honourable at heart and is uncomfortable with potentially destroying a good man with good intentions (Jeremy Renner’s Carmine Polito). Bale could have gone over the top with Irving he is, after all, a conman from the Bronx but, instead, he opted for a more realistic, grounded character. It was a fantastic choice, and one that definitely adds to the story’s growing tension and drama. This may perhaps be one of Bale’s best films.

    Opposite Bale is Amy Adams, in arguably one of her best showings to date, as well. Her performance as cleverly deceptive Sydney Prosser (or Lady Edith Greensly, if you’re on the wrong side of the desk) is punctuated by moments of severe sincerity and emotional turmoil. Adams’ prowess as an actress is in top form, and she proves absolutely deserving of her nomination for Best Leading Actress at this year’s Golden Globe awards.

    In almost a throwback to another Russell film, Silver Linings Playbook, Bradley Cooper plays uncontrollable FBI agent Richie DiMaso (slightly familiar to Paul Solitano in regards to his wild desperation), who is determined to prove himself as a worthy player to not only his department, but his mother and especially himself. Though not Cooper’s best performance to date, American Hustle definitely shows off his stuff and solidifies his position as a powerful, talented actor in Hollywood.

    Jennifer Lawrence once again proves herself to be one of the most daring and talented young actresses in the business as Rosalyn Rosenfeld, Irving’s unstable and uncontrollable wife. In a world of reinvention and masks, Rosenfeld is the only character who tries not to change (“I hate change. I think I’d die before I ever changed”) and it shows through her erratic and sometimes violent behavior perfectly executed by Lawrence. Simply put, after watching American Hustle, I threw my hands up in the air and exclaimed to a startled audience of moviegoers, “Just give her the Oscar now!”

    If the acting and pristine characterisation isn’t any indication of what an incredible film American Hustle is, just take a look at the Golden Globe nods its received (7 in total). And American Hustle proves incredibly deserving of every scrap of recognition that it’s been getting.

    If you haven’t heard about or seen American Hustle, please get yourself out from underneath whatever rock you’ve been under for the last six or seven months and stomp on over to your local cinema immediately. Also, tune into the Golden Globe Awards on Jan. 12, 2014, where it’s sure to give 12 Years a Slave a run for its money!
    Expand
  67. Dec 30, 2013
    9
    Excellent movie. Unusual to see actual character development in films out of Hollywood these days, but this one accomplishes that in spades. Bale and Adams are excellent, and Lawrence (while I wanted a more fitting end to her character) does much with her screen time. I had few expectations going in, but I have to consider this Russell's best film to date.
  68. Feb 22, 2014
    9
    Not perfect, but very worthy. Excellent performances. Amy Adams was pretty darn hot. A very enjoyable, entertaining movie. Yes, there were a few moments where you expended a tad too much energy suspending disbelief, but it is taken in stride and actually adds to the experience. Did I say that Amy Adams was really darn hot?
  69. Dec 31, 2013
    9
    Like Silver Linings Playbook, American Hustle blends comedy and drama perfectly, and has amazing performances. Boy, does David O. Russell know how to direct actors, his movies are always the best with that. The story in American Hustle is also great, and very unpredictable, as are the characters. Its moments of comedy seem to come in at almost too perfect of times, and it doesn't feel like a comic relief, but it just feels natural. Great film, great acting.

    American Hustle gets 9.1/10
    Expand
  70. Jan 1, 2014
    9
    Enjoyable fun movie with great cast of characters. Very much enjoyed the 70's flashback and creative filming that kept us entertained all the way to the end!
  71. Jan 2, 2014
    9
    "American Hustle" fires on all cylinders. A great script, believable performances from an excellent ensemble cast, a fun soundtrack and those wild hairstyles from the late 70s all work well together. All the players do a fine job, but Bale's turn as a sympathetic con artist was the standout. I wasn't familiar with the ABSCAM operation so I was entertained and educated at the same time.
  72. Jan 3, 2014
    10
    A brillant classic American film with intense, terrific ensemble acting not seen since "Pulp Fiction". Oscar acting noms for everybody especially Christian Bale, Amy Adams, JLaw, and Jeremy Renner.
  73. Jan 5, 2014
    9
    I found the movie to be well directed and the actors portrayed their roles excellently Jennifer Lawrence and Christian Bale particularly stood out, and would argue that J Laws role could be in the running for Best Supporting Actress in upcoming awards. The movie was filled with many plot twists, cliff-hangers, humorous moments and suspense. I would definitely recommend this film to anyone interested in the 1950's-80's Mafia genre, and anyone in between. Overall, I give the film 9 out of 10. Expand
  74. Jan 12, 2014
    9
    Goodfellas meets Boogie Nights. Ok, so American Hustle was a bit bloated and sometimes contrived or overly cute in a Cameron Crowe way, but it was reminscent of the gritty mood of Goodfellas, and at times the Grifters, Closer, and at most farcical, Noises Off, but mostly it brought back the excitement of the first viewing of Boogie Nights, in that it, too, was a nostalgic, sexy, music-driven, layered epic with a stellar, well-costumed ensemble. Expand
  75. Feb 3, 2014
    9
    This movie is great, the acting is great, the writing is great, it is near perfect, but why isn't perfect, well the story is kind of just there, and the movie is just a slide show for the cast, and director David O'Russell's talents, but it is a really good one.
  76. Jan 17, 2014
    10
    Mind simply blown !!!
    American Hustle
    What a brilliant film I have just seen ....
    Everything is just ... just awesome... This is actor's movie and you will be amazed by every performances. Jennifer Lawrence and Christian Bale steal the show.... Best thing about Christian Bale is... when he is preparing for new role.. he inspires you... and his characters simply mark your brain... for
    many days... till his next performance... and this time we have Bradley Cooper to fight with him... the fight is so thrilling... fearless Amy Adams, classic Jeremy Runner and Robert Di Nero in guest appearance .... you cant demand for more... And captain of the ship is Great Director David O Russel !!!
    It is soft love story having thriller, comedy, emotions, twists in it !!!

    This film is going to rock at the Oscars.. surely !!! Am so confused now... am going to stick with Gravity or changing my party now... but I m loving this confusion....
    Don't think again... leave your place and rush to the nearest theaters... You stop that torrent right now as you should watch such art in the theaters to experience the EXPERIENCE...
    Expand
  77. Jan 23, 2014
    9
    Yawning confusion of uninterested boredom performed to think otherwise, typical O. Russel's synthetic effect spelling non-specific genre themes and styles. O. Russel's a mixer always lookin in the cupboards for new spices, sweeteners, and sauces. Takes time time to surrender and accept in his films, once he does has your taste buds excited, licking for more. It's raw though. Like a batch of cookies yet to heavenly cook in the oven. You just wanna garble the bowl down. But he only gives you small doses on a spoon. Then there's the writing. I say the best ones have the best lines, and the best memories and connection with personable life. Rich like JLaw's, "I'm not good with change. Sometimes I think I'll die before I change." Or Bale's monologue, "An artist's story is a story that never ends." Added with tablespoons of funny lines that I will not spoil. It nudges Wolf by a teaspoon 'cause of it's depth in academy award worthy performances. JLaw perfumes free will in this. Those with defined palettes are in for a treat. Expand
  78. Jul 25, 2014
    10
    American Hustle es, sin dudas, otro gran éxito del buen director David O. Russel, ya que el el film no solo cuenta con buenas actuaciones, buena dirección, buen montaje, buen vestuario, entre otros., si no que también ofrece una historia interesante y muy bien hecha.
  79. qev
    Apr 10, 2014
    10
    every aspect of this film is a delight, from concept to execution (via some tremendous characterizations by a truly talented cast (Bale's best perf, perchance?), thru a proper on-it plot, by way of excellent settings and bang-on, shameless costumes (and hair!), right up to the "did you guess the end beforehand? NO!" activity). spot on
  80. Jul 19, 2014
    10
    Uno de los mejores trabajos de David O. Rusell, si no, hasta el mejor, artisticamente una maravilla para vista, y con interpretaciones magnificas por parte de todo el elenco.
  81. Jun 7, 2014
    10
    David O. Russel is back and this time its for American Hustle. With famous stars such as Bale, Cooper, Lawrence, Adams, and Renner this movie is deemed for greatness. With a jazzy powerful script and actors that transformed themselves into their roles this truly makes for a great movie. You are left speechless at the amazing script and plot and when the end of this movie happens you will be struck with awe at how well of an overall movie this is. I truly think this movie deserved Best Picture at The Oscars 2013... 10/10 Expand
  82. Aug 8, 2014
    9
    David O. Russell has once again proves himself of how to direct a good film. It is the brilliant movie ever since Silver Linings Playbook with Cooper and Lawrence. With Bale and Adams, the movie brings stimulating performances and interlectuall dialogue by the actors and the filmmakers to bring this movie into real life.
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 47 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 47
  2. Negative: 0 out of 47
  1. Reviewed by: Mike Scott
    Dec 24, 2013
    80
    Like everyone else in Russell's cast, Lawrence appears to be having a blast in the role. It's downright contagious.
  2. Reviewed by: Andrew O'Hehir
    Dec 21, 2013
    100
    A work of tremendous confidence and dazzling showmanship that may just be a delirious movie-as-drug-high or may, if you choose to read it this way, contain a level of commentary about the nature of America and the illusioneering of Hollywood.
  3. 100
    The movie is a slot machine that never stops spitting quarters.