User Score
7.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1094 Ratings

User score distribution:
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 22, 2014
    4
    This film got nothing new for the ones who commonly watch movies at all. Big Hollywood cliché. Slow-motion desnecessarily, characters with no sympathy and not "deep" enough, script with no originality... The only thing I can say is positive about this is the envolvement with the main (Bale, Amy Adams, Cooper and J. Lawrence characters) just it. And probably this piece of s**t will win someThis film got nothing new for the ones who commonly watch movies at all. Big Hollywood cliché. Slow-motion desnecessarily, characters with no sympathy and not "deep" enough, script with no originality... The only thing I can say is positive about this is the envolvement with the main (Bale, Amy Adams, Cooper and J. Lawrence characters) just it. And probably this piece of s**t will win some Academy Award. Shameful... Expand
  2. Jun 4, 2014
    5
    Great actors, not a bad story. But the movie just didn't flow for me, about 3/4 of the way. I totally lost interest. That's not a good sign! the movie overall is a 5 out of 10. I already forgot about it
  3. May 16, 2014
    4
    I had high hopes for this film, I decided not to bother reading the reviews, what a mistake that was!!!

    While its not one of the worst films I've ever watched it was close! Over two hours of my life I'll never get back. The pacing was terrible, after about 30 minutes I found myself wanting the film to end, I would have turned it off if I didn't have company. Even Amy Adams obvious
    I had high hopes for this film, I decided not to bother reading the reviews, what a mistake that was!!!

    While its not one of the worst films I've ever watched it was close!

    Over two hours of my life I'll never get back. The pacing was terrible, after about 30 minutes I found myself wanting the film to end, I would have turned it off if I didn't have company.

    Even Amy Adams obvious talents did nothing to improve my opinion of this film, and Christian Bale was about as far away from the Batman trilogy as is humanly possible!!

    Do yourself a favour and don't buy this, wait until its on TV. I wish I had read the reviews before buying this film.
    Expand
  4. May 3, 2014
    4
    Once again the movie critics prove how little they know about what goes into making a great movie. Yes, the movie had incredible acting and the setting was founded upon detail after detail. However, does entertainment value mean nothing? I'm sorry but I was to enjoy my moviegoing experience, not be bored out of my mind while I acknowledge that Jennifer Lawrence is an amazing actress.Once again the movie critics prove how little they know about what goes into making a great movie. Yes, the movie had incredible acting and the setting was founded upon detail after detail. However, does entertainment value mean nothing? I'm sorry but I was to enjoy my moviegoing experience, not be bored out of my mind while I acknowledge that Jennifer Lawrence is an amazing actress. Honestly, the only things redeemable about this movie were Lawrence and Bradley Cooper's insane yet fantastic performances and Amy Adams relentless cleavage and side-boob. None of the characters are likable in any way and the plot drags and is annoying. The acting and the well detailed setting are worthwhile but the rest of the film is not. Expand
  5. Mar 7, 2014
    6
    Going into this movie, I thought with David O. Russell at the helm and the cast he put in place that this was going to be one of the year's best. While a good movie and well acted, this movie had trouble focusing for me and seemed to employ a lot of improv that hurt the overall product.
  6. Jan 25, 2014
    6
    American Hustle, the most overrated movie of 2013. It's not a bad movie but doesn't deserve all the Oscar nominees that it recieved. The actors did do a good job in their roles but I spent half the movie asking "What is going on right now?". It just felt convolulted. I might have had too high expectations but it just wasn't that impressed. Not a bad film but not whay it is being made out to be.
  7. Feb 8, 2014
    4
    I can't help but see this as the most overrated film of 2013. The acting, cinematography, and soundtrack is good...but the script is not even half as clever as it thinks it is, the plot is so scattered it feels like a schizophrenic leprechaun on LSD wrote it, and director David O. Russel just seems so lost in his own recent success that he feels like he can push all of the boundaries heI can't help but see this as the most overrated film of 2013. The acting, cinematography, and soundtrack is good...but the script is not even half as clever as it thinks it is, the plot is so scattered it feels like a schizophrenic leprechaun on LSD wrote it, and director David O. Russel just seems so lost in his own recent success that he feels like he can push all of the boundaries he wants and get applauded for it. Sadly that last part seems basically true. I'm all for movies that break traditional molds and delve deep into the bizarre and contradictory rawness of human thoughts and emotions, but this just made me feel sick and confused. There is no structure at all, while this is clearly intentional, it doesn't work for me. Plus the movie isn't funny enough to be a comedy, it isn't engaging enough to be a romance, and it isn't interesting enough to be a drama, leaving it stuck in some sort of genre-limbo. That isn't even touching on the extreme overuse of narration to explain the characters feelings, the fact that the actual problem of the movie is completely ambiguous until the end of the second act, and the absence any real protagonist to care about or find fascinating. Expand
  8. Jan 24, 2014
    6
    American Hustle is a good film, but not a great one, and it falls significantly short of all the amazing reviews and scores so many critics have given it. The cast is superb, with Bale, Cooper, Lawrence and Renner all giving methodical and solid performances. The real issue with the film however, lies with the writing and editing. The entire film seems as if scenes have been stuckAmerican Hustle is a good film, but not a great one, and it falls significantly short of all the amazing reviews and scores so many critics have given it. The cast is superb, with Bale, Cooper, Lawrence and Renner all giving methodical and solid performances. The real issue with the film however, lies with the writing and editing. The entire film seems as if scenes have been stuck together, but theres no glue to hold them together. The result is something of a mess, a poorly paced film with a continually swaying tone, and by the time it comes to the climax, you're just left sitting there thinking "So?" or "I don't really care". For me, the film demonstrates how great actors can really lift below par scripts and material. If you were thinking of seeing it, i recommended that you do so without any prior expectations, and do your best to ignore any reviews you have seen or read about it. Expand
  9. Feb 10, 2014
    5
    We went to see this movie because the hype was so big but I was very disappointed. While the acting was very good, especially Jennifer Lawrence, I found the plot left me cold ... and confused. I really couldn't figure out what it was all about or why. Why was this an interesting subject for a movie? The idea of the con has been pretty solid movie material in the past but this con-manWe went to see this movie because the hype was so big but I was very disappointed. While the acting was very good, especially Jennifer Lawrence, I found the plot left me cold ... and confused. I really couldn't figure out what it was all about or why. Why was this an interesting subject for a movie? The idea of the con has been pretty solid movie material in the past but this con-man story felt like it couldn't figure out what to focus on: love, friendship, making money, trying to survive, what? Was it about the art of the con, con men being in turn conned, or con men conning those who thought they were conning the con fen? It felt unfocused. I was not that impressed, and frankly Christian Bale's comb-over was not sexy at all, so I spent a lot of time thinking "yuck". And finally, the 70s fashions have a lot to answer for - the decade that fashion forgot. Expand
  10. Mar 13, 2014
    4
    Great acting but very poor story line, difficult to follow and left you feeling empty at the end. It got high critic reviews but honestly, I think the NY Post review was spot on.
  11. Ozy
    Jul 11, 2014
    5
    A long and somewhat boring movie with snippets of "fun". Very talky talky and one very hot toilet sex scene - which is about as exciting as the movie got. Great acting by all means. If i got anything from this movie it was that bale can actually act. I didn't know that - good for him.
  12. Dec 25, 2013
    5
    As a big David O. Russel fan, I had high expectations, particularly after seeing some of the film reviews for 'American Hustle'. I was highly disappointed with the film. Although it was very well acted, with an authentically 70's set, there was nothing particularly captivating about the storyline. The movie never drew me into the film as Russel has in previous past 2 efforts. It had aAs a big David O. Russel fan, I had high expectations, particularly after seeing some of the film reviews for 'American Hustle'. I was highly disappointed with the film. Although it was very well acted, with an authentically 70's set, there was nothing particularly captivating about the storyline. The movie never drew me into the film as Russel has in previous past 2 efforts. It had a couple of funny moments in it, but overall I wouldn't describe it as a comedy. If you want to see a decent movie, it's worthwhile, but don't expect another 'The Fighter' and certainly not 'Silver Linings Playbook'. Expand
  13. Dec 24, 2013
    5
    Based on the trailers I saw I was expecting a 70's version of Oceans 11. What I got was a slow paced film with enough dialog and close-ups for three films. I spent the whole film waiting for something interesting to happen and it never really did. The acting is all good but the story just wasn't that interesting. Also, you'd think that with a 2 hour plus film there would be time to getBased on the trailers I saw I was expecting a 70's version of Oceans 11. What I got was a slow paced film with enough dialog and close-ups for three films. I spent the whole film waiting for something interesting to happen and it never really did. The acting is all good but the story just wasn't that interesting. Also, you'd think that with a 2 hour plus film there would be time to get deeper into the characters but instead the time was used on over extended dialogs that were left in for the academy to get a good look at how awesome the cast is. Expand
  14. Dec 26, 2013
    6
    I thought that the acting in the movie was great, and there were a lot of great parts to it, but overall I feel like the movie doesn't come together completely. The ending, for me at least, left me asking "so what?". I just felt a lack of satisfaction coming out of the theater, and while it delivers in most regards, it failed to capture me and win me over.
  15. Jan 1, 2014
    5
    Whaaat, you guys are loving this one? I saw both this film and The Wolf of Wall Street. They both have really the same story but the other film does it much better.
  16. Dec 21, 2013
    6
    Make no mistake, this movie belongs to Amy Adams. She gives the movie its momentum in nearly every scene and looks gorgeous doing it. The movie itself lacks real energy; Christian Bale mumbles through most of his screen time and Bradley Coopers character is fired up but his events with his boss come across as unlikely and a little corny. This looks like a movie that moves and grows toMake no mistake, this movie belongs to Amy Adams. She gives the movie its momentum in nearly every scene and looks gorgeous doing it. The movie itself lacks real energy; Christian Bale mumbles through most of his screen time and Bradley Coopers character is fired up but his events with his boss come across as unlikely and a little corny. This looks like a movie that moves and grows to some dramatic climax but just sort of ends with a little clever con. Interesting choices of soundtrack music, many from the early 70's although this is set in the Disco era of the late 70's. Overall an entertaining movie which just felt overlong with a small payoff. Expand
  17. Jan 5, 2014
    6
    Anticipating American Hustle I was convinced that it would be one of my top films of the year. After all it has a great cast, a talented director and a trailer that makes it look exciting and complex. Unfortunately, its complexity is a major flaw. The story is so convoluted that maximum attention is demanded. However, excessive lengh and a tendancy towards the pedantic encourages theAnticipating American Hustle I was convinced that it would be one of my top films of the year. After all it has a great cast, a talented director and a trailer that makes it look exciting and complex. Unfortunately, its complexity is a major flaw. The story is so convoluted that maximum attention is demanded. However, excessive lengh and a tendancy towards the pedantic encourages the attention to wander. The cast give it their all. Christian Bale continues to create zany out there characters; Jennifer Lawrence is fun, but obvious; Bradley Cooper is way over the top, and Jeremy Renner flies under the radar.The real news here is Amy Adams who all but steals the film. Excitingly cast against her usual 'good girl' type, she gives a power house performance that is her best to date. She and Bale are the film's strongest asset and it benefits from their chemistry together. Production values are spot on in depicting the 70's fashion, with hair and costumes creating a great diversion. It also contains a wonderful pop soundtrack of the era which encourages one to reminisce. In the final analysis American Hustle, sadly, lacks something. This leaves one feeling that the whole does not add up to the sum of its,quite excellent, parts. Expand
  18. Dec 26, 2013
    5
    Good but not great. Once again the professional critics are star-struck. The acting is fun to watch but the direction and editing are definitely sub-par. Amy Adams' boobs are a metaphor for this film. They are great to look at but they are really just a distraction. I enjoyed it but it's not going to make it to my favorites list. Too long and really not much point to it other thatGood but not great. Once again the professional critics are star-struck. The acting is fun to watch but the direction and editing are definitely sub-par. Amy Adams' boobs are a metaphor for this film. They are great to look at but they are really just a distraction. I enjoyed it but it's not going to make it to my favorites list. Too long and really not much point to it other that watching some of my favorite actors have fun. Expand
  19. Dec 29, 2013
    5
    It uses silence to a mind numbing effect. The film is watchable, not worth 10+ admission fee though. rental or tv movie at best. The best part is amy adams chest/breasts which were on display all film. It comes across to the viewer that the actors are more enthralled with being in a period 70's piece than actually acting in it. The movie was flat.
  20. Dec 30, 2013
    6
    Not a bad film, not a great one either. I would definitely not call it one of the best of the year as many critics do.
    How would I describe it?
    You take a good recipe, all proper ingredients, follow the procedure. But the result is quite mediocre.
    I saw the movie just a few days ago and I do not remember what it was about. My Alzheimer is only part of the reason
  21. Jun 25, 2014
    4
    Prior to watching this: I went to see the film because of the many good reviews. Snucked in a Dominos Pizza and felt lethargic half way through film. Got food poisoning that night.
    Review:
    Pros: General good acting, particularly Lawrence's. Cons: This is a rather slow and miserable film with terrible hair for all the main actors. Cooper's character was a d**k, Bale's was inept,
    Prior to watching this: I went to see the film because of the many good reviews. Snucked in a Dominos Pizza and felt lethargic half way through film. Got food poisoning that night.
    Review:
    Pros: General good acting, particularly Lawrence's.
    Cons: This is a rather slow and miserable film with terrible hair for all the main actors. Cooper's character was a d**k, Bale's was inept, Lawrence's was naive and I've never liked Adams's acting ever.
    2/5 - Don't bother.
    Expand
  22. Dec 15, 2013
    6
    I'm still not sold on this movie. I feel that something is missing. Acting was great, stellar cast, but I expected something a little more. I can't quite put it into words, but I think there was too much tried to put into this movie, needed a bit more suspense leading up to the final twist. Similarly the movie took a bit too long to get moving.
  23. Dec 22, 2013
    6
    AMERICAN HUSTLE explores the uniquely American need for self-reinvention and our obsession with success and finding a better life. Unlike most filmmakers, David O. Russell is able to use the great American con as a metaphor for our larger personal ills. Unfortunately, Russell does not seem like the right director for this tale. Scenes are lethargic and go on for far too long. A reallyAMERICAN HUSTLE explores the uniquely American need for self-reinvention and our obsession with success and finding a better life. Unlike most filmmakers, David O. Russell is able to use the great American con as a metaphor for our larger personal ills. Unfortunately, Russell does not seem like the right director for this tale. Scenes are lethargic and go on for far too long. A really super music score is laid down in the most perfunctory fashion. His cast is totally game and look amazing in their 70s garb but they too often come across as lifeless. Except for Jennifer Lawrence who totally steals the show! She delivers an astoundingly insightful performance that is both over the top and subtle. She's funny, whacked, sad and lonely--all at the same time. A miraculous performance. If only AMERICAN HUSTLE reached the same dizzying somber heights. Expand
  24. Dec 21, 2013
    4
    Thin. It felt like Russel was channeling Scorcese's Goodfellas. And that move only highlights how much better Goodfellas was than American Hustle. You can disagree. But we all have gone on quoting lines from Goodfellas for years and years. What will we quote from this movie? What scenes carry the weight of "you think I'm funny, like a clown?" This movie never takes itself serious enough toThin. It felt like Russel was channeling Scorcese's Goodfellas. And that move only highlights how much better Goodfellas was than American Hustle. You can disagree. But we all have gone on quoting lines from Goodfellas for years and years. What will we quote from this movie? What scenes carry the weight of "you think I'm funny, like a clown?" This movie never takes itself serious enough to be memorable. Fun to watch, sure, but it doesn't ever make much of a dent. Expand
  25. Jan 12, 2014
    6
    This movie is referred to as a crime/drama/thriller/history, but it's rather a comedy.
    Typical American extravaganza, good if you want to watch something light filled with steretypes such as money, cheating, fraut etc.
    The actress, Amy Adams, was the highlithg of the movie, in my opinion. Great acting.
    But for the rest, especially story-wise, this move is rather mediocre.
  26. Dec 21, 2013
    6
    More hype than hustle and a major disappointment. This film has too much stagnant film time where nothing of consequence occurs. Every time it gathers some momentum, it diverts to the snails pace love triangle hustle that is frankly not very interesting. Amy Adams revealing cleavage isn't enough to make up for the fact the hustle is does not constitute enough of the film to keep yourMore hype than hustle and a major disappointment. This film has too much stagnant film time where nothing of consequence occurs. Every time it gathers some momentum, it diverts to the snails pace love triangle hustle that is frankly not very interesting. Amy Adams revealing cleavage isn't enough to make up for the fact the hustle is does not constitute enough of the film to keep your attention. There are about three scenes of interest and the rest of the film is a bore. Expand
  27. Jan 5, 2014
    5
    A few thoughts on this film... It was like each actor was trying to out-do each other with over-the-top, Oscar-bait performances. The acting felt artificial and too cerebral. Poorly cast and the accents of the characters were all over the place. Jeremy Renner as an Italian New Jersey mayor? Huh? I find Christian Bale arrogant and smug, so his presence here didn't help. And he's notA few thoughts on this film... It was like each actor was trying to out-do each other with over-the-top, Oscar-bait performances. The acting felt artificial and too cerebral. Poorly cast and the accents of the characters were all over the place. Jeremy Renner as an Italian New Jersey mayor? Huh? I find Christian Bale arrogant and smug, so his presence here didn't help. And he's not convincing as a balding, paunchy New York Jew. Jennifer Lawrence doesn't belong in this movie and can't do accents. Amy Adams is wonderful, but she's a little too sweet for this role. Great outfits, though. Expand
  28. Jan 14, 2014
    6
    anybody who is anybody is in this film, so as you might be able to tell my expectations were high, awesome story, the acting was OK, but i still think it lacked something to make it great and i had a difficult time paying attention and keeping up with it, it all comes together in the end though.
  29. Jan 12, 2014
    6
    The story is interesting and fun to move along with. A great cast, but the acting is at once overdone while at the same demonstrating flippant treatment of character. Whether this shortcoming is due to the actors themselves or the directing isn't clear. The script also proceeds along the lines of a Judd Apatow film, which works in some scenes but not in others. Overall this movie is wellThe story is interesting and fun to move along with. A great cast, but the acting is at once overdone while at the same demonstrating flippant treatment of character. Whether this shortcoming is due to the actors themselves or the directing isn't clear. The script also proceeds along the lines of a Judd Apatow film, which works in some scenes but not in others. Overall this movie is well put together but will likely not shine among the other outstanding films on which the actors, director, and screenwriters have worked. Expand
  30. Sep 20, 2014
    5
    A con artist and his con artist mistress, being blackmailed, after being caught conning, to con an unsuspecting politician in the hopes of catching the big time cons – this is the plot of American Hustle.

    Richie DiMaso is the FBI agent, hungry to make a name for himself, not happy with catching two small time crooks, Sydney Prosser (Lady Edith Greensley) and Irving Rosenfeld. Instead he
    A con artist and his con artist mistress, being blackmailed, after being caught conning, to con an unsuspecting politician in the hopes of catching the big time cons – this is the plot of American Hustle.

    Richie DiMaso is the FBI agent, hungry to make a name for himself, not happy with catching two small time crooks, Sydney Prosser (Lady Edith Greensley) and Irving Rosenfeld. Instead he uses these con artists to help him catch more in exchange for immunity from their crimes, continually upping the stakes. Not satisfied until he has several politicians and the mob within his reach.

    David O. Russell reminds me of the directors of the past that had a reliable inner circle of actors he recycled over and over in movies – clearly favoring Bradley Cooper and Jennifer Lawrence. Both talented actors who seem miscast in their roles as neither are able to fully become their characters. You, as the viewer, can’t help shake that it is Bradley Cooper being the hungry FBI agent Richie DiMaso and Jennifer Lawrence pretending to be the unstable wife Rosalyn Rosenfeld, the latter being far worse than the former.

    Amy Adams’ multilayered portrayal of the master con artist manipulator Sydney Prosser (aka Edith) steals the show in the role. Unfortunately, this is not particularly difficult given her costars’ performances. The character development is there for all roles, but just not brought to life. Better equipped, though lesser known, actors would have elevated this movie to a point where it was a runaway for the Oscars.

    I was absolutely charmed by the costume design by Michael Wilkinson and believe that his innate ability in capturing the late 1970’s helps captivate the audience, drawing them into this comedic drama. I am sure true fashionistas knowledgeable in style trends will point out flaws but the polyester clad bodies, exposed chests and prevalent curlers will be awesome fun for the ignorant viewer.

    All in all, it is a fun movie filled with good music and an entertaining story line as you root for unlikely con artist protagonists. Hoping they get out unscathed for their ‘happily ever after’.

    More reviews of recent releases at our website!
    Expand
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 47 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 47
  2. Negative: 0 out of 47
  1. Reviewed by: Mike Scott
    Dec 24, 2013
    80
    Like everyone else in Russell's cast, Lawrence appears to be having a blast in the role. It's downright contagious.
  2. Reviewed by: Andrew O'Hehir
    Dec 21, 2013
    100
    A work of tremendous confidence and dazzling showmanship that may just be a delirious movie-as-drug-high or may, if you choose to read it this way, contain a level of commentary about the nature of America and the illusioneering of Hollywood.
  3. 100
    The movie is a slot machine that never stops spitting quarters.