American Pie

User Score
4.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 432 Ratings

User score distribution:

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. May 17, 2015
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. There are some scenes in American Pie that are amusing. One scene that I found funny was the scene where Jim is dancing for Nadia. He doesn't realize they're being watched on the internet by others. He has a webcam and everyone is watching them through a link. Jim sends the link to everyone so they then have access to his webcam. He's only supposed to send the link to his friend's but he addresses the email wrong. Jim blows his shot with Nadia, then at school the next day everyone knows about his failure. He doesn't catch on to the fact that many people were watching them instantly but he does. Some acting in the movie was well done like Alyson Hannigan as the band geek and Eugene Levy's role as Jim's father. Overall though American Pie fails to be a hilarious, smart comedy. It is mildly amusing but mostly lame due to the crudeness of the sexual content and the gross out gags that misfire. Expand
  2. May 11, 2011
    2
    Really america? This is what qualifies as hysterical comedy? An endless stream of sight gags and sex jokes. If you don't want to have to think here is your movie. If you like the same jokes you liked when you were 12 this is your movie. I also recommend you pick up Captain Underpants books, you'll LOVE them! Grow up and get yourself some George Carlin DVD's.
  3. Apr 13, 2012
    1
    this is a porn not a movie basically every 5 seconds someone is having sex or there are boobs this movie is not funny at all im a teenager and i would never want to be do%&he bags like the people in this movie and not to mention most of the jokes are disgusting because people are like puking everywhere and making people drink horse sperm its horrible but ill give it a 1 for the boobs lol
  4. Jan 3, 2014
    5
    Não sou muito fã desses tipos de comédia porém até que chega a ser um filme divertido em certas partes mais não passa disso sendo um besteirol puro e chato.
  5. Nov 7, 2012
    10
    Pie tells the tale of high school seniors searching for sex, love, and acceptance in the world. Yes, the film is raunchy and crude, but it is also hilarious from start to finish, and has a warm spirit and well developed characters.
  6. Mar 31, 2012
    9
    American Pie is no teen movie we haven't seen before, but its strong performances, huge amounts of heart, lovable characters, and plenty of laughs ;American Pie is a solid and memorable comedy. I give this movie 86%.
  7. LC
    Jun 15, 2007
    4
    It had it's moments, but even they were crude and irritating in some way. I'm not sure it deserves it's 58 metascore.
  8. Feb 22, 2013
    7
    The original American Pie is certainly a classic comedy on the must see list, but it's not the best of the seven American Pie inspired films. Personally, I preferred the second one too the first, as everyone was much more relaxed and knew each other, making the movie flow better. Don't get me wrong, this one certainly had it's funny moments, but in my estimation it wasn't as good as theThe original American Pie is certainly a classic comedy on the must see list, but it's not the best of the seven American Pie inspired films. Personally, I preferred the second one too the first, as everyone was much more relaxed and knew each other, making the movie flow better. Don't get me wrong, this one certainly had it's funny moments, but in my estimation it wasn't as good as the second one. Jason Biggs Alyson Hannigan are hilarious, but for all they bring to the table, bad actors like Eddie Kay Thomas and Chris Klein take away, making the good performances moot. American Pie is a classic teen comedy about sex and it ushered in a new era in comedy that's still relevant today. It has the raunchy, crazy, good looking youth we see in today's comedy, but unfortunately also has some really lame jokes and bad acting, that thankful went out with the nineties. Expand
  9. Nov 24, 2010
    8
    Not funny as American Pie 2 and 3 but the first American Pie tells a introduction. After watching the first American Pie, people will laugh in the American Pie 2 and 3
  10. Aug 20, 2010
    10
    i honestly dont understand this score. i rewatched this a few days ago and was howling of laughter. its definitely one of the funniest movies of my generation, and it inspired many movies with similar humour (example: 40 year old virgin, superbad, etc).
  11. Jan 26, 2011
    10
    This is a classic teenage comedy and a personal favourite for me. The cast work together well on a plot with comedy in every scene. Sean William Scott deserves an Oscar.
  12. Oct 3, 2011
    7
    Pure comedy, there is no proper story to follow (only in the sequel), is simply following a story based on the facts of the day to day and laugh with some epic events.
  13. Dec 26, 2011
    7
    A god damned classic that every teenage boy is bound to love. Screw the critics when it comes to movies like American Pie, of course older people will **** all over it because they are just mad they aren't young anymore.
  14. Jan 30, 2012
    10
    If you hadn't seen this movie yet you should see it right now. Of course im not insisting you guys to watch it if you don't like teen movies but its classic of this kind of comedy.I mean it! This might look little bit stupid because its like a "stupid comedy" Thats how i like to call movies like this.Actually they aren't stupid at all it's very hard to create jokes like this and make aIf you hadn't seen this movie yet you should see it right now. Of course im not insisting you guys to watch it if you don't like teen movies but its classic of this kind of comedy.I mean it! This might look little bit stupid because its like a "stupid comedy" Thats how i like to call movies like this.Actually they aren't stupid at all it's very hard to create jokes like this and make a movie like this.But I could hardly recommend this movie if you are looking for different kind of comedy something opposite from teens movie like good rated movie with good well known actor and a good storyline or a family comedy because it would be pretty weird watching movies with your children or with your parent (depends who you are). This movie is way different is about teenagers life, and
    their jokes. I could say this was one of the best of this kind of
    comedy i have ever seen! if someone asks for a comedy about teens first
    movie i say is "American pie". This movie would be best if you're
    looking for something really easy and very hilarious to watch as I
    said already. Thanks for reading
    Expand
  15. Dec 10, 2012
    7
    This movie shouldn't be taken just as crude etc.: it mainly shows the teens' silly fun. Many teens are "searching" for sex, and this movie shows it with funny moments and these moments which you call "crude".
  16. Jul 29, 2013
    7
    American Pie came onto the scene shortly before the new millennium, and with the new millennium came a plethora of "college age" films. It was not the first of its kind, but it did help shape the way films of the like would be made for years to come. It may be crude and uncalled for from beginning to end, but it has delightful characters, a decent plot-line, and a stellar soundtrack. It isAmerican Pie came onto the scene shortly before the new millennium, and with the new millennium came a plethora of "college age" films. It was not the first of its kind, but it did help shape the way films of the like would be made for years to come. It may be crude and uncalled for from beginning to end, but it has delightful characters, a decent plot-line, and a stellar soundtrack. It is far from a cinematic masterpiece, but it is an easy-going watch for anyone that enjoys a good comedy. Expand
  17. Sep 22, 2013
    7
    American Pie is one of those movies a bachelor has on his movie shelf, watching occasionally to his pleasure. But, once the missus moves in, that movie is going with the comics, porn, and dirty movies he has.

    Nevertheless, the movie deals with issues concerning teens growing up and finding ways to crave their sexual desires, which we all go through eventually. Also, it is fun and kooky,
    American Pie is one of those movies a bachelor has on his movie shelf, watching occasionally to his pleasure. But, once the missus moves in, that movie is going with the comics, porn, and dirty movies he has.

    Nevertheless, the movie deals with issues concerning teens growing up and finding ways to crave their sexual desires, which we all go through eventually. Also, it is fun and kooky, springing up some very awkward scenes. The message: don't watch this movie with your parents!
    Expand
  18. May 30, 2014
    8
    American Pie is a bag of laughs, it's hilarious, well acted and interesting. It's the story of the typical adolescent teenagers lusting for some sexual experiences.
  19. Jul 4, 2014
    10
    I watched this movie two days ago for the first time and I enjoyed every bit of it. It is crude, it is raunchy and it is what started everything we love about comedies. I must watch!
  20. Me
    Jul 5, 2006
    9
    a 58 metascore is a travesty. This is one of most realistic comedies of all time, and hilarious.
  21. AbbyH.
    Dec 2, 2004
    10
    This movie was very realistic. Boys drooling over girls (Stifler) and other boys waiting to just lose their virginity. Just like I said "Realistic". When I was in school, that's what all the boys were thinking about. I know that for a fact. But, only a few boys at my school were virgin. The basketball team with Buddy Johnson, Danny Sullivan and Billy Davis. those boys could get any This movie was very realistic. Boys drooling over girls (Stifler) and other boys waiting to just lose their virginity. Just like I said "Realistic". When I was in school, that's what all the boys were thinking about. I know that for a fact. But, only a few boys at my school were virgin. The basketball team with Buddy Johnson, Danny Sullivan and Billy Davis. those boys could get any girl they want. No doubt about that. But, the other boys at school were a lot like the ones in this movie. Expand
  22. GaborA.
    Jun 14, 2004
    1
    You will find your mouth opening more to let out vomit than laughter. Plotless with over blown, gross humor.
  23. B.J.S.
    Aug 12, 2004
    2
    Had a couple funny scenes but one could tell exactly what was going to happed before it did. A a film it was horrible. for something just to watch it could have been good if the writers would have put an ounce of energy into coming up with an original joke (or even one that was from Porky's). This whole series of movies was exactly the same. There were not any new ideas in any of Had a couple funny scenes but one could tell exactly what was going to happed before it did. A a film it was horrible. for something just to watch it could have been good if the writers would have put an ounce of energy into coming up with an original joke (or even one that was from Porky's). This whole series of movies was exactly the same. There were not any new ideas in any of them just the same old stuff. The only difference in each film was the location. Expand
  24. AndrewM.
    Jul 11, 2004
    8
    An original classic......well, not that original...and maybe not really a classic...but this is one of the best of its kind, no doubt! Good looking young actors (who can act!) in one funny scene after another; some are gross, some are clever, some are bewildering, but most are damn hilarious! It's a great script, chock-full of beautifully constructed, gutter-trash humour and sight An original classic......well, not that original...and maybe not really a classic...but this is one of the best of its kind, no doubt! Good looking young actors (who can act!) in one funny scene after another; some are gross, some are clever, some are bewildering, but most are damn hilarious! It's a great script, chock-full of beautifully constructed, gutter-trash humour and sight gags, and you really don't mind one bit. After watching American Pie, just how exactly can one now hold a flute seriously!! Expand
  25. TomL.
    Aug 23, 2002
    5
    Funny yet highly aimed at teens who simply laugh at anything that does with sex.
  26. TommyL.
    Aug 2, 2003
    10
    Its a classic...no doubt...it'll have you on the floor...in pain from laughter...and at the same time...it will touch you......underneath all of the gags...this is actually a movie with real characters that you grow to care about during the course of the movie.
  27. SarahA.
    Sep 14, 2002
    10
    Brilliant! You really get to know the characters as well as being really, really funny, all the time!
  28. Maxine
    Jul 30, 2001
    10
    This was preverted, but great!
  29. AnaB.
    Apr 8, 2002
    10
    A very, very funny movie.
  30. DavidR.
    Sep 4, 2003
    5
    Funny, but really not all that.
  31. RichardC.
    Jul 30, 2003
    10
    No, not the smartested movie, but it is still FUNNY AS HELL!!! And it has a story everyone can relate to-wanting to score.
  32. Jeremy
    Sep 29, 2003
    8
    Say what you want about the film's morals, which are muddled, American Pie is a good comedy for three reasons: It's hillarious, it's sweet, and it has good characters.
  33. C.W.
    Oct 13, 2003
    6
    It's like sitting in a rice patty without your pants on. It's filthy, but it sure feels interesting.
  34. YoonMinC.
    Oct 21, 2003
    2
    Has one genuinely funny scene--with the monkey(the animal). And, it's perceptive in showing how it's hardly better to have parents understand your sexual drives than not. But, this is really the latest rehashing of the dumb sex cumedies starting with Porky's.
  35. Oct 19, 2015
    10
    An original raunchy, cheerful teen comedy that has comical, funny and interesting characters gives you belly laughs and a bit of charm, even though it's cliche'd but the film is self aware of it. The performances by Jason Biggs, Chris Klein, Sean William Scott and Thomas Ian Nicholas are scintillating and comedic gold under the direction of Paul Weitz (About A Boy). Weitz has perfectAn original raunchy, cheerful teen comedy that has comical, funny and interesting characters gives you belly laughs and a bit of charm, even though it's cliche'd but the film is self aware of it. The performances by Jason Biggs, Chris Klein, Sean William Scott and Thomas Ian Nicholas are scintillating and comedic gold under the direction of Paul Weitz (About A Boy). Weitz has perfect comedic timing which elevates the screenplay by Adam Herz. The film's a winner and makes you forget about those other teen genre films, which this film is my favorite high school film and makes you want to be in high school again. Grade A Expand
  36. Apr 18, 2016
    1
    If this is what we call comedy, then this is literally the worst type of comedy I've ever seen. There's no absolute reason to combine a bunch of too many gross things to a film which American Pie fails to make me laugh, instead making me get disgusted because of the clichés that keeps on blowing back and forth. An idiotic movie made by a pair of idiots who had dirty minds at the time forIf this is what we call comedy, then this is literally the worst type of comedy I've ever seen. There's no absolute reason to combine a bunch of too many gross things to a film which American Pie fails to make me laugh, instead making me get disgusted because of the clichés that keeps on blowing back and forth. An idiotic movie made by a pair of idiots who had dirty minds at the time for idiots that can keep up a chuckle or two. Expand
  37. Jun 7, 2016
    8
    I don't care what anyone says. The first American Pie movie is a genuinely good film. It's gross out humor has a very sweet, very thought provoking core that keeps you hooked for the entire movie!
  38. Sep 9, 2016
    6
    American Pie came onto the scene shortly before the new millennium, and with the new millennium came a plethora of "college age" films. It was not the first of its kind, but it did help shape the way films of the like would be made for years to come. It may be crude and uncalled for from beginning to end, but it has delightful characters, a decent plot-line, and a stellar soundtrack. It isAmerican Pie came onto the scene shortly before the new millennium, and with the new millennium came a plethora of "college age" films. It was not the first of its kind, but it did help shape the way films of the like would be made for years to come. It may be crude and uncalled for from beginning to end, but it has delightful characters, a decent plot-line, and a stellar soundtrack. It is far from a cinematic masterpiece, but it is an easy-going watch for anyone that enjoys a good comedy. Expand
Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 30
  2. Negative: 5 out of 30
  1. The successful bits, along with an amiable cast of losers and their prom-night prey, make American Pie a winner.
  2. Another giggly gross-out comedy for teenagers.
  3. 75
    It is not inspired, but it's cheerful and hard-working and sometimes funny, and--here's the important thing--it's not mean.