User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 278 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 5 out of 278

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 1, 2012
    10
    11/10 would watch again.
    It's funny, I seriously just love watching people die. It legitimately turns me on, at least a bit. Good, good, good movie...
  2. May 10, 2011
    10
    Based on the book of the same name, American Psycho is a journey through the mind of a mentally deranged yuppie. While that makes it seem like a very serious movie it's actually very funny in a dark sense. Christian Bale is delightful as the main character Patrick Bateman.
  3. Nov 28, 2012
    9
    Featuring some of Christian Bale's greatest work, and some priceless juxtapositions of horror and humor, "American Psycho" remains a hysterically written piece of satire.
  4. Jan 12, 2014
    10
    One of the best and most underrated movies of all time IMHO. Its smart , funny and gory with deep dark undertones about the paradoxical times we live in
  5. Jun 4, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is a very intriguing movie. We get to watch as Patrick Bateman's sanity slowly slips away to his uncontrollable nightly blood lust. However, we find out that he may be delusional, and not necessarily dangerous. I still can't decide whether he is crazy or a serial killer. Expand
  6. Jan 20, 2012
    9
    American Psycho is one of the most deranged yet enjoyable stories ever committed to film. A satire of the "yuppie" lifestyle of the 1980s, and a warning against the corrupting power of money, it's expertly told, well-scripted, somewhat disturbingly funny, and grusomely thrilling. The entire film pretty much hinges on one performance, that of Christian Bale's increasingly disturbed Wall Street trader-by-day and serial killer-by-night Patrick Bateman. Bale doesn't disappoint, delivering the performance of his career, and in the process creating a horror villain to rival Norman Bates, and an anti-hero and chillingly disturbing narrator to rival Alex DeLarge. Comparissons to such films as Psycho and A Clockwork Orange are inevitable, and American Psycho could be seen as an affectionate tribute to both, but with its own ideas to add to the bubbling cauldron of depravity. All these films use madness as a metaphor for something wrong with society - in Psycho it's misogyny, in A Clockwork Orange it's the corruption of government, and in American Psycho it's the evils of capitalism. The films are similar in many ways, amd vastly different in others, but all three communicate a powerful message to their audience extremely effectively. American Psycho certainly deserves equal recognition as a film - the performances are just as good, the story just as engaging, the underlying themes just as dark and compelling. Even director Mary Harron shows great flair in her art, though sadly as a cult film director she is unlikely to be classed in the same league as so-called "masters" as **** and Kubrick. If you enjoy the film, cult icon as it is, then feel free to be smug in the fact that you and a select group of others appreciate a truly fine, though criminally underrated film. Expand
  7. Feb 3, 2012
    10
    To be honest I never thought Christian Bale was that incredible as an actor... until I saw this movie, and I was blown away. What a an amazing performance, being able to create a character so deep but completely shallow at the same time. It's like Dexter, but 10 times more insane, satirical and absolutely terrifying.
  8. Nov 8, 2012
    10
    American Psycho is brilliant social satire cleverly dressed up as a slasher film. I love it! A masterwork.
  9. Dec 27, 2012
    9
    Despite being a bit confusing especially the end, the characters in it were brilliant and Christian Bale acted brilliantly. The subtle jokes were the best and the satirical undertones were great.
  10. Jun 8, 2014
    9
    Without a shadow of a doubt one of the most underrated movies I have ever had the privilege of watching. Christian Bale plays the role so well and the story is full of clever plot points and surprises throughout. Why this film got such mixed reviews upon release is beyond me, it's so well made. Thankfully with age this film has seen it's fan base and popularity grow and rightly so, this film is so worth watching! Expand
  11. Sep 2, 2014
    9
    This is one of my favorite films of all time. It's extremely well-acted, and I love the 80's vibe of the film. It's quite an interesting take on the slasher film with our main character, portrayed quite darkly by Christian Bale. "American Psycho" is a very interesting (and even sometimes funny) look into the mind of a serial killer, and it's a very intense and enjoyable film. I give it my highest recommendation. Expand
  12. Aug 7, 2011
    9
    Satiric and socially relevant. A film not for the faint of heart. Filled with violence but with a purpose. Christian Bale creates an interesting performance. A must see, well stylized dark comedy with a lot to say. Soon to be a modern classic, and certainly deserving of its cult following.
  13. Jul 23, 2014
    10
    American Psycho has top notch acting from Christian Bale. His character is fascinating and the movie
    has an absorbing plot with plenty of surprises. American Psycho is very clever and entertaining, the
    movie also has effective black comedy.
  14. Sep 2, 2014
    10
    American Psycho is fascinating and is unlike any other movie.
    ..............................................................................................
  15. Jul 13, 2014
    10
    American Psycho has a terrific plot, acting and is a satire of the lifestyle of those who lived in the 1980's.
    The movie is absorbing and intricate which is great to see. The movie also has great comedy provided
    by Christian Bale. Bale put so many facets into his character that it would take a while to list them
    all, one of my favourite thrillers, A+.
  16. Aug 28, 2014
    10
    American Psycho has a fantastic plot and one of Christian Bale's consummate performances. Without the
    talented cast, atmosphere and complex story with clever twists the movie would've been mediocre.
    The movie is very underrated and it is one of the best movies of all time. The movie is also one of my
    favourite movies of all time.
  17. Sep 5, 2014
    10
    Christian Bale is outstanding in the movie and the movie's plot is very absorbing while being fascinating.
    $$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$
  18. Sep 12, 2014
    10
    Christian Bale's best performance in my opinion. He made his character as interesting as possible even
    though his character isn't a decent, regular citizen.
  19. Sep 12, 2014
    10
    American Psycho is a complex character study with skilled acting, satire and effective black comedy.
    =================================================
  20. Sep 18, 2014
    10
    American Psycho is an amusing and clever thriller that will have you fascinated and delighted by
    the creativity of the plot. sssssssssssssssssssssssss
  21. Sep 18, 2014
    10
    American Psycho is Christian Bale at his smartest and funniest. The movie is a must see thriller that
    you will recommend to everyone you know --------
  22. Sep 18, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. American Psycho has an ingenious plot.

    Patrick Bateman works on Wall Street in New York City.

    He is an executive who is narcissistic and mentally delusional.

    He has a personality he hides from his colleagues.

    He fantasizes about murdering someone who gets an account instead of him.

    He is on medication to control himself but nobody knows that he is mentally unstable.

    In the movie all of the murders are imagined by Christian Bale.

    The first time you watch the movie it is tough to decipher what is real and what's not.

    The plot is brilliantly complex and Bale gives the best performance.

    The supporting cast is also stellar and they fill their roles aptly.

    The movie satirizes the 80's and has terrific black comedy mixed into the plot.

    The movie has many quotable lines.

    Three lines for example is "Meredith, I've been called away to London for a few days,

    I'll call you when I get back, Hasta la vista baby."

    "I like to dissect girls, did you know I'm utterly insane ?."

    And "Is that all you have to contribute Van Patton, what about dinner ?
    Expand
  23. Sep 22, 2014
    10
    A profound psychological thriller with an expertly concocted performance from Christian Bale.
    """"""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""
  24. Sep 29, 2014
    10
    bbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbb
  25. Sep 29, 2014
    10
    pppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppp
  26. Sep 29, 2014
    10
    iiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiii
  27. Sep 29, 2014
    10
    mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm
  28. Sep 29, 2014
    10
    oooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo
  29. Sep 29, 2014
    10
    kkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkk
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 35 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 35
  2. Negative: 5 out of 35
  1. 71
    The film's details are spot-on, its tone ludicrously ironic, and its casting deft.
  2. Reviewed by: Jay Carr
    50
    In both senses of the word, American Psycho wastes its women.
  3. 80
    Bateman could have been much more interesting if he'd been played by someone who wouldn't need to work quite so hard (Charlie Sheen or Rob Lowe might have been fascinating here).