American Reunion

Metascore
49

Mixed or average reviews - based on 34 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 34
  2. Negative: 5 out of 34

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Jonathan Crocker
    Apr 30, 2012
    60
    Warning: contains Jason Biggs' wang and the contents of Stifler's bowels. Happily, the fourth, funny, (possibly) final serving of American Pie is also warm and nostalgic enough to satisfy.
  2. Reviewed by: Richard Corliss
    Apr 5, 2012
    60
    Guys and gals from the first film, now thicker and with incipient crow lines, pair up in more or less the same permutations as when they were young and shiny. The movie's message is that the way to face impeding maturity is to embrace your inner teen idiot.
  3. Reviewed by: Bill Goodykoontz
    Apr 5, 2012
    60
    American Reunion depends more on the audience's feelings for recognizable characters than telling an original story, so adjust your expectations accordingly.
  4. Reviewed by: John DeFore
    Apr 4, 2012
    60
    The wild card in all this remains Seann William Scott's Steve Stifler, the rampaging id whose indignation at his peers' maturity provides most of the film's real laughs.
  5. Reviewed by: Joshua Rothkopf
    Apr 3, 2012
    60
    Call it a strange and unintended benefit, then, that many of these generic characters work better as awkward adults than as teens.
  6. Reviewed by: J.R. Jones
    Apr 9, 2012
    50
    Writer-directors Jon Hurwitz and Hayden Schlossberg are content to trot out the familiar gags and characters, and the murmurs of recognition I heard in the preview audience indicate that the series has become some kind of sad generational touchstone.
  7. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    Apr 8, 2012
    50
    This is a joyless experience made all the sadder because most viewers still remember the naughty delights delivered by "American Pie."
  8. Reviewed by: Lou Lumenick
    Apr 6, 2012
    50
    Harmless if not exactly inspired, and rarely hilarious.
  9. 50
    Halfway through, everyone starts drinking heavily and the film turns into agreeably sloppy fun. (Isn't that always the way – class reunions often perk up when someone spikes the punch.)
  10. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    Apr 5, 2012
    50
    An immature obsession with sex at 17 seems understandable. But at 30 it's getting cringe-inducing.
  11. Reviewed by: Michael Phillips
    Apr 5, 2012
    50
    Now and then the movie rouses itself to deliver. If you go to American Reunion - and many will, if they harbor fond memories of the first one, and if they can find a sitter - you should stay through the end credits.
  12. Reviewed by: Rene Rodriguez
    Apr 5, 2012
    50
    The actors, many of them now in their mid-30s, look understandably fuller in the face and thicker around the waist. The jokes, too, are starting to show their age: They wobble.
  13. Reviewed by: Keith Phipps
    Apr 4, 2012
    50
    The film alternates sloppily executed sex gags with sentiment, as did its predecessors. And it's all just slightly more endearing and amusing than it has any right to be.
  14. Reviewed by: Steve Persall
    Apr 4, 2012
    50
    The movie's only constant pleasure - heck, the whole franchise's - is Eugene Levy as Jim's dad, widowed and wondering if it's time to date again.
  15. Reviewed by: Nick Schager
    Apr 4, 2012
    50
    Funnier than its prior two predecessors, if gratingly awash in demographic-pandering late-'90s alt-rock hits ("Closing Time," "Freshman"), American Reunion flounders with its earnest melodrama.
  16. Reviewed by: Peter Bradshaw
    May 7, 2012
    40
    Inevitably, the guys wind up sentimentally telling each other they should do this every year. Please no.
  17. Reviewed by: James White
    Apr 30, 2012
    40
    The first couple of servings back in the day were fresh and fruity, but the franchise has been left on the shelf a little too long. It's occasionally entertaining to have these characters back in our lives, but for the most part this fails to party like it's 1999.
  18. Reviewed by: Joe Neumaier
    Apr 5, 2012
    40
    What keeps the movie afloat, though, is Seann William Scott as Steve Stifler.
  19. Reviewed by: A.O. Scott
    Apr 5, 2012
    40
    Remember "American Pie"? If you do, this movie is redundant and sad. If you don't, it's irrelevant.
  20. Reviewed by: Justin Chang
    Apr 4, 2012
    40
    While it's poignant seeing the whole gang again, the tired gross-out antics and limp romantic reprisals keep this hapless if heartfelt effort from qualifying as a decent comedy, let alone a generational classic.
User Score
6.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 228 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 52
  2. Negative: 7 out of 52
  1. Apr 6, 2012
    10
    Saw it last night at midnight, it was terrific. I loved the original three and this one did not disappoint. Though there were some seriousSaw it last night at midnight, it was terrific. I loved the original three and this one did not disappoint. Though there were some serious moments, the funny moments are some of the best of the series. Definitely a must see for American Pie fans Full Review »
  2. Aug 19, 2012
    6
    While nostalgia suddenly hit me while watching the film, I can't help but say, "I've seen this before." Recycled plot but hilarious,While nostalgia suddenly hit me while watching the film, I can't help but say, "I've seen this before." Recycled plot but hilarious, nonetheless. Probably the last piece of pie we're getting from Universal. Full Review »
  3. Apr 9, 2012
    1
    I've never seen the other American Pie movies, but based on this movie, I can tell they're nothing but mindless smut. This movie wasn't evenI've never seen the other American Pie movies, but based on this movie, I can tell they're nothing but mindless smut. This movie wasn't even very funny. Full Review »