American Reunion

Metascore
49

Mixed or average reviews - based on 34 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 34
  2. Negative: 5 out of 34

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Marc Savlov
    Apr 4, 2012
    78
    Of course, if you loathed the first film, this one probably won't do much to change your mind. But fans, and I count myself among them, of the Weitz brothers' unexpectedly enjoyable original will find themselves in a familiar and perhaps comforting place … filthy language, risqué situations, die-hard friendships, and all.
  2. Reviewed by: Roger Ebert
    Apr 4, 2012
    75
    American Reunion has a sense of deja vu, but it still delivers a lot of nice laughs.
  3. Reviewed by: Owen Gleiberman
    Apr 4, 2012
    75
    American Reunion is about the comedy of middle-class men who can't be satisfied with sex until it looks like porn.
  4. Reviewed by: Stephanie Zacharek
    Apr 5, 2012
    70
    The picture is devilishly entertaining, not least because it's laced with just the sort of dumb raunchy jokes you hate yourself for laughing at. But it also preserves, to a degree, the elemental sweetness that made the original so distinctive.
  5. Reviewed by: Pete Hammond
    Apr 4, 2012
    70
    The result is the best slice of Pie yet: a savvy sequel that's flat-out hilarious raunchy fun.
  6. Reviewed by: Nick Pinkerton
    Apr 3, 2012
    70
    Taken altogether, the Pie movies offer a cohesive worldview, showing each of life's stages as the setting for fresh-yet-familiar catastrophes, relieved by a belief in sex, however ridiculous it might look, as a restorative force.
  7. Reviewed by: Peter Travers
    Apr 5, 2012
    63
    The laughs that do achieve liftoff are killer. But the real kick is seeing the old gang back and ready to party.
  8. Reviewed by: Steven Rea
    Apr 5, 2012
    63
    In some ways, American Reunion is the Charlize Theron indie "Young Adult" all over again: In both, a small-town high school reunion is the setting for a lot of nostalgia and narcissism and nasty behavior.
  9. Reviewed by: Joe Williams
    Apr 5, 2012
    63
    There's some laughing gas left in the cupboard, but this series may require an infusion of new blood to last until "American Funeral."
User Score
6.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 228 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 52
  2. Negative: 7 out of 52
  1. Apr 6, 2012
    10
    Saw it last night at midnight, it was terrific. I loved the original three and this one did not disappoint. Though there were some seriousSaw it last night at midnight, it was terrific. I loved the original three and this one did not disappoint. Though there were some serious moments, the funny moments are some of the best of the series. Definitely a must see for American Pie fans Full Review »
  2. Aug 19, 2012
    6
    While nostalgia suddenly hit me while watching the film, I can't help but say, "I've seen this before." Recycled plot but hilarious,While nostalgia suddenly hit me while watching the film, I can't help but say, "I've seen this before." Recycled plot but hilarious, nonetheless. Probably the last piece of pie we're getting from Universal. Full Review »
  3. Apr 9, 2012
    1
    I've never seen the other American Pie movies, but based on this movie, I can tell they're nothing but mindless smut. This movie wasn't evenI've never seen the other American Pie movies, but based on this movie, I can tell they're nothing but mindless smut. This movie wasn't even very funny. Full Review »