Metascore
49

Mixed or average reviews - based on 34 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 34
  2. Negative: 5 out of 34
  1. Reviewed by: Wesley Morris
    Apr 5, 2012
    38
    The directors don't know how to make this new plot funny or infectious. Most promises of comedic pleasure go as unfulfilled Stifler's T-shirt. This movie hasn't a clue where to begin the donation process.
  2. Reviewed by: Michael O'Sullivan
    Apr 5, 2012
    38
    An aggressively crass - and not especially funny - trip down memory lane, an attempt to recapture the sweetly ribald magic of the earlier film. As anyone who's ever attended a class reunion can tell you, it almost never works.
  3. Reviewed by: Mike Scott
    Apr 6, 2012
    20
    In the half-baked American Reunion, though, they might have accomplished what no previous chapter has: They might have just killed it.
  4. Reviewed by: M. E. Russell
    Apr 5, 2012
    8
    Scenes will wander from gross-out gag to sentimental schmaltz to pervy leer to cheap nostalgia within a 30-second span, utterly free of clear directorial guidance. Even worse, very little of it is remotely funny.
  5. Reviewed by: Amy Biancolli
    Apr 5, 2012
    25
    American Reunion isn't a total wash. Its one saving grace is Eugene Levy as Jim's dad.
User Score
6.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 199 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 49
  2. Negative: 7 out of 49
  1. Apr 6, 2012
    10
    Saw it last night at midnight, it was terrific. I loved the original three and this one did not disappoint. Though there were some serious moments, the funny moments are some of the best of the series. Definitely a must see for American Pie fans Full Review »
  2. Aug 19, 2012
    6
    While nostalgia suddenly hit me while watching the film, I can't help but say, "I've seen this before." Recycled plot but hilarious, nonetheless. Probably the last piece of pie we're getting from Universal. Full Review »
  3. Apr 9, 2012
    1
    I've never seen the other American Pie movies, but based on this movie, I can tell they're nothing but mindless smut. This movie wasn't even very funny. Full Review »