American Reunion

User Score
6.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 216 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 17 out of 216
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 29, 2012
    8
    If you enjoyed the prior American Pie movies, this movie will not disappoint. Pretty much every character I can think of makes at least a cameo and the development of all of their relationships falls into place and gives a closure that really feels like this is finally the conclusion the series needed all along. Of course, this movie isn't for everyone. It's as vulgar as any of them,If you enjoyed the prior American Pie movies, this movie will not disappoint. Pretty much every character I can think of makes at least a cameo and the development of all of their relationships falls into place and gives a closure that really feels like this is finally the conclusion the series needed all along. Of course, this movie isn't for everyone. It's as vulgar as any of them, graphic (especially if you watch the unrated), and profane so it's definitely something that some people would not enjoy. However, if you don't care about any of that stuff and just want a good laugher, this should do the trick. Expand
  2. Jun 30, 2012
    7
    It was so good to see the whole gang again . This wasn't a teen movie anymore but Really Enjoyed it . It was funny like the previous ones and it was so crazy . Stifler is super amazing and the actors were just awesome as they were before . he Story could be better but still love the move . The movie really took me back there . Tnx for that !
  3. May 27, 2012
    8
    I saw American Reunion the day it came out and as it turns out, it is better than I thought it would be. The schemes of Jim, Oz, Kevin, Steve, and Finch get themselves into trouble, but it becomes clever when they get out of it. Steve Stifler is at his best, most clever, and funniest actions, the dialogue is well-added to reunification of the characters and occasionally funny, and theI saw American Reunion the day it came out and as it turns out, it is better than I thought it would be. The schemes of Jim, Oz, Kevin, Steve, and Finch get themselves into trouble, but it becomes clever when they get out of it. Steve Stifler is at his best, most clever, and funniest actions, the dialogue is well-added to reunification of the characters and occasionally funny, and the revival of the minor characters is surprisingly wonderful; Especially the Shermanator, Nadia, and John Cho who plays Harold in Harold & Kumar. And you know what, even with recyclements from the first, it is better than American Pie 2 and The Wedding in almost every way. Compared to those two, I think it is worth seeing for American Pie fans even though it is not on the same measurements as the first slice of Pie. Besides, along the way, it's hilarious, it's moments of reunification are engaging, and there's a lot of wild Adult-Teen fun. It also succeeds at regaining the pleasantness of the first two and is less gross than American Wedding. However, I'll be honest: It's immature seeing Jim, Kevin, Finch, Oz, and Stifler doing immature things in their 30s but it reminds why we liked them for doing immature things in the first, they're still there for each other, and it's nice to see every character reunited. In fact, it's so worth seeing you get to see your favorite characters do funny things you never get to see them do in the first three that is surprisingly entertaining, especially Jason Stifler's Mom meeting Jim's Dad but I won't give out a lot of spoilers. American Reunion is a reunion worth going to... SEE... FOR LAUGHS. And one thing is for sure: American Reunion is more hip than American Pie 2 and American Wedding. Expand
  4. Apr 6, 2012
    10
    Saw it last night at midnight, it was terrific. I loved the original three and this one did not disappoint. Though there were some serious moments, the funny moments are some of the best of the series. Definitely a must see for American Pie fans
  5. Apr 18, 2012
    8
    This was a pleasant surprise. It's a nostalgic throwback to the 90's, high school, and the humour styles of yesteryear. It's got lots of laughs, and tons of in-jokes for fans of the franchise (the straight-to-dvd 'films' don't count). If you liked the other American Pie films, you'll love this one, and it ranks up there with the first.
  6. Apr 6, 2012
    9
    I thought it was absolutely fantastic. A crude embarrassing journey that reminds you of the old time and creates some new memories along the way. One of the funniest comedies i've seen in a long long time. 9/10.
  7. Apr 12, 2012
    7
    As always, Stifler made this movie. If you liked American Wedding or thought that is was decently funny, you will enjoy this. Shannon Elizabeth has really hit rock bottom but I never liked her anyways. Jason Biggs is always willing to do anything for a laugh. Worth a theatre visit.
  8. Apr 15, 2012
    10
    The return of the wolfpack,the film was set in a decade later from the events of the first giving a new fresh air in film,not something special.Funny,relaxing something to pass the time,i am not gonna talk about character's depth because is useless.A film only for the fans of the series
  9. Apr 6, 2012
    7
    American Reunion is almost as funny as the original. The humor is fresher, more outrageous than the last two outings, and the comedy is done with real passion. Everyone is back, from major to minor characters. However, American Reunion tries to juggle more balls than it can handle. Kevin's schtick was finished in the original film, and now he feels extraneous. The women of theAmerican Reunion is almost as funny as the original. The humor is fresher, more outrageous than the last two outings, and the comedy is done with real passion. Everyone is back, from major to minor characters. However, American Reunion tries to juggle more balls than it can handle. Kevin's schtick was finished in the original film, and now he feels extraneous. The women of the American series are uniformly forgettable; they're merely objects. There's just no reason to care what happens to half the cast of this film, no sense of purpose like the original film had, or the feeling of a story being told. None of which stops American Reunion from having a lot of laughs, big and small. There are great lines and sight gags for every part and function of the human body. Ultimately, American Reunion is nothing more than a situational comedy, built up of sketches. On that level, the better part of it works. Full review on my blog. Expand
  10. Apr 6, 2012
    7
    It has often been said that you cannot turn back the hands of time, but thankfully Hollywood is a place where magical things happen. In the case of the gang from American Pie and the creative talents of writer directors Jon Hurwitz Hayden Schlossberg, the gang is back, better than ever, for another slice if pie. Hurwitz and Schlossberg are the creative team behind the â
  11. Apr 8, 2012
    7
    Ok, ok, the movie is funny (and much), have some great and cool moments, but is same that the other american pie movies, the same jokes, and all this things, for me is the second better of the saga, but is same.
  12. Apr 10, 2012
    9
    my co-worker's aunt brought in $19189 a month ago. she is getting paid on the computer and bought a $588700 home. All she did was get fortunate and put to work the instructions shown on this link lazycash1.com
  13. Jul 3, 2012
    7
    It was really fun to see everyone back together after so many years, but in the end the movie is nothing special. If you enjoyed the previous movies (1,2 & wedding) then you'll probably enjoy this. Everyone plays their counter part well, but the stand out for me was Eugene Levy. The dialogue is good, except for Stlifer's which was a hit or miss kind of thing for me. The movie really goesIt was really fun to see everyone back together after so many years, but in the end the movie is nothing special. If you enjoyed the previous movies (1,2 & wedding) then you'll probably enjoy this. Everyone plays their counter part well, but the stand out for me was Eugene Levy. The dialogue is good, except for Stlifer's which was a hit or miss kind of thing for me. The movie really goes have that feeling of reunion, getting all the characters back together. But after that they're not given much to do. Sure they all have their individual conflicts but you know will be resolved by the end of the movie. In the end it was an alright movie, a lot of the laughs were in the trailer but there were still a few good one left in the movie. 7.8/10. Expand
  14. Apr 14, 2012
    7
    What high school class puts together their big reunion on the 13th anniversary of their graduation? Well, if it needs to fit the plot because American Reunion was a few years late, then itâ
  15. May 19, 2012
    8
    Filled to the brim with all the raunchy jokes, perverse sexual innuendos, and laugh out loud antics that fans loved in the previous three installments, 'American Reunion' is a nostalgic throwback to the days of the past. Although there is little deviation from the already well-worn path of it's predecessors, 'American Reunion' delivers what any 'American Pie' fan would hope for, with aFilled to the brim with all the raunchy jokes, perverse sexual innuendos, and laugh out loud antics that fans loved in the previous three installments, 'American Reunion' is a nostalgic throwback to the days of the past. Although there is little deviation from the already well-worn path of it's predecessors, 'American Reunion' delivers what any 'American Pie' fan would hope for, with a nostalgic touch to top it all off. B+ Expand
  16. Apr 6, 2012
    8
    If you were a fan of the earlier American Pie movies you will love this; AP: Reunion is crammed full with references and old-time favourite characters from the first APs. If you disliked them, you'll have a hard time enjoying this one too.
  17. dz9
    Apr 7, 2012
    7
    I can understand some of the mainstream reviews on this movie that bash it. This movie does do some stuff very wrong! Characters fall a bit predictable at times, the plot is very simplistic, and some of the situations r too unbelievable even for an American pie movie. But what does this movie do right?? It's very funny... The excellent raunchy but yet sometimes too crazy comedy hitsI can understand some of the mainstream reviews on this movie that bash it. This movie does do some stuff very wrong! Characters fall a bit predictable at times, the plot is very simplistic, and some of the situations r too unbelievable even for an American pie movie. But what does this movie do right?? It's very funny... The excellent raunchy but yet sometimes too crazy comedy hits home and masks the problems of the movie. If your are a fan of the original trilogy, this movie will be a definite treat for you! The good: actors fit right back into roles, comedy is amazing, toys good with your nostalgia when it needs to. The bad: movie sometimes doesn't juggle the heart felt moments and the comedy good, predictable plot points, bland story. In the end: yes this movie does have some serious problems, and some would be a deal breaker if the movie wasn't funny. The movie also doesn't take itself too too seriously, so the too ridiculous scenarios are permissible... Fans of the original will probably love this, and newcomers are in for a great but not amazing treat! Expand
  18. Apr 8, 2012
    8
    this movie didn't quiet feel like an "American Pie" movie, maybe because they're just old, but the whole 90's feeling was gone. BUT that doesn't mean the movie was bad, the movie was great and i think only true fans of the series can appreciate it, there are some haters giving BS to the movie but that's because they don't understand. they did'nt grow up with the series like most of us did.this movie didn't quiet feel like an "American Pie" movie, maybe because they're just old, but the whole 90's feeling was gone. BUT that doesn't mean the movie was bad, the movie was great and i think only true fans of the series can appreciate it, there are some haters giving BS to the movie but that's because they don't understand. they did'nt grow up with the series like most of us did. the story is that everyone from High school back in 99 is getting together for their 13th reunion yeah 13? weird. it turns out many missed their 10th reunion, so many alumni students decided to create this 13th reunion shin dig. so everybody is back! there are a few sub plots going on but i don't wanna ruin anything. the movie is funny, and has some sentimental moments, Jim's dad losing his wife and all, and in one scene where the guys tell Stiffler he is stuck in the past, which i felt bad for. anyways great movie, funny, nostalgic. funniest cast members where Sean william scott (stiffler) and eugene levy (jim's dad). i'm giving it a SOLID 8. not that great for a 9 and not perfect either... Expand
  19. Apr 6, 2012
    7
    The movie was entertaining, but there is nothing new to really talk about. The characters, like all of us, are older, and for the most part their priorities have changed, but they continue to get into the same messes and make the same mistakes. The only difference is that instead of youth, parents and school interfering with their sex lives it is now stress, kids and work that interfereThe movie was entertaining, but there is nothing new to really talk about. The characters, like all of us, are older, and for the most part their priorities have changed, but they continue to get into the same messes and make the same mistakes. The only difference is that instead of youth, parents and school interfering with their sex lives it is now stress, kids and work that interfere with their sex lives.

    for a full review go to: http://badmovielover.blogspot.com/2012/04/american-reunion-or-sb2p.html
    Expand
  20. Apr 8, 2012
    7
    The last slice of the pie for "American Pie" has came even though it took nine years to make an official sequel. One thing I liked about this movie was that it reminded me of the old shenanigans that Stifler always pulled and the extremely crude jokes he make out. I liked the fact that everyone from the 1st and 2nd movie are in it because it reminds you of how well they made a chemistryThe last slice of the pie for "American Pie" has came even though it took nine years to make an official sequel. One thing I liked about this movie was that it reminded me of the old shenanigans that Stifler always pulled and the extremely crude jokes he make out. I liked the fact that everyone from the 1st and 2nd movie are in it because it reminds you of how well they made a chemistry and just how hot Tara Reid is. The reason I give this movie a 7 is because even though there were quite a few laughs to have they stilled played off the same things which is kind of expected but still. I would definitely recommend this film so go see it. Expand
  21. Apr 25, 2012
    10
    The best of the series. Unlike most movie trailers where you already see all the best bits, the trailers for American Reunion are simply a teaser of the laughs within. Many a throwback to the first movie, such as Jim's room is intact, complete with a decade old PC and "reading material", and Jim's dad yet again finding ways to overstep Jim's comfort zone in conversation.
    The zany
    The best of the series. Unlike most movie trailers where you already see all the best bits, the trailers for American Reunion are simply a teaser of the laughs within. Many a throwback to the first movie, such as Jim's room is intact, complete with a decade old PC and "reading material", and Jim's dad yet again finding ways to overstep Jim's comfort zone in conversation.
    The zany situational gags are there for sure, but for the most part they are based in reality and the primary emphasis is on the humour generated by the personalities of the characters and witty dialogue.
    There are a few neat twists to be had, at the expense at one main character or another. Followers of the series will appreciate these more of course.
    From the get-go, this film is a laugh a minute and continues all the way to the end credits. The most fun I've had at the cinema for a few years.
    Expand
  22. Apr 8, 2012
    7
    Pretty good, too sentimental at points yet otherwise pretty funny. It's much funnier/entertaining if you've watched the original. Overall an entertaining evening.
  23. Feb 1, 2013
    7
    This is one of those movies where even though you know its kind of ridiculous and stupid, it is still fun to watch and laugh at. Predictable as movies come, but I'm not complaining.
  24. Apr 25, 2012
    10
    Awesome! American fu**ing Reunion!!
    This is a real American Pie movie! FINALLY!

    The return of Stifler, Jim, Finch, and... Stifler's Mom!
    Go to the theater, and left with a large smile in your face!
  25. Apr 8, 2012
    9
    it was funny the whole way through. it remided me of my old school days but this guys sure plane it very well. there was some corny parts but over all it was a grate movie.
  26. Jun 8, 2012
    9
    American Reunion is the fourth installment in the series. It still is really really funny all the characters return for a reunion with new characters and new problems for the characters. Very Good full of laughs
  27. Aug 18, 2012
    7
    This 4th theatrical 'Pie' film (ignore the 4 direct to DVD releases) is actually a very enjoyable reunion with the original characters. 13 years have gone by and it's entertaining to see how they and their lives have changed, and as a viewer it's also a bit of a nostalgic look back to times passed. The original Pie movie dated from a time when there where no cell phones and the internetThis 4th theatrical 'Pie' film (ignore the 4 direct to DVD releases) is actually a very enjoyable reunion with the original characters. 13 years have gone by and it's entertaining to see how they and their lives have changed, and as a viewer it's also a bit of a nostalgic look back to times passed. The original Pie movie dated from a time when there where no cell phones and the internet was a newer technology. The makers clevery weave in all the guys and girls from the original films and the story is as well writen as it could be. If you liked American Pie then I certainly would recommend this film. The 7,2 imdb score for once is justified, but maybe not for 'Pie' haters or people who haven't at least seen (and remember) the first one. Expand
  28. Aug 7, 2012
    7
    I enjoyed the film, it was good to see the crazy antics of the American pie crew in their next installment, but that's just it, there was nothing really new in the film that amazed me, it is what a lot of reviews have already said "Just another American Pie film".
  29. Nov 7, 2012
    7
    It's just that- a reunion. And I must admit, its a damn fun one.
  30. Jul 26, 2013
    8
    I was pleasantly surprised with this film. The American Pie series was never the best plot-wise, but their characters are unforgettable. Many years have passed, but nothing has changed. The characters are slightly aged, but still humorous and specific. I will even pay the writers a complement and say this is the best written script of the series. However, the soundtrack is not nearly asI was pleasantly surprised with this film. The American Pie series was never the best plot-wise, but their characters are unforgettable. Many years have passed, but nothing has changed. The characters are slightly aged, but still humorous and specific. I will even pay the writers a complement and say this is the best written script of the series. However, the soundtrack is not nearly as epic as all the other films. I likely would have stopped watching the series after American Pie 2 had the soundtracks been lackluster. Not a home run, but exactly what the American Pie series needed, a solid conclusion. Expand
  31. Sep 22, 2013
    8
    Better than the original by a hair, Reunion sets one thing straight: under the right direction and with the right actors, any series can keep going without letting up, as long as it has drive, the right premise, and likable characters.
  32. Feb 1, 2015
    7
    Very Nostalgic movie, that pokes fun at the 90's, the new generation of teens. While having The old cast come back and reunite for some fun times! Definitely funnier and better than Wedding, not as good as 1 or 2. and well the Spinoffs don't even exist lol Awesome soundtrack also! It was a great reunion.
Metascore
49

Mixed or average reviews - based on 34 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 34
  2. Negative: 5 out of 34
  1. Reviewed by: Peter Bradshaw
    May 7, 2012
    40
    Inevitably, the guys wind up sentimentally telling each other they should do this every year. Please no.
  2. Reviewed by: Jonathan Crocker
    Apr 30, 2012
    60
    Warning: contains Jason Biggs' wang and the contents of Stifler's bowels. Happily, the fourth, funny, (possibly) final serving of American Pie is also warm and nostalgic enough to satisfy.
  3. Reviewed by: James White
    Apr 30, 2012
    40
    The first couple of servings back in the day were fresh and fruity, but the franchise has been left on the shelf a little too long. It's occasionally entertaining to have these characters back in our lives, but for the most part this fails to party like it's 1999.