American Reunion

User Score
6.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 228 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 18 out of 228

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Apr 8, 2012
    6
    I thought the original American Pie was highly overrated, but I've grown to like the series more and more as it's gone on, culminating with American Wedding, which I genuinely enjoyed. American Reunion has it's truly outrageous and funny moments, but it's not as good as Wedding. The classic "touching" moments in this series (which counterbalance the screwball comedy elements) are lessI thought the original American Pie was highly overrated, but I've grown to like the series more and more as it's gone on, culminating with American Wedding, which I genuinely enjoyed. American Reunion has it's truly outrageous and funny moments, but it's not as good as Wedding. The classic "touching" moments in this series (which counterbalance the screwball comedy elements) are less plentiful here. On the other hand, there are 2 or 3 cameos which are truly unexpected and scream-worthy. Sure, see it to have fun, but don't expect the series' best. Expand
  2. Apr 6, 2012
    4
    "American Reunion" is sure to appease previous followers of the series; it's still laden with the expecting awkward sexual situations, crude prankishness from Stifler, unsettling talks between Jim and his dad, and plenty of booze. It follows the same formula. And, as anticipated, being a "reunion" movie means one is bound to have a failed marriage, another is likely to question their"American Reunion" is sure to appease previous followers of the series; it's still laden with the expecting awkward sexual situations, crude prankishness from Stifler, unsettling talks between Jim and his dad, and plenty of booze. It follows the same formula. And, as anticipated, being a "reunion" movie means one is bound to have a failed marriage, another is likely to question their career path, and one couple of old flames will get back together. It's all very routine, and brings reason and justification to its long-over-due end. 'Reunion' simply doesn't feel like anything new was ever thought of upon its creation; instead, it feels as if filmmakers studied the previous installments, added marriage and children into the mix, casted some new fill-ins, and changed little else. The film begins on a couple unsensibly tactless and unfunny notes, all while conspicuously focusing on Stifler to create laughs, and finally refines its crassness, albeit slightly, later. As I found myself watching 'Reunion', I couldn't help but notice the change in the degree of humor since its first installment; the gags are repeated, but aren't nearly as affecting as they once were. Also, the film's attempts to wring out as much sex from its "reunion" themes comes across as forced and desperate. One instance, in particular, shows Jim playing off the "I remember you from somewhere..." motif. He runs into a newly "legal" teenage girl who he used to baby-sit. Naturally, the film sees that she is topless, and ready for Jim to defile. Why a married man with a child, contemplating the seduction of an eighteen year old girl, who in fact he used to watch under his care...as a child, is material that is purported to bring about laughs is sickening to even consider. But, nevertheless, the audiences behind me cry out in riotous cacchination over its "humor." The same idea is repeated all throughout the film, as Stifler is shown attempting to titillate the fancies of a group of stereotypical, obtuse-minded beach babes, making references to current-day pop culture. By this time, the deplorable pursuits at comedy are more than soaked up; no, its been dead for thirteen years. Ultimately, "American Reunion" is exactly what fans and newcomers, alike, expect from the latest installment; the former couldn't love it more, while newbies couldn't like it less. Without knowing the characters beforehand, the film is seen as another dumbed-down, sex-comedy featuring the disturbingly familiar motif of married men flirting with the concept of cheating on their spouses with teenage girls, and from that, expecting to generate laughs. Having seen the previous films, 'Reunion' doesn't even come close to matching the effect of its original or seconder, but does just what one expects in concluding a still classic title series; not laugh-out-loud, but still offering some comedic relief. As a late-night-filler-theater-trip-with-friends, the film fulfills its role--and likely its budget--with familiar faces and old, but nostalgic gags. Expand
  3. Apr 12, 2012
    4
    This was your usual American Pie film. Thats what i went in expecting and thats what i got out of it. The biggest issue i had was a big majority of the funny parts were in the trailer so i didn't laugh too much during the film because i had already seen it all before. I enjoyed the first two american pies, didn't care for the third, nor do i care one bit about the stupid knock off films. IThis was your usual American Pie film. Thats what i went in expecting and thats what i got out of it. The biggest issue i had was a big majority of the funny parts were in the trailer so i didn't laugh too much during the film because i had already seen it all before. I enjoyed the first two american pies, didn't care for the third, nor do i care one bit about the stupid knock off films. I was against them making another one of these films because they should've stopped after the second film but i decided to just see it anyways to test it out, and i pretty much just watched the trailer, just extended with a quite a bit of drama mixed in. I didn't care much for this movie at all. It's not worth the money, even if your an american pie fan, just wait for it to be in redbox. 4/10 Expand
  4. May 11, 2012
    6
    OK so when Jim had sex with a pie in the original American Pie, it was
    the most cringe worthy, most funny moment I'd had with a teen comedy up
    to that point. Up till this point though the only teen comedies around were Clueless, Ferris Bueller and a few unworthy imitations. Since American Pie dazzled with its gross out and sexually charged humour, other teen films have come in to take up
    OK so when Jim had sex with a pie in the original American Pie, it was
    the most cringe worthy, most funny moment I'd had with a teen comedy up
    to that point. Up till this point though the only teen comedies around
    were Clueless, Ferris Bueller and a few unworthy imitations. Since
    American Pie dazzled with its gross out and sexually charged humour,
    other teen films have come in to take up the mantle. Napoleon Dynamite,
    Mean Girls and Easy A have stolen American Pie's thunder in teen comedy
    and Bridesmaids and The Hangover have stolen it in gross out. But can
    American Pie reclaim its prior glory.

    Well firstly the leads are a little old to come under teen comedy,
    despite them harking back to the old days, the characters have moved on
    a bit. The moving on is superficial and to be honest only Jim and
    Stiflers story lines have any impact whatsoever, so no it won't be
    taking the crown back. The film was unbelievably predictable, you could
    see the ending right from the beginning, but the ride was still
    enjoyable. There were some very funny moments, the opening scenes have
    always been among the funniest in the series and this one really did
    make me giggle. Its all crude stuff and you know it's going to be, of
    course Stifler takes crude to a new level and always has, but that's
    what makes his character so lovable.

    American Pie Reunion doesn't quite have the ingenuity that Horrible
    Bosses has, nor the surprise that The Hangover has, nor the wit of Easy
    A or even the believable friendships that Bridesmaids has. What it does
    have is nostalgia, and it works by reminding the audience of what has
    gone before it. Yes it is funny, but with the characters ageing ten
    years the style of comedy could have been a little more inventive. But
    then again is this what the audience wants or is that just me?

    One thing that stood out to me as rather annoying, is making the gay
    people in the film the butt of the joke. In this day and age, with
    American's finally coming round to equality to homosexuality, it's so
    backwards to see gay people used in this way.

    In the end it all works out though. I like the American Pie series and
    my expectations were low, but you know what it actually exceeded my
    expectations. Yes there's no real storyline, little character
    development and predictable jokes, but the film intention was to make
    me laugh and it did just that.
    Expand
  5. Apr 7, 2012
    6
    Nearly a decade later, this orthodox fourth installment of AMERICAN PIE shuffles along with a reunion gimmick which encompasses almost exactly the same gags and repellent discomforts as in its groundbreaking first episode came around 1997, which makes one wonder the audience's laughing threshold is still on the par with the level 15 years ago. There are ample laughters from A to Z, noNearly a decade later, this orthodox fourth installment of AMERICAN PIE shuffles along with a reunion gimmick which encompasses almost exactly the same gags and repellent discomforts as in its groundbreaking first episode came around 1997, which makes one wonder the audience's laughing threshold is still on the par with the level 15 years ago. There are ample laughters from A to Z, no one-liner or wisecrack, mainly generated by risqué pranks and lecherous sex-related pratfalls. I cannot deny that I had a great laughter while committing to the moment, but a post-mortem self-reflection does leave no trace of anything is worth chewing.

    The entire cast has returned with new blood like Ali Cobrin, Katrina Bowden and Jay Harrington, but the highlights belong to doyens like Levy and Coolidge, also Rebecca De Mornayâ
    Expand
  6. Feb 3, 2013
    4
    better then the original but still the jokes arent that funny and are still pretty childish but it seems as though the movie matured in terms of storyline this one was much more interesting then the first one and it seemed like it actually had more things going on that actually made sense but still just a childish dirty movie for a childish dirty series
  7. Jun 4, 2012
    6
    After nine years(!), the main cast return to the American Pie series, presumably after accepting being typecast forever as Jim and co. Interesting that screenplay duty is given to new hands and not to Adam Herz, who wrote all three original films. Unfortunately, the change of writers does not result in a contemporary update to the series.

    Never the wittiest of comedies, the humour hasn't
    After nine years(!), the main cast return to the American Pie series, presumably after accepting being typecast forever as Jim and co. Interesting that screenplay duty is given to new hands and not to Adam Herz, who wrote all three original films. Unfortunately, the change of writers does not result in a contemporary update to the series.

    Never the wittiest of comedies, the humour hasn't changed in the slightest and this time around some of the gags are a little too crude and predictable. Guess what, the pages are stuck together in Jim's old porno mags when his Dad catches him (again) having a look for old times sake. That's not to say that the film isn't funny, it definitely has its moments, and those mostly revolve around Stifler. Stifler always was the funniest character and Seann William Scott steals every scene he appears in with his juvenile enthusiasm and foul mouth. Jim and his Dad share some quite intimate scenes and Jason Biggs and Eugene Levy must be credited for the on-screen relationship they have developed over the years.

    Appearing to have grown up, the characters return for a 13 year high school reunion. Similar to the other films, Jim manages to get in yet another predicament due to his ineptitude with girls and digs his way out of the hole with the help of the gang as they struggle to realise that times have changed. My sympathy with Jim was waning this time, supposedly nine years older and wiser, it is slightly tedious and quite depressing that he fails to cope with the most basic of social situations around the opposite sex and becomes tangled up for the fourth time.

    By playing on the nostalgia of the series, gags revolving around Jim and his porn stash and footage of his dance and premature ejaculation from the original, the writers are acknowledging that Reunion doesn't hit the highs of previous ones by itself. Although the fact that the audience in the cinema still laughed at these moments suggests the writers are simply giving the viewers what they want.

    Worth watching, if just to see the cast back together one last time and for Stifler's revenge on Finch.
    Collapse
  8. Aug 21, 2012
    6
    Hilarious moments that bring back classic American Pie chewing-gum slapstick comedy that curdles a fuzzy nostalgia of previous American Pie films. And right there is the problem - the dialogue is too similar (over used) and the story arc is over familiar.
  9. Sep 25, 2014
    5
    American reunion is a ok instalment with nothing to really remember about it. The film is a good inside look at what can happen after everyone settles down and moves on in life, there are some funny moments but nothing like the others. There is no trade mark or line to tell a friend.

    Worth watching once
  10. Aug 19, 2012
    6
    While nostalgia suddenly hit me while watching the film, I can't help but say, "I've seen this before." Recycled plot but hilarious, nonetheless. Probably the last piece of pie we're getting from Universal.
  11. Apr 28, 2013
    4
    What a difference 13 years makes. I loved the first two american pies found the third to be okay and I even tolerated the fairly awful spin-off films. I had hoped this would be a return to form, however what I saw was simply a husk of the characters I grew up laughing at. The story follows the reunion of the full main cast (last together in American Pie 2), however whilst the cast is backWhat a difference 13 years makes. I loved the first two american pies found the third to be okay and I even tolerated the fairly awful spin-off films. I had hoped this would be a return to form, however what I saw was simply a husk of the characters I grew up laughing at. The story follows the reunion of the full main cast (last together in American Pie 2), however whilst the cast is back the laughs sadly have not returned for the most part. After a hilarious first scene the film never quite gets back to that level of humour that made the first two films great, instead focusing more on the fairly depressing story lines of the main 5 guys however character development is minimal so the pay off is small from this decision. I think the main problem is that this film tries to grow and stick to its roots at the same time. Also setting up for more films, that's not going to happen any time soon.
    Rating 4 out of 10
    It feels more like one of the spin off films than a fully fledged sequel.
    Expand
Metascore
49

Mixed or average reviews - based on 34 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 34
  2. Negative: 5 out of 34
  1. Reviewed by: Peter Bradshaw
    May 7, 2012
    40
    Inevitably, the guys wind up sentimentally telling each other they should do this every year. Please no.
  2. Reviewed by: Jonathan Crocker
    Apr 30, 2012
    60
    Warning: contains Jason Biggs' wang and the contents of Stifler's bowels. Happily, the fourth, funny, (possibly) final serving of American Pie is also warm and nostalgic enough to satisfy.
  3. Reviewed by: James White
    Apr 30, 2012
    40
    The first couple of servings back in the day were fresh and fruity, but the franchise has been left on the shelf a little too long. It's occasionally entertaining to have these characters back in our lives, but for the most part this fails to party like it's 1999.