Lions Gate Films Home Entertainment | Release Date: March 30, 2001
4.9
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 242 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
128
Mixed:
8
Negative:
106
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
LuisFranciscoG.P.Apr 9, 2001
One of the finest pieces of art from Mexico to the world.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SantinoS.Mar 9, 2003
For a debut feature, this is a brilliant film. Heavily inspired by "Pulp Fiction,"this is a gritty urban drama about people living on the edge.deserved the oscar for best foreign film.A WARNING THOUGH, DOG LOVERS COULD DIE OF SHOCK WHILEFor a debut feature, this is a brilliant film. Heavily inspired by "Pulp Fiction,"this is a gritty urban drama about people living on the edge.deserved the oscar for best foreign film.A WARNING THOUGH, DOG LOVERS COULD DIE OF SHOCK WHILE WATCHING THIS ,SO TAKE CARE. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RyanM.Oct 13, 2001
At first I found it interesting, daring and smart, then I found it better, and better, and better until it's one of the best movies I've ever seen.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JPWJul 6, 2006
A great movie that catches your attention for all the two-and-a-half hours that it's long. It captures the three sad stories in such a beautiful, melancholic, aesthetic way For me, all the blood and violence is part of that A great movie that catches your attention for all the two-and-a-half hours that it's long. It captures the three sad stories in such a beautiful, melancholic, aesthetic way For me, all the blood and violence is part of that aestheticness. The movie seems to breathe the town, the atmosphere is conveyed great with, the people, upper class and lower. One of the best movies I've ever seen. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JamesB.Apr 22, 2001
Great acting, emontionally intense, heavy.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JorgeG.Apr 6, 2001
Excellent movie. You don't want to miss this one. Great sample of the good movies that can be done in Mexico.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RickAug 14, 2002
The owner of a neighbourhood video store recommended this to me. I havent seen a film that impressed me this much since i first say jan svankmayer's "Alice". thoroughly engaging the 2 hours plus flew by.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
RedlightJun 5, 2007
Although I still feel this movie is great, it's a movie best appreciated when you're watching it for the very first time. On repeated viewings, although it is still great, it just isn't as rewarding. Still, great performances Although I still feel this movie is great, it's a movie best appreciated when you're watching it for the very first time. On repeated viewings, although it is still great, it just isn't as rewarding. Still, great performances from the cast and brutally realistic. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MartaF.Mar 31, 2001
So good the soundtrack gives me goosebumps.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TonyApr 17, 2001
YOU must see this amazing film. You will enjoy it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JuliusM.Jul 8, 2001
THE best movie I have seen this year, truly my vote for best foreing film. A work of art that is truly magnificent.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JuliusM.Jul 8, 2001
THE best movie I have seen this year, truly my vote for best foreing film. A work of art that is truly magnificent.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ButteredPopcornNov 1, 2002
A bit too violent for me. Seemed very daring and very raw, innovative, and all the rest. But I just couldn't watch it more than about half way through. What a shame.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JeremySep 29, 2003
An good film with some brilliant moments. If Inarritu learned the value of an editor, it might have been more than that.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PaulaW.Nov 12, 2001
Amores Perros is easily the best film of 2001. It's got it all in spades: action, desperate love, complacent love, family drama, drawing-room drama, devastation, punk-rock alienation, tragedy, violence, dark humor, and social Amores Perros is easily the best film of 2001. It's got it all in spades: action, desperate love, complacent love, family drama, drawing-room drama, devastation, punk-rock alienation, tragedy, violence, dark humor, and social commentary, all looking good on screen. But Amores Perros is more than just a glib compilation of 90's movie tricks. It's also full of heart. I can't remember the last time I saw so much genuine emotion in a film. Don't miss it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
[Anonymous]Oct 18, 2001
Great Amazing Movie!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
LynnB.May 21, 2001
Brilliant. It got a 9 instead of 10 because it could have been a tad shorter, and the slow parts might have been handled better. I'd have gone for 9.5, if that had been a choice.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
FredS.May 22, 2001
Good but not great. Too long in the middle. Still, check it out.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
LarryFeb 23, 2002
This movie nails you in place and doesn't let go. It's a gritty view of how brutal life can be once prompted by either fate or human behavior. The characters are not sympathetic yet you'll find yourself mesmerized by their This movie nails you in place and doesn't let go. It's a gritty view of how brutal life can be once prompted by either fate or human behavior. The characters are not sympathetic yet you'll find yourself mesmerized by their actions and attempts to survive the sorry circumstances they stumble into or create for themselves. You'll stick around for the movie's two and one half hour length because you'll want to see what happens to the film's unsavory characters, and because the story is told so well. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ItIsGilbertMulroneycakesNov 14, 2003
Avert your eyes or press fast-forward during all the dog-fighting bits, or indeed the bits which merely show dogs bleeding copiously. This is Not Nice. But it's a masterpiece - I know it's as glib as all-get-out, but it really is Avert your eyes or press fast-forward during all the dog-fighting bits, or indeed the bits which merely show dogs bleeding copiously. This is Not Nice. But it's a masterpiece - I know it's as glib as all-get-out, but it really is the Mexican Pulp Fiction - partly because it's a similar type of film (the criss-cross structure, the occasional violence, the amoral characters, the earthy, fruity language etc) but also because it's in the same class - which is a good trick if you can do it - and because it's also a startlingly original early work (in this case, debut, in fact - which, is incredible to look at it) by a filmmaker who knows exactly what he wants to do, what he wants to show and what he wants to make and f**k anyone else. Credit where it's due though; unlike QT, Iñárritu didn't write it himself, and Guillermo Arriaga Jórdan deserves credit for keeping all the threads together in a coherent fashion. Not for everyone, mind - for a start its length (two and a half hours, and then some more minutes) will be off-putting for some, for a second the warning below is not a word of a lie - horrible things happen to (presumably pretend) dogs in this film, and you may not be able to stomach it. That said, I'm surprised not to read a single review balling it out for the ihnerently skippable and in no way gratuitous violence yet. Still, those caveats out of the way, Amores Perros is a brutal, mesmerising masterpiece from a filmaker (and screenwriter) who, if there is the remotest amount of justice in this god-forsaken world, will be bigger than curly fries by the end of the decade. Please? Just don't watch it if you have a dog. Or want one. Or know what one looks like. And to avoid fainting, keep repeating, "It's only a movie, it's only a movie." Jolly. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NikolaL.Jan 19, 2006
Writer speaks from essential to embrace absurd. Never saw movie that perfect.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MattA.Aug 24, 2006
Easily the best film of 2001, and, as some critics have indicated, one of the finest films of all time. The performances, writing, direction, and choice of music are all flawless. It was sad to see this same filmmaker try to create a similar Easily the best film of 2001, and, as some critics have indicated, one of the finest films of all time. The performances, writing, direction, and choice of music are all flawless. It was sad to see this same filmmaker try to create a similar masterpiece with 21 Grams, and mostly fail. If you didn't like that film, still give this one a chance. It truly is amazing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ovi_bzJan 7, 2011
Touching story. Brilliant idea of the three stories. The accident episode is the key of the movie. It keeps you alert till the end. The third story was the most beautiful to me.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
RegOzMar 31, 2012
Certainly, a very good movie! Although one of the stories (the one of the model and the dog) was not very credible and seemed a bit forced; as a whole, the movie works well. The first time I watched this film the impression I got from it wasCertainly, a very good movie! Although one of the stories (the one of the model and the dog) was not very credible and seemed a bit forced; as a whole, the movie works well. The first time I watched this film the impression I got from it was not very positive; however, I am happy I watched it again, because I understood if from a totally different perspective, while the first time I did, I was perhaps overly critical. I do recommend the movie! It is intense, endearing, powerful, and at times, brutal...but watching is was a rewarding experience, just the same!...Amores Perros definitely had a huge potential to be even more than what it was... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
nicholasbertApr 6, 2015
This film is a serious take on the hyperlink genre, focusing more on social disparity than the titular love: although the three episodes take place in the same city, we see three essentially unrelated stories that could well have been set inThis film is a serious take on the hyperlink genre, focusing more on social disparity than the titular love: although the three episodes take place in the same city, we see three essentially unrelated stories that could well have been set in three different countries. There are snippets of great cinema, with influences clearly ranging from 50s-60s neorealism to 90's heist films - technically, the film is a great one: camera work, cinematography, writing, editing and soundtrack are all spot on. The only downfall, I found, was the fact that although yes, it is hyperlink, and yes, the episodes are somewhat connected, Amores perros still feels very distinctly trifold.

Apart from this, the movie is good and is certainly one of the best in its genre. Also, comparisons to Pulp Fiction don't really make sense, since Pulp Fiction was written with a humorous intent, while Amores perros is extremely serious and doesn't ever provide comedy at all.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
JohnMasterLOct 20, 2015
Amores Perros es perfecta, una obra de culto increíble y visualmente espectacular y con una historia y unos personajes muy bien desarrollados, la obra maestra que le dio el reconocimiento mundial a Alejandro Gonzalez Iñarritu es perfecta,Amores Perros es perfecta, una obra de culto increíble y visualmente espectacular y con una historia y unos personajes muy bien desarrollados, la obra maestra que le dio el reconocimiento mundial a Alejandro Gonzalez Iñarritu es perfecta, única y original. Es como Pulp Fiction, pero en México. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews