Lions Gate Films Home Entertainment | Release Date: March 30, 2001
4.8
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 234 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
120
Mixed:
8
Negative:
106
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
JohnMasterLOct 20, 2015
Amores Perros es perfecta, una obra de culto increíble y visualmente espectacular y con una historia y unos personajes muy bien desarrollados, la obra maestra que le dio el reconocimiento mundial a Alejandro Gonzalez Iñarritu es perfecta,Amores Perros es perfecta, una obra de culto increíble y visualmente espectacular y con una historia y unos personajes muy bien desarrollados, la obra maestra que le dio el reconocimiento mundial a Alejandro Gonzalez Iñarritu es perfecta, única y original. Es como Pulp Fiction, pero en México. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
nicholasbertApr 6, 2015
This film is a serious take on the hyperlink genre, focusing more on social disparity than the titular love: although the three episodes take place in the same city, we see three essentially unrelated stories that could well have been set inThis film is a serious take on the hyperlink genre, focusing more on social disparity than the titular love: although the three episodes take place in the same city, we see three essentially unrelated stories that could well have been set in three different countries. There are snippets of great cinema, with influences clearly ranging from 50s-60s neorealism to 90's heist films - technically, the film is a great one: camera work, cinematography, writing, editing and soundtrack are all spot on. The only downfall, I found, was the fact that although yes, it is hyperlink, and yes, the episodes are somewhat connected, Amores perros still feels very distinctly trifold.

Apart from this, the movie is good and is certainly one of the best in its genre. Also, comparisons to Pulp Fiction don't really make sense, since Pulp Fiction was written with a humorous intent, while Amores perros is extremely serious and doesn't ever provide comedy at all.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
RegOzMar 31, 2012
Certainly, a very good movie! Although one of the stories (the one of the model and the dog) was not very credible and seemed a bit forced; as a whole, the movie works well. The first time I watched this film the impression I got from it wasCertainly, a very good movie! Although one of the stories (the one of the model and the dog) was not very credible and seemed a bit forced; as a whole, the movie works well. The first time I watched this film the impression I got from it was not very positive; however, I am happy I watched it again, because I understood if from a totally different perspective, while the first time I did, I was perhaps overly critical. I do recommend the movie! It is intense, endearing, powerful, and at times, brutal...but watching is was a rewarding experience, just the same!...Amores Perros definitely had a huge potential to be even more than what it was... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
ovi_bzJan 7, 2011
Touching story. Brilliant idea of the three stories. The accident episode is the key of the movie. It keeps you alert till the end. The third story was the most beautiful to me.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
RedlightJun 5, 2007
Although I still feel this movie is great, it's a movie best appreciated when you're watching it for the very first time. On repeated viewings, although it is still great, it just isn't as rewarding. Still, great performances Although I still feel this movie is great, it's a movie best appreciated when you're watching it for the very first time. On repeated viewings, although it is still great, it just isn't as rewarding. Still, great performances from the cast and brutally realistic. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MattA.Aug 24, 2006
Easily the best film of 2001, and, as some critics have indicated, one of the finest films of all time. The performances, writing, direction, and choice of music are all flawless. It was sad to see this same filmmaker try to create a similar Easily the best film of 2001, and, as some critics have indicated, one of the finest films of all time. The performances, writing, direction, and choice of music are all flawless. It was sad to see this same filmmaker try to create a similar masterpiece with 21 Grams, and mostly fail. If you didn't like that film, still give this one a chance. It truly is amazing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JPWJul 6, 2006
A great movie that catches your attention for all the two-and-a-half hours that it's long. It captures the three sad stories in such a beautiful, melancholic, aesthetic way For me, all the blood and violence is part of that A great movie that catches your attention for all the two-and-a-half hours that it's long. It captures the three sad stories in such a beautiful, melancholic, aesthetic way For me, all the blood and violence is part of that aestheticness. The movie seems to breathe the town, the atmosphere is conveyed great with, the people, upper class and lower. One of the best movies I've ever seen. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NikolaL.Jan 19, 2006
Writer speaks from essential to embrace absurd. Never saw movie that perfect.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JuliusM.Jul 8, 2001
THE best movie I have seen this year, truly my vote for best foreing film. A work of art that is truly magnificent.
0 of 0 users found this helpful