User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 57 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 48 out of 57
  2. Negative: 0 out of 57

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Nov 24, 2012
    10
    In my opinion, this is truly the best werewolf-themed movie of all time, effortlessly combining horror with comedy and presenting a transformation sequence which will probably never be matched. Also the background filler songs, all referencing the moon adds to the treat that this is. The mood of the film bounces up and down like a biorhythm chart, with the extreme highs counterbalancedIn my opinion, this is truly the best werewolf-themed movie of all time, effortlessly combining horror with comedy and presenting a transformation sequence which will probably never be matched. Also the background filler songs, all referencing the moon adds to the treat that this is. The mood of the film bounces up and down like a biorhythm chart, with the extreme highs counterbalanced with the terrifying lows. Perhaps, to nitpick, a few things I didn't like about it include the bumbling law enforcers, and during the final transformation sequence, when David/"David" stares at his hand as it elongates - which actually became one of the iconic images people tend to use when referencing this movie. Otherwise, this is a modern classic. My favorite moments are those when "Jack" makes his visionary appearances, each one in a further state of decay. Place this on your bucket list - it's a must-see. Expand
  2. Sep 21, 2012
    4
    It is an old school film that was unsure of it`s self. The horror was not scary although there is artistry present during the transformation scene and many of the scenes where you see Jack back from the dead. I found the odd moment funny but much of the over the top humor did not work for me. don`t even get me started about the ending.
  3. May 26, 2012
    5
    En voyant que le réalisateur se nomme John Landis, il ne fallait pas vraiment s'attendre à un véritable film d'épouvante. Bon, il y a bien une certaine ambiance dans la première partie, dans les landes brumeuses. Mais à aucune moment le film ne fait illusion sur le but d'effrayer le specateur. Cela marchaitEn voyant que le réalisateur se nomme John Landis, il ne fallait pas vraiment s'attendre à un véritable film d'épouvante. Bon, il y a bien une certaine ambiance dans la première partie, dans les landes brumeuses. Mais à aucune moment le film ne fait illusion sur le but d'effrayer le specateur. Cela marchait peut-être l'époque, je ne le nie pas. Mais aujourd'hui... Tout ça pour dire que ce Loup-Garou de Londres a pris un sacré coup de vieux! Sinon, nous avons affaire à une histoire de loup-garou en plus, mais qui est tout de même sauvé par deux choses. A commencer par son degré (que l'on pouvait attendre de Landis), assez rigolo (la scène de "réunion" au cinéma porno). Et puis surtout les maquillages, tout simplement bluffant et superbement réalisés, surtout pour l'époque! Justement, en t repensant, Le Loup-Garou de Loup ne serait-il pas une sorte de "prolongation" au clip Thriller? On pourrait le voir comme ça. Expand
  4. Dec 21, 2015
    10
    Hands down my favourite movie concerning werewolves and one of my favourite movies in general. I love the way writer/director John Landis injects a recurring comedic element into this film. You would think that adding comedy into a horror film would offset the tension that film would hope to instill in you. Here that is definitely not the case. Parts like the opening scene on the moors areHands down my favourite movie concerning werewolves and one of my favourite movies in general. I love the way writer/director John Landis injects a recurring comedic element into this film. You would think that adding comedy into a horror film would offset the tension that film would hope to instill in you. Here that is definitely not the case. Parts like the opening scene on the moors are very atmospheric with a sense of foreboding while other scenes such as one where the protagonist, David, wakes up naked in a zoo and has slyly make his way out of said zoo are hilarious. An American Werewolf In London comfortably joins the ranks of horror classics such as: Evil Dead II, Alien, The Shining and Halloween.

    P.S. There is a transformation scene approximately halfway thorough the movie that is amazing, it is some of the best effects I have seen in any movie and it is this that secured Rick Baker (the special effects artist), his Oscar.
    Expand
  5. May 29, 2011
    9
    I knew this would be a different kind of horror movie when the first 15 minutes or so featured such witty banter between David Naughton & Griffin Dunne. They're great together, and after Dunne "changes", their interactions only get better. The soundtrack is perfect- esp. CCR's "Bad Moon Rising" - and the woman who plays the nurse is terrific. Rick Baker, who won the Oscar for his specialI knew this would be a different kind of horror movie when the first 15 minutes or so featured such witty banter between David Naughton & Griffin Dunne. They're great together, and after Dunne "changes", their interactions only get better. The soundtrack is perfect- esp. CCR's "Bad Moon Rising" - and the woman who plays the nurse is terrific. Rick Baker, who won the Oscar for his special effects & makeup, did some unprecedented things in the transformation scene. Probably the worst part of the film is the ending - or lack thereof. Don't quite know what Landis was thinking there, but it certainly didn't spoil the fun for me. Expand
  6. Aug 17, 2011
    8
    Very good for a werewolf flick. Sure we ain`t got a complicated story here. Just a guy who gets bitten by a scary costume and turns one day. The love story is also quite shallow. But the movie still manages to hold the viewer to see more. The single main thing I looked at is : is this film scary? Well yes, it is damn scary! Not all the time, mind you. The English country side looks funnyVery good for a werewolf flick. Sure we ain`t got a complicated story here. Just a guy who gets bitten by a scary costume and turns one day. The love story is also quite shallow. But the movie still manages to hold the viewer to see more. The single main thing I looked at is : is this film scary? Well yes, it is damn scary! Not all the time, mind you. The English country side looks funny compared to all other such flicks where we see the woods mainly. Here, the boys get attacked at night, yes, but at an open area. Ofcourse by now the speciall effects look silly at times, though the man-wolf transformation is the best I`ve seen yet. Still, it is convincing. It also contributes to building the main character - he also experiences a lot of pain and remorse. The film also has a few funny scenes. The thing I liked the most about it : the werewolf is a savage beast and kills people in the most gruesome ways, just out of bloodthirst. Excellent sound to that. Overall a movie that manages to amuse inspite of time. Expand
  7. Jul 2, 2016
    5
    Not a very good movie. The acting is terrible and it's mostly boring like many werewolf movies are. One time watch and thankfully it's not that long. American Werewolf in Paris is much more entertaining.
  8. Apr 20, 2013
    8
    With outstanding and revolutionary make-up and howling special effects, An American Werewolf In London is a major success especially with its surprising blend of horror and humor.
  9. May 23, 2015
    8
    The film has some very stereotypical aspects to it, the almost arrogant and foolish way that British intelligence is shown almost seems derogatory, as David must submit to foreign policies and beaurocracy. However the images of Londoners is mildly balanced and justified by the asinine shenanigans of David Kessler. The story is a funny and the negatives are minor unless you’ve seen the filmThe film has some very stereotypical aspects to it, the almost arrogant and foolish way that British intelligence is shown almost seems derogatory, as David must submit to foreign policies and beaurocracy. However the images of Londoners is mildly balanced and justified by the asinine shenanigans of David Kessler. The story is a funny and the negatives are minor unless you’ve seen the film like a thousand times and those idiosyncrasies are all that remain to pick at. The story stays with in a classic premise that does not rely on props or gimmicks of the time to find it’s humor which make it an easy film to watch no matter how many decades pass.

    The special effects in this film are kick ass and organic. It is some of the best special effects make up work of the era. It kept with the basic concepts and abilities of creature effects , something that I am glad to see come back into fashion in horror. There are a few scenes in this film that really stand out as far as quality of FX. The rotting visuals are kick ass. Gross and gory and good. Plus I think this is the first time that we saw werewolves as massive beasts instead of the upright biped creature known in earlier stuff like “The Wolfman”. No need for a real wolf, the kind popular in today's shows and movies, nor is there any aspects of the standing monstrosity that is so terrifying such as in “The Howling”. This was a truly original design for the era. It made not only werewolves scary as hell beasts with almost no resemblance to man but it also made real wolves a bit more scary as well (for me anyway).
    Expand
  10. Oct 12, 2015
    9
    One of the best werewolf films in cinema history, I might even go as far as to say that it is one of the best horror films in History, brilliantly shot and successfully combining horror, comedy and romance all into one, keeping the audience on the edge of their seats and attempting to hold the screams!
  11. Apr 1, 2016
    5
    This movie was made in 1981... it's supposed to lose its greatness because it has aged badly. Classical movie fans, prepare to see this movie again. I'll keep my eye out on aging in movies like this.
Metascore
60

Mixed or average reviews - based on 6 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 6
  2. Negative: 1 out of 6
  1. Reviewed by: Marjorie Baumgarten
    May 28, 2011
    89
    This movie presented a radical melange of genuine horror and self-aware comic touches, not to mention the fabulous Rick Baker special effects.
  2. Reviewed by: Kim Newman
    May 28, 2011
    80
    Carnivorous lunar activities rarely come any more entertaining than this.
  3. Reviewed by: Dave Kehr
    May 28, 2011
    30
    It's a failure, less because the odd stylistic mix doesn't take (it does from time to time, and to striking effect) than because Landis hasn't bothered to put his story into any kind of satisfying shape.