User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 225 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 26 out of 225
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 28, 2012
    7
    Despite the recent developments seemingly debunking the points it raises, "An Inconvenient Truth" is - without a doubt - still a good film.
  2. TedM.
    Jun 9, 2006
    10
    One of the few rare movies that actually inspires you to reevaluate the way you live your life.
  3. MarshaH.
    Aug 4, 2006
    10
    All citizens and all elected officials need to see this thought-provoking, informative film; then take action to tackle the problem of global warming before it's too late.
  4. MichelleC.
    Jun 10, 2006
    9
    I believe viewing this movie should be a requirement for everyone. The story told and consequences presented for the years of mistreatment of our planet is absolutely frightening. While I very much support this documentary it must be said that it is flawed. The material is dry and thus the movie feels too lenghty. Also, this documentary fills lots of time on the facts of Al Gores life I believe viewing this movie should be a requirement for everyone. The story told and consequences presented for the years of mistreatment of our planet is absolutely frightening. While I very much support this documentary it must be said that it is flawed. The material is dry and thus the movie feels too lenghty. Also, this documentary fills lots of time on the facts of Al Gores life which ultimately have little to no need to our understanding global warming. Still, it is a must see for all. Expand
  5. NealA.
    Jun 3, 2006
    9
    Incredibly, Al Gore is breathtakingly interesting as he tells the potentially greatest horror story since the dark ages, the ice age and the Holocost all put together.
  6. KenG.
    Jul 7, 2006
    7
    You might not be able to follow everyone of Gore's points, but you get the gist of it all, and Gore's passion and sincereity come through loudly, and carry the movie. Gore comes across as funny, smooth, charming, passionate, sincere, highly intelligent, and charismic. Where the hell was this guy in 2000.
  7. MargiJ.
    Jul 9, 2006
    10
    This movie is imperative; the word must get out. Thank you, Al Gore.
  8. AnthonyM.
    Jun 30, 2006
    9
    Probably a "5" as a piece of cinematic art. But a "10+" for its ability to bring a critical issue to mass audiences. Absolutely a must-see.
  9. LeeF.
    Jun 4, 2006
    10
    Just go see it -- it's worth every minute. And I promise you won't be bored unless you're braindead.
  10. RobB.
    Jun 18, 2006
    10
    Al Gore should be applauded. After the devastating election of 2000 he could have very easily slipped into bitterness or become a figure of pity. Instead he has reloaded and committed even more to a mission he has been on for several decades. Not being a blind follower or extreme environmentalist, I went in with a couple of questions. Both were answered convincingly. I actually wish it Al Gore should be applauded. After the devastating election of 2000 he could have very easily slipped into bitterness or become a figure of pity. Instead he has reloaded and committed even more to a mission he has been on for several decades. Not being a blind follower or extreme environmentalist, I went in with a couple of questions. Both were answered convincingly. I actually wish it weren't so because this doesn't bode well for our planet. Gore comes off not as an overly righteous liberal but a person of sincerity. He even admits his own family's complicity in a shameful chapter of American history (the Gore's were tobacco farmers). But his family ultimately righted their way out of the wrongheaded industry. And that's his message here -- we can correct our course. If you have a heart, and a brain, the message of this documentary should have an impact. If not, stick your head in the sand a little deeper. You may still be able to breathe if you don't drown first. Collapse
  11. LindaH.
    Jun 26, 2006
    10
    I like the film and I think it has an important message for the public, and I don't think it's information you can get elsewhere without encounter the politicians/popular media throwning bogus claims at you. I'm outraged that politicians/popular media have been introducing doubts into such an important issue as global warming. We have a critic right here in this web site I like the film and I think it has an important message for the public, and I don't think it's information you can get elsewhere without encounter the politicians/popular media throwning bogus claims at you. I'm outraged that politicians/popular media have been introducing doubts into such an important issue as global warming. We have a critic right here in this web site ranted and raved about the movie because he doesn't like Al Gore. Does he think all the information Gore presented in the film was made up just to advance Gore's political career? What planet do these critics think they'll live in when our atmosphere/natural environment is damaged beyond repair? Shouldn't we heed the warning and be just a little more mindful about our energy use, and make some changes to our current behaviors? Is that really too much to ask? Expand
  12. PonR.
    Jun 28, 2006
    9
    As Gore says, it's a moral issue rather than a political one. I personally don't give much consideration to the issue of global warming because I believe I'll be long dead by the time climate changes reach full effect. I don't plan on having children either. But for those who do plan to have children, and grandchildren, I'd like to think they'd give a second As Gore says, it's a moral issue rather than a political one. I personally don't give much consideration to the issue of global warming because I believe I'll be long dead by the time climate changes reach full effect. I don't plan on having children either. But for those who do plan to have children, and grandchildren, I'd like to think they'd give a second thought as to what kind of world we're leaving for future generations. Expand
  13. HarrietteD.
    Jun 30, 2006
    10
    essential to see and understand this movie- then vote to make Congress act upon the inconvenient truths it portrays.
  14. JoiH.
    Aug 8, 2006
    10
    Should be required veiwing by all middle and high schools. Incredibly informative and everyone of all political persuasions should see it.
  15. TomS.
    Dec 5, 2006
    10
    Required thinking.
  16. tilbrook
    Jun 2, 2006
    9
    Phil Hall and Kyle Smith have some obvious issues. Taking sides on this for political reasons is assanine and obviously what is at work here. This movie is no Chicken Little, and yes Phil & Kyle, your 10mpg SUV's do have consequences we all suffer from.
  17. TimT.
    Jun 4, 2006
    9
    Excellent, important film.
  18. AnthonyR.
    Jul 28, 2006
    9
    This has more good moments than any documentary in recent memory. And it is important to see. An effective delivery of information that people need to know. Occassional dull points in a film that-- given the topic-- one would expect to be filled with a constant stream of dull points. The most depressing feature of the movie is that it compels you to wonder if the current president could This has more good moments than any documentary in recent memory. And it is important to see. An effective delivery of information that people need to know. Occassional dull points in a film that-- given the topic-- one would expect to be filled with a constant stream of dull points. The most depressing feature of the movie is that it compels you to wonder if the current president could discuss any topic with the bredth of knowledge Gore has about the status and future of the environment. Expand
  19. JoanG.
    Jul 4, 2006
    9
    I found every minute riveting, and was teary-eyed by the end. DVDs of this movie should be handed out on street corners.
  20. BitBurn
    Feb 19, 2007
    10
    Phil Hall of Film Threat is a stupid moron for bashing on and thrashing such an alarming film about global warming. Hard to believe that one would take advantage of negatively criticizing a film like that is such a critical time for mankind. Mr.Hall, you jerk, your ego is bigger than what
  21. IgnacioM.
    Mar 24, 2008
    10
    Clarion call to long-delayed public and governmental action on carbon emissions, and began the current push toward environmentally sound energy research (now accelerated by rising fuel prices).
  22. FrankD
    Dec 25, 2006
    9
    Yes, Al Gore's delivery and demeanor can become grating at times, but the film still packs a solid punch. Beautifully prepared and alarmingly persuasive! We'd all be complete fools not to listen!
  23. ConcernedCitizen
    Dec 30, 2006
    10
    I think anyone that gave this movie lower than a score of 10 is utterly lacking the point of the movie. Don't go watching a documentary film and expect some action film. I think Al Gore is a genuis to make such a film like this one. I think more movie producer should make more films like this that have an important moral. Very few films do a good job of having a moral and this is one I think anyone that gave this movie lower than a score of 10 is utterly lacking the point of the movie. Don't go watching a documentary film and expect some action film. I think Al Gore is a genuis to make such a film like this one. I think more movie producer should make more films like this that have an important moral. Very few films do a good job of having a moral and this is one of them. It is time people open their ears and realize "the truth" and help to solve it. Ishmael is a good similar book to this movie except the book focuses on human resources. Watching this film also raises another important question....would Al Gore have been more successful as a U.S. president than George Bush ? Maybe for the next election. Expand
  24. ArielG
    Oct 29, 2006
    10
    I never knew that a documentary could be so interesting and compelling to watch, yet this one was. Al Gore has been campaigning and trying to raise the issue of global warming since the 1970's. It isn't a bandwagon he jumped on recently. I like the way he presents his talks to make them interesting, and his voice has a very soothing quality to it - firm and earthy but not I never knew that a documentary could be so interesting and compelling to watch, yet this one was. Al Gore has been campaigning and trying to raise the issue of global warming since the 1970's. It isn't a bandwagon he jumped on recently. I like the way he presents his talks to make them interesting, and his voice has a very soothing quality to it - firm and earthy but not preachy. It's not as liberally biased as I thought it would be. As for those people out there who dismiss the idea of global warming, the signs and data are already out there for us to see. Expand
  25. JonathanGoldstein
    May 25, 2006
    10
    This film is essential viewing. Anyone who politicizes this issue, or prejudges, is doing themselves and their descendants a grave disservice. Just watch with an open mind. The case made is as astounding as it is horrifying.
  26. PaulM.
    Jun 14, 2006
    8
    Regardless of one's take on global warming (i.e. "climate change" for the conservative Republican base) -- whether serious threat, groundless scaremongering, or somewhere in between -- this movie usually interesting, occasionally entertaining, and provides a veritable banquet of food for thought for all but the most closed of minds. But when the movie deviates from the 'A' Regardless of one's take on global warming (i.e. "climate change" for the conservative Republican base) -- whether serious threat, groundless scaremongering, or somewhere in between -- this movie usually interesting, occasionally entertaining, and provides a veritable banquet of food for thought for all but the most closed of minds. But when the movie deviates from the 'A' story of the global warming threat to the 'B' story of Al Gore's personal, professional, and political life, it feels too much like a campaign ad. Regardless of Gore's intention or lack thereof to resume his political career, I couldn't help but feel at times I was watching Al Gore's version of Ronald Reagan's "Morning in America" ad. And whether the political tone was intended or not, it plainly undermined and weakened the principle message of the movie, that the unchecked wanton abuse of our planet will likely result in disastrous consequences. I, for one, fear that our children and children's children will look back on this era and wonder how this generation and those just before it could have possibly been so callous and thoughtless. And although the movie is flawed, I'm thankful that the producers and Al Gore have attempted to rise above the din of anti-science rhetoric that is so characteristic of the current administration. No one knows exactly what effects global warming will have. But as the overwhelming evidence mounts that it is fact and not theory, I think the smart move -- and, yes, the conservative move -- would be to do something about it... right now. Expand
  27. JustinS.
    Jun 15, 2006
    9
    Great movie that everyone [b]needs[/b] to see. Hopefiully this will wake people up to the need to do something about global warming. Would be a educational tool. There seemed to be a little too much digression into Al Gore's life, though and too much of the stuff seemed not to be cited properly or the source information was too hard to see.
  28. ClaytonS.
    Jun 19, 2006
    9
    Excellent and frightening explanation of the strange weather we are experiencing on earth. A must see for all of us!
  29. SteveK.
    Jun 3, 2006
    10
    To Kyle Smith of the New York Post: I just read your review of "An Inconvenient Truth." It bothered me because you seemed so consumed with damning the politics of the messenger that you missed the message almost completely. We are living in dangerous climatic times. The American public does not have global warming and its potential for catastrophe on its "Things We Think are Important" To Kyle Smith of the New York Post: I just read your review of "An Inconvenient Truth." It bothered me because you seemed so consumed with damning the politics of the messenger that you missed the message almost completely. We are living in dangerous climatic times. The American public does not have global warming and its potential for catastrophe on its "Things We Think are Important" list. Raising public awareness is paramount before action can occur (I remind you that almost no American thought much about the Middle East and Islam on 9/10; after 9/11, it was easy to rally troops and find support for action because Americans deemed the situation urgent). Gore is putting this issue square in front of Americans. He builds a compelling case for acting now because the evidence is very strong that something horrendous is in the works. The data of hundreds if not thousands of studies supports trends in climate change in support of global warming. People at odds with global warming still want to argue these data in the same way creationists want to dismiss all scientific evidence as a grand anti-Christian conspiracy against God. Science looks to build models based on the collection of good real-word data. If you only get two data points, you can still draw a line between it and call it a trend. This, however, is speculation. not science. If you have thousands of data points that form a line, this is a robust scientific model. Robust models should be able to withstand scrutiny from the scientific community. When non-scientist with political agendas cast doubt for personal or political reasons, we must be sure to scrutinize the objectors as much as the objection itself. You may want to dismiss the model because it goes against your belief system or might require you to change your way of living, but that won't change the model. The world seems to get scarier by the day. Reasonable voices must be heard above the noise of polemicists on both sides. I've heard religious conservatives tell liberals they will soon burn in hell for their beliefs. I am worried that we all may be burning right here on Earth if we all don't cooperate and act. Expand
  30. DaveN.
    Jun 4, 2006
    10
    After reading some of the reviews for this film, you get the notion that Al Gore will be boring, that it's a political pedestal, and that he uses his sister & son to that end. Oh, and that there'll be some stuff about global warming. I was surprised at what an excellent speaker and presenter Al Gore is. To me, it didn't come across as a political vehicle, and realistically, After reading some of the reviews for this film, you get the notion that Al Gore will be boring, that it's a political pedestal, and that he uses his sister & son to that end. Oh, and that there'll be some stuff about global warming. I was surprised at what an excellent speaker and presenter Al Gore is. To me, it didn't come across as a political vehicle, and realistically, if anyone (Al Gore included) thinks that he could become president (again?) after the oil & gas industry is discussed in this light, they'd be fooling themselves. The narratives involving his son and sister are excellent at portraying that we need a shock to the system to shake us out of routine and see the big picture. Everybody seems to like to play devil's advocate and have a contradictory opinion when it comes to this stuff, but EVEN if for some reason you still think that our global warming situation is cyclical, why is it not a good thing to clean up our act? This is the film you see and wish everybody would see it. It's not a downer, it's optimistic. It's not a political message, but a moral one. Go see it. You won't be disappointed. It's good for you. Congratulations Al, you've presented a film I didn't mind paying a movie theater fortune to see, and you got me thinking. Thanks. Expand
  31. SuzanneD.
    Jul 15, 2006
    10
    It's time we wake up, before it's too late. This film is a good starting point for the average Americans... if we can get them to sit and watch one without sex or violence.
  32. JayE.
    Jul 24, 2006
    7
    For being a slide-show presentation, it's a damn good slide-show presentation. It remains interesting and engaging, assuming that you're interested in the material in the first place. The argument it makes is very strong in its logos and its ethos, but it lacks a bit in the pathos. It is not as emotionally moving as other political documentaries, and when it is, it makes us feel For being a slide-show presentation, it's a damn good slide-show presentation. It remains interesting and engaging, assuming that you're interested in the material in the first place. The argument it makes is very strong in its logos and its ethos, but it lacks a bit in the pathos. It is not as emotionally moving as other political documentaries, and when it is, it makes us feel sorry for Gore instead of wanting to save the planet. Otherwise, it is a very well-structured lesson in science. Expand
  33. Drew
    Jul 29, 2006
    9
    There will be no celebration of "being right" if this scenario comes true, which there is a damned good chance it will, given how in denial people are about the subject matter. I do not have the skills or the patience to covert those people. All I can say is that there are so many little things we can do as people to affect this issue that even if you don't believe it is likely, it There will be no celebration of "being right" if this scenario comes true, which there is a damned good chance it will, given how in denial people are about the subject matter. I do not have the skills or the patience to covert those people. All I can say is that there are so many little things we can do as people to affect this issue that even if you don't believe it is likely, it ultimately is lazy and selfish not to at least do those things. Rome burned, and a society collapsed. This time, it may be the world that collapeses (anyone remember "Soylent Green" and how it talked about this exact issue?), but hey...don't inconvenience us, okay? Enjoy the world now, if you are an ostrich...eventually, the even the ground may be too hot for you to stick your head in. Oh, and as for the movie itself...well, Gore could have avoided a bit of the politics he brought in, but given what has happened, it is actually probably a testament to his restraint. It just detracted from the movie at times. Expand
  34. PyoungY.
    Jul 29, 2006
    10
    Surprisingly engaging movie with a personal touch.
  35. [Anonymous]
    Jul 3, 2006
    9
    An absolute must see, not only as a film, but as a wake up call for everyone on this planet!
  36. WillyM.
    Jul 8, 2006
    10
    Devastating and riveting. If only that Gore guy was president or something!
  37. NickL.
    Feb 12, 2007
    10
    I really loved this movie; I think it should be required viewing for the human race. Al Gore is unexpectedly charismatic (he even makes a joke?). As for his critics, who say that this is as much about Gore as it is about global warming, I wholeheartedly disagree. As he said, the issue of global warming is less political than moral. You have to step back and separate the words from the man I really loved this movie; I think it should be required viewing for the human race. Al Gore is unexpectedly charismatic (he even makes a joke?). As for his critics, who say that this is as much about Gore as it is about global warming, I wholeheartedly disagree. As he said, the issue of global warming is less political than moral. You have to step back and separate the words from the man delivering them, and I think he was very brave to put himself in the position as orator. This movie is a cry for a call to action from a Congress and a society that has not taken enough precautions against these issues. Whether you agree or disagree with his assertions, I'd rather be safe than sorry. Life is too precious to even consider losing. Surely both parties must agree on that. Expand
  38. JoeB.
    Feb 15, 2007
    10
    Gore presents his arguments convincingly and fluidly. He really nails the need for us to act with a lovely bit at the end telling us how. A very effective film.
  39. SabihaZ.
    Mar 27, 2007
    10
    When I heard that a documentary will be shown I did not want to go, because it might be boring. But now I can say that if I did not watch the movie it will be a great mistake for me. I just surprized how it is possible for a man to make a presentation on global warmning so much interesting and the informative. And not only the problems Mr. Al Gore has presented that it is possible to cope When I heard that a documentary will be shown I did not want to go, because it might be boring. But now I can say that if I did not watch the movie it will be a great mistake for me. I just surprized how it is possible for a man to make a presentation on global warmning so much interesting and the informative. And not only the problems Mr. Al Gore has presented that it is possible to cope up with this problem, it is only a matter of political will and our activities.... so why do not we take the action? Why do not we be a part to save the world? This film does not require any votes, or any opinion, it is GREAT and of course the way Al Gore presented it deserves something more in action than only voting or rating. Expand
  40. TheCriticStrine
    Aug 5, 2007
    10
    The most important movie I will ever see. I am 12 years old and I came out of the theatre with tears in my eyes. And to any of the critics that gave it anything under a 75 I say to them, screw you!
  41. markf
    Nov 27, 2006
    7
    Very interesting and entertaining "documentary". The sad part is that we now know there are no self-serving documentaries. I give the Global Warming Info about an 8.5 and the Gore is a Better President than the Bushes combined about a 6. I TRULY believe that Gore is a much better candidate than the "Idiot Bushes" put together (Sorry about that, but let's get real for a sec.). Even Very interesting and entertaining "documentary". The sad part is that we now know there are no self-serving documentaries. I give the Global Warming Info about an 8.5 and the Gore is a Better President than the Bushes combined about a 6. I TRULY believe that Gore is a much better candidate than the "Idiot Bushes" put together (Sorry about that, but let's get real for a sec.). Even so, there's plenty to digest and get pissed and motivated by this flick. Politics are supposed to stay out odd Science, but in this day and age, where every airhead has an uninformed opinion and every politician votes the party line, it should carry some weight. Maybe the Dems recent referendum will mean something, but based on how unorganized they are, I wouldn't count on it. Oh, did I mention? You need to watch this film! Expand
  42. BrentB.
    Oct 15, 2006
    10
    Great movie. Should be required viewing for everyone on the planet.
  43. Iamhe
    May 27, 2006
    8
    Very well organized presentation on the crisis of climate change. If you are not fully aware of this disaster, and of its disastrous consequences in the present and near future, don't miss this film. It's like having a front row seat at your own funeral, and you wouldn't want to be late for that. Having said that, the 40 percent of the film that was devoted to the Very well organized presentation on the crisis of climate change. If you are not fully aware of this disaster, and of its disastrous consequences in the present and near future, don't miss this film. It's like having a front row seat at your own funeral, and you wouldn't want to be late for that. Having said that, the 40 percent of the film that was devoted to the hagiography of Al Gore couldn't have made me more sick. This is the guy who refused to even investigate the massive vote fraud perpetrated against his own African American voters in Florida, who famously denied the pleas of African-American Representatives to investigate that and other election irregularities that would have changed the course of the election, as depicted heartbreakingly in the film Fahrenheit 911. In other words, the guy who is most to blame for the past six years of hell on Earth that has been the present administration, with impacts on the climate and practically everything else. The guy knows how to talk and present, but did we really have to see all of those childhood pictures of him growing up on his daddy's farm? Or those close-up shots of his concerned face bending over a computer monitor showing pictures of glaciers breaking away? Give us all a break, Mr. Gore. But good work on making things clear to everyone so far as the facts of the matter are concerned. Expand
  44. NathanM.
    May 28, 2006
    10
    A must-see movie. Whoever disregards this movie as political speech is far more guilty of politicizing than Al Gore. Yeah, Al Gore ain't the most charismatic man on the planet, but this movie deals in facts, and is shockingly relevent to all of us.
  45. J.T.
    Jul 22, 2006
    10
    This is the best documentary that I have ever seen. This is a must see.
  46. DanS.
    Jul 28, 2007
    10
    I read a lot and thought that I knew the essentials of the global warming threat. Yet, after finally seeing this film on DVD here in Thailand, I was startled. Educated Thais and other Asians I've met here have seen and experienced many problems, but they are also more concerned about this crisis than I had anticipated. This is an idea whose time has come, and Al Gore has delivered it I read a lot and thought that I knew the essentials of the global warming threat. Yet, after finally seeing this film on DVD here in Thailand, I was startled. Educated Thais and other Asians I've met here have seen and experienced many problems, but they are also more concerned about this crisis than I had anticipated. This is an idea whose time has come, and Al Gore has delivered it quite well. PS: The New York Post is a Murdoch publication, so its film reviewer can be expected to give this a low score. But who is Phil Hall and what is "Film Threat"? Are they the frauds here? Anyhow, the readers gave Gore's film an average of 88, a very high rating. Expand
  47. AlD
    Nov 19, 2006
    9
    Undoubtedly, there is a little too much self-mythologising from Gore in the film (and I am of a liberal persuasion). Sure there's a need to have some relief from the stats and charts, but the point of the film is what it has to say, not the guy who's saying it. That aside, this is an incredibly important film that should persuade every viewer to make changes in their lives to Undoubtedly, there is a little too much self-mythologising from Gore in the film (and I am of a liberal persuasion). Sure there's a need to have some relief from the stats and charts, but the point of the film is what it has to say, not the guy who's saying it. That aside, this is an incredibly important film that should persuade every viewer to make changes in their lives to reduce their impact on climate change - its conclusions are just too stark to ignore. Expand
  48. Sep 21, 2014
    7
    Whether you actually believe in global warming or not it's almost impossible to deny that this movie makes a compelling argument. Typically things like this would bore the heck out of me, but I was surprised to find myself interested and entertained throughout, soaking up all of the information. Al Gore just has a wonderful stage presence.

    Now the argument itself is very well put
    Whether you actually believe in global warming or not it's almost impossible to deny that this movie makes a compelling argument. Typically things like this would bore the heck out of me, but I was surprised to find myself interested and entertained throughout, soaking up all of the information. Al Gore just has a wonderful stage presence.

    Now the argument itself is very well put together. It's science is laid out in an easy to understand and attractive manner. Whether or not you agree with it is up to you. The one complaint I have with the film is that it actually tries to use sad stories from Gore's past (such as an incident involving his son) in order to help get viewers to sympathize with him, and thus agree with him. It's a cheap tactic. One that wasn't really necessary since they included a healthy dose of their facts. But I guess they wanted to cover all bases.

    The movie succeeds thanks to Gore's genuine concern for the topic. I really don't think the movie would've been as effective had someone else been on-screen. He brings a healthy dose of charm and humor to the screen that kept me watching. Those who strongly don't believe in global warming probably won't care for this one at all, but I doubt even they could deny that it's setup in an enjoyable manner.
    Expand
  49. Jul 16, 2011
    10
    This is the movie that changed my outlook on the world and opened my eyes to the most important issue facing humanity today. I was enthralled and horrified at the facts presented in this movie. And I was amazed to see Al Gore - who I'm ashamed to say seemed hardly different or better than George W. Bush to me during the 2000 election - drop all pretenses and come across as an extremelyThis is the movie that changed my outlook on the world and opened my eyes to the most important issue facing humanity today. I was enthralled and horrified at the facts presented in this movie. And I was amazed to see Al Gore - who I'm ashamed to say seemed hardly different or better than George W. Bush to me during the 2000 election - drop all pretenses and come across as an extremely interesting and knowledgeable figure with a passion for educating people about the planet's peril. It's overwhelming the amount of scientific evidence that exists, and it's relayed quite effectively in such a way that if one five-minute topic segment doesn't completely convince you, then surely one of the next ones will. If I could have every person view one movie, this would be it. Expand
  50. sluze
    Jun 4, 2006
    10
    Dear Mr. Phil Hall, I think you are missing the point here; it
  51. DavidH.
    Jul 9, 2006
    10
    I plan to call ten friends and urge them to see this film..i am returning to see it , with my kids.
  52. May 20, 2012
    10
    Amazing how stupid some people are...
    Global warming is important..
    Al Gore shows the inconvenient Truth....
  53. Mar 18, 2014
    8
    An Inconvenient Truth is a persuasive argument to the effects global warming has on the environment and why we should change them. The film has good intentions and lots of facts and statistics to back up its points, and almost convinces even the most closed-minded person that he or she needs to change.
  54. Mar 12, 2014
    8
    This film is shocking and true. Believable, and understandable, An Inconvenient Truth's actual Truth, is so close to our faces that it might spark change in the near future.
  55. Jun 3, 2015
    9
    Although Al Gore lost to George Bush in the 2000 election, he is still a critical figure in the twenty-first century world. Despite not becoming president, Gore did have the opportunity to be a leader of global warming awareness. In An Inconvenient Truth, the protagonist Al Gore informs the viewer as if the viewer is seated in Gore’s global warming presentation. Gore speaks to and informsAlthough Al Gore lost to George Bush in the 2000 election, he is still a critical figure in the twenty-first century world. Despite not becoming president, Gore did have the opportunity to be a leader of global warming awareness. In An Inconvenient Truth, the protagonist Al Gore informs the viewer as if the viewer is seated in Gore’s global warming presentation. Gore speaks to and informs the audience of the presentation as he is informing the documentary audience. Directed by Davis Guggenheim, An Inconvenient Truth is a documentary about Al Gore’s lecture tour as he mentions the key awareness of global warming various locations around the globe. In short, I will give this great documentary a four and a half stars. I especially recommend this documentary to those that have limited or no knowledge of the rising danger of global warming and its consequences.
    An Inconvenient Truth is rated PG for mild thematic elements; this allows younger audiences to acknowledge the effects of global warming. In my opinion, this is key for our society to succeed. Despite Al Gore’s lecture referred to a lot of data regarding the presence of global warming, he did refer to the Futurama clip of “None like it hot”. The use of this simple cartoon allows the younger audience members of this documentary have visual entertainment rather than falling asleep to ample amounts of data sets, graphs, and statistics Al Gore bombarded the audience. With 7.3 billion humans and rising, the more educated and well-informed in global warming there are in society, the better. As youths grow up in this world, they certainly must understand the global warming threat. The education of the topic to these younger audience was one of the many reasons this documentary deserves a four and a half stars.
    An Inconvenient Truth reached its goal of educating the audience regarding the rising threat of global warming and its consequences. The documentary would make a person without any knowledge of global warming sympathize to the cause of lowering carbon emission and global warming. Al Gore used a personal anecdote regarding the injury of his son halfway through the documentary; additionally, Gore used the statistics with comparison of the low levels of carbon, pollution, etc. to the high levels present in the modern day. Especially with Gore’s personal anecdote, the audience viewed the personal side of this politician. Although the personal anecdote was somewhat tear jerking for normal audience members, I found greater amusement and laughing at the comedic jokes Gore mention throughout his presentations. Notably, Gore mentions one humorous joke regarding how an elementary teacher that denied a student’s creative thought of South America and Africa fitting together became a member in Bush’s cabinet.
    The documentary is 100 minutes long with minor predictable turn of events. The acting of each of the actors is fairly believable; in short, Gore was presenting a presentation to the audience in the movie and the audience beyond the movie is seated with his crowd. Also, the documentary is simply the right amount of length. It is not too long nor too short; the documentary uses a fair amount of time to go into enough depth to the extent the audience would understand. The pace of the movie tends to flow well from its use of data to the personal Gore’s anecdote to concluding strong. In terms of directing, Davis Guggenheim did a fair job. Each of the camera views to the lens in or lens out captured a positive image to Al Gore. There are few minor characters that support Gore in this documentary, because the documentary is regarding his tour of global warming presentations, the few supporting actors include include people asking questions during the presentation and the anonymous phone caller that led Gore to research more.
    In conclusion, An Inconvenient Truth is a fairly decent documentary that mentions the rising threat and consequences of global warming. For an ill-educated audience that lacks background regarding global warming, Al Gore mentions the prime consequences that the world will face for the next many generations. The documentary certainly deserves four and a half stars for enlightening the audience in a well manner. It possessed the right camera angling, right amount of documentary time, and only lacked the emphasis that pollution is produced by factories and agro-businesses. If it mentioned that the factories and agro-businesses are the prime producers of pollutions and how to counter that, then the movie would be five stars. Anyone that is uneducated regarding global warming I highly recommend this documentary so you can become more aware of the changing world around you.
    Expand
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 32
  2. Negative: 2 out of 32
  1. Reviewed by: Phil Hall
    0
    An Inconvenient Truth is something you rarely see in movies today: a blatant intellectual fraud. Shame on all of the people involved in this travesty.
  2. The documentary is an act of political activism. Guggenheim and his politically conscious producers, Laurie David, Lawrence Bender and Scott Z. Burns, have no interest in either challenging Gore's viewpoint or giving opposing opinions equal time. The film is simply a conduit for Gore's message.
  3. Reviewed by: Dennis Harvey
    60
    A straightforward record of the lecture Gore has toured for years, juiced by elaborate graphics. An excellent educational tool, picture may prove an awkward fit for theatrical distribution.