User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 224 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 26 out of 224
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 20, 2012
    10
    Amazing how stupid some people are...
    Global warming is important..
    Al Gore shows the inconvenient Truth....
  2. Jul 16, 2011
    10
    This is the movie that changed my outlook on the world and opened my eyes to the most important issue facing humanity today. I was enthralled and horrified at the facts presented in this movie. And I was amazed to see Al Gore - who I'm ashamed to say seemed hardly different or better than George W. Bush to me during the 2000 election - drop all pretenses and come across as an extremelyThis is the movie that changed my outlook on the world and opened my eyes to the most important issue facing humanity today. I was enthralled and horrified at the facts presented in this movie. And I was amazed to see Al Gore - who I'm ashamed to say seemed hardly different or better than George W. Bush to me during the 2000 election - drop all pretenses and come across as an extremely interesting and knowledgeable figure with a passion for educating people about the planet's peril. It's overwhelming the amount of scientific evidence that exists, and it's relayed quite effectively in such a way that if one five-minute topic segment doesn't completely convince you, then surely one of the next ones will. If I could have every person view one movie, this would be it. Expand
  3. IgnacioM.
    Mar 24, 2008
    10
    Clarion call to long-delayed public and governmental action on carbon emissions, and began the current push toward environmentally sound energy research (now accelerated by rising fuel prices).
  4. TheCriticStrine
    Aug 5, 2007
    10
    The most important movie I will ever see. I am 12 years old and I came out of the theatre with tears in my eyes. And to any of the critics that gave it anything under a 75 I say to them, screw you!
  5. DanS.
    Jul 28, 2007
    10
    I read a lot and thought that I knew the essentials of the global warming threat. Yet, after finally seeing this film on DVD here in Thailand, I was startled. Educated Thais and other Asians I've met here have seen and experienced many problems, but they are also more concerned about this crisis than I had anticipated. This is an idea whose time has come, and Al Gore has delivered it I read a lot and thought that I knew the essentials of the global warming threat. Yet, after finally seeing this film on DVD here in Thailand, I was startled. Educated Thais and other Asians I've met here have seen and experienced many problems, but they are also more concerned about this crisis than I had anticipated. This is an idea whose time has come, and Al Gore has delivered it quite well. PS: The New York Post is a Murdoch publication, so its film reviewer can be expected to give this a low score. But who is Phil Hall and what is "Film Threat"? Are they the frauds here? Anyhow, the readers gave Gore's film an average of 88, a very high rating. Expand
  6. SabihaZ.
    Mar 27, 2007
    10
    When I heard that a documentary will be shown I did not want to go, because it might be boring. But now I can say that if I did not watch the movie it will be a great mistake for me. I just surprized how it is possible for a man to make a presentation on global warmning so much interesting and the informative. And not only the problems Mr. Al Gore has presented that it is possible to cope When I heard that a documentary will be shown I did not want to go, because it might be boring. But now I can say that if I did not watch the movie it will be a great mistake for me. I just surprized how it is possible for a man to make a presentation on global warmning so much interesting and the informative. And not only the problems Mr. Al Gore has presented that it is possible to cope up with this problem, it is only a matter of political will and our activities.... so why do not we take the action? Why do not we be a part to save the world? This film does not require any votes, or any opinion, it is GREAT and of course the way Al Gore presented it deserves something more in action than only voting or rating. Expand
  7. BitBurn
    Feb 19, 2007
    10
    Phil Hall of Film Threat is a stupid moron for bashing on and thrashing such an alarming film about global warming. Hard to believe that one would take advantage of negatively criticizing a film like that is such a critical time for mankind. Mr.Hall, you jerk, your ego is bigger than what
  8. JoeB.
    Feb 15, 2007
    10
    Gore presents his arguments convincingly and fluidly. He really nails the need for us to act with a lovely bit at the end telling us how. A very effective film.
  9. NickL.
    Feb 12, 2007
    10
    I really loved this movie; I think it should be required viewing for the human race. Al Gore is unexpectedly charismatic (he even makes a joke?). As for his critics, who say that this is as much about Gore as it is about global warming, I wholeheartedly disagree. As he said, the issue of global warming is less political than moral. You have to step back and separate the words from the man I really loved this movie; I think it should be required viewing for the human race. Al Gore is unexpectedly charismatic (he even makes a joke?). As for his critics, who say that this is as much about Gore as it is about global warming, I wholeheartedly disagree. As he said, the issue of global warming is less political than moral. You have to step back and separate the words from the man delivering them, and I think he was very brave to put himself in the position as orator. This movie is a cry for a call to action from a Congress and a society that has not taken enough precautions against these issues. Whether you agree or disagree with his assertions, I'd rather be safe than sorry. Life is too precious to even consider losing. Surely both parties must agree on that. Expand
  10. ConcernedCitizen
    Dec 30, 2006
    10
    I think anyone that gave this movie lower than a score of 10 is utterly lacking the point of the movie. Don't go watching a documentary film and expect some action film. I think Al Gore is a genuis to make such a film like this one. I think more movie producer should make more films like this that have an important moral. Very few films do a good job of having a moral and this is one I think anyone that gave this movie lower than a score of 10 is utterly lacking the point of the movie. Don't go watching a documentary film and expect some action film. I think Al Gore is a genuis to make such a film like this one. I think more movie producer should make more films like this that have an important moral. Very few films do a good job of having a moral and this is one of them. It is time people open their ears and realize "the truth" and help to solve it. Ishmael is a good similar book to this movie except the book focuses on human resources. Watching this film also raises another important question....would Al Gore have been more successful as a U.S. president than George Bush ? Maybe for the next election. Expand
  11. FrankD
    Dec 25, 2006
    9
    Yes, Al Gore's delivery and demeanor can become grating at times, but the film still packs a solid punch. Beautifully prepared and alarmingly persuasive! We'd all be complete fools not to listen!
  12. TomS.
    Dec 5, 2006
    10
    Required thinking.
  13. AlD
    Nov 19, 2006
    9
    Undoubtedly, there is a little too much self-mythologising from Gore in the film (and I am of a liberal persuasion). Sure there's a need to have some relief from the stats and charts, but the point of the film is what it has to say, not the guy who's saying it. That aside, this is an incredibly important film that should persuade every viewer to make changes in their lives to Undoubtedly, there is a little too much self-mythologising from Gore in the film (and I am of a liberal persuasion). Sure there's a need to have some relief from the stats and charts, but the point of the film is what it has to say, not the guy who's saying it. That aside, this is an incredibly important film that should persuade every viewer to make changes in their lives to reduce their impact on climate change - its conclusions are just too stark to ignore. Expand
  14. ArielG
    Oct 29, 2006
    10
    I never knew that a documentary could be so interesting and compelling to watch, yet this one was. Al Gore has been campaigning and trying to raise the issue of global warming since the 1970's. It isn't a bandwagon he jumped on recently. I like the way he presents his talks to make them interesting, and his voice has a very soothing quality to it - firm and earthy but not I never knew that a documentary could be so interesting and compelling to watch, yet this one was. Al Gore has been campaigning and trying to raise the issue of global warming since the 1970's. It isn't a bandwagon he jumped on recently. I like the way he presents his talks to make them interesting, and his voice has a very soothing quality to it - firm and earthy but not preachy. It's not as liberally biased as I thought it would be. As for those people out there who dismiss the idea of global warming, the signs and data are already out there for us to see. Expand
  15. BrentB.
    Oct 15, 2006
    10
    Great movie. Should be required viewing for everyone on the planet.
  16. JoiH.
    Aug 8, 2006
    10
    Should be required veiwing by all middle and high schools. Incredibly informative and everyone of all political persuasions should see it.
  17. MarshaH.
    Aug 4, 2006
    10
    All citizens and all elected officials need to see this thought-provoking, informative film; then take action to tackle the problem of global warming before it's too late.
  18. PyoungY.
    Jul 29, 2006
    10
    Surprisingly engaging movie with a personal touch.
  19. Drew
    Jul 29, 2006
    9
    There will be no celebration of "being right" if this scenario comes true, which there is a damned good chance it will, given how in denial people are about the subject matter. I do not have the skills or the patience to covert those people. All I can say is that there are so many little things we can do as people to affect this issue that even if you don't believe it is likely, it There will be no celebration of "being right" if this scenario comes true, which there is a damned good chance it will, given how in denial people are about the subject matter. I do not have the skills or the patience to covert those people. All I can say is that there are so many little things we can do as people to affect this issue that even if you don't believe it is likely, it ultimately is lazy and selfish not to at least do those things. Rome burned, and a society collapsed. This time, it may be the world that collapeses (anyone remember "Soylent Green" and how it talked about this exact issue?), but hey...don't inconvenience us, okay? Enjoy the world now, if you are an ostrich...eventually, the even the ground may be too hot for you to stick your head in. Oh, and as for the movie itself...well, Gore could have avoided a bit of the politics he brought in, but given what has happened, it is actually probably a testament to his restraint. It just detracted from the movie at times. Expand
  20. AnthonyR.
    Jul 28, 2006
    9
    This has more good moments than any documentary in recent memory. And it is important to see. An effective delivery of information that people need to know. Occassional dull points in a film that-- given the topic-- one would expect to be filled with a constant stream of dull points. The most depressing feature of the movie is that it compels you to wonder if the current president could This has more good moments than any documentary in recent memory. And it is important to see. An effective delivery of information that people need to know. Occassional dull points in a film that-- given the topic-- one would expect to be filled with a constant stream of dull points. The most depressing feature of the movie is that it compels you to wonder if the current president could discuss any topic with the bredth of knowledge Gore has about the status and future of the environment. Expand
  21. J.T.
    Jul 22, 2006
    10
    This is the best documentary that I have ever seen. This is a must see.
  22. SuzanneD.
    Jul 15, 2006
    10
    It's time we wake up, before it's too late. This film is a good starting point for the average Americans... if we can get them to sit and watch one without sex or violence.
  23. DavidH.
    Jul 9, 2006
    10
    I plan to call ten friends and urge them to see this film..i am returning to see it , with my kids.
  24. MargiJ.
    Jul 9, 2006
    10
    This movie is imperative; the word must get out. Thank you, Al Gore.
  25. WillyM.
    Jul 8, 2006
    10
    Devastating and riveting. If only that Gore guy was president or something!
  26. JoanG.
    Jul 4, 2006
    9
    I found every minute riveting, and was teary-eyed by the end. DVDs of this movie should be handed out on street corners.
  27. [Anonymous]
    Jul 3, 2006
    9
    An absolute must see, not only as a film, but as a wake up call for everyone on this planet!
  28. HarrietteD.
    Jun 30, 2006
    10
    essential to see and understand this movie- then vote to make Congress act upon the inconvenient truths it portrays.
  29. AnthonyM.
    Jun 30, 2006
    9
    Probably a "5" as a piece of cinematic art. But a "10+" for its ability to bring a critical issue to mass audiences. Absolutely a must-see.
  30. PonR.
    Jun 28, 2006
    9
    As Gore says, it's a moral issue rather than a political one. I personally don't give much consideration to the issue of global warming because I believe I'll be long dead by the time climate changes reach full effect. I don't plan on having children either. But for those who do plan to have children, and grandchildren, I'd like to think they'd give a second As Gore says, it's a moral issue rather than a political one. I personally don't give much consideration to the issue of global warming because I believe I'll be long dead by the time climate changes reach full effect. I don't plan on having children either. But for those who do plan to have children, and grandchildren, I'd like to think they'd give a second thought as to what kind of world we're leaving for future generations. Expand
  31. LindaH.
    Jun 26, 2006
    10
    I like the film and I think it has an important message for the public, and I don't think it's information you can get elsewhere without encounter the politicians/popular media throwning bogus claims at you. I'm outraged that politicians/popular media have been introducing doubts into such an important issue as global warming. We have a critic right here in this web site I like the film and I think it has an important message for the public, and I don't think it's information you can get elsewhere without encounter the politicians/popular media throwning bogus claims at you. I'm outraged that politicians/popular media have been introducing doubts into such an important issue as global warming. We have a critic right here in this web site ranted and raved about the movie because he doesn't like Al Gore. Does he think all the information Gore presented in the film was made up just to advance Gore's political career? What planet do these critics think they'll live in when our atmosphere/natural environment is damaged beyond repair? Shouldn't we heed the warning and be just a little more mindful about our energy use, and make some changes to our current behaviors? Is that really too much to ask? Expand
  32. ClaytonS.
    Jun 19, 2006
    9
    Excellent and frightening explanation of the strange weather we are experiencing on earth. A must see for all of us!
  33. RobB.
    Jun 18, 2006
    10
    Al Gore should be applauded. After the devastating election of 2000 he could have very easily slipped into bitterness or become a figure of pity. Instead he has reloaded and committed even more to a mission he has been on for several decades. Not being a blind follower or extreme environmentalist, I went in with a couple of questions. Both were answered convincingly. I actually wish it Al Gore should be applauded. After the devastating election of 2000 he could have very easily slipped into bitterness or become a figure of pity. Instead he has reloaded and committed even more to a mission he has been on for several decades. Not being a blind follower or extreme environmentalist, I went in with a couple of questions. Both were answered convincingly. I actually wish it weren't so because this doesn't bode well for our planet. Gore comes off not as an overly righteous liberal but a person of sincerity. He even admits his own family's complicity in a shameful chapter of American history (the Gore's were tobacco farmers). But his family ultimately righted their way out of the wrongheaded industry. And that's his message here -- we can correct our course. If you have a heart, and a brain, the message of this documentary should have an impact. If not, stick your head in the sand a little deeper. You may still be able to breathe if you don't drown first. Expand
  34. JustinS.
    Jun 15, 2006
    9
    Great movie that everyone [b]needs[/b] to see. Hopefiully this will wake people up to the need to do something about global warming. Would be a educational tool. There seemed to be a little too much digression into Al Gore's life, though and too much of the stuff seemed not to be cited properly or the source information was too hard to see.
  35. MichelleC.
    Jun 10, 2006
    9
    I believe viewing this movie should be a requirement for everyone. The story told and consequences presented for the years of mistreatment of our planet is absolutely frightening. While I very much support this documentary it must be said that it is flawed. The material is dry and thus the movie feels too lenghty. Also, this documentary fills lots of time on the facts of Al Gores life I believe viewing this movie should be a requirement for everyone. The story told and consequences presented for the years of mistreatment of our planet is absolutely frightening. While I very much support this documentary it must be said that it is flawed. The material is dry and thus the movie feels too lenghty. Also, this documentary fills lots of time on the facts of Al Gores life which ultimately have little to no need to our understanding global warming. Still, it is a must see for all. Expand
  36. TedM.
    Jun 9, 2006
    10
    One of the few rare movies that actually inspires you to reevaluate the way you live your life.
  37. DaveN.
    Jun 4, 2006
    10
    After reading some of the reviews for this film, you get the notion that Al Gore will be boring, that it's a political pedestal, and that he uses his sister & son to that end. Oh, and that there'll be some stuff about global warming. I was surprised at what an excellent speaker and presenter Al Gore is. To me, it didn't come across as a political vehicle, and realistically, After reading some of the reviews for this film, you get the notion that Al Gore will be boring, that it's a political pedestal, and that he uses his sister & son to that end. Oh, and that there'll be some stuff about global warming. I was surprised at what an excellent speaker and presenter Al Gore is. To me, it didn't come across as a political vehicle, and realistically, if anyone (Al Gore included) thinks that he could become president (again?) after the oil & gas industry is discussed in this light, they'd be fooling themselves. The narratives involving his son and sister are excellent at portraying that we need a shock to the system to shake us out of routine and see the big picture. Everybody seems to like to play devil's advocate and have a contradictory opinion when it comes to this stuff, but EVEN if for some reason you still think that our global warming situation is cyclical, why is it not a good thing to clean up our act? This is the film you see and wish everybody would see it. It's not a downer, it's optimistic. It's not a political message, but a moral one. Go see it. You won't be disappointed. It's good for you. Congratulations Al, you've presented a film I didn't mind paying a movie theater fortune to see, and you got me thinking. Thanks. Expand
  38. LeeF.
    Jun 4, 2006
    10
    Just go see it -- it's worth every minute. And I promise you won't be bored unless you're braindead.
  39. TimT.
    Jun 4, 2006
    9
    Excellent, important film.
  40. sluze
    Jun 4, 2006
    10
    Dear Mr. Phil Hall, I think you are missing the point here; it
  41. SteveK.
    Jun 3, 2006
    10
    To Kyle Smith of the New York Post: I just read your review of "An Inconvenient Truth." It bothered me because you seemed so consumed with damning the politics of the messenger that you missed the message almost completely. We are living in dangerous climatic times. The American public does not have global warming and its potential for catastrophe on its "Things We Think are Important" To Kyle Smith of the New York Post: I just read your review of "An Inconvenient Truth." It bothered me because you seemed so consumed with damning the politics of the messenger that you missed the message almost completely. We are living in dangerous climatic times. The American public does not have global warming and its potential for catastrophe on its "Things We Think are Important" list. Raising public awareness is paramount before action can occur (I remind you that almost no American thought much about the Middle East and Islam on 9/10; after 9/11, it was easy to rally troops and find support for action because Americans deemed the situation urgent). Gore is putting this issue square in front of Americans. He builds a compelling case for acting now because the evidence is very strong that something horrendous is in the works. The data of hundreds if not thousands of studies supports trends in climate change in support of global warming. People at odds with global warming still want to argue these data in the same way creationists want to dismiss all scientific evidence as a grand anti-Christian conspiracy against God. Science looks to build models based on the collection of good real-word data. If you only get two data points, you can still draw a line between it and call it a trend. This, however, is speculation. not science. If you have thousands of data points that form a line, this is a robust scientific model. Robust models should be able to withstand scrutiny from the scientific community. When non-scientist with political agendas cast doubt for personal or political reasons, we must be sure to scrutinize the objectors as much as the objection itself. You may want to dismiss the model because it goes against your belief system or might require you to change your way of living, but that won't change the model. The world seems to get scarier by the day. Reasonable voices must be heard above the noise of polemicists on both sides. I've heard religious conservatives tell liberals they will soon burn in hell for their beliefs. I am worried that we all may be burning right here on Earth if we all don't cooperate and act. Expand
  42. NealA.
    Jun 3, 2006
    9
    Incredibly, Al Gore is breathtakingly interesting as he tells the potentially greatest horror story since the dark ages, the ice age and the Holocost all put together.
  43. tilbrook
    Jun 2, 2006
    9
    Phil Hall and Kyle Smith have some obvious issues. Taking sides on this for political reasons is assanine and obviously what is at work here. This movie is no Chicken Little, and yes Phil & Kyle, your 10mpg SUV's do have consequences we all suffer from.
  44. NathanM.
    May 28, 2006
    10
    A must-see movie. Whoever disregards this movie as political speech is far more guilty of politicizing than Al Gore. Yeah, Al Gore ain't the most charismatic man on the planet, but this movie deals in facts, and is shockingly relevent to all of us.
  45. JonathanGoldstein
    May 25, 2006
    10
    This film is essential viewing. Anyone who politicizes this issue, or prejudges, is doing themselves and their descendants a grave disservice. Just watch with an open mind. The case made is as astounding as it is horrifying.
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 32
  2. Negative: 2 out of 32
  1. Reviewed by: Phil Hall
    0
    An Inconvenient Truth is something you rarely see in movies today: a blatant intellectual fraud. Shame on all of the people involved in this travesty.
  2. The documentary is an act of political activism. Guggenheim and his politically conscious producers, Laurie David, Lawrence Bender and Scott Z. Burns, have no interest in either challenging Gore's viewpoint or giving opposing opinions equal time. The film is simply a conduit for Gore's message.
  3. Reviewed by: Dennis Harvey
    60
    A straightforward record of the lecture Gore has toured for years, juiced by elaborate graphics. An excellent educational tool, picture may prove an awkward fit for theatrical distribution.