User Score
7.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 54 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 54
  2. Negative: 11 out of 54
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. BabarS.
    Sep 7, 2005
    10
    One of the best pictures of the year with few of the best performances ever. Yes, including the arguably talented "J.Lo." Jennifer Lopez acts her butt off (and its a big one so u can imagine how good she was).
  2. OwenC.
    Jul 23, 2006
    10
    the best movie i've ever seen. i can't believe critics are so against this movie. this movie is AWESOME if u can see it at all costs.
  3. JudyT.
    Sep 10, 2005
    6
    Okay story with a great cast.
  4. neilc.
    Sep 9, 2005
    10
    My aunt and uncle wrote this movie so like totally im voting for them. + it was a good movie and jennifer lopez is hot.
  5. Justin
    Nov 29, 2005
    10
    Great movie. I agree this should see some oscar nominations. Especially Redford. I also like the girl's performance. The press has not caught on that the split with Miramax has sabotaged this great movie. It will not win awards if the studio won't let anyone see it.
  6. OnixC.
    Sep 5, 2005
    10
    Great performances, mostly from Jennifer Lopez. Great movie.
  7. jims.
    Sep 5, 2005
    9
    The film i saw was great. i usually agree with your critics to some extent but i believe in this case they really enjoyed to film but afraid to admit it!
  8. HarrietB.
    Sep 6, 2005
    9
    I loved this movie! Just sit back, relax, and enjoy the interplay between two of our best actors. Watch Becca Gardner come into her own as the young girl who demonstrates both an innocence and wisdom that forces the adults around her to confront who they are. And marvel at Jennifer Lopez in what might be the best role of her career. She's convincing. It's a good, heartwarming I loved this movie! Just sit back, relax, and enjoy the interplay between two of our best actors. Watch Becca Gardner come into her own as the young girl who demonstrates both an innocence and wisdom that forces the adults around her to confront who they are. And marvel at Jennifer Lopez in what might be the best role of her career. She's convincing. It's a good, heartwarming story that also makes you think. Expand
  9. AlaskaGirl
    Sep 6, 2005
    10
    This movie was SOO inspiring and heart warming. I loved it. Redford gave one of his BEST performances, IMO, EVER! Freeman is of course the friend that we look for for guidence (which means he gives his usual GREAT performace). Jennifer Lopez, OH MY! I had NO IDEA that she could act! She DEFINETLY pulls off the best performance EVER (yes folks, even better THEN SELENA). I smell OSCARS!! This movie was SOO inspiring and heart warming. I loved it. Redford gave one of his BEST performances, IMO, EVER! Freeman is of course the friend that we look for for guidence (which means he gives his usual GREAT performace). Jennifer Lopez, OH MY! I had NO IDEA that she could act! She DEFINETLY pulls off the best performance EVER (yes folks, even better THEN SELENA). I smell OSCARS!! Becca garner is so cute and down to earth, heck, she even holds her own against Robert Reford and FReeman!! I must admit, i was BEYOND surprised with this film. I recomend it to everyone (it has some dirty language, so everyone includes kids 13 and up). Expand
  10. RobertC
    Oct 17, 2006
    7
    I'm 75, a Norwegian and a sucker for films of this type. Sure it's formula and pulls all the strings. Even the bear decides these people are neighborly. Refreshing to see good smelling manure that I can enjoy without guilt.
  11. FrankO.
    May 1, 2006
    7
    Best part of this movie was the interaction between Grandpa and his granddaughter. Redfor was good as a crotchedy old man; Freeman is his usual superb sidekick role. Lopez is okay but why would she sleep with a man after getting out of an abusive relationship, doesn't make sense to me.
  12. MarcD.
    May 21, 2006
    10
    The best movie of 2005. I'm completely shocked by the lukewarm reviews. Are we so jaded that a well executed family drama can no longer be admired, regardless of its simplicity? Jennifer Lopez was nothing but perfect in the movie and if she were not famous, no critic would have targeted her, otherwise. A perfectly made human drama.
  13. AmurabiM.
    Jun 19, 2006
    5
    Lasse Hallstrom tends to direct corny movies with the idea of the union of the great american family despite troubles and difficulties. This is not an exception. This is so predictable (watching the trailer is better), boring (you can do everything you want as you watch it) and solemn (western parody or homage?) that will probably you falls in a state of inertia after seen this. An Lasse Hallstrom tends to direct corny movies with the idea of the union of the great american family despite troubles and difficulties. This is not an exception. This is so predictable (watching the trailer is better), boring (you can do everything you want as you watch it) and solemn (western parody or homage?) that will probably you falls in a state of inertia after seen this. An Unfinished Life has trouble for casting to the weak Lopes in this juicy role. She has troubles dealing with Redford and Freeman and even with newcomer Becca Gardner. Its better attributes looks great in jeans but no more than that. Redford (assuming, at least, that he´s an old man) and Freeman (great but in an stereotipical role for this actor) are the best part of the film. Its interaction looks familiar and believable. Great cinematography, and a decent score (everything looks suspiciously like a copy from that ang lee movie), An Unfinished Life is just an exercise of industrial cinema: the kind of weepie movies with a "message" within. Crap! The most entertaining and dramatic part was a shot in Freeman´s butt using a syringe, it´s that suspenseful? dramatic? I don´t think so. It feels that cheap symbolism is just an idea of being "profound" and "clever" but with this, that looks corny and pretentious. Expand
  14. M.Wheatley
    May 7, 2006
    8
    Redford, Freeman, Bart the Bear 2, new young actress Becca Gardner and a one of Jennifer's best roles since "Out of Sight" make this one of my recent faves. I find it facinating that all that I recommend it to at the video store where II work come back very satified and the critical response is very lukewarm. I wonder why the IMDB vote is over 7 and this site's almost 7 and yet Redford, Freeman, Bart the Bear 2, new young actress Becca Gardner and a one of Jennifer's best roles since "Out of Sight" make this one of my recent faves. I find it facinating that all that I recommend it to at the video store where II work come back very satified and the critical response is very lukewarm. I wonder why the IMDB vote is over 7 and this site's almost 7 and yet only mixed or average critical response. Believe the people, not the critics. This is a very well made, heartfelt story with interesting characters. Expand
  15. evelins.
    Dec 24, 2005
    10
    Very good movie. I love it! Jennifer Lopez is soo good and Robert Redford, Morgan Freeman are also very good. You must watch it!
  16. TonyL.
    Sep 11, 2005
    7
    An okay story, but I would watch Freeman and Redford in anything. J-Lo and the young girl were also pretty good.
  17. ChristinA.
    Sep 12, 2005
    1
    So boring and tiresome I left the theatre one hour into the movie. Cliche driven and sloppy. TERRIBLE movie - avoid at all costs.
  18. TonyB.
    Sep 12, 2005
    8
    It's the best film I've seen so far this year. I don't remember ever liking Robert Redford as much as I did in this, and I've seen virtually all of his films. As usual, Morgan Freeman turns in an outstanding job, and the hell with those who insist on saying that virtually all of his roles are the same. The Jennifer Lopez bashers will have to admit that given the right It's the best film I've seen so far this year. I don't remember ever liking Robert Redford as much as I did in this, and I've seen virtually all of his films. As usual, Morgan Freeman turns in an outstanding job, and the hell with those who insist on saying that virtually all of his roles are the same. The Jennifer Lopez bashers will have to admit that given the right director and the right co-stars, she can deliver a highly credible performance, which is what she does here. Newcomer Becca Gardner is a find, and, handled well, she has a career ahead of her. The supporting cast is excellent right down the line. What a pleasure to see an adult film that I'm not ashamed to be caught watching! Expand
  19. OJayM.
    Sep 13, 2005
    10
    The BEST Family Drama of the Year!! Every inch of this film should be nominated for the Oscars (at least nominated!!). Best Picture and Best Director; Best Actor: Robert Redford; Best Actress: Jennifer Lopez; Supporting Actor: Morgan Freeman (though he did win last year); and Supporting Actress: Becca Gardner (she is still young and new but that "Whale Rider" girl got nominated for Best The BEST Family Drama of the Year!! Every inch of this film should be nominated for the Oscars (at least nominated!!). Best Picture and Best Director; Best Actor: Robert Redford; Best Actress: Jennifer Lopez; Supporting Actor: Morgan Freeman (though he did win last year); and Supporting Actress: Becca Gardner (she is still young and new but that "Whale Rider" girl got nominated for Best Actress!!). Now before anyone says I'm overdoing it - I'm not. I just knwo a good movie when I see it. Hey, even Ebert and Roeper give it two thumbs up!! Expand
  20. Mar 31, 2013
    3
    Why oh why did I watch it? I should have known: a Lasse Hallström film... This film is about learning to forgive people for their past sins and to forgive yourself for your own mistakes yada yada yada...watch the trailer or better yet, read the synopsis. It'll save you 108 mins of your life. The layer of emo-goo is laying on so thick that the slow moving plot almost gets stuck in it. IfWhy oh why did I watch it? I should have known: a Lasse Hallström film... This film is about learning to forgive people for their past sins and to forgive yourself for your own mistakes yada yada yada...watch the trailer or better yet, read the synopsis. It'll save you 108 mins of your life. The layer of emo-goo is laying on so thick that the slow moving plot almost gets stuck in it. If you've seen more than 50 movies in your life you've probably at least seen one of these. Unless you like seeing the same crap
    regurgitated over and over again I'd suggest you spend your time watching something you haven't seen before
    Expand
Metascore
49

Mixed or average reviews - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 32
  2. Negative: 4 out of 32
  1. Reviewed by: Ryan Devlin
    75
    You can't help but see this movie being crafted out of shards of movies past, seemingly in a cut and paste method. In the hands of a less skillful director, the film could very easily flop, but it doesn't.
  2. The film never realizes its dramatic potential, choosing to take predictable story paths with obvious characters.
  3. Reviewed by: Leslie Felperin
    60
    A film is in trouble when, despite the presence of an A-list cast and a well-regarded director, the best thing in it is a partly digitized bear.