Miramax Films | Release Date: September 9, 2005
7.2
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 59 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
45
Mixed:
3
Negative:
11
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characteres (5000 max)
10
BabarS.Sep 7, 2005
One of the best pictures of the year with few of the best performances ever. Yes, including the arguably talented "J.Lo." Jennifer Lopez acts her butt off (and its a big one so u can imagine how good she was).
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
OwenC.Jul 23, 2006
the best movie i've ever seen. i can't believe critics are so against this movie. this movie is AWESOME if u can see it at all costs.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
neilc.Sep 9, 2005
My aunt and uncle wrote this movie so like totally im voting for them. + it was a good movie and jennifer lopez is hot.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JustinNov 29, 2005
Great movie. I agree this should see some oscar nominations. Especially Redford. I also like the girl's performance. The press has not caught on that the split with Miramax has sabotaged this great movie. It will not win awards if the Great movie. I agree this should see some oscar nominations. Especially Redford. I also like the girl's performance. The press has not caught on that the split with Miramax has sabotaged this great movie. It will not win awards if the studio won't let anyone see it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
OnixC.Sep 5, 2005
Great performances, mostly from Jennifer Lopez. Great movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
jims.Sep 5, 2005
The film i saw was great. i usually agree with your critics to some extent but i believe in this case they really enjoyed to film but afraid to admit it!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
HarrietB.Sep 6, 2005
I loved this movie! Just sit back, relax, and enjoy the interplay between two of our best actors. Watch Becca Gardner come into her own as the young girl who demonstrates both an innocence and wisdom that forces the adults around her to I loved this movie! Just sit back, relax, and enjoy the interplay between two of our best actors. Watch Becca Gardner come into her own as the young girl who demonstrates both an innocence and wisdom that forces the adults around her to confront who they are. And marvel at Jennifer Lopez in what might be the best role of her career. She's convincing. It's a good, heartwarming story that also makes you think. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AlaskaGirlSep 6, 2005
This movie was SOO inspiring and heart warming. I loved it. Redford gave one of his BEST performances, IMO, EVER! Freeman is of course the friend that we look for for guidence (which means he gives his usual GREAT performace). Jennifer This movie was SOO inspiring and heart warming. I loved it. Redford gave one of his BEST performances, IMO, EVER! Freeman is of course the friend that we look for for guidence (which means he gives his usual GREAT performace). Jennifer Lopez, OH MY! I had NO IDEA that she could act! She DEFINETLY pulls off the best performance EVER (yes folks, even better THEN SELENA). I smell OSCARS!! Becca garner is so cute and down to earth, heck, she even holds her own against Robert Reford and FReeman!! I must admit, i was BEYOND surprised with this film. I recomend it to everyone (it has some dirty language, so everyone includes kids 13 and up). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
RobertCOct 17, 2006
I'm 75, a Norwegian and a sucker for films of this type. Sure it's formula and pulls all the strings. Even the bear decides these people are neighborly. Refreshing to see good smelling manure that I can enjoy without guilt.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
FrankO.May 1, 2006
Best part of this movie was the interaction between Grandpa and his granddaughter. Redfor was good as a crotchedy old man; Freeman is his usual superb sidekick role. Lopez is okay but why would she sleep with a man after getting out of an Best part of this movie was the interaction between Grandpa and his granddaughter. Redfor was good as a crotchedy old man; Freeman is his usual superb sidekick role. Lopez is okay but why would she sleep with a man after getting out of an abusive relationship, doesn't make sense to me. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MarcD.May 21, 2006
The best movie of 2005. I'm completely shocked by the lukewarm reviews. Are we so jaded that a well executed family drama can no longer be admired, regardless of its simplicity? Jennifer Lopez was nothing but perfect in the movie and if The best movie of 2005. I'm completely shocked by the lukewarm reviews. Are we so jaded that a well executed family drama can no longer be admired, regardless of its simplicity? Jennifer Lopez was nothing but perfect in the movie and if she were not famous, no critic would have targeted her, otherwise. A perfectly made human drama. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
M.WheatleyMay 7, 2006
Redford, Freeman, Bart the Bear 2, new young actress Becca Gardner and a one of Jennifer's best roles since "Out of Sight" make this one of my recent faves. I find it facinating that all that I recommend it to at the video store where Redford, Freeman, Bart the Bear 2, new young actress Becca Gardner and a one of Jennifer's best roles since "Out of Sight" make this one of my recent faves. I find it facinating that all that I recommend it to at the video store where II work come back very satified and the critical response is very lukewarm. I wonder why the IMDB vote is over 7 and this site's almost 7 and yet only mixed or average critical response. Believe the people, not the critics. This is a very well made, heartfelt story with interesting characters. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
evelins.Dec 24, 2005
Very good movie. I love it! Jennifer Lopez is soo good and Robert Redford, Morgan Freeman are also very good. You must watch it!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
TonyL.Sep 11, 2005
An okay story, but I would watch Freeman and Redford in anything. J-Lo and the young girl were also pretty good.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
TonyB.Sep 12, 2005
It's the best film I've seen so far this year. I don't remember ever liking Robert Redford as much as I did in this, and I've seen virtually all of his films. As usual, Morgan Freeman turns in an outstanding job, and the It's the best film I've seen so far this year. I don't remember ever liking Robert Redford as much as I did in this, and I've seen virtually all of his films. As usual, Morgan Freeman turns in an outstanding job, and the hell with those who insist on saying that virtually all of his roles are the same. The Jennifer Lopez bashers will have to admit that given the right director and the right co-stars, she can deliver a highly credible performance, which is what she does here. Newcomer Becca Gardner is a find, and, handled well, she has a career ahead of her. The supporting cast is excellent right down the line. What a pleasure to see an adult film that I'm not ashamed to be caught watching! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
OJayM.Sep 13, 2005
The BEST Family Drama of the Year!! Every inch of this film should be nominated for the Oscars (at least nominated!!). Best Picture and Best Director; Best Actor: Robert Redford; Best Actress: Jennifer Lopez; Supporting Actor: Morgan Freeman The BEST Family Drama of the Year!! Every inch of this film should be nominated for the Oscars (at least nominated!!). Best Picture and Best Director; Best Actor: Robert Redford; Best Actress: Jennifer Lopez; Supporting Actor: Morgan Freeman (though he did win last year); and Supporting Actress: Becca Gardner (she is still young and new but that "Whale Rider" girl got nominated for Best Actress!!). Now before anyone says I'm overdoing it - I'm not. I just knwo a good movie when I see it. Hey, even Ebert and Roeper give it two thumbs up!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DantonApr 3, 2016
This 2005 movie was a heartwarming well rounded family drama. Redford, Freeman and Lopez play their roles exceptionally well and in hindsight some of these were worthy of awards season buzz. It was a particularly welcome performance fromThis 2005 movie was a heartwarming well rounded family drama. Redford, Freeman and Lopez play their roles exceptionally well and in hindsight some of these were worthy of awards season buzz. It was a particularly welcome performance from Jennifer Lopez, who proved to the haters and critics that she is a very talented actress. You need to be a story lover to like this film, it doesn't present any of the action of a modern box office smash, but it is certainly an outstanding dramatic story. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews