User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 63 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 48 out of 63
  2. Negative: 2 out of 63
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 4, 2014
    6
    Anastasia is Twentieth Century Fox's response to many of Disney's historically inaccurate, though intellectual animated musicals in the past twenty years.
  2. Aug 10, 2014
    6
    "Anastasia" is commendable for a solid plot, great voice acting and an evocative orchestral score, but is somewhat pale compared to some exceptional pictures of its time, such as the equally dark "The Hunchback of Notre Dame". Note that the the title character of the film is fictional and the film does not attempt a historical approach to the real Anastasia's story. An deserving"Anastasia" is commendable for a solid plot, great voice acting and an evocative orchestral score, but is somewhat pale compared to some exceptional pictures of its time, such as the equally dark "The Hunchback of Notre Dame". Note that the the title character of the film is fictional and the film does not attempt a historical approach to the real Anastasia's story. An deserving achievement opposite the Disney giant, though. Expand
  3. Apr 19, 2013
    8
    Films inspired off of factual history are always difficult to produce but this here is a perfect example. Steady story, catchy tunes, good subtle morals, and with no interaction with Disney animation studios. It is a shame this did not get as much recognition as it deserves.
  4. Mar 27, 2013
    9
    One of my favorite non-Disney/Pixar animated movies. Superb animation. Great voice acting. Catchy and memorable music. While it does take some HUGE liberties with history, it is just a story after all. What really got my attention was that this was really the first GOOD non-Disney movie of its time. This level of production for hand drawn animation was almost unheard of and really shookOne of my favorite non-Disney/Pixar animated movies. Superb animation. Great voice acting. Catchy and memorable music. While it does take some HUGE liberties with history, it is just a story after all. What really got my attention was that this was really the first GOOD non-Disney movie of its time. This level of production for hand drawn animation was almost unheard of and really shook the chains of quality superiority that Disney once held. Overall: A charming and fun animated movie that won't be for everyone, but it has a place in my heart. Collapse
  5. Nov 24, 2012
    10
    This is one of the greatest non-Disney animated movies there is! Anastasia is one of those rare non-Disney heroines who is thoroughly modern and enchanting. She's not the only thing I love about the movie, the musical numbers, the animation, the characters, everything! My only gripe, and it's a small quibble, is that Rasputin is a little bit leaning towards Dick Dastardly than aThis is one of the greatest non-Disney animated movies there is! Anastasia is one of those rare non-Disney heroines who is thoroughly modern and enchanting. She's not the only thing I love about the movie, the musical numbers, the animation, the characters, everything! My only gripe, and it's a small quibble, is that Rasputin is a little bit leaning towards Dick Dastardly than a Disney-like villain. The two supporting characters, Dimitri and Marie, are the some of the most human I've seen in an animated movie. There's plenty of bad rap towards Bartok, but in my opinion he's likable and deserves more respect. Anya is the representative of the perfect non-Disney heroine as she can stand on her own ground with the Mouse House's beauties like Ariel and Belle. I definitely love this move as I watched it respectively on video and TV and recommend this to every animation fan and fan of Don Bluth. Spectacular! Expand
  6. Feb 8, 2012
    10
    Marvelous! Easily the movie! I am from Russia and I know a lot abour Anasrasia.... May be it si not true , but I think It is the greatest animation movie has ever been !
  7. Jun 29, 2011
    10
    It looks like a Disney knockoff, but not very similiar to Disney. It has great animation, solid voice acting, and very catchy songs. Don Bluth did a very good job at making this non-disney masterpiece.
  8. UncannyGarlic
    Feb 2, 2009
    8
    Anastasia is an excellent film with a great story and probably the most general audience appeal of traditionally animated film outside of Disney. The underlying themes of the plot are very familiar to Disney fans, being a self discovery journey of a spunky princess, but it's well executed and has good interactions between characters. The voice acting is surprisingly good for most Anastasia is an excellent film with a great story and probably the most general audience appeal of traditionally animated film outside of Disney. The underlying themes of the plot are very familiar to Disney fans, being a self discovery journey of a spunky princess, but it's well executed and has good interactions between characters. The voice acting is surprisingly good for most characters, with most actors getting into character very well and voicing their character in a manner which makes them unrecognizable. Hank Azaria does an amazing job with the comic bat, giving the character the perfect voice and delivery, probably being the unexpected standout. Christopher Loyd surprised me by doing a good job changing his voice to be that of Rasputin, with his signature yelling being the only thing giving him away, though it's not disrupting. Meg Ryan, on the other hand, plays Anastasia in the classic Meg Ryan way, making no changes in how she speaks for the character. This makes her performance a bit disrupting, though fans of Meg Ryan will likely disagree, but all of the animation fits the voices, including Ryan's, perfectly. Animation in the film is crisp, fluid, and beautiful with wonderfully illustrated backgrounds. The one flaw of the film is it's use of computer generated (CG) images which, like in most traditionally animated films, stick out. It's not to say that the CG doesn't look good but merely that it doesn't seamlessly mesh with the traditional animation. The movement in the film feels wonderfully natural, with more quirky minor movements made by characters than seems to be in most films. It's musicals are generally good, with a few greats and some misses. "Once Upon a December" really stands out as the height of the movies musical scenes and scores while "A Rumor in St. Petersburg", the first musical scene in the film, was mediocre. The "In the Dark of the Night" scene causes me to laugh every time I watch the film because of how out of place the music seems, despite how the good music was. All in all, this is arguably Don Bluth's best animated film with "The Secret of NIMH" being the competition. The film brushes or even matches the lower edge of the Disney renaissance, being more enjoyable than "The Little Mermaid" for me, despite having more technical problems. If you're looking for a fun and enjoyable animated film for the whole family, I'd fully recommend this film. Expand
  9. AmmeT
    Jan 31, 2008
    10
    Fantastic film. Breath taking for any ages. The music is catchy with brilliant lyrics. It has character and is interesting.
  10. ChristinaH.
    May 27, 2007
    10
    This has to be the best Disney movie I've seen, with a good plot, great characters, and catchy songs, who can't love it?
  11. SallyR.
    Sep 16, 2006
    10
    It is brilliant. Not at all scarring for kids, in your face Thomas D.
  12. ThomasD.
    Apr 15, 2006
    8
    It's scarry for kids. The bad guy head comes off. He falls a part. What's that all abot?
  13. Dawn
    Oct 21, 2005
    10
    The music takes me to magical mind trips, it creates dreams,and makes me appreciate the moment.
  14. lovesit
    Jul 31, 2005
    10
    I loved the movie it was funny how anastasia and dimitri always argued and i loved bartok the music was great.
  15. loverboy
    Dec 22, 2004
    10
    So Romantic. I want to kiss Ansatasia.
  16. MikeF.
    Sep 21, 2004
    10
    The best film ever and no im in a musical version seems like a dream come true.
  17. MegG.
    Sep 11, 2004
    9
    I Love it! I love the story, the history behind it and the music!
  18. JessicaS.
    May 25, 2004
    10
    Marvelous! Easily the best non-disney movie!
  19. JennS.
    May 25, 2004
    10
    A great movie!! Great music!!
  20. LanaT.
    May 21, 2004
    10
    Fantastic, dahling!!!
Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 18
  2. Negative: 2 out of 18
  1. Lacks the spark of the best recent Disney spectaculars, like "Beauty and the Beast."
  2. Reviewed by: Ken Fox
    50
    Decent songs, an amusing script and some surprisingly imaginative animation.
  3. 75
    Flawed but not fatally, this ambitious epic's strength lies not just with its haunting melodies, pretty pictures, star voices and kid-friendly sidekicks - the usual shtick that makes Disney tick. [14 Nov 1997, p.D6]