User Score
6.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 313 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 68 out of 313

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 21, 2013
    10
    My only gripe with this film is that no comedy I'll ever see will live up to this fantastic standard.
    Every joke was laugh out loud funny. Nothing fell flat, and the theater seemed like a happy family laughing together. I've never experienced a movie this gut-wrenchingly funny.
    The plot is as hilarious as it is clever. The entire satire on how news works was great albeit predictable.

    The characters are what you'd expect with some stellar additions.
    The user score makes me question what film these other people saw because not one person I saw it with was anything below blown away...
    Expand
  2. Dec 18, 2013
    9
    Anchorman 2 is an achingly funny, overlong comedy that takes the anarchic flavour of the first film and amplifies it. While it would have been nice to have seen a little more attention paid to the rest of the central cast, Ferrell does a fine job carrying most of the film’s considerable weight on his manly shoulders. Let’s hope we don’t have to wait another nine years for the next one.
  3. Dec 19, 2013
    9
    As a massive fan of the original film, I approached this film with some anxiety. I was skeptical that this film could possibly live up to its predecessor. Thankfully, I was wrong, and Anchorman 2 is very good indeed, it's funny, charming and memorable.

    The storyline doesn't feel like a rehash, and the new 80's setting opens up a world of jokes for Ferrell and the gang to explore.
    Whether it's Ron's Ridiculous ego or Brick's crazed antics, the laughs keep coming.

    In many ways, Brick steals the show, he probably has the best lines in the movie, and this could be seen as an issue because a lot of people would expect Ron to be a central character. What's particularly noticeable is how Brick is a lot more funny than Champ and Brian in this one, rather than the comedy being more balanced. Don't get me wrong, they still have good moments but they needed a bit more.

    But is it better than the original? Equal, I would say. This is an achievement considering it's a sequel (and not only that, a comedy sequel) and they should be proud of what they have achieved.

    Loved the cameos too, but I won't spoil those!
    Expand
  4. Jan 6, 2014
    10
    Anchorman 2 not only reaches the pedestal of Anchorman, but destroys it. It will get more quotable as the years go by. Anchorman 2 is a hilarious film and with a surprisingly great plot. The most anticipated comedy sequel ever meets expectations...and then some.
  5. Apr 19, 2014
    9
    Will Ferrell and the gang are back in a sequel that I found to be even funnier than the first. With it's politically incorrect humor and constant stream of hilarious moments, you're sure to find plenty of laughs throughout. So if you're a fan of the first this is a must, as I think it manages to be even funnier. Even if you haven't seen the first you should give this one a shot. It's a constant laugh-riot. Expand
  6. Apr 4, 2014
    9
    I really don't understand all the negative comments about this film. Simply put, if you found the first film funny you will find this funny. Many standout moments, good acting and characters. An interesting plot that moves quickly along. I admit it isn't quite as funny as the first film, for example the whole segment at the lighthouse seems odd and out of place, but there are plenty of classic one-liners here and Will Ferrell is on great form. Expand
  7. Dec 29, 2013
    10
    I rarely find myself actually laughing out loud but my god the slap stick humour of this had me doing it non stop. I absolutely wouldn't recommend this for everyone, but say if you enjoyed the first Anchorman or the Earlier Adam Sandler movies this will probably have you hooked from the get go. Just.... maybe check your brain in at the ticket desk when you go to see it and pick it up again on the way out, ye'll both enjoy it far more that way haha. Expand
  8. Dec 26, 2013
    10
    One of the funniest movies of the year if not the decade. The characters r such losers but we still root for them anyway. Ferrell is one of the funniest actors ever
  9. Dec 30, 2013
    10
    The News Crew is back and they are just as funny as the first time around! I was very excited for this one and the final product went above and beyond my expectations. Like the last one, the film is silly but with a biting wit and a unique intelligence to it and the gang once again brings their individual characters to life and play well off each other. It was not uncommon for me to laugh till I cried and couldn’t breathe during this film and it makes me desire a third adventure with Ron Burgundy, Brick Tamland, Brian Fantana and Champ Kind. Expand
  10. Hum
    Jan 8, 2014
    10
    Very funny movie! Also touching at times. The message about what the news has become is spot on. Steve Carell and Will Ferrell are outstanding! Can't wait for A III
  11. Dec 20, 2013
    10
    It's impossible to sit through this movie with a straight face. There are a couple gags that fall flat, but MANY gags that will cause you to burst out in laughter.
  12. Dec 23, 2013
    10
    As some people would walk out of any comedy and say that is the funniest movie they have ever seen. I am not one of those people and have never said that since the first Anchorman until yesterday when I saw Anchorman 2. Without exaggeration, I was laughing every minute and every joke soared. While the story is similar to the first, that does not bother me at all, in fact, I'm pleased that they did not risk this movie by using an entirely new plot. I don't have anything bad to say about the movie. While there was likely a few flaws, your constant laughter will distract you from them. This, people, is the funniest movie I have any seen that bested its predecessor, and it's pretty hard best the best. Expand
  13. Jan 1, 2014
    9
    Fans of the first Anchorman & other films by Adam McKay are surely in for a treat. I was a fan of the first one, but not overly enthused. However, Anchorman 2 takes everything from the first one and brings more. I would go as far to say it was a major improvement over the first one.
  14. Jan 27, 2014
    10
    A must-see movie. And, you don't need to know about the first movie to understand the second. Funniest movie yet hands down. .
  15. Mar 2, 2014
    10
    anchorman 2 is funny as hell . will ferell 's ron burgundy is back and has more laughs then the first anchorman well will ferell is funny in anchorman 1 and 2
  16. Mar 19, 2014
    9
    From my point of view, I paid to see Will Ferrell in character and that is what I got at the end. Comparing it with the first movie it feels flat from time to time(the first half and the second half were uneven) and derivative but this not necessarily bad. Unlike the first movie, the sequel has a more detailed plot-line. Side characters are not as funny as they were in the first movie but the second half of the movie was improving on what was great about the first movie. As a summary it has its ups and downs compared to the first movie which is one my favourites and it would be a complete movie if the side characters had more memorable parts. Expand
  17. Apr 4, 2014
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I Only saw the unrated version. this movie makes new funny adult jokes, sex jokes and a new news fight. this was funnier than the first one. this movie has an interesting cast. Expand
  18. Apr 20, 2014
    10
    This movie is perfect. It's a great story and is possibly the funniest film I've seen. The entire cast is great and I couldn't stop laughing the entire time.
  19. May 5, 2014
    10
    WilemDafoeJesus aprouve this movie ahgdiavgdfahsudhasvbdhagsdhagsdhasdhggasdhgashdagsdtaghdahsgdhaghasgd hell yeah **** steve carrel and ****brasileiros
  20. May 3, 2014
    9
    By choosing not to top the one-liners and instead try to expand on the story, Anchorman 2: The Legend Continues not only tops the first film, but it also defies the mold of the comedy sequel.
Metascore
61

Generally favorable reviews - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 40
  2. Negative: 2 out of 40
  1. Reviewed by: Andrew O'Hehir
    Dec 20, 2013
    50
    This is the kind of movie where most people know what they want and are pretty sure what they will get, that being “more of the same, please.”
  2. Reviewed by: Ty Burr
    Dec 19, 2013
    63
    While Anchorman 2: The Legend Continues is a disappointment — how could it not be? — it’s not for lack of trying. If anything, the movie tries too hard.
  3. Reviewed by: Richard Corliss
    Dec 19, 2013
    60
    Anchorman 2 is more like SNL in the sharper years (1995–2002), when McKay was a writer and Ferrell one of the Not Ready for Prime Time Players. Expect no more and you should be satisfied. Wine connoisseurs would call this a new Burgundy with an old bouquet.