Metascore
61

Generally favorable reviews - based on 40 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 370 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Watch On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 40
  2. Negative: 2 out of 40
  1. Reviewed by: Richard Roeper
    Dec 17, 2013
    88
    Ferrell and his longtime collaborator Adam McKay have a unique gift for creating characters that are human car wrecks yet somehow win our affection.
  2. Reviewed by: Peter Hartlaub
    Dec 17, 2013
    75
    Yet it's very funny, a disappointment only to those who expect to see something bold and new.
  3. Reviewed by: Peter Travers
    Dec 18, 2013
    75
    When is a movie fall-down funny even when some scenes fall flat on their fat ones? When it's Anchorman 2: The Legend Continues.
  4. Reviewed by: Ty Burr
    Dec 19, 2013
    63
    While Anchorman 2: The Legend Continues is a disappointment — how could it not be? — it’s not for lack of trying. If anything, the movie tries too hard.
  5. Reviewed by: Richard Corliss
    Dec 19, 2013
    60
    Anchorman 2 is more like SNL in the sharper years (1995–2002), when McKay was a writer and Ferrell one of the Not Ready for Prime Time Players. Expect no more and you should be satisfied. Wine connoisseurs would call this a new Burgundy with an old bouquet.
  6. Reviewed by: Tom Huddleston
    Dec 16, 2013
    60
    Anchorman 2: The Legend Continues is not the disaster some feared it might be, but neither is it the endlessly quotable, deliciously idiotic follow-on so many of us were optimistically anticipating.
  7. Reviewed by: Rene Rodriguez
    Dec 19, 2013
    25
    The lack of effort, right down to the unimaginative title, is dispiriting.

See all 40 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 56 out of 120
  2. Negative: 38 out of 120
  1. Dec 21, 2013
    10
    My only gripe with this film is that no comedy I'll ever see will live up to this fantastic standard.
    Every joke was laugh out loud funny.
    My only gripe with this film is that no comedy I'll ever see will live up to this fantastic standard.
    Every joke was laugh out loud funny. Nothing fell flat, and the theater seemed like a happy family laughing together. I've never experienced a movie this gut-wrenchingly funny.
    The plot is as hilarious as it is clever. The entire satire on how news works was great albeit predictable.
    The characters are what you'd expect with some stellar additions.
    The user score makes me question what film these other people saw because not one person I saw it with was anything below blown away...
    Collapse
  2. May 3, 2014
    9
    By choosing not to top the one-liners and instead try to expand on the story, Anchorman 2: The Legend Continues not only tops the first film,By choosing not to top the one-liners and instead try to expand on the story, Anchorman 2: The Legend Continues not only tops the first film, but it also defies the mold of the comedy sequel. Expand
  3. Apr 18, 2014
    8
    “Anchorman: The Legend Continues”, or “Anchorman 2″ as I like to call it, is a sequel to the classic comedy “Anchorman: The Legend of Ron“Anchorman: The Legend Continues”, or “Anchorman 2″ as I like to call it, is a sequel to the classic comedy “Anchorman: The Legend of Ron Burgundy”, or “Anchorman” as I like to call it.

    “Anchorman 2″ is about the familiar anchorman Ron Burgundy (Will Ferrell) who loses his job. To get back into the news business he reunites with his incompetent team from the last film, Champ (David Koechner), Brian (Paul Rudd) and Brick (Steve Carell) to do a 24 hour live maraton with news!

    The old cast from “Anchorman” is back for the second outing. I have not been a fan of Will Ferrell, but after seeing “Step Brothers” and this movie I must say that now I am! He is so in synch with the character of Ron Burgundy that you forget that you are watching Will Ferrell. Everyone else is great in this film but the actor who’s work I liked the most was Steve Carell! His character, Brick, was my favorite part about the previous movie and he had more to do in this one. His charming stupidity and the way he reacts to his fellow acting buddies is absolutely hilarious. We also see a bunch of cameos from well known actors, just like in the previous movie. These cameos are great because as an avid movie-geek I love to spot references to other films and stuff!

    Adam McKay, the director of Will Ferrell starred movies like “The Other Guys”, “Step Brothers” and the first Anchorman-movie, has directed “Anchorman 2″ and his direction is good. On a technical level, it isn’t anything fantastic but he does get good performances out of his actors, and that is in the end what a director should try to achieve.

    “Anchorman 2″ is a comedy so I’m obligated to mention, well, the comedy in the movie. “Anchorman 2″ is hilarious! The movie is the typical Will Ferrell movie and everything that goes along with that so it isn’t for everyone. If you like pop-cultural references, over the top randomness and a lot of irony you will find yourself loving this film. There are a lot of fantastic lines, just like in the original, but it isn’t really as quotable as the first one but 60% of the time the jokes work everytime.

    As a sequel “Anchorman 2″ works very well. It carries over the same tone from the first one and the story seems, to me at least, be a natural continuation of “Anchorman”. There are some scenes that are great nods to the original and they are so funny!

    To sum it up: “Anchorman 2″ is a sequel that I think surpasses the original! It is really funny and it gives us great comedic performances from all actors involved. “Ancorman 2″ is however not for everyone but I can say that I loved it!
    Expand
  4. Apr 17, 2014
    6
    Anchorman 2: The Legend Continues (2013)
    Directed by Adam McKay; Starring Will Ferrell, Steve Carell, Christina Applegate
    Rating: 3/5
    Anchorman 2: The Legend Continues (2013)
    Directed by Adam McKay; Starring Will Ferrell, Steve Carell, Christina Applegate

    Rating: 3/5

    Perhaps it was inevitable that the long anticipated sequel to the cult film that, along with similar contemporary classics such as Meet the Parents (2000), Zoolander (2001) and Dodgeball (2004) all but defined early 2000s comedy, cementing the already burgeoning careers of its stars and making household names out of Will Ferrell, Steve Carell, et al, would have very high expectations, and be met with a certain amount of disappointment.

    This doesn’t have to be the case with all comedy sequels, and indeed some of the most beloved and re-watched films in my collection over the years have been back to back comedies, such as the Ace Ventura (1994, 1995) or Bill & Ted (1989, 1991) films, both of which feature sequels easily as good as the originals.

    Trilogies, such as Austin Powers (1997, 1999, 2002) or The Naked Gun (1988, 1991, 1994) have their ups and downs but maintain a certain level of quality throughout. Meanwhile, Ghostbusters II (1989), Men in Black II (2002) and Wayne’s World 2 (1993) are perhaps not as strong as their predecessors, but retained their talent and remain integral parts of the narrative that are by no means cast aside by posterity.

    Hype easily breeds disappointment, and I’m unlikely to be overexcited or giddy with anticipation when this kind of release occurs, so I’m rarely underwhelmed or otherwise. A lacklustre sequel is not a personal affront on my loyalty to the original, and Anchorman 2 is a competent enough film, a well produced, big budget Hollywood comedy vehicle for its stars.

    Yet as a sequel, bearing the uninspired and unnecessary subtitle The Legend Continues no less, Anchorman 2 is more like the relatively reprehensible Airplane II: The Sequel (1982) which paled in comparison to the golden original which is still enjoyed today. Both sequels carbon copy classic sequences from the original almost shot for shot, attempting to conceal their originality behind purported homage and call-backs.

    Though the cast was reunited, at least Airplane II had the excuse that none of the original creative talent returned. Anchorman 2 was written by leading man Will Ferrell and returning director Adam McKay, so they’re only letting themselves down.

    They’ve clearly tried to go bigger, under the assumption that it will mean better, making for a film that is even more surreal and absurd than the original. Even more so than the first film, Anchorman 2 is only feebly anchored in the real world, and the story shoots for a laugh so often that the whole picture becomes more of a hit and miss sketch show than a coherent narrative. Of course, this merely reflects the Saturday Night Live format under which most of the talent involved cut their teeth. This doesn’t mean it’s not funny or entertaining; far from it. The hits, after all, are still hits. At least they still have a ton of fun exploiting the ludicrous period fashion and hairstyles.

    Ron Burgundy himself was always an endearing buffoon, but this time around he is utterly incompetent at everything he does, including being a father. This is offset only by his relatively inspired invention of sensationalist news to win a ratings war and apparently, ice skating (an allusion to 2007’s Blades of Glory?).

    The rest of the returning cast continue to tread the same path as before, but as caricatures of themselves which appear even more conceited and despicable than usual, although sex-crazed Brian Fantana (Paul Rudd) seems to have mellowed, remaining evermore the only sane man.

    Ron wins it all and loses it all about three of four times over the course of the movie, but the driving force is a critique of the aforementioned 24 hour rolling news which typifies the excesses of the American media, eschewing true journalism in favour of car chases and patriotism.

    The film is strongest during this satire, and weakest during the more derivative subplots which bulk to length to a rather overlong two hours. The final act comes out of nowhere just as the film is starting to drag, and then generates an entire separate arc, and the climax is yet another news team battle even longer than the first, with celebrity cameos coming thick and fast. So while Anchorman 2 still delivers a few solid laughs over the course of a couple of hours, my advice to anyone who finds it utterly unpalatable is to just try and remember that the original still exists.
    Expand
  5. Mar 27, 2014
    5
    No where near as funny as the original that's for sure. A few laughs through out and I do mean a few, It's just not that funny of a comedy.No where near as funny as the original that's for sure. A few laughs through out and I do mean a few, It's just not that funny of a comedy. The plot isn't bad but the ending was pretty much a cut and paste from the original and that's sort of disappointing. The two hour run time was really needlessly as well, The film had far too many stupid subplots that were poorly wrapped up in the final 10 minutes or so of the film.

    Overall, It wasn't a terrible movie but I really wouldn't go into it with high hopes because it's no where near as good as the original.
    Expand
  6. Jan 12, 2014
    3
    It was so stupid. It didn't live up to my expectations after receiving solid reviews such as the ones displayed here. I smiled a few times,It was so stupid. It didn't live up to my expectations after receiving solid reviews such as the ones displayed here. I smiled a few times, laughed a little maybe once or twice, but it's a very far cry from the original. Expand
  7. Apr 17, 2014
    0
    This was the dumbest movie ever. I just pissed $4.95 away on pay per view. Why would intelligent adults give this flick a great review. WasThis was the dumbest movie ever. I just pissed $4.95 away on pay per view. Why would intelligent adults give this flick a great review. Was this written by a 3rd grader? What a let down for a bunch off talented comedians. Too bad. Expand

See all 120 User Reviews

Trailers