Metascore
61

Generally favorable reviews - based on 40 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 323 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 40
  2. Negative: 2 out of 40
  1. Reviewed by: Richard Roeper
    Dec 17, 2013
    88
    Ferrell and his longtime collaborator Adam McKay have a unique gift for creating characters that are human car wrecks yet somehow win our affection.
  2. Reviewed by: Peter Hartlaub
    Dec 17, 2013
    75
    Yet it's very funny, a disappointment only to those who expect to see something bold and new.
  3. Reviewed by: Peter Travers
    Dec 18, 2013
    75
    When is a movie fall-down funny even when some scenes fall flat on their fat ones? When it's Anchorman 2: The Legend Continues.
  4. Reviewed by: Ty Burr
    Dec 19, 2013
    63
    While Anchorman 2: The Legend Continues is a disappointment β€” how could it not be? β€” it’s not for lack of trying. If anything, the movie tries too hard.
  5. Reviewed by: Richard Corliss
    Dec 19, 2013
    60
    Anchorman 2 is more like SNL in the sharper years (1995–2002), when McKay was a writer and Ferrell one of the Not Ready for Prime Time Players. Expect no more and you should be satisfied. Wine connoisseurs would call this a new Burgundy with an old bouquet.
  6. Reviewed by: Tom Huddleston
    Dec 16, 2013
    60
    Anchorman 2: The Legend Continues is not the disaster some feared it might be, but neither is it the endlessly quotable, deliciously idiotic follow-on so many of us were optimistically anticipating.
  7. Reviewed by: Rene Rodriguez
    Dec 19, 2013
    25
    The lack of effort, right down to the unimaginative title, is dispiriting.

See all 40 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 68 out of 115
  2. Negative: 35 out of 115
  1. Dec 21, 2013
    10
    My only gripe with this film is that no comedy I'll ever see will live up to this fantastic standard.
    Every joke was laugh out loud funny.
    Nothing fell flat, and the theater seemed like a happy family laughing together. I've never experienced a movie this gut-wrenchingly funny.
    The plot is as hilarious as it is clever. The entire satire on how news works was great albeit predictable.
    The characters are what you'd expect with some stellar additions.
    The user score makes me question what film these other people saw because not one person I saw it with was anything below blown away...
    Expand
  2. May 3, 2014
    9
    By choosing not to top the one-liners and instead try to expand on the story, Anchorman 2: The Legend Continues not only tops the first film, but it also defies the mold of the comedy sequel. Expand
  3. Apr 4, 2014
    8
    I personally really enjoyed this movie. It had many of the appealing aspects of the original movie and its is sort-of sequel, wake up Ron burgundy (if you haven't seen it, look it up. Its compiled mostly of plot lines they had to throw away and different takes of the scenes from the original movie but its still pretty funny). It also had its own laugh out loud moments that had me, my friends, and the rest of the theater gasping for breath with laughter. However I do understand how this type of humor is not for everyone, not that they don't get it, just some people don't find the same kinds of things funny as other people and there is no need to look down on that. I don't think it should be called a terrible movie because i thought it was awesome, but for those who enjoyed it less, that is a personal preference that i respect. Expand
  4. May 26, 2014
    6
    A continuation of both the story and jokes from the first film. Some of the best jokes are grander versions of the original ones. If the viewer enjoyed the first one, then they will more than likely enjoy this one. Expand
  5. Dec 29, 2013
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Don't get me wrong, I did laugh quite a bit during the first half. Once *spoilers* Ron became blind, the movie fell hard. The end fight threw in a "what the hell did I just watch" feeling. Expand
  6. Apr 13, 2014
    3
    Watching this film was like watching a mom and dad trying to be funny. It was the typical American dumb-ass humor with no original story. The film might as well have been equipped with a laugh-track because I sure didn't know when to laugh. Expand
  7. Jan 4, 2014
    0
    Ashamed. The producers and cast of this movie created neither entertainment or a mild diversion of this this type of movie usually services. It was an embarrassment for all associated. In fact, I should have been paid to sit and watch this movie travesty not the other way around at $44 for a family of four. Not funny. Hard to understand the garbled, gibberish lines uttered. Poor jokes and some of the worst humor (if that what is was imaginable). It was that bad.

    Don't go!
    Expand

See all 115 User Reviews