Metascore
61

Generally favorable reviews - based on 40 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 330 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 40
  2. Negative: 2 out of 40
  1. Reviewed by: Richard Roeper
    Dec 17, 2013
    88
    Ferrell and his longtime collaborator Adam McKay have a unique gift for creating characters that are human car wrecks yet somehow win our affection.
  2. Reviewed by: Peter Hartlaub
    Dec 17, 2013
    75
    Yet it's very funny, a disappointment only to those who expect to see something bold and new.
  3. Reviewed by: Peter Travers
    Dec 18, 2013
    75
    When is a movie fall-down funny even when some scenes fall flat on their fat ones? When it's Anchorman 2: The Legend Continues.
  4. Reviewed by: Ty Burr
    Dec 19, 2013
    63
    While Anchorman 2: The Legend Continues is a disappointment — how could it not be? — it’s not for lack of trying. If anything, the movie tries too hard.
  5. Reviewed by: Richard Corliss
    Dec 19, 2013
    60
    Anchorman 2 is more like SNL in the sharper years (1995–2002), when McKay was a writer and Ferrell one of the Not Ready for Prime Time Players. Expect no more and you should be satisfied. Wine connoisseurs would call this a new Burgundy with an old bouquet.
  6. Reviewed by: Tom Huddleston
    Dec 16, 2013
    60
    Anchorman 2: The Legend Continues is not the disaster some feared it might be, but neither is it the endlessly quotable, deliciously idiotic follow-on so many of us were optimistically anticipating.
  7. Reviewed by: Rene Rodriguez
    Dec 19, 2013
    25
    The lack of effort, right down to the unimaginative title, is dispiriting.

See all 40 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 68 out of 117
  2. Negative: 36 out of 117
  1. Dec 21, 2013
    10
    My only gripe with this film is that no comedy I'll ever see will live up to this fantastic standard.
    Every joke was laugh out loud funny.
    Nothing fell flat, and the theater seemed like a happy family laughing together. I've never experienced a movie this gut-wrenchingly funny.
    The plot is as hilarious as it is clever. The entire satire on how news works was great albeit predictable.
    The characters are what you'd expect with some stellar additions.
    The user score makes me question what film these other people saw because not one person I saw it with was anything below blown away...
    Expand
  2. May 3, 2014
    9
    By choosing not to top the one-liners and instead try to expand on the story, Anchorman 2: The Legend Continues not only tops the first film, but it also defies the mold of the comedy sequel. Expand
  3. Apr 4, 2014
    8
    I personally really enjoyed this movie. It had many of the appealing aspects of the original movie and its is sort-of sequel, wake up Ron burgundy (if you haven't seen it, look it up. Its compiled mostly of plot lines they had to throw away and different takes of the scenes from the original movie but its still pretty funny). It also had its own laugh out loud moments that had me, my friends, and the rest of the theater gasping for breath with laughter. However I do understand how this type of humor is not for everyone, not that they don't get it, just some people don't find the same kinds of things funny as other people and there is no need to look down on that. I don't think it should be called a terrible movie because i thought it was awesome, but for those who enjoyed it less, that is a personal preference that i respect. Expand
  4. Apr 17, 2014
    6
    Anchorman 2: The Legend Continues (2013)
    Directed by Adam McKay; Starring Will Ferrell, Steve Carell, Christina Applegate

    Rating: 3/5


    Perhaps it was inevitable that the long anticipated sequel to the cult film that, along with similar contemporary classics such as Meet the Parents (2000), Zoolander (2001) and Dodgeball (2004) all but defined early 2000s comedy, cementing the already burgeoning careers of its stars and making household names out of Will Ferrell, Steve Carell, et al, would have very high expectations, and be met with a certain amount of disappointment.

    This doesn’t have to be the case with all comedy sequels, and indeed some of the most beloved and re-watched films in my collection over the years have been back to back comedies, such as the Ace Ventura (1994, 1995) or Bill & Ted (1989, 1991) films, both of which feature sequels easily as good as the originals.

    Trilogies, such as Austin Powers (1997, 1999, 2002) or The Naked Gun (1988, 1991, 1994) have their ups and downs but maintain a certain level of quality throughout. Meanwhile, Ghostbusters II (1989), Men in Black II (2002) and Wayne’s World 2 (1993) are perhaps not as strong as their predecessors, but retained their talent and remain integral parts of the narrative that are by no means cast aside by posterity.

    Hype easily breeds disappointment, and I’m unlikely to be overexcited or giddy with anticipation when this kind of release occurs, so I’m rarely underwhelmed or otherwise. A lacklustre sequel is not a personal affront on my loyalty to the original, and Anchorman 2 is a competent enough film, a well produced, big budget Hollywood comedy vehicle for its stars.

    Yet as a sequel, bearing the uninspired and unnecessary subtitle The Legend Continues no less, Anchorman 2 is more like the relatively reprehensible Airplane II: The Sequel (1982) which paled in comparison to the golden original which is still enjoyed today. Both sequels carbon copy classic sequences from the original almost shot for shot, attempting to conceal their originality behind purported homage and call-backs.

    Though the cast was reunited, at least Airplane II had the excuse that none of the original creative talent returned. Anchorman 2 was written by leading man Will Ferrell and returning director Adam McKay, so they’re only letting themselves down.

    They’ve clearly tried to go bigger, under the assumption that it will mean better, making for a film that is even more surreal and absurd than the original. Even more so than the first film, Anchorman 2 is only feebly anchored in the real world, and the story shoots for a laugh so often that the whole picture becomes more of a hit and miss sketch show than a coherent narrative. Of course, this merely reflects the Saturday Night Live format under which most of the talent involved cut their teeth. This doesn’t mean it’s not funny or entertaining; far from it. The hits, after all, are still hits. At least they still have a ton of fun exploiting the ludicrous period fashion and hairstyles.

    Ron Burgundy himself was always an endearing buffoon, but this time around he is utterly incompetent at everything he does, including being a father. This is offset only by his relatively inspired invention of sensationalist news to win a ratings war and apparently, ice skating (an allusion to 2007’s Blades of Glory?).

    The rest of the returning cast continue to tread the same path as before, but as caricatures of themselves which appear even more conceited and despicable than usual, although sex-crazed Brian Fantana (Paul Rudd) seems to have mellowed, remaining evermore the only sane man.

    Ron wins it all and loses it all about three of four times over the course of the movie, but the driving force is a critique of the aforementioned 24 hour rolling news which typifies the excesses of the American media, eschewing true journalism in favour of car chases and patriotism.

    The film is strongest during this satire, and weakest during the more derivative subplots which bulk to length to a rather overlong two hours. The final act comes out of nowhere just as the film is starting to drag, and then generates an entire separate arc, and the climax is yet another news team battle even longer than the first, with celebrity cameos coming thick and fast. So while Anchorman 2 still delivers a few solid laughs over the course of a couple of hours, my advice to anyone who finds it utterly unpalatable is to just try and remember that the original still exists.
    Expand
  5. Dec 28, 2013
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. What is there to expect from a Will Ferrell sequel? Anchorman 2 is his first sequel, and not only that, but it happens to be the sequel to his largest film, both critically large, and also culturally. The original Anchorman was a bit of a revolution in comedic cinema. It was ballsy, wild, and unpredictable. More importantly... it was fresh. A new breath to comedy, a fresh unheard voice. This success is in fact the ultimate downfall of the sequel Anchorman 2: the Legend Continues. While it was not a terrible film, that did offer up a few laughs, this film felt like a throwback, a film whose only intent was to reference the original film. Many of the jokes were carbon copy gags. The entire arc of the film followed that of the original, including the ultimate climax of the news cast street battle found in both films. It seemed to me, that the creative team (Adam McKay and Will Ferrell) excpected the audience to want to watch the original film. Rehashing gags, and barely making them new. Is this what we the audience wanted? If this is what we wanted to watch, why not just watch the original? When news dropped that a new Anchorman was in development, the question of "is this needed" was asked by many. I personally defended the choice, believing comedic cinema could use another jolt, another wake up call, a call that I thought only Will Ferrell and his team could offer up. What I saw when I watched Anchorman 2, was not that, but instead the original Anchorman in sheeps clothes. The character of Brian Fantana, played honestly and charmingly by Paul Rudd, is iconically remembered from the original Anchorman for his collection of cologne and men's perfumes, the punch line being found in "the Sex Panther cologne." The sequel tries to rekindle this magic, by displaying Fantana's collection of condoms, most of which offer nothing in the department of protection. The same hidden storage compartment, the same outlandich names, just not quite as funny as the original. Ron Burgandy, played obviously by Ferrell himself, is said to be the best anchorman in the buisness, who reads exactly what the teleprompter tells him, no if's, and's, or but's. In the original Anchorman, this lead to the classic line of "And I'm Ron Burgundy. Go yourself San Diego." In the sequel, we find Burgundy losing his job, because he reads exactly what is on the teleprompter. Same gag, different movie... but barely. The new film does offer a few new laughs however. The romantic subplot between Brick Tamland (Steve Carell) and Chani (Kristen Wiig) was where the film found its stride. The explosion of Carell's career with the hit show the Office as well as other fantastic projects, lead everyone to know his character Brick would have more screen time, more jokes, and more significance in the film. The chemistry between him and Wiig (a brilliant comedian in her own right) was fresh and quircky. The improv nature that they brught to the set left the audience reeling, never knowing what to excpect next, and there was no way to guess, for each moment between the two was as absurd and brilliant as the one previous, surmounting in a date to a laundrymat, getting to know each other over soda out of the maching, and a torrid, awkward make out session revealing Wiig's whity tighty under wear. The other brilliant subplot this film offered was that of Burgundy losing his vision, leading to a hysterical recouping sub plot where he tries to learn how to exist in the world without vision. But, this also felt recycled, finding similar tones to Ferrell and McKays Talledega Nights. As funny as these moments were they were not fresh enough to save the film. The secret to comedy is in fact timing. never let the audience get a head of you. If they have the punch line figured out before it's said, if they have the gag calculated before it is done, the joke is dead and the laugh is lost. All the punchlines were in Anchorman 2 were predictable, because we have seen them played out in the original film. As Anchorman 2's credits rolled, and I threw away my popcorn, walking to my car I had a leathery taste in my mouth, like I had just spent the last two hours chewing on a well used boot. Expand
  6. Apr 13, 2014
    3
    Watching this film was like watching a mom and dad trying to be funny. It was the typical American dumb-ass humor with no original story. The film might as well have been equipped with a laugh-track because I sure didn't know when to laugh. Expand
  7. Jan 4, 2014
    0
    Ashamed. The producers and cast of this movie created neither entertainment or a mild diversion of this this type of movie usually services. It was an embarrassment for all associated. In fact, I should have been paid to sit and watch this movie travesty not the other way around at $44 for a family of four. Not funny. Hard to understand the garbled, gibberish lines uttered. Poor jokes and some of the worst humor (if that what is was imaginable). It was that bad.

    Don't go!
    Expand

See all 117 User Reviews

Trailers