Metascore
61

Generally favorable reviews - based on 40 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 348 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 40
  2. Negative: 2 out of 40
  1. Reviewed by: Richard Roeper
    Dec 17, 2013
    88
    Ferrell and his longtime collaborator Adam McKay have a unique gift for creating characters that are human car wrecks yet somehow win our affection.
  2. Reviewed by: Peter Hartlaub
    Dec 17, 2013
    75
    Yet it's very funny, a disappointment only to those who expect to see something bold and new.
  3. Reviewed by: Peter Travers
    Dec 18, 2013
    75
    When is a movie fall-down funny even when some scenes fall flat on their fat ones? When it's Anchorman 2: The Legend Continues.
  4. Reviewed by: Ty Burr
    Dec 19, 2013
    63
    While Anchorman 2: The Legend Continues is a disappointment β€” how could it not be? β€” it’s not for lack of trying. If anything, the movie tries too hard.
  5. Reviewed by: Richard Corliss
    Dec 19, 2013
    60
    Anchorman 2 is more like SNL in the sharper years (1995–2002), when McKay was a writer and Ferrell one of the Not Ready for Prime Time Players. Expect no more and you should be satisfied. Wine connoisseurs would call this a new Burgundy with an old bouquet.
  6. Reviewed by: Tom Huddleston
    Dec 16, 2013
    60
    Anchorman 2: The Legend Continues is not the disaster some feared it might be, but neither is it the endlessly quotable, deliciously idiotic follow-on so many of us were optimistically anticipating.
  7. Reviewed by: Rene Rodriguez
    Dec 19, 2013
    25
    The lack of effort, right down to the unimaginative title, is dispiriting.

See all 40 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 69 out of 118
  2. Negative: 36 out of 118
  1. Dec 21, 2013
    10
    My only gripe with this film is that no comedy I'll ever see will live up to this fantastic standard.
    Every joke was laugh out loud funny.
    My only gripe with this film is that no comedy I'll ever see will live up to this fantastic standard.
    Every joke was laugh out loud funny. Nothing fell flat, and the theater seemed like a happy family laughing together. I've never experienced a movie this gut-wrenchingly funny.
    The plot is as hilarious as it is clever. The entire satire on how news works was great albeit predictable.
    The characters are what you'd expect with some stellar additions.
    The user score makes me question what film these other people saw because not one person I saw it with was anything below blown away...
    Expand
  2. May 3, 2014
    9
    By choosing not to top the one-liners and instead try to expand on the story, Anchorman 2: The Legend Continues not only tops the first film,By choosing not to top the one-liners and instead try to expand on the story, Anchorman 2: The Legend Continues not only tops the first film, but it also defies the mold of the comedy sequel. Collapse
  3. Apr 18, 2014
    8
    Funny movie. One of Will Ferrell's best in my opinion. I think it is under rated as not to many people enjoyed it as much as I did. The firstFunny movie. One of Will Ferrell's best in my opinion. I think it is under rated as not to many people enjoyed it as much as I did. The first 3 quarters of the movie were great and the last quarter was a bit sloppy but still ended up being a good time. Expand
  4. May 26, 2014
    6
    A continuation of both the story and jokes from the first film. Some of the best jokes are grander versions of the original ones. If theA continuation of both the story and jokes from the first film. Some of the best jokes are grander versions of the original ones. If the viewer enjoyed the first one, then they will more than likely enjoy this one. Expand
  5. Mar 27, 2014
    5
    No where near as funny as the original that's for sure. A few laughs through out and I do mean a few, It's just not that funny of a comedy.No where near as funny as the original that's for sure. A few laughs through out and I do mean a few, It's just not that funny of a comedy. The plot isn't bad but the ending was pretty much a cut and paste from the original and that's sort of disappointing. The two hour run time was really needlessly as well, The film had far too many stupid subplots that were poorly wrapped up in the final 10 minutes or so of the film.

    Overall, It wasn't a terrible movie but I really wouldn't go into it with high hopes because it's no where near as good as the original.
    Expand
  6. Jun 30, 2014
    3
    Largely unfunny and such a waste of $1.25 from Redbox. The jokes are just stupid and not original. I did not even get to the end. I fellLargely unfunny and such a waste of $1.25 from Redbox. The jokes are just stupid and not original. I did not even get to the end. I fell asleep. Boring and sad. I am finding it really hard to get to beyond 150 characters. Expand
  7. Jan 4, 2014
    0
    Ashamed. The producers and cast of this movie created neither entertainment or a mild diversion of this this type of movie usually services.Ashamed. The producers and cast of this movie created neither entertainment or a mild diversion of this this type of movie usually services. It was an embarrassment for all associated. In fact, I should have been paid to sit and watch this movie travesty not the other way around at $44 for a family of four. Not funny. Hard to understand the garbled, gibberish lines uttered. Poor jokes and some of the worst humor (if that what is was imaginable). It was that bad.

    Don't go!
    Expand

See all 118 User Reviews

Trailers